paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review

Comments on Sporefrog's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Sporefrog Saturday, February 19th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month185 of 1285 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BKO, Pirranah EVO, espyders
Marker Setup: 04 Gen2 Freestyle 45/4500, Stiffi switch kit, nox board, prototype techna trigger, contract killers lady panels, Reloader B black, 05 CP on/off, CP reg, JDS LPR, carbon fiber side panels. CP twist-lock feedneck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Feedneck, Reg, trigger
Strengths: Comes with a regulator, alright trigger sorta efficient
Weaknesses: See review TOO MANY TO LIST!!!!!!
Review: My friend bought this gun and wrote the review-

Weaknesses:

Barrel, no famous spiral porting , they could at least throw the progressive on it stock. this barrel is horrible. I've heard and seen cases in which the inside of the barrel is powder coated. Terrible quality control on SP's part. There is a big difference between micro honed and powder coated.

Feedneck, not clamping but it does have orings in it meaning it might stay tight, but be prepared to do a lot of sanding. another decent feedneck (made of decent aluminum) will go for another 40 bucks.

Regulator- not even a max flow, just a downgraded version. i experience velocity spikes of +/- 25 FPS and my paint to bore was PERFECT. and that was after i fixed the leak on it. And there is tons of drop off once you hit 8+ bps. I was shooting 280 and when I started shooting fast it was in the low 200's.

Body- low grade aluminum covered by "polymer" (PLASTIC) shell. looks really bad, everybody at the local field made fun of its looks. i was sad.

Internals- I took this thing apart and it was pretty simple. except i noticed one thing right away - the solenoid coil - it was in plain sight - exposed. This is a very fragile part of the solenoid and deserves some protection. I can see this getting to be a problem in the future, I haven't opened my gun since then in fear of nicking coil. A two way solenoid, not too impressive. This is what the older BKO's used.


Board - the board is capped at 17, some of my friends can walk a trigger faster than this - Why cap it at 17 when all u have to do is change a few numbers in the code to make it faster? Bad move sp.

My guess is they capped it there because the solenoid is probably really bad and will explode if you cycle too fast..

Kick- This gun had a lot of kick to it, comparable to a spyder.

Feel - Felt plasticy, reminded me of holding a brass eagle blade - I definitely didn't dig it.

Trigger - It was plastic and had a bad setup - Was hard to pull fast or consistantly, magnet was way to strong stock. EDIT: Somebody at the local field with an ion got his trigger shot off in a game, the trigger just broke - very weak.

Lack of color options, yellow red blue black - all looks the same (really bad) no fades just looks plastic.

This is one loud gun.

Duckbill- Makes for a long setup and provides no On/off features. Not comfortable

NOT durable at all- I slid into a bunker and my feedneck hit the edge, now i cant take my feedneck off because the threads are messed up. if i ever want to take it off its going to cost 100 dollars, that's what smart parts said.
Conclusion: First day at the field with this gun - had a leak right away. we figured out that it was the bolt assembly and it was missing an oring - HOW DO YOU MISS AN ORING!!! i was pissed. after that my reg leaked, guy at the field fixed it for me i owe him one thanks bob. The accuracy was terrible even with a good paint bore match, kick was terrible and consistency was non existent - I've had way better experiences with spyder clones

I'll give it a two just because the new concept other then that it deserves a 1. I was definitely not happy with this product. Smart Parts customer service was definitely no help at all.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 26th, 2005 at 11:23 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (36):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Kishida Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 6:00 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Sporefrog


I couldn't on the Ion becuase its a bad trigger. Do you want me to make a video of me shooting 17+ bps?


YES please... i think u should try to prove these things u say for now on man...
   

