paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review / Comments on Sporefrog's Review

Comments on Sporefrog's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Sporefrog Saturday, February 19th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month185 of 1285 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BKO, Pirranah EVO, espyders
Marker Setup: 04 Gen2 Freestyle 45/4500, Stiffi switch kit, nox board, prototype techna trigger, contract killers lady panels, Reloader B black, 05 CP on/off, CP reg, JDS LPR, carbon fiber side panels. CP twist-lock feedneck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Feedneck, Reg, trigger
Strengths: Comes with a regulator, alright trigger sorta efficient
Weaknesses: See review TOO MANY TO LIST!!!!!!
Review: My friend bought this gun and wrote the review-

Weaknesses:

Barrel, no famous spiral porting , they could at least throw the progressive on it stock. this barrel is horrible. I've heard and seen cases in which the inside of the barrel is powder coated. Terrible quality control on SP's part. There is a big difference between micro honed and powder coated.

Feedneck, not clamping but it does have orings in it meaning it might stay tight, but be prepared to do a lot of sanding. another decent feedneck (made of decent aluminum) will go for another 40 bucks.

Regulator- not even a max flow, just a downgraded version. i experience velocity spikes of +/- 25 FPS and my paint to bore was PERFECT. and that was after i fixed the leak on it. And there is tons of drop off once you hit 8+ bps. I was shooting 280 and when I started shooting fast it was in the low 200's.

Body- low grade aluminum covered by "polymer" (PLASTIC) shell. looks really bad, everybody at the local field made fun of its looks. i was sad.

Internals- I took this thing apart and it was pretty simple. except i noticed one thing right away - the solenoid coil - it was in plain sight - exposed. This is a very fragile part of the solenoid and deserves some protection. I can see this getting to be a problem in the future, I haven't opened my gun since then in fear of nicking coil. A two way solenoid, not too impressive. This is what the older BKO's used.


Board - the board is capped at 17, some of my friends can walk a trigger faster than this - Why cap it at 17 when all u have to do is change a few numbers in the code to make it faster? Bad move sp.

My guess is they capped it there because the solenoid is probably really bad and will explode if you cycle too fast..

Kick- This gun had a lot of kick to it, comparable to a spyder.

Feel - Felt plasticy, reminded me of holding a brass eagle blade - I definitely didn't dig it.

Trigger - It was plastic and had a bad setup - Was hard to pull fast or consistantly, magnet was way to strong stock. EDIT: Somebody at the local field with an ion got his trigger shot off in a game, the trigger just broke - very weak.

Lack of color options, yellow red blue black - all looks the same (really bad) no fades just looks plastic.

This is one loud gun.

Duckbill- Makes for a long setup and provides no On/off features. Not comfortable

NOT durable at all- I slid into a bunker and my feedneck hit the edge, now i cant take my feedneck off because the threads are messed up. if i ever want to take it off its going to cost 100 dollars, that's what smart parts said.
Conclusion: First day at the field with this gun - had a leak right away. we figured out that it was the bolt assembly and it was missing an oring - HOW DO YOU MISS AN ORING!!! i was pissed. after that my reg leaked, guy at the field fixed it for me i owe him one thanks bob. The accuracy was terrible even with a good paint bore match, kick was terrible and consistency was non existent - I've had way better experiences with spyder clones

I'll give it a two just because the new concept other then that it deserves a 1. I was definitely not happy with this product. Smart Parts customer service was definitely no help at all.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 26th, 2005 at 11:23 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (36):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
lobsterboy360 Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 6:31 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by TheSpy11


I also now know that you are the same person too. That's at least SIX accounts you use then.


You are so stupid if you think that only one person in the whole world hates ions and he makes 50 different sns to comment on his own posts. Please at least look in my profile to see how horribly wrong you are.
   

TheSpy11 Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 10:26 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by lobsterboy360


wow...yes I am sporefrog because we all kno how sporefrog hates smart parts yet I have a shocker...good job needledick. And since you seem to know my life so well since you've seen me play paintball, hang out with my friends, and go on dates. for your information it took about 2 minutes to make up back when I signed up almost 2 years ago. And I believe i asked how an ion was better than a freestyle since I already heard you the first time when you were being retarded and said ion were better. Congratulations you've made a fool of yourself. Maybe you should try pulling your head out of your ass before you respond to this one.


