paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on BottleRocket's Review / Comments on BottleRocket's Review / Comments on BottleRocket's Review / Comments on BottleRocket's Review / Comments on BottleRocket's Review

Comments on BottleRocket's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

BottleRocket Tuesday, February 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested34 of 105 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k3 Mech Cocker - Slower, more accurate
2k2 Worrbladed Black Magic - Faster, more accurate, slightly heavier, more efficient
Lasoya Timmy - Faster, equally efficient, less accurate
2k3 Matrix - Faster, equally efficient, heavier, more accurate, LESS KICK
Rat Impulse - Equal speed, less efficient, less accurate
Marker Setup: Stock
Strengths: Size, price, shells
Weaknesses: Sock parts, upgradability
Review: Recballers, this is for you. I know how it felt to go out there with a rental gun back in the day and be next to a guy with a timmy and see 6 or 7 balls of his fly for every one of mine. it is depressing. dont waste your time on spyder clones, give this a shot.

This marker will enable people to get into paintball and level the playing field among other rec players. For woodsball I still would recomend an A5 before this gun, but for all around recball, this is a great marker. its better then most markers in it's price range, and better then all of them at what it does. It is fairly light and easy to handle, big advantages for beginners. This marker will allow new players to have a fast marker to help them keep up with the big guns for cheap. It might not be as nice, as fast or as consistent, but its a hell of alot better then spyder clones, impys and other low end electros.

As for tourney play, I dont recomend this as a primary gun. Go for something that has an established aftermarket and reputation. The ion is a good marker, but just not cut out for Novice or higher level playing. It would be ok to use to try out tourney style play, but not if you want to stick with it. Invest in a DM4/5 or a Proto.

However, there is not enough of an aftermarket. it is cheap feeling compared to other markers i have used. stock parts arent the best. I'd compare it to the WGP Trilogy in that it is somewhat like a stripped down Shocker like a Trilogy is a bottom of the line cocker.
Conclusion: I'd recomend this marker to anyone looking for a start in the sport without spending too much money. Sure you can go out a buy a used angel for $400, but that is older, worn out and has no warranty. The Ion is a great marker for what it is built to do. As for SP's claim that it is a "high end marker for $300", i have to disagree. I say it is among the upper of the low end electros with the impys.
Rating:
7 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
james52 Thursday, February 17th, 2005 | 7:48 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pulseXX
I agree with anyone who thinks this gun deserves a 9 or a 10. give this gun a few months and the companies will be pumping out mods for it and it will be so upgradeable that it will be a new shocker!...and so what if it has a plastic body if u break it or scratch it bad u can buy a new one and in a different color no other gun offers that. its a good gun and dont compair it to DM5, and DM4 thats just stupid they are 5 times the price!! this gun owns any gun in the 500$ and under market.
Agreed, like the gun is 300 bucks, in the future there will be upgrades to compare it to a shocker, defiantly over an impulse (I have owned an Impulse)
   

hillbilly PB Friday, February 18th, 2005 | 11:59 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Robert38
honestly... if u compare the ion with the a-5 or even the trilogy pro! the ion will kik its @$$... trilogy is mech and cannot and WILL not even catch up to the ion. there will be upgrades for the trilogy in the future but just like the ion u gotta wait. The a-5 cant even compete with the ion except on customizability but go to badlandspaintball.com and u will see that there WILL be upgrades for this puppy all ya gotta do is wait a little while... sorry but i think this thing mows and deserves a 10

what's wrong w/ mech?I'm not sure if you're aware of this but MOST people play rec ball & don't have mommy & daddy to buy thier paint...
if you go into rec ball blazing I hope those two hits were worth it because you're going home very soon...
   

superrocker Saturday, February 19th, 2005 | 7:28 am PST
I hate that every one busts on it just because it is a cheap gun to make. Polymer does not cost much and is easier to make. It is made of the same stuff a M-16 is made. I love my ion and know it will hold up in turnys.
   