Kishida Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 6:05 pm PST
well i want the gun but u people make it hard to choose...
Last edited on Monday, February 21st, 2005 at 6:05 pm PST
   

Wagner1162 Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 8:36 pm PST
Haha...this post makes me laugh. You have NO idea what you're talking about. You say taht you cant play in a tournament with this gun, its called switching it onto semi. Wow...this gun is completely tournament legal. (By Punisher Paintball-in pittsburgh)This gun was reccomended over a shocker(too expensive), impulse(chops paint without vision), and an autococker(high maintanence). FOR 300 dollars, this gun is unbelievable. Durable, yes...very. Plastic...ONE part, the shell(you know...the thing that basically for looks only) Think about it, for 30$ you can get it replaced. Ugly-personal opinion...that shouldnt make u dislike the gun...many people think it looks good. Upgradability-uhh..the gun just came out a week ago...obviously its not going to come out with a million upgrades. It is a smart parts gun, smart parts makes unbelievable amouts of upgrades for all of their guns, but some take time to come out. There isnt a single gun on the market that comes with an amazing barrel stock...intimidators dont even come with a great barrel and they're over $1000... i would have to say...this biased review was posted by sheer jealousy of those who actually have the gun. Oh yeah by the way, a local team went into an pro. level tournament, and took 4th. Did i mention that they all had ions?....You crack me up
   

Mcot2 Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 8:43 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Sporefrog


wrong, their completely different. the ions design is crossed between a stacked tube blowback (spyder) and spool valve design (shocker) the freestyle is none of these. The freestyle is a blow forward marker, but its like the mag more - except its air returned not spring. quoted in product description from manufactuer "

"No Sally, its not another spool valve."

as for the weight. "— A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it’s tube design imparts an ultra low profile. "

got that from , http://www.smartparts.com/Products/Ion.aspx , i think they know their gun better then you considering they make it.

The freestyle weighs 1.8 pounds. and i think it goes something like this 1.8< 2.2 . see now we have reached the method of simple math - this will help us determine simple facts.

Smart parts advertises efficiency at 1000-1400 shots off a 68/45. On my freestyle (non HE kit) im currently getting 1000 shots on a 45/40 fill. now lets use simple math to see how many shots that would be on a 68/45. ok so 45/40 +23 cubic inches increases shots per tank by 500. now lets see how much more it is when its filled to 4500 PSI

1687.5 shots per tank on a 68/45 fill - non he kit - HE kit is supposed to raise shots per tank greatly, around 300 or so maybe?

so lets visit our friend simple math, simple math tells me that 1687.5 > 1000-1400. and thats without HE kit, i could expect a 2000 shots off a 68/45

Ill show you the math. 1000 x 1.125 (since 500 PSI is 1/8 of 4000PSI) = 1125
now since 45 is 23 CI less then 68, (23 is almost exactly half of 45)

1125 x 1.5 = 1687.5 - so 1687.5 shots off a 68/45 fill (despite this is an older molder fs, without HE kit) is greater then 1000-1400 shots off a 68/45 for the ion. yay for simple math.



so lets see at the ions worst advertised efficiency (1000) and my experiences with a freestyle (2000 - with HE kit) i think the freestyle is slightly more efficient... by 2x

once again, we have used simple math to deduct that the freestyle is lighter and more ffecient than the ion.

Ion is smaller? ok thats not even worth using simple math on - i can tell just by looking at the two that the freestyle is wayyyy smaller.

freestyle - 6.5 inches from top of body to bottom of grip, 7 and 3/8 inches long

oh and doesnt even need an LPR, ok so more unregulated air more better, right?

now if you knew anything about paintball youd already know that, idiot.


Way to spew more bs. The Ion is a blow forward desgin. Most all single tubes guns are that way including the mag. The only difference is the Ion uses a simple spool valve, while the freestyle does not, so it needs an lpr, which complicates the process of tuning the marker and getting it set up.

1.8 pounds? Nice try. I highly doubt that is with the barrel on or the regulator. Some companies do this to measure weight of the gun. The 03 shocker weighs 1.9 pounds, and I highly highly doubt the freestyle weighs less.

