paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on bafrank@att.net's Review / Comments on bafrank@att.net's Review / Comments on bafrank@att.net's Review / Comments on bafrank@att.net's Review

Comments on bafrank@att.net's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

bafrank@att.net Friday, February 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year30 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
GAP, Zap, Draxus Rec-Sport, Diablo Heat
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Using both Flatline and Stone Cold Barrels. CO2, Aluminum and Teflon forward bolt, custom spring kit, Lapco Stainless screw kit, BSA Red Dot sight.
Recommended
Barrels:
None
Strengths: Lowest price
Weaknesses: Severe inconsistancy from lot to lot
Review: My son and I have used Hot Spot almost exclusively since we started paint-balling. Initially we used the Tippmann stock barrels and the Stone Cold 14" barrels. Performance was pretty good for both speed-ball and woods ball courses. Broken paint was rare.

We then obtained Flatline barrels for both our markers and began testing to find adequate performance. Top of the line paint, Marballizer and All Star, shot well, but at $55 and $60 a case they were a bit beyond our budget. We then tried some left over Hot Spot along with samples from a new case. Wow, it shot as well as the Marballizer.

We began buying Hot Spot 3-4 cases at a time, at less than $35 a case, with excellent results. We would sometimes go through 1 to 2 cases without ever breaking paint in the barrel. Friends would borrow a hopper full on occasion, would like it and then buy their own.

In January of '05 we bought three cases from our usual supplier online and were happy to find no broken paint when the shipment arrived. That was the last of the good news. During sight in we found paint breaking in the barrel 2 shots out of 5 in both guns. We tried everything and the problem persisted. We found balls dropped from only 18" from the floor would break. By comparison Marballizer did not break until it was dropped from higher than 5 feet above the floor. I called the dealer who blamed it on our guns and saying that the paint was not intended for Flatline barrels...so we switched to the stock and Stone Cold barrels. There was some improvement but I was still breaking 10 to 30 balls per hopper full.

I contacted the manufacturer, Nelson, and after three emails detailing the problem I have received NO reply. We then found a bag on the shelf of our storage closet of the previous order of Hot Spot. They shot as well as Marballizer. We couldn't believe it!!!

I then began to measure the paint with a ball sizer. The old Hot Spot all dropped into the .686" hole. The new paint would barely go through the .691" hole. No wonder the new paint didn't working in the Flatline barrel! We bought All Star for our next play date and have started evaluating all the inexpensive paint that is listed on some charts as "small diameter."

Conversation with several Paintball stores have confirmed that they no longer carry Hot Spot because of inconsistent diameter and breakage...this month it works great...next month's pallet load has to be returned due to sever breakage in virtually all barrels tried. At one time Nelson stood behind the paint, I am told, but now the company will not return the dealers call. We sold the remaining two cases to a friend who thought it was good enough in his gun.

My experience with these paintballs and then lack of reply from Nelson has convinced me to never use Nelson's products again!!

FOLLOW UP 4/26/05
---Today I was contacted by Nelson via email. I was told that there had been problems with their email system and the tech apologized for their failure to respond to my requests. She offered as compensation for my inconvenience a case of Hot Spot and, even more interesting, a case of their new Special Forces Series Paintballs. I am impressed with this action on Nelson's part and their apparent desire to satisfy their customers. After a chance to test these items I'll get back here with a short review.

BTW, due to the critical requirement of small diameter paint for the Flatline barrel we have added a Hammerhead Battle Stixx to our selection of barrels. I like the Flatline's flat trajectory, but its need for very expensive paint is reducing my enjoyment. We are still in a testing phase with the Hammerhead, evaluating which paint works well. At least with this barrel we'll have a chance to adjust for ball diameter.

FURTHER FOLLOWUP 5/16/05
---Been getting used to the Hammerhead barrel. This past Friday night's game I pulled out the Hot Spot and ran some of the paint through the Hammerhead ball sizer. Wow, this new stuff is BIG. It measured .693"!!! It is so large that it wouldn't drop through the barrel. I could not blow it through the barrel with the pressure of my breath. My thought were that maybe this tight fit in the rifled barrel would show improved accuracy.

