paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review

Comments on Sporefrog's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Sporefrog Saturday, February 19th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month185 of 1282 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BKO, Pirranah EVO, espyders
Marker Setup: 04 Gen2 Freestyle 45/4500, Stiffi switch kit, nox board, prototype techna trigger, contract killers lady panels, Reloader B black, 05 CP on/off, CP reg, JDS LPR, carbon fiber side panels. CP twist-lock feedneck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Feedneck, Reg, trigger
Strengths: Comes with a regulator, alright trigger sorta efficient
Weaknesses: See review TOO MANY TO LIST!!!!!!
Review: My friend bought this gun and wrote the review-

Weaknesses:

Barrel, no famous spiral porting , they could at least throw the progressive on it stock. this barrel is horrible. I've heard and seen cases in which the inside of the barrel is powder coated. Terrible quality control on SP's part. There is a big difference between micro honed and powder coated.

Feedneck, not clamping but it does have orings in it meaning it might stay tight, but be prepared to do a lot of sanding. another decent feedneck (made of decent aluminum) will go for another 40 bucks.

Regulator- not even a max flow, just a downgraded version. i experience velocity spikes of +/- 25 FPS and my paint to bore was PERFECT. and that was after i fixed the leak on it. And there is tons of drop off once you hit 8+ bps. I was shooting 280 and when I started shooting fast it was in the low 200's.

Body- low grade aluminum covered by "polymer" (PLASTIC) shell. looks really bad, everybody at the local field made fun of its looks. i was sad.

Internals- I took this thing apart and it was pretty simple. except i noticed one thing right away - the solenoid coil - it was in plain sight - exposed. This is a very fragile part of the solenoid and deserves some protection. I can see this getting to be a problem in the future, I haven't opened my gun since then in fear of nicking coil. A two way solenoid, not too impressive. This is what the older BKO's used.


Board - the board is capped at 17, some of my friends can walk a trigger faster than this - Why cap it at 17 when all u have to do is change a few numbers in the code to make it faster? Bad move sp.

My guess is they capped it there because the solenoid is probably really bad and will explode if you cycle too fast..

Kick- This gun had a lot of kick to it, comparable to a spyder.

Feel - Felt plasticy, reminded me of holding a brass eagle blade - I definitely didn't dig it.

Trigger - It was plastic and had a bad setup - Was hard to pull fast or consistantly, magnet was way to strong stock. EDIT: Somebody at the local field with an ion got his trigger shot off in a game, the trigger just broke - very weak.

Lack of color options, yellow red blue black - all looks the same (really bad) no fades just looks plastic.

This is one loud gun.

Duckbill- Makes for a long setup and provides no On/off features. Not comfortable

NOT durable at all- I slid into a bunker and my feedneck hit the edge, now i cant take my feedneck off because the threads are messed up. if i ever want to take it off its going to cost 100 dollars, that's what smart parts said.
Conclusion: First day at the field with this gun - had a leak right away. we figured out that it was the bolt assembly and it was missing an oring - HOW DO YOU MISS AN ORING!!! i was pissed. after that my reg leaked, guy at the field fixed it for me i owe him one thanks bob. The accuracy was terrible even with a good paint bore match, kick was terrible and consistency was non existent - I've had way better experiences with spyder clones

I'll give it a two just because the new concept other then that it deserves a 1. I was definitely not happy with this product. Smart Parts customer service was definitely no help at all.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 26th, 2005 at 11:23 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (36):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
wickedlytwisted Saturday, February 26th, 2005 | 9:53 pm PST
this guy honestly does not own a ion. Dude Its not plastic. Body- low grade aluminum coverd by "polymer" (PLASTIC) shell. looks really bad, everybody at the local field made fun of its looks. i was sad. yeah and everyone wants this gun... who wouldnt its a shocker with less problems and it 300 dollars so shoot one befor you post about something.
   

lazyaznboi81 Saturday, February 26th, 2005 | 11:49 pm PST
well im guessing everybody has covered everything since theres more then 100 ppl calling you an idiot.... all i gotta say is

(FROM HIS REVIEW)

Body- low grade aluminum coverd by "polymer" (PLASTIC) shell. looks really bad, everybody at the local field made fun of its looks. i was sad.

lack of color options, yellow red blue black - all looks the same (really bad) no fades just looks plastic.


(END OF QUOTE)

you cant say anything about the look, you saw it before you bought, if you even bought it which i higly doubt, and the colors, how many guns do you know that you casay hmm do i want to use yellow, red,blue, or black today? which isnt a total plus but at leats if you can decide over ex. blue or red... get both
   

mattdogg242424 Sunday, February 27th, 2005 | 4:31 pm PST
retard......moron......dumba** those words and several others come to mind when i think of your stupidity and totally incorrect review of the fantastic smart parts Ion (i bought the yellow one)
   

asilaydying Sunday, February 27th, 2005 | 6:30 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by wickedlytwisted
this guy honestly does not own a ion. Dude Its not plastic. Body- low grade aluminum coverd by "polymer" (PLASTIC) shell. looks really bad, everybody at the local field made fun of its looks. i was sad. yeah and everyone wants this gun... who wouldnt its a shocker with less problems and it 300 dollars so shoot one befor you post about something.


yeah he said "my friend bought this gun and he wrote this review"

sporefrog doesnt own the gun, his friend does. Sporefrog didnt review the gun, his friend did.

your a smart one.
   