You need to get a life and quit reviewing.
   

TheSpy11 Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 10:28 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by lobsterboy360


You are so stupid if you think that only one person in the whole world hates ions and he makes 50 different sns to comment on his own posts. Please at least look in my profile to see how horribly wrong you are.


I'm not a fan of Smart Parts and don't care for the way they do business, but I do care when someone doesn't follow rules and bashes ratings with multiple accounts.
   

Tool11PinkFloyd Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 8:59 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by dynastyfan56
I have been paint balling for four years and own a shocker i have my own field i am the captain of my team i think i know what Im talkin about when i say the ion is good i never said it was the best but it is good so i am low standard if owning a dynasty shocker is low. So if I were you i wouldn't talk about how im retarded.
congradulations you are on a special olympics paintball team in wheel chairs because u are handicapt retards that use crappy guns for handycapts, shut up u suck go home ur team sucks
   

Tool11PinkFloyd Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 8:59 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by TheSpy11


You need to get a life and quit reviewing.

hey hypocrite idiot wat do u think you are doing right now u dumba$$
   

Tool11PinkFloyd Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 9:03 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by dynastyfan56
MY STANDARDS ARENT LOW every one nows your sporefrog and you probly suck at paintball so log off this site and go back to your nerd friends lobsterboy360 how long did it take you to make that one up to. and freestyles arent better than AN ion HOMO.

thats it for now$$$$$$

i would seriously like to kno how the ion is beter, its slower, les consistent, less efficient, made of plastic, louder, more kick, lower grade parts, plus everything else that you can factor into what makes a paintball gun good, idiot, tell me how its better, thats right u cant, id im not the same person considering i have a different email and i use a shcoktech dm4 instead of a freestyle all though i kno that the freestyle is way better on every single level possible
   

Sporefrog Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 9:06 am PST
Spy, you are an idiot. Just becuase people agree with each other does not mean they are the same person. By your reasoning everyone you has reviewed the ION and given it a 10/10 is the same person. Thats like 20+ people. Why don't you go bit ch at them. You see spy its possible for more than one person with the same opinion to have access to the World Wide Web, otherwise known as the internet. YOU ARE A STUPID RETARD!
Last edited on Friday, March 4th, 2005 at 9:12 am PST
   

Sporefrog Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 9:10 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by dynastyfan56
I have been paint balling for four years and own a shocker i have my own field i am the captain of my team i think i know what Im talkin about when i say the ion is good i never said it was the best but it is good so i am low standard if owning a dynasty shocker is low. So if I were you i wouldn't talk about how im retarded.

I feel bad for anyone that plays are your paintball field. What is it called: "DYNASTIE PANTBOL FEELD"? You are a retard, I hope your paintball field fails and you go bankrupt.
   

lw281 Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 2:12 pm PST
hey sporefrog learn how to spell, and the ion has no kick, so just go make a baby with your freestyle.
   

Bunkerking281 Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 2:43 pm PST
tool11pinkfloyd or better known as sporefrog, your a wuss if you thing the ion has a kick
   

lobsterboy360 Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 3:02 pm PST
Whether the gun has kick or not has absolutely nothing to with with whether he is a wuss or not. If the gun moves backwards at all when fired, it has kick. If the strongest man in the world fired a tippmann, it still has kick. If you're going to criticize someone try to make valid points please.
   

Sporefrog Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 4:48 pm PST
Get it through your heads that we are not the same people. You have no proof. Plus, have you ever tried to make two accounts with the same email address? It doesnt work. Or have you ever tried to make two different accounts with the same IP adress? It doesnt work. So unless I have 6 computers(which i dont) and six email addresses i can't have 6 accounts at the same time.
   

dynastyfan56 Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 5:25 pm PST
hey learn how to shoot or get your head checked if you think an ion kicks tart and learn how to freaking spell and my field ain't goin bankrupt any time soon.
   

lobsterboy360 Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 7:29 pm PST
Well since you're so great with your field and team and such shouldn't you be spending your time a little better dealing with those things instead of defending a crappy gun on a review site?
   

