paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review

Comments on Sporefrog's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Sporefrog Saturday, February 19th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month185 of 1285 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BKO, Pirranah EVO, espyders
Marker Setup: 04 Gen2 Freestyle 45/4500, Stiffi switch kit, nox board, prototype techna trigger, contract killers lady panels, Reloader B black, 05 CP on/off, CP reg, JDS LPR, carbon fiber side panels. CP twist-lock feedneck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Feedneck, Reg, trigger
Strengths: Comes with a regulator, alright trigger sorta efficient
Weaknesses: See review TOO MANY TO LIST!!!!!!
Review: My friend bought this gun and wrote the review-

Weaknesses:

Barrel, no famous spiral porting , they could at least throw the progressive on it stock. this barrel is horrible. I've heard and seen cases in which the inside of the barrel is powder coated. Terrible quality control on SP's part. There is a big difference between micro honed and powder coated.

Feedneck, not clamping but it does have orings in it meaning it might stay tight, but be prepared to do a lot of sanding. another decent feedneck (made of decent aluminum) will go for another 40 bucks.

Regulator- not even a max flow, just a downgraded version. i experience velocity spikes of +/- 25 FPS and my paint to bore was PERFECT. and that was after i fixed the leak on it. And there is tons of drop off once you hit 8+ bps. I was shooting 280 and when I started shooting fast it was in the low 200's.

Body- low grade aluminum covered by "polymer" (PLASTIC) shell. looks really bad, everybody at the local field made fun of its looks. i was sad.

Internals- I took this thing apart and it was pretty simple. except i noticed one thing right away - the solenoid coil - it was in plain sight - exposed. This is a very fragile part of the solenoid and deserves some protection. I can see this getting to be a problem in the future, I haven't opened my gun since then in fear of nicking coil. A two way solenoid, not too impressive. This is what the older BKO's used.


Board - the board is capped at 17, some of my friends can walk a trigger faster than this - Why cap it at 17 when all u have to do is change a few numbers in the code to make it faster? Bad move sp.

My guess is they capped it there because the solenoid is probably really bad and will explode if you cycle too fast..

Kick- This gun had a lot of kick to it, comparable to a spyder.

Feel - Felt plasticy, reminded me of holding a brass eagle blade - I definitely didn't dig it.

Trigger - It was plastic and had a bad setup - Was hard to pull fast or consistantly, magnet was way to strong stock. EDIT: Somebody at the local field with an ion got his trigger shot off in a game, the trigger just broke - very weak.

Lack of color options, yellow red blue black - all looks the same (really bad) no fades just looks plastic.

This is one loud gun.

Duckbill- Makes for a long setup and provides no On/off features. Not comfortable

NOT durable at all- I slid into a bunker and my feedneck hit the edge, now i cant take my feedneck off because the threads are messed up. if i ever want to take it off its going to cost 100 dollars, that's what smart parts said.
Conclusion: First day at the field with this gun - had a leak right away. we figured out that it was the bolt assembly and it was missing an oring - HOW DO YOU MISS AN ORING!!! i was pissed. after that my reg leaked, guy at the field fixed it for me i owe him one thanks bob. The accuracy was terrible even with a good paint bore match, kick was terrible and consistency was non existent - I've had way better experiences with spyder clones

I'll give it a two just because the new concept other then that it deserves a 1. I was definitely not happy with this product. Smart Parts customer service was definitely no help at all.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 26th, 2005 at 11:23 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (36):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
leemoe5500 Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005 | 6:57 pm PST
Dude don't wright reviews if you don't own the gun. And if you did wright this review for your friend how come you refer to you friend in the first person. What didyou fail english in the first grade?
Second off polymers and plastics are two different things. And what did you expect a for $285 it is a good gun. And no stock barrel is perfect. All together this is the worst review i have ever seen for any thing.
   

miguel bain Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005 | 8:26 pm PST
Ok i will not try to stop the endless flames that go with this review(or encourage them for that matter) but this guy's friend has had a not so good time with his ION, leave it be. All this talk about BS is just wasted space, move on. I'm not going to lie and say i know everything about the in's & out's of high end markers, but most of the hype surrounding all of these guns is just that....HYPE. Closed bolt,blow back,blow forward, it is in every way to divide the people into thinking one is better than the other, in which ,there is no clear winner(proven on new-merest tests & if you doubt this , try it out for yourself). A marker shooting at 280fps regardless of type, is going to shoot 280fps, placement of the paintballs, comes down to a good paint to barrel match. You don't need any more than a 12" barrel, and they have proven anything over 9" detracts from the velocity. It all comes down to the skill & preference a person has with a particular marker. Hey if you suck at aiming a marker(say a Spyder), it does not mean that if you spend $1000.00 + on a gun(say an Angel) all of a sudden your a pro..hell no.Or if your marker looks the coolest your going to win on looks...RIGHT!!!! . The one thing i will say about sporefrog is he has(for the most part) been a lone voice in his opinion of this marker(on the neg or more to the fact, try and bring some balance, outside of Ynda's review, which is a very thorough review in my opinion)but for all you new people(noob is such a bad word) coming into this "sport" take time to read all reviews and do some homework, go to the fields and ask questions. If you see a marker you like, ask if you can shoot it, most guy's will allow you to(if for no other reason than to gloat), don't jump on a bandwagon, after all you may not like the way this marker feels in your hands & it is your hard earned $$$ that your spending.
I end with this, i intend to buy a ION, why, because i've tested one, & i like the way it feels and shoots, end of story. I will not push my opinion on you guy's, just try one for yourself, and see if it's for you.
later
   