Bushmaster2k4 Saturday, February 19th, 2005 | 9:22 am PST
this wasn't really a review at all. the gun wasn't reviewed it was compared to guns that cost nearly a thousand dollars more. it didn't go into any detail about the gun at all. what a crap review.
   

Everlight389 Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 6:29 pm PST
Price/performance can't really be beat for the price. Also, the guy at the store today said with a new board and "some" new internals they are essentially shockers with less o-rings, which is very good. New Designz is going to have a whole line of Ion parts that are supposed to be very good.

I'd give it an 8, but it's your review.

   

stubby08 Sunday, February 27th, 2005 | 8:58 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by papaintballer15
theres lots of ups and improvements coming for it in the near future, for 300 bucks the gun mows. Few little parts on it and it could easily compete. Alot of people cant shoot faster then this gun on their high end guns (legit anyway), unless raking or have something really fast and capable of shooting fast with little to no effort like flys and matrix's

also 05 bko and bushy arnt out yet... and other versions of bkos get smoked by the ION. do bkos have break beam eyes no? do they cost 300? no are they small? no are they light? no
i can keep going on. The ion is the best buy there is at the moment.

   

stubby08 Sunday, February 27th, 2005 | 9:01 am PST
HOw can u say that!!! I have an bko 04 an the thing is just as good as a ion it weighs almost the same its almost as small as it an IT DOES KEEP UP WITH IT!!!
I Dont even need eyes because my gun doesnt chop in the first place and I got mine for $300
   

misfitofnh Sunday, February 27th, 2005 | 5:11 pm PST
There's really only one thing i have to disagree on with your review. I'd say that the ion may compare to a stock impulse, but with all the upgrades and what have you for the impy today you can compete with it in a tourney and i would know because i bought one when i started out and made it shoot nice and fancy. It has the speed and accuracy of any other timmy, Dm 4/5 or the matrix's, i would say that they impy doesn't shoot as good as and angle or a nice cocker like a carnivore. But none the less the ion and impy arn't in the same league.
   

primetimejr Sunday, February 27th, 2005 | 10:46 pm PST
you may not see it at an nppl event but you will see it in a psp pro event, i've heard that miami effect will be using these. this gun was brought to market before they fully maxed the gun out, that way they didn't repeat the nerve disaster. they will have new boards and a pile load of upgrades for it shortly and it is a brand new design starting a brand new emerging market. it's a shocker for $300, kinda how bob long's new defiant is like a lower budget timmy. i hate how ppl complain that it only goes to 17 bps, since most ppl can't even surpass that speed anyways. it is low cost, great performance and has tremendous opportunity. 7 is probably too low but it is an opinion and ppl won't really take it to heart seeing as how it has a ton of 9 and 10's.
   

Team smurf Monday, February 28th, 2005 | 6:33 pm PST
Was used last weekend by Miami Effect in LA and shot very nice not one marker went down
   

stubby08 Tuesday, March 1st, 2005 | 4:18 pm PST
well i ve seen the impy fire my friend owns 1 and his was supa fast he had it decked out the only reason its price isnt so much is because of its weight arrrgh
The person that had the impy still has it but he now has an ion which he says is ALOT faster and ALOT accurate its lighter and its more accurate for a better price it performs almost llike a shocker which is as surprising to me as for u
   

ImpYpwNeR Monday, March 7th, 2005 | 2:39 pm PST
nice review...totally true. Beginner gun. the only people that would have to UPGRADE to a $300 gun are recballers and i havent seen 1 good player with this ion because it cant compete with REAL high-end guns.
   

ImpYpwNeR Monday, March 7th, 2005 | 2:39 pm PST
nice review...totally true. Beginner gun. the only people that would have to UPGRADE to a $300 gun are recballers and i havent seen 1 good player with this ion because it cant compete with REAL high-end guns.
   

stubby08 Tuesday, March 8th, 2005 | 2:20 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by ImpYpwNeR
nice review...totally true. Beginner gun. the only people that would have to UPGRADE to a $300 gun are recballers and i havent seen 1 good player with this ion because it cant compete with REAL high-end guns.