Tool11PinkFloyd Saturday, March 5th, 2005 | 8:31 am PST
dynastyfan and spy both are infected with downsyndrum.... i seriously feel bad for them.... write to them with simpler words they might understand them bettter, im sorry dynasty and spy there are people out there to help you with your mental illness, goodluck
   

dynastyfan56 Saturday, March 5th, 2005 | 11:02 am PST
hey im not a frekin tartand im defent diding it cause i hate sporefrog and it is a good gun and if you want proof get a video on it and i told you to get your head checked.
NERD
Last edited on Saturday, March 5th, 2005 at 11:03 am PST
   

Kurama Saturday, March 5th, 2005 | 12:47 pm PST
It does effect chopping because most guns dont need 800 PSI to recock the gun so alot of that would be going to shoot the ball. Lower Pressure has been said to:
1. Quiet the gun.
2. More Effiecent.
3. Less breaks.


The automag uses 400-500psi to operate, the rest is for the trigger.

1. Yes.
2. No, it is in no way more efficient since it uses a larger volume. It simply allows you to shoot deeper into the tank, giving more shots. Efficiency is how much pressure and air it uses.
3. The automag, my example, actually has the lowest pressure making contact with the paintball of all paintball markers, making it the most gentile marker on paint. Learn your facts. Also, combined with the level 10 bolt option, it has the lowest chop rate, since level 10 arguably is better than eyes at avoiding chops. The problem with it is that it makes the mag less efficient.

Now, I also believe your efficiency count is a lie. I saw a guy with a HE'd freestyle at the field the other day and he needed to fill every round or two. And I shot an ION. The reg gave +/-8, not +/-25 (which is barely achievable with non-antisiphon co2 under high ROF. And, a reg can't make it less consistant than the tank's reg) and had zero kick. I think your friend broke his tank's reg, or you're lying. Oh, wait, you've contradicted yourself and fact many times. You ARE lying. Now take your stupid misleading review down.
Last edited on Saturday, March 5th, 2005 at 12:54 pm PST
   

Tool11PinkFloyd Saturday, March 5th, 2005 | 8:43 pm PST
shut up and go home ur dumb
   

Sporefrog Sunday, March 6th, 2005 | 8:16 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Kurama

2. No, it is in no way more efficient since it uses a larger volume. It simply allows you to shoot deeper into the tank, giving more shots. Efficiency is how much pressure and air it uses.


OMG, do you know what you just did? You say that it doesn't make it more effeicent it just gives you more shots per tank. WOW, way to contradict yourself idiot.

quote:
3. The automag, my example, actually has the lowest pressure making contact with the paintball of all paintball markers, making it the most gentile marker on paint. Learn your facts. Also, combined with the level 10 bolt option, it has the lowest chop rate, since level 10 arguably is better than eyes at avoiding chops. The problem with it is that it makes the mag less efficient.


Maybe it uses less pressure to shoot the ball so there are less breaks but with a real low pressure gun you get a quieter and more effiecient gun.

quote:
Now, I also believe your efficiency count is a lie. I saw a guy with a HE'd freestyle at the field the other day and he needed to fill every round or two. And I shot an ION. The reg gave +/-8, not +/-25 (which is barely achievable with non-antisiphon co2 under high ROF. And, a reg can't make it less consistant than the tank's reg) and had zero kick. I think your friend broke his tank's reg, or you're lying. Oh, wait, you've contradicted yourself and fact many times. You ARE lying. Now take your stupid misleading review down.

Ok well I saw ME with a non HE FS get 1687 off of a 68/4500. Maybe the guy at your field:
A. Had a small tank.
B. Shot alot.
C. Had a bad paint-to-bore.
D. Hasn't broken in his regs yet.

YOU are lying get your facts striaght and take your stupid comments off my review.
   

kick_it_ Sunday, March 6th, 2005 | 10:13 pm PST
Lol. Omg. Okay. I dind't read everysingle post in here. I just gotta say. Don't waste your time on
a) flaming a guy who might be faking, might not be faking
b) telling us who you could rip with a pump

Just go out, try the gun, buy the gun, review it. tell us what's up!

Peace out! :D
   
Previous Page
Pages (36):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media