Effciency - Read the reviews why don't you. People are claiming 900 shots on a 68/45 (before they fixed the effciency with the bolt kit of course)

Ive never read a review that states it got 1600 of a 68/45 that is pure bs right there.

And also if you dont need an lpr why use one. They just add weight, complexity, and another thing to tune. The Ion doesnt need one and still rips.

   

Mcot2 Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 8:47 pm PST
Heres a quote just from the first thing I saw on the FS:

"extended use: basicly the same as i said before...just i found out that this thing sucks down gas...i get about 850 shots per 68/45...(but this is great when you are playing rec with an all day air pass...)"
   

Amon_RA Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 9:28 pm PST
Im seriously surprised the authors brain can generate enough power to allow his fingers to type on a keyboard . Look at what this guy shoots....spyders and pirranahs , i wouldn't let my sister shoot one of those . And whats up with im writing this for a friend? write what you know about spyderboy , better yet just leave the reviewing to the big boys
   

Kurama Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 11:22 pm PST
"I already goldwaved it, counted 19 on a test when the LCD said 19. i think its pretty accurate."

Alright, any chump can BS about it, and post text. Email me the video of you shooting 19bps. Sehnsucht@gmail.com

And freesyles don't get close to 1600 shots per 68/45 with an HE bolt kit. Not even close. Your weight comparison is off too. Your 1.8 seems a bit low for your freestyle without reg barrel or bottomline. More like 2. To proove this. email me a pic of you holding your freestyle on a fishing scale used to fill co2. Also the ION's 2.2 included reg barrel and bottomline I'm sorry to say.
   

Kurama Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 12:54 am PST
Oh, now you're saying an HE'd freestyle gets 2000 shots and an ION only gets 1000? The ion gets 1000-1400, and google has 0 results for the HE bolt for the freestyle other than the fact that it comes stick with the 2k5 pro freestyles.

And there's no way in bloody hell that a freestyle, one of the least efficient markers, gets more shots than a Viking, the most efficient marker. You're full of s***.

Now, please edit your review or delete it, as it is full of misinformation. I have no doubt in my mind that your "friend" is a fabricated character you've greated to push ICD markers over Smart Parts markers because you have no actual argument other than lies to display your opinion. If your friend is a real person, but too lazy to register and log in (which takes under a minute), I appologize, but it is still lies. I'm not saying the ion desirves a "10/10!!!". I'm fine with you giving it a 2/10, but the review itself is full of bogus and is misleading to those actually looking at getting an ION. And I, myself am not pushing and defending SP markers. Yes, I shoot an impulse, but I hate smartparts to the core. I'm no fan of ICD simply because customer service needs improvement (small company + lots of customers = pain in the ass), but I honestly like them over SP. AGD > All, though. Now, don't take this the wrong way as a flame. I'm just trying to help people actually reading reviews and basing their next purchase off of reviews.
   

Mcot2 Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 6:54 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Empyre
all of you are the most ignorant people I have ever seen. The author (or co-author) of this review has actually tried this gun and from the review I imagine that he has reviewed it somewhat extensively. Also, I don't see what testing Spyders and Fishies has to do with it also, in fact its a bonus on his credibility: He has tried the blowbacks and then got an Ion and obviosly didn't see an improvement.

The ion, I believe, is a marker specific to a general population of buyers: those who want a nice gun but don't want to spend alot of money, the fact that they don't want to spend a lot of money indicates that this may have been a big step for them, or that they are mild tournament/mostly league players and expected an immediate boost in their paintall skill. Most people then, if saving their money up and buying this, would not want to admit that they got a crappy gun with a crappy design so of course they would give it a good rating. At least this guy had the balls to come out and admit the problems he had with the marker, irregardless of the inevitable onslaught of negative posts with "highly imbred undertones." Those of you who flamed this guy and had never tried the Ion should really look at the top rated reviews and think to yourself, "hmmm, this guy gave this gun a ten but I could clearly think of a few reasons why it is not the best marker out there (ala 10/10 or in other words [i]perfect[/i]), maybe I should remark on his and tell him that it can't possibly be perfect."