Wow ur so wrong !!! One of the ppl i play with has a shocker and the ion performs just a little worse than the shocker but what amazes me is that the ion is soooooo simple all the electronics are right in the trigger frame it sits in a space but its so simple and so easy to work with

This gun performs just as good as a shocker well a little less but its well worth the price
   

Dunty Wednesday, March 9th, 2005 | 2:13 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by mountainexplor


Amen... NOBODY knows how this gun is going to hold up in the long run. NOBODY. Its simple physics-- if it is cheaper, then cheaper time, and parts had to of gone into it.. Maybe Smart parts has a good (entry level gun)--I say that because I highly doubt you will EVER see this gun being shot at an NPPL PRO tournament. I owned an Odyssey O2 $299.00 and it shot great,, would I use it at a tournament--no! I would be too afraid of how well it will keep up and perform on a consistent basis. All Im saying is leave the man who posted this review in peace. I feel it was the best (unbiased) review of the gun so far.



Yeah, that's not a surprise.....but then again do you see anyone with a maker in the same range? Smart Parts didn't make this marker to keep up with the Shocker or Nerve, but to widen their marker market to new players. What do you expect for it's price?
   

Silent`Ion Monday, March 21st, 2005 | 6:11 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Freaky Behavior
i do agree with u on the fact that this is an upper low end gun, but i would probably give it an eight or a nine just because u have to admit for that price, this is unbeatable. it is much better than an imp but as for facing of against real high end guns such as dm4's, dm5's, a4 flies, 05 speeds, e2 cockers, private label shockers, many timmies, g7's, ego's, and maybe like dye, gen e, or aardvark trixes, this gun cant really compete not to mention keep up
hahaha you are an idiot.It can keep up......you just gotta be good... and dm4 an dm5's are dye ...... and aardvark trixes ?? hahaha ion would blow that away...... g7's yeah..right.. and Ego's lol ill stop there... gen e i have no idea how it would... shockers are almost the same just more bps i own a 05 shocktech shocker and i love it ... my ion is my back up gun shcoker is my first decision because it's speed and accuracy.... the ions accuracy is just the same just slow .... but 17 bullets is way enough............................ Freaky Behavior learn about paintball b4 u come in here buddy.... don't make urself look stupid and write down somthing that is not true...
   

Silent`Ion Monday, March 21st, 2005 | 6:16 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by ImpYpwNeR
nice review...totally true. Beginner gun. the only people that would have to UPGRADE to a $300 gun are recballers and i havent seen 1 good player with this ion because it cant compete with REAL high-end guns.
Dont be mad cause they dont make impy's no more... deal with it... come play me and you willl see how the ion works.... ion is better than an impy.
   

P8ntballer223 Thursday, March 24th, 2005 | 8:16 am PST
can ne one help me...i cant decide between the two, the wrath or ion they both seem like good guns to me and ive changed my mind like 4 times already i dont want to buy one and then realize it sucks....again :)
Last edited on Thursday, March 24th, 2005 at 8:17 am PST
   

dark251 Friday, March 25th, 2005 | 10:03 am PST
LOL an ion cant keep up wit my outkast with an E2 on it. or any other high end markers like dm5 or 4 wow ur gun gets 17 on full auto but on semi i havent seen any bodie do more than 8 or 10.
Last edited on Friday, March 25th, 2005 at 10:05 am PST
   

kyle5671320 Monday, March 28th, 2005 | 5:24 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Freaky Behavior
i do agree with u on the fact that this is an upper low end gun, but i would probably give it an eight or a nine just because u have to admit for that price, this is unbeatable. it is much better than an imp but as for facing of against real high end guns such as dm4's, dm5's, a4 flies, 05 speeds, e2 cockers, private label shockers, many timmies, g7's, ego's, and maybe like dye, gen e, or aardvark trixes, this gun cant really compete not to mention keep up
this is a high end gun
   
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media