paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on love_gun's Review / Comments on love_gun's Review / Comments on love_gun's Review / Comments on love_gun's Review / Comments on love_gun's Review

Comments on love_gun's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

love_gun Saturday, February 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month527 of 585 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, Timmys, electro/mech spyders, E-bladed cockers
Marker Setup: Alias Intimidator
Recommended
Upgrades:
Non yet but when they come out
Trigger
Reg
Strengths: Very light and small
Fast enough
Affordable
Consistent
Accurate
Manual is good

Weaknesses: Very little drop off
Dissembly
magnet
Review: Ok i just bought this gun to back up my Alias Intimidator, and let me tell ya Awesome gun. Right when i took it out of the box i was very impressed, it feels just like a shocker and is light, not as light as my timmy, Also very small, which i like a lot, can stay nice and tight to bunkers and easy to handle. I loaded my evo 2 with paint and it fit very snug, i have heard that the neck doesn't fit halos. Put on a cross fire 45/4500, and started shooting, I really wasn't expecting good accuracy but this thing surprised me a lot, i was shooting arrows, now i started ripping on it (after i took the magnet out which is a lot better trust me) i put it on rebound and started shooting ropes, 17 balls is not the fastest out there, but fast enough, a lot of people won't agree. Now the reg. I took it out to the chroney and the results were 282, 274, 284, 285, 291, Not bad. That's not even broken in yet. Now after i was playing with it i experienced very little drop off, when shooting 15-17 bps, but it was there, a new reg will fix that. Another thing that really buggs me is that it's not field strip-able. I mean if you chop (which i didn't chop one ball with the break beam eyes) you have to take the gun apart, this starts to be a pain in the but, but after you do it a while it gets easy. (read the manual before striping) Now the shells. Now the people that are saying that it is plastic are wrong and there a bunch of you know what. The shell is very durable and its almost as durable as aluminum. If you threw the body to the ground it probably wont even crack, and its looks good, defiantly better than in pics looks a lot better in person. Another great idea that smart parts brang up was that you can switch the shells to yellow, blue, red, black, and soon to come other colors and designs. The trigger isn't all that bad. I defiantly recommend that you take the magnet out, it will increase ROF a lot, it is a little sloppy but when an aftermarket trigger comes out, that problem will be fixed. The sound of it was a little wield, at least mine was, almost sounded like an auto cannon, a new barrel can fix that, I put a 12" freak (takes Impulse threading) on mine and it sounded a lot better. As far as efficiency goes with my 45/4500 tank i got 1100 shots, not too bad. Im no gun tech but the people who say the ION uses cheap parts, that's wrong, its a very simple design that will be very reliable. I havn't used it much but im pretty sure that it won't cause a lot of problems
Conclusion: I defiantly would recommend this marker to anyone, not just noobs, this gun will not beat a Bob long or Angel, but it is better than a lot of 600 dollar guns out there. Great back up if you have a 1000 dollar marker. And the price is incredible going for 300 bucks. I wasn't a real smart parts fan, but this gun was great. 9/10 performance but for the price i gatta give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
BRPdude Sunday, November 20th, 2005 | 9:16 am PST
jolly good review mate. you don't see many like these bugger's
   

johnny eckerd 3 Saturday, December 17th, 2005 | 7:29 pm PST
I am going to send you $15 for a keyboard with a working enter key(no not really). Just hit it at random points during the review; it will help your writing to be more accessible.

When I saw your review, it was a chunk of text that wasn't at all appealing to a reader.

A review that is broken up into the certain aspects of the gun by enter keys is

easier


to re

ad.

~
~J
O
H
N
N
Y

See?
   

Neonlazer Thursday, February 9th, 2006 | 2:01 pm PST
*cough*Landon has no life*cough* I can't personally stick up for the ION since I'm soon going to be a DM6 owner, but, really, I've seen the IONs perform, and I must say, they are a very nice gun. Not quite what I like but hey, everyone has personal preference. Good review though.
   

wombizle Monday, February 13th, 2006 | 9:04 pm PST
Landon Blake needs to get a life. But I am sick of people slaming the ion for the polymer shells. My friend got a new shell, and we tried breaking the old one with a sledge hammer. it eventually broke, (but anything will, if you hit it with a hammer) but not after it flew up and gave my friend 3 stiches I like amulinum, but the shells are fine.
Last edited on Monday, February 13th, 2006 at 9:04 pm PST
   

wombizle Monday, February 13th, 2006 | 9:07 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by TheNatural
Ok, only have one problem about this review. The creator stated that his timmy is lighter than the ION. Your timmy is lighter than 2.2 pounds? I may be mistaken, but I don't see how that is possible when I doubt that the timmy is made from a lightweight plastic. Bob Long would lose weight before he made a gun with a plastic body.