TheSpy11 Sunday, February 27th, 2005 | 9:23 pm PST
News flash!! Asilaydying is Sporefrog!!!! Or are you another "friend"?!
Last edited on Monday, February 28th, 2005 at 1:17 pm PST
   

Tool11PinkFloyd Monday, February 28th, 2005 | 8:57 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by TheSpy11
News flash!! Asilaydying is Sporefrog!!!! Our are you another "friend"?!
our are wow i totaly understand u, go back to russia if u dont speak english
   

TheSpy11 Monday, February 28th, 2005 | 1:19 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Tool11PinkFloyd

our are wow i totaly understand u, go back to russia if u dont speak english


u? don't you mean "you"?
   

jdam19 Monday, February 28th, 2005 | 7:45 pm PST
Sporefrog

are you sure that was the ion you were testing? The ion i have is nothing like what you described in your review.
   

lobsterboy360 Tuesday, March 1st, 2005 | 4:42 pm PST
wow guys...you're all ridiculous on so many levels...The dude used the gun and didn't like it. So what? So 100 of you little ion lovers flame him and say this review is ridiculous even tho it's about twice as long as most reviews on the site? He gives so many legit reasons why the gun sucks. He obviously has had some experience with the gun. Most of you need to realize that it's very possible that the gun is not a tournament gun like everyone hyped it up to be. Sure it's good for the price but beyond that...it doesn't compare to most high end guns. All you little ion lovers who can't admit it has faults go stick ur plastic guns up ur butts.
   

Tool11PinkFloyd Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005 | 7:20 am PST
amen son
   

wickedlytwist Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005 | 7:46 pm PST
number one you are g** i got the gun when it first came out i pre ordered it and i got to play with it like 13 times and i havent had trouble with it once

wickedlytwisted rocks
   

lw281 Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 2:19 pm PST
i just got the ion and none of the things you said are true, and by the way the trigger pull isnt hard if you just knew how to adjust it
   

Tool11PinkFloyd Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 3:20 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by wickedlytwist
number one you are g** i got the gun when it first came out i pre ordered it and i got to play with it like 13 times and i havent had trouble with it once

wickedlytwisted rocks

wow u have to boost ur self esteem by telling urself that u rock sad.... get some friends, maybe a girlfriend so u dont have to rely on ur sister to give u sum all the time... sad truly sad
   

lw281 Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 4:27 pm PST
this is a great gun, my brothers team who has angels, DM4's,shockers, mini-e oraccle's, and dye matrixes are considering getting them as backup guns.
   

TheSpy11 Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 4:51 pm PST
Sporefrog, Asilaydying, and Tool11PinkFloyd are all the same person. Just letting people know about the multiple accounts.
   

lobsterboy360 Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 5:37 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by TheSpy11
Sporefrog, Asilaydying, and Tool11PinkFloyd are all the same person. Just letting people know about the multiple accounts.

And you know this how? Just because Asliadying and Tool11PinkFloyd support Sporefrog's point of view does not make them the same person.
   

lobsterboy360 Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 5:42 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by dynastyfan56
I don't know what you are talking about i have an ion it shots like crazy and i have a spyder victor it shots like a peice of crap they cant even be compared and a ion looks kinda weird but is worth it and stop taking about your freestyle ions are way better and also stop using your "friends guns" AND NEXT TIME ACTUALLY SHOT THE GUN.
RETARD


1. Congratulations on getting an ion that meets your low standards.
2. Of course the ion is better than a victor...it costs like 4 times more.
3. How in the world is an ion better than a freestyle?
4. Next to period of product use there is an option that says "only tested" or in this case "less than 1 month" which means he is allowed to rate a gun that he has tested but does not own.
5. From the amount of information he gave, he has most likely fired the gun before and clearly did not like it.
6. RETARD.
That's it for now...
   

dynastyfan56 Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 6:07 pm PST
MY STANDARDS ARENT LOW every one nows your sporefrog and you probly suck at paintball so log off this site and go back to your nerd friends lobsterboy360 how long did it take you to make that one up to. and freestyles arent better than AN ion HOMO.

thats it for now$$$$$$
Last edited on Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 at 6:09 pm PST
   

TheSpy11 Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 6:28 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by lobsterboy360


And you know this how? Just because Asliadying and Tool11PinkFloyd support Sporefrog's point of view does not make them the same person.


I also now know that you are the same person too. That's at least SIX accounts you use then.
   

lobsterboy360 Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 6:29 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by dynastyfan56
MY STANDARDS ARENT LOW every one nows your sporefrog and you probly suck at paintball so log off this site and go back to your nerd friends lobsterboy360 how long did it take you to make that one up to. and freestyles arent better than AN ion HOMO.

thats it for now$$$$$$


wow...yes I am sporefrog because we all kno how sporefrog hates smart parts yet I have a shocker...good job needledick. And since you seem to know my life so well since you've seen me play paintball, hang out with my friends, and go on dates. for your information it took about 2 minutes to make up back when I signed up almost 2 years ago. And I believe i asked how an ion was better than a freestyle since I already heard you the first time when you were being retarded and said ion were better. Congratulations you've made a fool of yourself. Maybe you should try pulling your head out of your ass before you respond to this one.
   
Previous Page
Pages (36):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media