First discovery, after I switched to the proper fin, when I went to the chrono, was my velocity was up at 290-295 fps. I guess with the tighter fit there is much less gas loss around the ball. I could not turn my vlocity any lower...had to switch springs. At that point the field had a failure of the lights and we had to knock off a half hour early so further evaluation was not possible. BUT, the previous lot of Hot Spot that shot so well in the Flatline sized at .686". That is a lot of difference. If Hot Spot continues to hold this larger diameter in manufacturing then this paint may work well for the Hammerhead. I'll let you know.
Conclusion: Buy something else.

Tentative re-evaluation...try it in a big bore barrel
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 16th, 2005 at 9:06 am PST
 

Review Comments
plaztik Monday, May 9th, 2005 | 7:21 pm PST
Yes. You should.
   

Psycho_warden Sunday, May 15th, 2005 | 9:27 pm PST
Good review. Very full of informations.
   

Streaks Wednesday, August 10th, 2005 | 8:42 am PST
Welcome to the world of paint to barrel match my friend.

Shame of it is that you could have bought a Lapco AccuShot kit for the price of that silly rifled HammerHead!

Rifling doesn't really work well with paintballs unless they have a fill like the Nelson Anarchy stuff (picture toothpaste!), because a thinner fill will simply not rotate, only the shell does (spin an egg).

So, it sounds like the paint itself is pretty good, just a little inconsistant?
   

bafrank@att.net Thursday, August 11th, 2005 | 1:12 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Streaks
Welcome to the world of paint to barrel match my friend.

Shame of it is that you could have bought a Lapco AccuShot kit for the price of that silly rifled HammerHead!

Rifling doesn't really work well with paintballs unless they have a fill like the Nelson Anarchy stuff (picture toothpaste!), because a thinner fill will simply not rotate, only the shell does (spin an egg).

So, it sounds like the paint itself is pretty good, just a little inconsistent?


Certainly have heard it all before about the absurdity of the rifled Hammerhead. I got my kit NIB for only $130. I have tested just about every paint out there in it. I have also tested a number of high end barrels including the AccuShot, Stiffi Switch, Freak and so on.

First let me say that if a ball could not be spun, and retain that spin through the trajectory, then the Tippmann Flatline would not work either. But it does.

Off a bench rest, I have shot 6" groups at 150' with both Marballizer and Diablo Heat with the Hammerhead barrel. With the correct fin installed I have found few brands of paint that would not hold 8" to 10" groups at 150'. .There is more going on than the rifling. Some barrels I've tested shot several brands very well and some brands very poorly. Some barrels shot certain brands of paint better than the Hammerhead, while they couldn't hold some brands of paintballs inside a 4 foot circle.

With the five fin kit I have never been so disappointed in accuracy that I couldn't have a good day on the field. No other barrel would shoot all paint as well as the Hammerhead. Paint that was hard to keep inside a two foot circle with other barrels stayed within 10 inches through the Hammerhead.

I own three other mid to high end barrels. One was extremely accurate. But I haven't used anything but the Hammerhead, when on the paintball field, since I bought it.

(NOTE: some of the barrels I tested are not threaded for my marker. I was able to borrow Hammerhead barrels to fit those markers)
Last edited on Thursday, August 11th, 2005 at 1:26 am PST
   

Kenny_McCormic Sunday, May 13th, 2007 | 5:13 pm PST
i seem to have the opposite problem the hot spot i bought is only .681
   

bafrank@att.net Monday, May 14th, 2007 | 8:43 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Kenny_McCormic
i seem to have the opposite problem the hot spot i bought is only .681
This is one of the problems. Paint size changes , sometimes damatically, from year to year. I am no longer using the Hammerhead due to the fact that absolute best accuracy was accomplished with large diameter paint. Everything that I can afford and is consistent in size now averages .681" to .684". We are now using Nelson Hemorrhage which in the last 4 cases I bought averaged .683-.684". And, has stayed that size for a year now. This paint is now giving excellent accuracy in both my Flatline and my Apex. The Apex is on my marker most of the time now.

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b42/BruceAFrank/left-side-
view.jpg


Last edited on Tuesday, May 15th, 2007 at 6:37 am PST
   

Kenny_McCormic Monday, May 14th, 2007 | 5:52 pm PST
adress dont work
   

bafrank@att.net Tuesday, May 15th, 2007 | 6:41 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Kenny_McCormic
adress dont work

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b42/BruceAFrank/left-side-
view.jpg If you copy and paste the whole thing it do!
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media