This is hilarious, i love it. bob needs the atkins, but the timmys (no idea how) are lighter.
   

chikin pickle Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 | 2:34 pm PST
The ion ironically enough does have an aluminum body, you just have to take off the plastic shell. The internals and the firing can+breach are alum.
   

dyedude6 Monday, March 6th, 2006 | 9:58 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by pbfreak97

all right timmys are easily one of the lightest markers made an alias weighs about 1.2or 1.4pounds and their some of the most solidly built markers out there and thenatural there is a little thing called milling that reduces a lot of weight and if you think a timmy weighs more than 2.2 pounds u musta been holding some old ass timmy

well the bob long A-Bomb timmy is 2.9 pounds. so there are some timmys that are heavier than the ion but still the ion is relly light for a 300 dollar gun
   

Indyballer Saturday, March 11th, 2006 | 3:44 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake
It's not a 10 out of 10 if you admit it has weaknesses.
w/e LandonBlake. By your theory no gun deserves a 10 out of 10. (because there is no such thing as a gun without a weakness.) Major props to the dude who wrote this reveiw. It was facts, not opinions. NOT BYAST AT ALL LIKE SOME PEOPLE *cough Landon Blake cough*
   

Cohen Anderson Saturday, March 11th, 2006 | 10:41 pm PST
yeah i agree. i think this review is pursuading me into buying this gun......it was either this or thinking about getting an electra lol. my lil trilogy pro is getting on my nerves.......not worth the money. BUT I HAVE A QUESTION........WHAT WOULD BE A GOOD HOPPER TO PUT ON THIS GUN!?!? i want to stay away from feed clamps as much as possible, but i guess if i have to buy one, i will. lol
   

matb Monday, March 13th, 2006 | 2:05 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Cohen Anderson
yeah i agree. i think this review is pursuading me into buying this gun......it was either this or thinking about getting an electra lol. my lil trilogy pro is getting on my nerves.......not worth the money. BUT I HAVE A QUESTION........WHAT WOULD BE A GOOD HOPPER TO PUT ON THIS GUN!?!? i want to stay away from feed clamps as much as possible, but i guess if i have to buy one, i will. lol

Dude get a spyder electra my teamate has a smartparts ion and ther eis always something wrong with it. Make the right choice. I own a spyder electra its a good quality gun.
   

Cohen Anderson Tuesday, March 14th, 2006 | 6:58 pm PST
aight thanks mattb. i appreciate the advice.
   

tippmannguns Thursday, March 23rd, 2006 | 9:19 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by matb


Dude get a spyder electra my teamate has a smartparts ion and ther is always something wrong with it. Make the right choice. I own a spyder electra its a good quality gun.



i agree get a spyder electra
   

eclipse525 Thursday, March 23rd, 2006 | 5:01 pm PST
Man that's not worth disputing over. You don't just go over to someone's review and say that because they gave it a 10 that you're going to ruin their review for it.
I don't know about anyone else but When I see a review that has a "This review has a dispute" sign on it I usually skip over it. I just wanted to see what someone got wrong since so many people have ions and they should have the description down pat if they were going to fake it. Come on man you should know better than that...
   

vanja Sunday, March 26th, 2006 | 8:23 pm PST
QUOTE
yeah i agree. i think this review is pursuading me into buying this gun......it was either this or thinking about getting an electra lol. my lil trilogy pro is getting on my nerves.......not worth the money. BUT I HAVE A QUESTION........WHAT WOULD BE A GOOD HOPPER TO PUT ON THIS GUN!?!? i want to stay away from feed clamps as much as possible, but i guess if i have to buy one, i will. lol


dude do not get the electra my friend had one and it broke the second time he played than he got a new one and it broke the first time he played wit it I own an ion so i may like it better than the electra but i had it for 7 months now and it chopped 2 balls so far and i got about twice a month and it didnt brak once
Last edited on Sunday, March 26th, 2006 at 8:24 pm PST
   

wombizle Sunday, March 26th, 2006 | 9:14 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Cohen Anderson
yeah i agree. i think this review is pursuading me into buying this gun......it was either this or thinking about getting an electra lol. my lil trilogy pro is getting on my nerves.......not worth the money. BUT I HAVE A QUESTION........WHAT WOULD BE A GOOD HOPPER TO PUT ON THIS GUN!?!? i want to stay away from feed clamps as much as possible, but i guess if i have to buy one, i will. lol

get an ion. the electras are cool, but have a lot of kick, because they are blowbacks. the ion isn't one, so it has little to no kick. also i have heard that the rocking trigger isn't tourny legal, i have no idea my self, but i didn't want to buy a gun, and find out that i cant use it in a tournament
   

paintball_chick Tuesday, March 28th, 2006 | 9:26 pm PST
did you really get 1100 out of a 45ci
   

saleenvp Saturday, April 1st, 2006 | 6:38 pm PST
action village has the ion for 199.99, crazy deal!!!!! I just orderd one and I think they are great
   

187inc Monday, April 3rd, 2006 | 9:19 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by muzjr9

yea ok... the only guns that are 1.2 or 1.4 pounds are shockers, and egos, the alias is 1.5 lbs, so ha, and anyway timmies are way over rated, you spend 200$ more on a timmy wen u can get an angel speed and have 6 bps more, plus you get more respect w/ an angel, belive me, i have 1, so ha


to say that a timmy is over rated is to say that the ocean is dry. id take an alias over an angel any day, then shoot the hell out of your "respected" ass.
   

uglybaldkid Tuesday, April 4th, 2006 | 5:56 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake
It's not a 10 out of 10 if you admit it has weaknesses.


just because its not a 10 out of 10 dos'ent mean it has weaknesses!!!!!

Also if you aren't completely stupid u can see he added things under the place specified "weaknesses". DUHA!!!!!!!!
Last edited on Tuesday, April 4th, 2006 at 5:59 pm PST
   

eclipse525 Tuesday, April 4th, 2006 | 6:11 pm PST
So true like I stated before.
And about the ion being 199 that's for a refurbished one, though I'm looking at getting one because $199 for an ion...
Though I'm also thinking of getting a promaster.
That's so off topic nevermind anyway.
   
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media