I know, notice I said I didn't think the ION was the best marker but it doesn't deserve a 2/10.. at least for the stuff he said about it.

It has a warentee, so if it has problems they can be fixed for free, although if it had problems I would give it a 5 or 6 but still not a 2. It deserves at least an 5 or 6 man...
   

Sporefrog Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 7:39 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Mcot2

And also if you dont need an lpr why use one. They just add weight, complexity, and another thing to tune. The Ion doesnt need one and still rips.


Oh, so you would rather have a higher cocking pressure and operating pressure instead of having to set a reg. It takes like a minute.
   

Sporefrog Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 7:43 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Kishida
well i want the gun but u people make it hard to choose...

I'll choose for you...don't get it. Look at all the high reviews, 80% mention nothing but "I OWNED NOOBS AT MY FIELD WITH THIS GUN GET IT."
   

Sporefrog Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 9:05 am PST
Thanks pullethmyfinger, at least someone is backing me up.

quote:
From Wagner:
” Oh yeah by the way, a local team went into an pro. level tournament, and took 4th. Did i mention that they all had ions?....You crack me up”



Did I say that you couldn’t win a tournament with this gun? My team took 3rd using rental Evo’s, but that doesn’t make an Evo good.

quote:
From Mcot:
“Heres a quote just from the first thing I saw on the FS:

"extended use: basicly the same as i said before...just i found out that this thing sucks down gas...i get about 850 shots per 68/45...(but this is great when you are playing rec with an all day air pass...)"”


So it’s my word against his, that proves nothing.

quote:
From Amon RA:
“Im seriously surprised the authors brain can generate enough power to allow his fingers to type on a keyboard . Look at what this guy shoots....spyders and pirranahs , i wouldn't let my sister shoot one of those . And whats up with im writing this for a friend? write what you know about spyderboy , better yet just leave the reviewing to the big boys”


its called SIMILAR PRODUCTS USED - and because spyders and pirranahs are in the price range and similar design of the ion i put them down as SIMILAR PRODUCTS USED. i dont think a DM4 compares to a 300 dollar blowback hybrid - and believe me ive shot my share of highend guns... even in my setup field it says FREESTYLE - and no a freestyle is not a spyder clone, way to read buddy.


Maybe I said I had used spyders and pirranahs because those guns compare to this one, they are around the same price range. Do I really have to list every gun I’ve ever shot? What does me shooting a tippmann, angel, dm4, dm5, shocker, nerve, impulse, autocockers (mech and e2), timmies, freestyle, B2k, or anything else help with the review. Since I never in my review compared it to any of those guns its really pointless to put them in.

quote:
From Kurama:
“Oh, now you're saying an HE'd freestyle gets 2000 shots and an ION only gets 1000? The ion gets 1000-1400, and google has 0 results for the HE bolt for the freestyle other than the fact that it comes stick with the 2k5 pro freestyles.

And there's no way in bloody hell that a freestyle, one of the least efficient markers, gets more shots than a Viking, the most efficient marker. You're full of s***.”


How about, instead of telling me I’m lying, actually prove it to me. I told you my experiences with the Freestyle’s efficiency and then I used simple math to show what it would be with a bigger tank. That’s the best I can do unless I come to your house and count out each individual shot.
Last edited on Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 at 12:09 pm PST
   

Sporefrog Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 11:52 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Mcot2


Way to spew more bs. The Ion is a blow forward desgin. Most all single tubes guns are that way including the mag. The only difference is the Ion uses a simple spool valve, while the freestyle does not, so it needs an lpr, which complicates the process of tuning the marker and getting it set up.

1.8 pounds? Nice try. I highly doubt that is with the barrel on or the regulator. Some companies do this to measure weight of the gun. The 03 shocker weighs 1.9 pounds, and I highly highly doubt the freestyle weighs less.