Mcot2 Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005 | 9:48 pm PST
That has nothing to do with writing a crappy review....

The review is crappy, gives vague details and doesn't support them at all. I would say the same about a poorly written good review too.
   

SYOpaintballer Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005 | 9:50 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by AirSin2000
The marker DOES NOT come with a Max-Flo reg, every reason you guys have given its pure BS. He gave it a bad review big whoop. Do I flame every guy that gives a bad rating to the marker I own no(unless it is pure BS).

This comment is BS hes gonna go out there with an un siphoned co2 tank and a gravity feed loader , try to rip on the gun make it chop and shoot like poo because of his setup and then post his results , they arent even valid due to the fact the marker wasnt tested at industry standards
   

young1 Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 8:47 am PST
Ok guys obvioulsy all this argueing is getting no where and its realy just a waist of time now Im not agreeing with sporefrog or any of you. I have never shot this gun befor, but I have seen enough indepth reviews for me to be sold. The littles errors that you find in this gun is mostly user error not gun error. Everyone has there own opinions and thats all this is opinions this whole arguing thing was kinda amusing at first to see whos point is better but now its just down rite childish and makes me sick.

I would also like to point out the fact of the durablity of this gun when Miami Effect were in LA it was realy muddy and most of there shockers were going down and most of the guys started to use ions with no upgrades but mayby a rail and barrel system and they stated, "This gun rips pretty good and never gave up and had no problems." "I literaly slid into a bunker and a sumerged the whole thing and it still worked." If that doesnt want you to bye this gun then I dont know what will. ooooo ya and if you think im lien then you can check up on all of it at pbnation.com under MIAMI EFFECT.
   

Sporefrog Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 10:56 am PST
quote:
From Mcot2:
“That has nothing to do with writing a crappy review....

The review is crappy, gives vague details and doesn't support them at all. I would say the same about a poorly written good review too.”


Then why don’t you? Look at difplayer9’s, ChaChushady’s, superrocker’s, and bigjody’s reviews. They all give almost no information yet you have no comments in there. It seems like you don’t say the same about a poorly written good review. Mine at least gives some information of why I didn’t like it. This is the main body of one of those reviews:

“It is a great gun but when i got it yesterday and it wouldnt shoot so i took it to my local paintball shop and he fixed it now it is shooting great. And today i went to paintball central to play and i shot out so many people today. I was shooting strings of paint the hole time.”

That’s VERY descriptive.
   

Sporefrog Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 11:01 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by young1
Ok guys obvioulsy all this argueing is getting no where and its realy just a waist of time now Im not agreeing with sporefrog or any of you. I have never shot this gun befor, but I have seen enough indepth reviews for me to be sold. The littles errors that you find in this gun is mostly user error not gun error. Everyone has there own opinions and thats all this is opinions this whole arguing thing was kinda amusing at first to see whos point is better but now its just down rite childish and makes me sick.

I would also like to point out the fact of the durablity of this gun when Miami Effect were in LA it was realy muddy and most of there shockers were going down and most of the guys started to use ions with no upgrades but mayby a rail and barrel system and they stated, "This gun rips pretty good and never gave up and had no problems." "I literaly slid into a bunker and a sumerged the whole thing and it still worked." If that doesnt want you to bye this gun then I dont know what will. ooooo ya and if you think im lien then you can check up on all of it at pbnation.com under MIAMI EFFECT.


Yes, I know that Miami Effect used the ION. The part where he said he ran into a bunker and the gun was fine, that was an AIR BUNKER. The bunker I slid into was wood. What has a higher density, air or wood?
   

Mcot2 Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 11:12 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Sporefrog


Then why don’t you? Look at difplayer9’s, ChaChushady’s, superrocker’s, and bigjody’s reviews. They all give almost no information yet you have no comments in there. It seems like you don’t say the same about a poorly written good review. Mine at least gives some information of why I didn’t like it. This is the main body of one of those reviews:

“It is a great gun but when i got it yesterday and it wouldnt shoot so i took it to my local paintball shop and he fixed it now it is shooting great. And today i went to paintball central to play and i shot out so many people today. I was shooting strings of paint the hole time.”

That’s VERY descriptive.


