paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on love_gun's Review / Comments on love_gun's Review / Comments on love_gun's Review / Comments on love_gun's Review / Comments on love_gun's Review

Comments on love_gun's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

love_gun Saturday, February 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month524 of 580 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, Timmys, electro/mech spyders, E-bladed cockers
Marker Setup: Alias Intimidator
Recommended
Upgrades:
Non yet but when they come out
Trigger
Reg
Strengths: Very light and small
Fast enough
Affordable
Consistent
Accurate
Manual is good

Weaknesses: Very little drop off
Dissembly
magnet
Review: Ok i just bought this gun to back up my Alias Intimidator, and let me tell ya Awesome gun. Right when i took it out of the box i was very impressed, it feels just like a shocker and is light, not as light as my timmy, Also very small, which i like a lot, can stay nice and tight to bunkers and easy to handle. I loaded my evo 2 with paint and it fit very snug, i have heard that the neck doesn't fit halos. Put on a cross fire 45/4500, and started shooting, I really wasn't expecting good accuracy but this thing surprised me a lot, i was shooting arrows, now i started ripping on it (after i took the magnet out which is a lot better trust me) i put it on rebound and started shooting ropes, 17 balls is not the fastest out there, but fast enough, a lot of people won't agree. Now the reg. I took it out to the chroney and the results were 282, 274, 284, 285, 291, Not bad. That's not even broken in yet. Now after i was playing with it i experienced very little drop off, when shooting 15-17 bps, but it was there, a new reg will fix that. Another thing that really buggs me is that it's not field strip-able. I mean if you chop (which i didn't chop one ball with the break beam eyes) you have to take the gun apart, this starts to be a pain in the but, but after you do it a while it gets easy. (read the manual before striping) Now the shells. Now the people that are saying that it is plastic are wrong and there a bunch of you know what. The shell is very durable and its almost as durable as aluminum. If you threw the body to the ground it probably wont even crack, and its looks good, defiantly better than in pics looks a lot better in person. Another great idea that smart parts brang up was that you can switch the shells to yellow, blue, red, black, and soon to come other colors and designs. The trigger isn't all that bad. I defiantly recommend that you take the magnet out, it will increase ROF a lot, it is a little sloppy but when an aftermarket trigger comes out, that problem will be fixed. The sound of it was a little wield, at least mine was, almost sounded like an auto cannon, a new barrel can fix that, I put a 12" freak (takes Impulse threading) on mine and it sounded a lot better. As far as efficiency goes with my 45/4500 tank i got 1100 shots, not too bad. Im no gun tech but the people who say the ION uses cheap parts, that's wrong, its a very simple design that will be very reliable. I havn't used it much but im pretty sure that it won't cause a lot of problems
Conclusion: I defiantly would recommend this marker to anyone, not just noobs, this gun will not beat a Bob long or Angel, but it is better than a lot of 600 dollar guns out there. Great back up if you have a 1000 dollar marker. And the price is incredible going for 300 bucks. I wasn't a real smart parts fan, but this gun was great. 9/10 performance but for the price i gatta give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Mcshane89 Sunday, February 20th, 2005 | 7:29 am PST
One of the best, honest reviews so far. Drop off and consistency should improve after a couple thousand more balls. Nice review
   

james52 Sunday, February 20th, 2005 | 8:17 am PST
WOW, finally an honest review, good one
   

nick33040 Saturday, February 26th, 2005 | 8:41 pm PST
Do u know any new guns that will be coming out soon for $350 or less.
   

paintballer142 Sunday, February 27th, 2005 | 2:09 pm PST
Nice review, alot better then some peoples who just complain about how awful the gun is. sounds like a great gun to me!
   

james52 Monday, February 28th, 2005 | 12:16 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by nick33040
Do u know any new guns that will be coming out soon for $350 or less.
Theres the smart parts ION and the diablo wrath
   

TheNatural Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 6:04 am PST
Ok, only have one problem about this review. The creator stated that his timmy is lighter than the ION. Your timmy is lighter than 2.2 pounds? I may be mistaken, but I don't see how that is possible when I doubt that the timmy is made from a lightweight plastic. Bob Long would lose weight before he made a gun with a plastic body.

Ok, I lied...I read it again and found something else. I don't think it is a big deal about beating a timmy or an angel. For one, I have seen people take phantoms on to a speedball field and take out timmies and angels. It is not always the gun, it is the player. In my opinion, speed isn't everything, 17bps is plenty fast, and most people cant get above 15 w/o help from a cheater board, so why complicate things with all those bells and whistles you get with a timmy or an angel?
Last edited on Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 at 6:08 am PST
   

PBcommando Saturday, March 5th, 2005 | 3:05 pm PST
Nice review, touched all the bases.