Effciency - Read the reviews why don't you. People are claiming 900 shots on a 68/45 (before they fixed the effciency with the bolt kit of course)

Ive never read a review that states it got 1600 of a 68/45 that is pure bs right there.

And also if you dont need an lpr why use one. They just add weight, complexity, and another thing to tune. The Ion doesnt need one and still rips.



ok when did i say the ion wasnt blow forward? never. way to read wrong buddy. i said "The freestyle is a blow forward marker, but its like the mag more" Where in that sentence did i say ion? nowhere? ok. All that stated is it operated similarly to a mag whereas the ion doesnt. but i can see where your feeble mind may have been confused.

"wrong, their completely different. the ions design is crossed between a stacked tube blowback (spyder) and spool valve design (shocker) the freestyle is none of these."


this is quite ironic how the person defending the ion is the one who doesnt know how to read.

"1.8 pounds? Nice try. I highly doubt that is with the barrel on or the regulator. Some companies do this to measure weight of the gun. The 03 shocker weighs 1.9 pounds, and I highly highly doubt the freestyle weighs less. "

Well, its what its advertised at by the manufactuerer, so thats one reliable source Vs. what you think doesnt sound right - its up to you to prove it wrong buddy.

so just because some companies weigh their guns without the reg or barrel, therefore Indian Creek Designs MUST do it too, because you think it seems a little too light. good logic i like the way you think.

quote:
Originally posted by Mcot2
Heres a quote just from the first thing I saw on the FS:

"extended use: basicly the same as i said before...just i found out that this thing sucks down gas...i get about 850 shots per 68/45...(but this is great when you are playing rec with an all day air pass...)"


ok, so it MUST be true because somebody from the internet you dont even know said it, even more so it could be a biased - as you claim mine is.

BTW, its called paint to bore match buddy, and with the freestyles stock barrel it happens to be perfect. i dont know if you knew this but the paintballs you shoot matched with the size of the barrel will effect efficiency, we could take a little visit to our friend physics but i dont want to confuse you.


quote:
Originally posted by Kurama


And freesyles don't get close to 1600 shots per 68/45 with an HE bolt kit. Not even close. Your weight comparison is off too. Your 1.8 seems a bit low for your freestyle without reg barrel or bottomline. More like 2. To proove this. email me a pic of you holding your freestyle on a fishing scale used to fill co2. Also the ION's 2.2 included reg barrel and bottomline I'm sorry to say.


ok, again, the manufactures (the people who designed and produced the gun) word Vs. your word (some random d1p sh1t who hasnt even used a freestyle before). i wonder which is more accurate - how about you weigh it and post it on the internet.

quote:
Originally posted by Kurama
Oh, now you're saying an HE'd freestyle gets 2000 shots and an ION only gets 1000? The ion gets 1000-1400, and google has 0 results for the HE bolt for the freestyle other than the fact that it comes stick with the 2k5 pro freestyles.

And there's no way in bloody hell that a freestyle, one of the least efficient markers, gets more shots than a Viking, the most efficient marker. You're full of s***.

Now, please edit your review or delete it, as it is full of misinformation. I have no doubt in my mind that your "friend" is a fabricated character you've greated to push ICD markers over Smart Parts markers because you have no actual argument other than lies to display your opinion. If your friend is a real person, but too lazy to register and log in (which takes under a minute), I appologize,



Again, way to read right. I said "so lets see at the ions worst advertised efficiency (1000) and my experiences with a freestyle (2000 - with HE kit) i think the freestyle is slightly more efficient... by 2x"

under ions worst advertised efficiency.. which IS 1000 (simple math says that 1000 is less than or equal to 1000-1400).

Now i do admit that a case per 68/45 is amazing efficiency , especially for a gun known for inefficiency. but you do see ICD has a reputation of improving its line of products thats why 04 gen2s come standard with HE kit, and all newer freestyles as well. and you do understand that some people on pbreview are not aware of factors such as paint to bore that effect efficiency. and at least 50% of the reviews on a freestyle do not know how to set regs or didnt allow their gun to break in. pbreview.com is not an all might all entierly reliable source.

