paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review

Comments on Sporefrog's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Sporefrog Saturday, February 19th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month185 of 1282 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BKO, Pirranah EVO, espyders
Marker Setup: 04 Gen2 Freestyle 45/4500, Stiffi switch kit, nox board, prototype techna trigger, contract killers lady panels, Reloader B black, 05 CP on/off, CP reg, JDS LPR, carbon fiber side panels. CP twist-lock feedneck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Feedneck, Reg, trigger
Strengths: Comes with a regulator, alright trigger sorta efficient
Weaknesses: See review TOO MANY TO LIST!!!!!!
Review: My friend bought this gun and wrote the review-

Weaknesses:

Barrel, no famous spiral porting , they could at least throw the progressive on it stock. this barrel is horrible. I've heard and seen cases in which the inside of the barrel is powder coated. Terrible quality control on SP's part. There is a big difference between micro honed and powder coated.

Feedneck, not clamping but it does have orings in it meaning it might stay tight, but be prepared to do a lot of sanding. another decent feedneck (made of decent aluminum) will go for another 40 bucks.

Regulator- not even a max flow, just a downgraded version. i experience velocity spikes of +/- 25 FPS and my paint to bore was PERFECT. and that was after i fixed the leak on it. And there is tons of drop off once you hit 8+ bps. I was shooting 280 and when I started shooting fast it was in the low 200's.

Body- low grade aluminum covered by "polymer" (PLASTIC) shell. looks really bad, everybody at the local field made fun of its looks. i was sad.

Internals- I took this thing apart and it was pretty simple. except i noticed one thing right away - the solenoid coil - it was in plain sight - exposed. This is a very fragile part of the solenoid and deserves some protection. I can see this getting to be a problem in the future, I haven't opened my gun since then in fear of nicking coil. A two way solenoid, not too impressive. This is what the older BKO's used.


Board - the board is capped at 17, some of my friends can walk a trigger faster than this - Why cap it at 17 when all u have to do is change a few numbers in the code to make it faster? Bad move sp.

My guess is they capped it there because the solenoid is probably really bad and will explode if you cycle too fast..

Kick- This gun had a lot of kick to it, comparable to a spyder.

Feel - Felt plasticy, reminded me of holding a brass eagle blade - I definitely didn't dig it.

Trigger - It was plastic and had a bad setup - Was hard to pull fast or consistantly, magnet was way to strong stock. EDIT: Somebody at the local field with an ion got his trigger shot off in a game, the trigger just broke - very weak.

Lack of color options, yellow red blue black - all looks the same (really bad) no fades just looks plastic.

This is one loud gun.

Duckbill- Makes for a long setup and provides no On/off features. Not comfortable

NOT durable at all- I slid into a bunker and my feedneck hit the edge, now i cant take my feedneck off because the threads are messed up. if i ever want to take it off its going to cost 100 dollars, that's what smart parts said.
Conclusion: First day at the field with this gun - had a leak right away. we figured out that it was the bolt assembly and it was missing an oring - HOW DO YOU MISS AN ORING!!! i was pissed. after that my reg leaked, guy at the field fixed it for me i owe him one thanks bob. The accuracy was terrible even with a good paint bore match, kick was terrible and consistency was non existent - I've had way better experiences with spyder clones

I'll give it a two just because the new concept other then that it deserves a 1. I was definitely not happy with this product. Smart Parts customer service was definitely no help at all.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 26th, 2005 at 11:23 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (36):  First  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  36
                            
death3291993 Wednesday, October 1st, 2008 | 12:53 pm PST
Dispute:
This gun doesn't deserve a 2 out of 10. I enjoy having it, they just rated the gun low because of the service they got.
   

McEd Tuesday, October 14th, 2008 | 7:12 pm PST
Dispute:
obviously u need to learn how to use, take apart, and shoot a gun, when you do and give a half decent review with an experienced view point, come back and do a review and i will remove my dispute just shoot me a pm
   

Pballer42394 Thursday, December 4th, 2008 | 4:16 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Mcot2
Ok since this guy is trying to defend his review let me pick it apart.

1.) Barrel, no famous spiral porting , they could atleast throw the progressive on it stock. this barrel is horrible.

This is a freaking 300 doller gun. What barrel does a bko have? What barrel does an odessey o3 have? An a-5? Come on man, that is a lame weakness. Barrels are very upgradeable, and even some 500-1,000 doller guns come with horrible barrels stock.
This is not a weakness, its a fact of life.

2.) Feedneck, not clamping but it does have orings in it meaning it might stay tight, but be prepared to do a lot of sanding. another decent feedneck (made of decent aluminum) will go for another 40 bucks.

Again, its a 300 doller gun! What other guns in this price range have a clamping feedneck. Heck, Id say the oring feedneck is good, since even guns with 800 price tages have o-ring feednecks. Again, not a weakness, and if anything maybe a strength.

3.) Regulator- not even a max flow, just a downgraded verison. i experience velocity spikes of +/- 25 FPS and my paint to bore was PERFECT. and that was after i fixed the leak on it.

Of course its not a max-flo. Again its a 300 doller gun!!!!!!! I can't stress this enough, its 300 dollers. The reg seems fine to me though. Ive read over 25 reviews of this gun from everyone else, and their consistancy is more like +- 7. Did you break in the reg properly? Oh wait, this is something you don't even own... so why am i talking to you... But at any rate, try a bko reg or an odessey o3 reg, and then tell me the sp reg is bad. Fact is, this is a perfectly respectable reg for its price range, and the ion accepts all other regs out there if you want to upgrade. Again, Im not sure the reg is a weakness here. Its certainly not the best, but can we expect it to be????

