paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on love_gun's Review / Comments on love_gun's Review / Comments on love_gun's Review / Comments on love_gun's Review / Comments on love_gun's Review

Comments on love_gun's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

love_gun Saturday, February 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month524 of 580 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, Timmys, electro/mech spyders, E-bladed cockers
Marker Setup: Alias Intimidator
Recommended
Upgrades:
Non yet but when they come out
Trigger
Reg
Strengths: Very light and small
Fast enough
Affordable
Consistent
Accurate
Manual is good

Weaknesses: Very little drop off
Dissembly
magnet
Review: Ok i just bought this gun to back up my Alias Intimidator, and let me tell ya Awesome gun. Right when i took it out of the box i was very impressed, it feels just like a shocker and is light, not as light as my timmy, Also very small, which i like a lot, can stay nice and tight to bunkers and easy to handle. I loaded my evo 2 with paint and it fit very snug, i have heard that the neck doesn't fit halos. Put on a cross fire 45/4500, and started shooting, I really wasn't expecting good accuracy but this thing surprised me a lot, i was shooting arrows, now i started ripping on it (after i took the magnet out which is a lot better trust me) i put it on rebound and started shooting ropes, 17 balls is not the fastest out there, but fast enough, a lot of people won't agree. Now the reg. I took it out to the chroney and the results were 282, 274, 284, 285, 291, Not bad. That's not even broken in yet. Now after i was playing with it i experienced very little drop off, when shooting 15-17 bps, but it was there, a new reg will fix that. Another thing that really buggs me is that it's not field strip-able. I mean if you chop (which i didn't chop one ball with the break beam eyes) you have to take the gun apart, this starts to be a pain in the but, but after you do it a while it gets easy. (read the manual before striping) Now the shells. Now the people that are saying that it is plastic are wrong and there a bunch of you know what. The shell is very durable and its almost as durable as aluminum. If you threw the body to the ground it probably wont even crack, and its looks good, defiantly better than in pics looks a lot better in person. Another great idea that smart parts brang up was that you can switch the shells to yellow, blue, red, black, and soon to come other colors and designs. The trigger isn't all that bad. I defiantly recommend that you take the magnet out, it will increase ROF a lot, it is a little sloppy but when an aftermarket trigger comes out, that problem will be fixed. The sound of it was a little wield, at least mine was, almost sounded like an auto cannon, a new barrel can fix that, I put a 12" freak (takes Impulse threading) on mine and it sounded a lot better. As far as efficiency goes with my 45/4500 tank i got 1100 shots, not too bad. Im no gun tech but the people who say the ION uses cheap parts, that's wrong, its a very simple design that will be very reliable. I havn't used it much but im pretty sure that it won't cause a lot of problems
Conclusion: I defiantly would recommend this marker to anyone, not just noobs, this gun will not beat a Bob long or Angel, but it is better than a lot of 600 dollar guns out there. Great back up if you have a 1000 dollar marker. And the price is incredible going for 300 bucks. I wasn't a real smart parts fan, but this gun was great. 9/10 performance but for the price i gatta give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
smartpart'er Sunday, April 9th, 2006 | 1:35 pm PST
no i heard the electra isn't tourney legal. the guys at badlands said that for one trigger pull (all the way down, then all the way up), only one ball can leave the breach. with the rocking trig, there are two contact points and the full down pull and all the way back, therefore sending two balls with one complete pull. i don't know this for sure, im just going by what the dudes at badlands said, it sounds good and they know their stuff there... great review btw, i agree with you entirely:) i love my ion:)
   

eclipse525 Monday, April 10th, 2006 | 1:05 pm PST
... Well back to my comment about the ion being $199 refurbished that has changed! But when you pull the trigger on a rocking trigger only one ball leaves the breach... They have it set up so that the contact point is in the middle instead of on the top(i think it's on the top). Rockin' Trigger = one shot per pull(with the exception of ramping if you get a board that will ramp)
   

aaron_pb_lover Tuesday, April 11th, 2006 | 3:25 pm PST
no if you go to certain websites you can find brand new ions for 199
   

eclipse525 Thursday, April 13th, 2006 | 4:16 am PST
That's what I was talking about. You can find a brand new ion for $199 at actionvillage and zephyr paintball oh and also paintballonline. The only website I've actually used though is actionvillage.
   

Drunk_Greek Monday, April 24th, 2006 | 5:18 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by wombizle
Landon Blake needs to get a life. But I am sick of people slaming the ion for the polymer shells. My friend got a new shell, and we tried breaking the old one with a sledge hammer. it eventually broke, (but anything will, if you hit it with a hammer) but not after it flew up and gave my friend 3 stiches I like amulinum, but the shells are fine.

lol wtf.. thats so stupid but this is coming from a guy who blew a vaccuum up with m80s and have tried almost every jackass and mythbuster stunt so yeah..lol.. how did it give him three stiches did it hit his face or something or did the end of the hammer fall off and hit his head?
Last edited on Monday, April 24th, 2006 at 5:21 pm PST
   

system_x Tuesday, April 25th, 2006 | 6:58 pm PST
ahhh everyone is fighting in this review

break it up fellas i brought bacon for everybody
nice review btw
   

CFL08 Friday, April 28th, 2006 | 5:54 pm PST
I just got a new Ion and was wondering what kind of barrel you would suggest
thanks
   