"If your friend is a real person, but too lazy to register and log in (which takes under a minute),"

My friend has 56k which rarely works and is super slow - plus he doesnt have an email address. so why not write it while hes at my house - its going to be the same review.

and id like you to prove that my friend isnt real.



Last edited on Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 at 12:23 pm PST
   

Terial Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 11:55 am PST
this gun will take over spiders, end of story
   

Mcot2 Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 12:53 pm PST
God you just don't give up trying to spew your BS.

Ive read over 50 reviews on the freestyle, as I was intersted in buying one. Every review I read stated that it got horribly effciency, in the 850-900 range off of a 68/45. Obviously someones word againt another is nothing, but 50 words vs. one is pretty conclusive. This depends on piant to barrel match, but I still highly doubt you get an extra 200 or 300 shots with better paint to barrel match. Also, a lot of these people had freaks or other insert systems, totally negating paint to barrel match as an issue.

As for the lpr, well the Ion runs at about 150-180psi. Of the 50 reviews ive read, chopping has not been a problem. I used to have an evil pimp, and the lpr ran at 125psi, so it isnt even a big difference. The freestyles might run lower, but that still wont make a difference if the marker has break beam eyes anyway.

Yes, it takes one minute to set an lpr, but you have to do it EVERY time you readjust the HPR unless you have a pressure compensating lpr. This is a pain, and its not always easy to do if you have to chono down on the feild in a hurry. Again, it just adds complexity and weight. They are good for guns that run at 300psi because you dont want the bolt flying that fast hitting the ball, but at 150-180 psi theres only a small difference.

The ion is blow forward, the freestyle is blow forward. You said they did not work in the same mannor, and they do. They acomplish this in drastically different ways, but its the same principal. Open bolt blowforward = mag,shocker,ion,FS ect....

The weight is 1.8 pounds without a reg and barrel. The Ion is 2.2 with the reg barrel and asa.

"Chris @ Tech - I was watching Zio7 play, he's in the youth division(15 and under). If I remember correctly, it was positioned like he was using a bazooka.

Zio7 - I did notice in your first game you had a problem shooting a stream. It could be how your trigger is setup. Some ppl when trying to shoot mine would walk it, there was a tendency that one finger would keep the trigger back so it wouldnt return.

The weight of the FS with regs and drops is around 2.5 pounds. It would weigh close to 1.8 without the regs, drop, and battery."

This is a quote off of pbnation in this thread. See for yourself. http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=83110
0&highlight=%2Bfreestyle+%2Bweight

Again, its still unfair to compare a 300 doller gun to a 700 doller gun as you do in your review. This isnt supposed to be a FS. An FS is better! I agree. But for 300 the Ion gives you many benefits vs the FS plus its a lot cheaper. Its a better buy, just deal with it.
   

Mcot2 Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 12:55 pm PST
Also explain how the ion is a cross between a stacked tube blowback and a spool valve design please?

It has 0 properities of a stacked tube blowback.
   

Sporefrog Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 4:18 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Mcot2
God you just don't give up trying to spew your BS.

Ive read over 50 reviews on the freestyle, as I was intersted in buying one. Every review I read stated that it got horribly effciency, in the 850-900 range off of a 68/45. Obviously someones word againt another is nothing, but 50 words vs. one is pretty conclusive. This depends on piant to barrel match, but I still highly doubt you get an extra 200 or 300 shots with better paint to barrel match. Also, a lot of these people had freaks or other insert systems, totally negating paint to barrel match as an issue.


Maybe the person didn't put the right sizer on? Maybe the paint was brittle so he put on a bigger one to be safe? Maybe the sizer was off? Maybe they didn't alow the regulators to break in? There are lots of variables that affect effieciency.

quote:

As for the lpr, well the Ion runs at about 150-180psi. Of the 50 reviews ive read, chopping has not been a problem. I used to have an evil pimp, and the lpr ran at 125psi, so it isnt even a big difference. The freestyles might run lower, but that still wont make a difference if the marker has break beam eyes anyway.