Ive been to busy to get around to criticing more reviews. This one is sucking up all my time.
   

OnEKING954 Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 11:47 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Mcot2
This isnt even a valid review. Obvious this person doesn't have an ion and is bs'ing this review. He owns an ICD marker, that alone would tell me he has a bias against sp alredy.



^^word^^
   

Sporefrog Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 11:47 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Mcot2


Ive been to busy to get around to criticing more reviews. This one is sucking up all my time.


Wow, you need to get a life.

This arguement has taken up half my study hall, im going to do some homework now.
you can have fun spending your days running around "critiquing" other peoples reviews of a paintball gun on internet sites. Well its been fun owning you, later.
   

young1 Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 1:49 pm PST
ok spore frog if you read my response rite then you would know that I said SUMERGED as in he put it underwater and mud and it still worked thats what I was tryin to say. I only said miami effect used the ion just to let you know that the ion isnt as bad and has as many gun errors as you say it does. Its all user error on your part.
   

Sporefrog Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 2:40 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by young1
ok spore frog if you read my response rite then you would know that I said SUMERGED as in he put it underwater and mud and it still worked thats what I was tryin to say. I only said miami effect used the ion just to let you know that the ion isnt as bad and has as many gun errors as you say it does. Its all user error on your part.

Ok, cool its water proof, thats nice.
   

Mcot2 Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 5:30 pm PST
Give me a picture of your ion, and a video of it shooting. Put your money where your fingers are if you know what I mean.
   

james52 Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 7:41 pm PST
100th comment, w00t w00t!
   

Six Feet Under Friday, February 25th, 2005 | 4:26 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by miguel bain
Ok i will not try to stop the endless flames that go with this review(or encourage them for that matter) but this guy's friend has had a not so good time with his ION, leave it be. All this talk about BS is just wasted space, move on. I'm not going to lie and say i know everything about the in's & out's of high end markers, but most of the hype surrounding all of these guns is just that....HYPE. Closed bolt,blow back,blow forward, it is in every way to divide the people into thinking one is better than the other, in which ,there is no clear winner(proven on new-merest tests & if you doubt this , try it out for yourself). A marker shooting at 280fps regardless of type, is going to shoot 280fps, placement of the paintballs, comes down to a good paint to barrel match. You don't need any more than a 12" barrel, and they have proven anything over 9" detracts from the velocity. It all comes down to the skill & preference a person has with a particular marker. Hey if you suck at aiming a marker(say a Spyder), it does not mean that if you spend $1000.00 + on a gun(say an Angel) all of a sudden your a pro..hell no.Or if your marker looks the coolest your going to win on looks...RIGHT!!!! . The one thing i will say about sporefrog is he has(for the most part) been a lone voice in his opinion of this marker(on the neg or more to the fact, try and bring some balance, outside of Ynda's review, which is a very thorough review in my opinion)but for all you new people(noob is such a bad word) coming into this "sport" take time to read all reviews and do some homework, go to the fields and ask questions. If you see a marker you like, ask if you can shoot it, most guy's will allow you to(if for no other reason than to gloat), don't jump on a bandwagon, after all you may not like the way this marker feels in your hands & it is your hard earned $$$ that your spending.
I end with this, i intend to buy a ION, why, because i've tested one, & i like the way it feels and shoots, end of story. I will not push my opinion on you guy's, just try one for yourself, and see if it's for you.
later


I agree with him, none of the numerous tests that have been done have proven that one type of marker is more accurate than another. Paint-to-bore match and how consistent your reg is, those are the two things that define accuracy of any gun in my opinion. I'm thinking about selling my Impulse for an Ion, but I'm not sure where to go to test one... No one around here has one yet.
   

asilaydying Friday, February 25th, 2005 | 11:43 am PST
Good review.
   

Empyre Friday, February 25th, 2005 | 1:56 pm PST
aaaaaaaaa how do i stop it from sending me emails about comment added?

you guys need to calm down, he said he wrote it for his friend who owns the Ion but does not have a pbr account. Before you flame and begin to yell like an imbred horny neanderthal, account for all of the facts.
Last edited on Friday, February 25th, 2005 at 1:54 pm PST
   

pbplayer808 Friday, February 25th, 2005 | 3:00 pm PST
one word BUM
   

asilaydying Friday, February 25th, 2005 | 8:14 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Empyre
aaaaaaaaa how do i stop it from sending me emails about comment added?

you guys need to calm down, he said he wrote it for his friend who owns the Ion but does not have a pbr account. Before you flame and begin to yell like an imbred horny neanderthal, account for all of the facts.


haha your d u m b a s s got about 100 emails. owned.
   

Empyre Saturday, February 26th, 2005 | 9:37 am PST
I only get one a day but still that is one to many.

o and excellent grammer.
Last edited on Saturday, February 26th, 2005 at 9:37 am PST
   
Previous Page
Pages (36):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media