Novakowski Saturday, April 29th, 2006 | 5:59 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by CFL08
I just got a new Ion and was wondering what kind of barrel you would suggest
thanks


The FREAK!!! smartparts compatibility is exact and plus theres the whole insert dealio
   

angeligot Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006 | 10:37 am PST
i suggest to get a dye ultra light. that will work very good
   

jibby8590 Sunday, May 7th, 2006 | 6:48 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake
It's not a 10 out of 10 if you admit it has weaknesses.

this guy has no life all he does is try to dispute the reviews because hes a hater he just disputed mine.
   

eclipse525 Thursday, May 11th, 2006 | 2:29 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by jibby8590


this guy has no life all he does is try to dispute the reviews because hes a hater he just disputed mine.


agreed
   

noobielol Wednesday, May 17th, 2006 | 1:55 pm PST
Great reiview you made up my mind for me. thank you. O and does anyone know a good site with free shipping to canada?
   

Swiftedge Saturday, May 20th, 2006 | 10:05 am PST
This guy must be a n00b! All high end markers need upgrades, but even with stock parts the ion beats out many markers with is price and efficiency.
   

xtremepb1989 Monday, May 29th, 2006 | 12:19 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by vanja
QUOTE
yeah i agree. i think this review is pursuading me into buying this gun......it was either this or thinking about getting an electra lol. my lil trilogy pro is getting on my nerves.......not worth the money. BUT I HAVE A QUESTION........WHAT WOULD BE A GOOD HOPPER TO PUT ON THIS GUN!?!? i want to stay away from feed clamps as much as possible, but i guess if i have to buy one, i will. lol


dude do not get the electra my friend had one and it broke the second time he played than he got a new one and it broke the first time he played wit it I own an ion so i may like it better than the electra but i had it for 7 months now and it chopped 2 balls so far and i got about twice a month and it didnt brak once


i think that the empire reloader 2 is a good hopper for this gun if you don't have $110 to spend on a HALO B or $150 on a Reloader B. i have an Empire Reloader 2 for my ion that i use because the feedneck fits perfectly with the stock ion feedneck. i have a halo that i use with my alias timmy. the reloader 2 hopper shell is extremely durable too. i have dropped my hopper at least 30 times on my cement patio and it hasn't even gotten scratched or cracked yet, and it is falling about 5 and a half feet cause im 5 foot 11.

the ion can keep up with my timmy pretty well even though my ion is mostly stock. the only upgrades i have for it is a sp 360 QEV and the firebolt bolt. those are the first upgrades i think for an ion owner to get. next would be the barrel and then a clamping feedneck. however if u already have a good electro hopper then get a clamping feedneck first. the stock board is great and the eyes are great.

the board is perfect for me because i dont play with ramping on, or full auto, or any of that crap, just straight up semi-auto with the eyes of course. i have put over 200k paintballs through this gun(i know thats alot, but i play every weekend)and i have not had a single ball break in any part of my gun(including the hopper)
   

cannibalguy Monday, June 5th, 2006 | 6:42 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Ballinvincent
so is the shocker way better than an ion because im not sure which one to buy, i mean money is an issue for me but i can still afford a 700 doller shocker but i dont want to waste a crap load of money on a gun, so which one should i buy?


I would just go with the ion cuz the socker isn't THAT much better than the ion, and plus, u would still have some money left over for some nice ups.
   

groundforce06 Friday, June 9th, 2006 | 9:19 am PST
Great review, alot better then others. I was just wondering what size air tank would go best wthis gun?
   

badboy15963 Friday, June 9th, 2006 | 4:01 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake
It's not a 10 out of 10 if you admit it has weaknesses.

its good enough it makes up 4 them... like on a test if you miss 10 questions and answer all 10 oof the extra credit you get a 100%
   

officerballs Friday, June 9th, 2006 | 7:34 pm PST
quote:
------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------
Originally posted by Ballinvincent
so is the shocker way better than an ion because im not sure which one to buy, i mean money is an issue for me but i can still afford a 700 doller shocker but i dont want to waste a crap load of money on a gun, so which one should i buy?
------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------
I now own both of the guns and if I were you (which I am not) I would just buy the shocker if ya got the money because no my shocker isn't that much faster or more popular than my ion, but it is more reliable and and worth the money. You would spend all of your left over cash from the ion on ups for it anyway.

   

bubbabighouse Saturday, June 10th, 2006 | 7:40 pm PST
thanx for being a good honest sumaritan to the community of ion owners out there
   

Mike_Roweaa3 Thursday, June 15th, 2006 | 6:24 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by T balla
i shot one today and was pleased with its performance but was wondering about its long term reliability can any one tell me if they have had any problems and if they would recommend something else instead?please don't tell me they its perfect just because you have one.. it would be easier to email.... slugger_1700@hotmail.com

The only thing that you may have to replace on the ion is the trigger, i had my trigger break because it is made of plastic, so i just got a CP roller for my ion, and it is crazy fast.
   
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media