Misspelled "Definitely" in the last paragraph to read "Defiantly" :) just thought you should know
   

Abam Thursday, March 10th, 2005 | 1:46 pm PST
does an evil driver barrel fit this gun and does it work well with it.
   

pbfreak97 Saturday, March 26th, 2005 | 7:57 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by TheNatural
The creator stated that his timmy is lighter than the ION. Your timmy is lighter than 2.2 pounds? I may be mistaken, but I don't see how that is possible when I doubt that the timmy is made from a lightweight plastic. Bob Long would lose weight before he made a gun with a plastic body.


all right timmys are easily one of the lightest markers made an alias weighs about 1.2or 1.4pounds and their some of the most solidly built markers out there and thenatural there is a little thing called milling that reduces a lot of weight and if you think a timmy weighs more than 2.2 pounds u musta been holding some old ass timmy
   

Blahhh painball Wednesday, April 13th, 2005 | 1:11 pm PST
TheNatual, have u even held a timmy?!?
   

Ballinvincent Wednesday, April 20th, 2005 | 9:54 pm PST
so is the shocker way better than an ion because im not sure which one to buy, i mean money is an issue for me but i can still afford a 700 doller shocker but i dont want to waste a crap load of money on a gun, so which one should i buy?
   

Shimboodo Monday, May 2nd, 2005 | 6:44 pm PST
ION.

How did you get around 1100 shots off a 45/4500? Did you mean a 68/4500?
   

muzjr9 Sunday, May 8th, 2005 | 2:43 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pbfreak97

all right timmys are easily one of the lightest markers made an alias weighs about 1.2or 1.4pounds and their some of the most solidly built markers out there and thenatural there is a little thing called milling that reduces a lot of weight and if you think a timmy weighs more than 2.2 pounds u musta been holding some old ass timmy

yea ok... the only guns that are 1.2 or 1.4 pounds are shockers, and egos, the alias is 1.5 lbs, so ha, and anyway timmies are way over rated, you spend 200$ more on a timmy wen u can get an angel speed and have 6 bps more, plus you get more respect w/ an angel, belive me, i have 1, so ha
   

muzjr9 Sunday, May 8th, 2005 | 2:46 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Ballinvincent
so is the shocker way better than an ion because im not sure which one to buy, i mean money is an issue for me but i can still afford a 700 doller shocker but i dont want to waste a crap load of money on a gun, so which one should i buy?
get the ion with QEV and stickys, cuz its cool, and a freak, and ull still have like 300-350$ to get a new tank and a hopper
   

jc3191989 Sunday, May 8th, 2005 | 3:58 pm PST
but if you wanna go for price, both the wrath and the ion would be nice. you cant adjust the spring tension on the wrath though... if thats a big deal with you. u can stilll walk it, but not as fast as u could if you could adjust tension.
   

T balla Saturday, June 11th, 2005 | 7:43 pm PST
i shot one today and was pleased with its performance but was wondering about its long term reliability can any one tell me if they have had any problems and if they would recommend something else instead?please don't tell me they its perfect just because you have one.. it would be easier to email.... slugger_1700@hotmail.com
   

bunkerboydrew Saturday, June 25th, 2005 | 2:09 pm PST
shimboodo I was wondering the same thing, how did he get 1100 out of a 45/45. I have read many review in magazines and on the internet (besides this site) and they all were saying that they got about 1000-1100 from a 68/45
   

SPionDUHshizNIT Thursday, June 30th, 2005 | 12:46 pm PST
good review man. honest.
   

elmnt4lfe Monday, October 31st, 2005 | 12:52 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by muzjr9

yea ok... the only guns that are 1.2 or 1.4 pounds are shockers, and egos, the alias is 1.5 lbs, so ha, and anyway timmies are way over rated, you spend 200$ more on a timmy wen u can get an angel speed and have 6 bps more, plus you get more respect w/ an angel, belive me, i have 1, so ha


why are you saying ha? the dude was off by .1 pounds, and how do u know timmys get less respect then angels if you dont own one?
   

DesertEagle16 Wednesday, November 9th, 2005 | 2:44 pm PST
Jolly good review. Quite smashing! Ah, who am I kidding, I'm from Maine. Nice review. It's about time SOMEONE wrote one that wasn't a pile of crud. Yours seems very honest. Thanks, man.
   
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media