Do you know what Eyes do? They detect if there is a paintball in the break, if there is on it alows the gun to shoot, if theres not then the gun won't shoot. It can't determine if the paintball is brittle and if it is turn down the pressure to make sure the paint won't break.

quote:

Yes, it takes one minute to set an lpr, but you have to do it EVERY time you readjust the HPR unless you have a pressure compensating lpr. This is a pain, and its not always easy to do if you have to chono down on the feild in a hurry. Again, it just adds complexity and weight. They are good for guns that run at 300psi because you dont want the bolt flying that fast hitting the ball, but at 150-180 psi theres only a small difference.


You only need to change the LPR if you change the HPR alot. Since when you first set the LPR you set it to the FPS that you will use most of the time. So when you are chronoing, you are trying to get the FPS that your LPR is set to. You might have the change the HPR pressure a little bit, but not enough to change the LPR.

There are lots of advantages to an LPR. What if your gun doesn't recock. With an LPR you just turn the pressure up until it does. If you don't have an LPR what can you do?

quote:

The ion is blow forward, the freestyle is blow forward. You said they did not work in the same mannor, and they do. They acomplish this in drastically different ways, but its the same principal. Open bolt blowforward = mag,shocker,ion,FS ect....



The gun is closed bolt when they fire the paintball, just not the rest of the cycle.
Thats like saying a Timmy and a spyder are the same design because they are both blow back. Thats the dumbest logic I've ever heard. There are so many differences between ions and freestyles.

quote:

The weight is 1.8 pounds without a reg and barrel. The Ion is 2.2 with the reg barrel and asa.

"Chris @ Tech - I was watching Zio7 play, he's in the youth division(15 and under). If I remember correctly, it was positioned like he was using a bazooka.

Zio7 - I did notice in your first game you had a problem shooting a stream. It could be how your trigger is setup. Some ppl when trying to shoot mine would walk it, there was a tendency that one finger would keep the trigger back so it wouldnt return.

The weight of the FS with regs and drops is around 2.5 pounds. It would weigh close to 1.8 without the regs, drop, and battery."

This is a quote off of pbnation in this thread. See for yourself. http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?s=&amp;threadid=8
3110 0&amp;highlight=%2Bfreestyle+%2Bweight


I just weighed my freestyle and it was 2.3 pounds. I'd take the extra 1/10 of a pound for the extra speed, effiecency, looks, ALL aluminum body, and consistency.

Plus mine has a on off, so that could account for the extra .1 pound. So the Freestyle and the ION weigh about the same.

quote:

Again, its still unfair to compare a 300 doller gun to a 700 doller gun as you do in your review. This isnt supposed to be a FS. An FS is better! I agree. But for 300 the Ion gives you many benefits vs the FS plus its a lot cheaper. Its a better buy, just deal with it.


I never once compared the ION to a gun other than the BKO, Spyders, or Pirranahs in my review. I only compared it to the Freestyle after some one else did.

"
Ive read over 50 reviews on the freestyle"

theres about 30 at pbreview.com... where were the other 20?
Last edited on Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 at 4:37 pm PST
   

bigjody Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 4:33 pm PST
This guy does not know what he is talking about. When i got my ion I had no problem with it. It shots so Fast it is awesome, I will recamend this gun for any one, Plz go out and buy one today, You will not rregret buying it
   

Sporefrog Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 5:37 pm PST
So fast? Capped at 17 BPS is fast? OMG LIEK HT E BEKO THSOOESTS soooo afAAST .
   

james52 Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 6:13 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Sporefrog
So fast? Capped at 17 BPS is fast? OMG LIEK HT E BEKO THSOOESTS soooo afAAST .
English please
   
Previous Page
Pages (36):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media