4.) Body- low grade aluminum coverd by "polymer" (PLASTIC) shell. looks really bad, everybody at the local field made fun of its looks. i was sad

Is this even worthy of a response? Ok so I think your only weakness here is looks. WHICH IS TOTALLY OPINION BASED. I dont care what you think about looks, thats for me to decide. But thanks for including it in your review.... Also the polymer is very strong, its not going to crack on you, and if for some reason it does you can buy a new shell for 30 bucks. But I can't stress this enough, its a lot stronger than regular old plastic like on a brass eagle talon, plus its reinforced by rubber and aluminum underneath....

5.) Internals- I took this thing apart and it was pretty simple. except i noticed one thing right away - the solenoid coil - it was in plain sight - exposed. This is a very fragile part of the solenoid and deserves some protection. i can see this getting to be a problem in the future, i havent opened my gun since then in fear of nicking coil.

All selenoids are fragile. Yes some are covered in a shell, but so what. Most of them are far more complex than this. Ever opened up an angel/timmy/bushmaster? Defintaly a lot more going on in there than the ion, and more parts to break. The fact that your afraid to open your gun (WHOOPS NOT YOUR GUN I FORGOT) is pathetic. You can break anything if your not careful, so how is this a weakness.

6.) board- it has full auto and rebound mode - both illegal - local tournament wouldnt allow me to use it so i couldnt even use my gun - i had to use a rental i was pissed.

I don't even know where to start here. Are you incapable of turning the marker to semi mode??? There you go, perfectly legal in the tourney. I had to use a rental, I was pisssed. Somehow im seriously doubting this statement.

7.) the board is capped at 17, some of my friends can walk a trigger faster than this - why cap it at 17 when all u have to do is change a few numbers in the code to make it faster? bad move sp

Because 17 is fast enough maybe? Also the marker right now is capped at around 18 or 19 bps mechanically. If and when new bolts come out to increase the cycle rate, then we will start seeing boards going into the 20's. They cap it at 17 to avoid problems like shootdown and stuff on a stock marker. Its a good move because you and I know they would have tousands of people complaining with problems when shooting over 17 on a completly stock marker. But once new bolts come out and aftermarket people make boards, you will see the true potential of these things unlocked.

8.) my guess is they capped it there because the solenoid is probably really bad and will exlpode if u cycle too fast..

No the selonid can handle into the low 20's as sated by a smart parts tech.

9.) kick- this gun had a lot of kick to it, comparable to a spyder.

Again, I go back to the 25 + reviews ive read. Most say that it has little to no kick and list it as a strength. Im going to have to call bs on you. Plus kick is effect by pressure and dwell a lot. And considering you don't know how to put the gun in semi mode, im pretty sure you don't know how to adjust dwell and pressure.

10.) feel - felt plasticy, reminded me of holding a brass eagle blade - i defintley didnt dig it.

What felt plasticy? Were you holding the shell maybe? Then of course it will feel plasticy. What the heck is this even? This is the crappiest weakness ive ever read. A brass eagle blade is made out of a polymer plastic too, except is lesser quality, so therefore it should feel like that if your holding the shell of course....

11.) trigger - it was plastic and had a bad setup - was hard to pull fast

Agaust the trigger? Slow fingers? Take out the magnet? Do you even think before you write something. The trigger is definatly not holding the marker back, although it could be improved in aftermarket designs. I think it is a weakness, but I wouldn't say it was hard to pull fast.

12.) no bottomline stock - had to go buy some, another 40 dollars

It comes stock with a duckbill. You are a moron if you didn't see the duckbill sitting right on the marker...

13.) lack of color options, yellow red blue black - all looks the same (really bad) no fades just looks plastic.

Again looks is opinion, so i can't knock you for that. But at 300 and shooting the way it does, I also can't knock the ion for looks. And you shouldn't either.

14.) this is one loud gun.

25 reviews against you says this is a quiet gun, and even quieter with a new barrel.

15.) NOT durable at all- i slid into a bunker and my feedneck hit the edge, now i cant take my feedneck off because the threads are messed up. if i ever want to take it off its going to cost 100 dollars thats what smart parts said.

HIGHLY suspect considering the review and the revieweer. Nice try trying to take a stab at the ion though. Thought we wouldn't notice and take your word for it.


Well there it is, this review is crap. The ion is a 300 doller marker. With new reg and barrel it can fire with the best of them. Thats putting your total at maybe 400. But again the stock reg and barrel arn't even bad. This review is very bad and I advise people to be sceptial of any review that isn't supported by facts or doesn't take the price into consideration, and lastly, isn't wirtten by someone who owns the gun, and has owned it for more than at least a month.


Dude good job. haha your pretty funny
   

vindeta Friday, December 26th, 2008 | 3:31 pm PST
Dispute:
??????????
   

PBjedi Tuesday, December 30th, 2008 | 7:27 pm PST
"this gun will take over spiders, end of story" posted by Terial ok,that is CRAP!,just because ions cost more doesnt mean that they can "take over spiders" u dont know what ur talking about! u dont even know how to spell spyder!
Last edited on Thursday, January 1st, 2009 at 4:24 pm PST
   

xpolakk24x Friday, January 2nd, 2009 | 8:56 pm PST
what a newb..... just cuz U now have the crappy gun in the neighborhood ur jealous... and plz next time think through of what ur sayin and then write it down...
   
Previous Page
Pages (36):  First  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  36
                            

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media