paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on love_gun's Review / Comments on love_gun's Review / Comments on love_gun's Review / Comments on love_gun's Review / Comments on love_gun's Review

Comments on love_gun's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

love_gun Saturday, February 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month524 of 580 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, Timmys, electro/mech spyders, E-bladed cockers
Marker Setup: Alias Intimidator
Recommended
Upgrades:
Non yet but when they come out
Trigger
Reg
Strengths: Very light and small
Fast enough
Affordable
Consistent
Accurate
Manual is good

Weaknesses: Very little drop off
Dissembly
magnet
Review: Ok i just bought this gun to back up my Alias Intimidator, and let me tell ya Awesome gun. Right when i took it out of the box i was very impressed, it feels just like a shocker and is light, not as light as my timmy, Also very small, which i like a lot, can stay nice and tight to bunkers and easy to handle. I loaded my evo 2 with paint and it fit very snug, i have heard that the neck doesn't fit halos. Put on a cross fire 45/4500, and started shooting, I really wasn't expecting good accuracy but this thing surprised me a lot, i was shooting arrows, now i started ripping on it (after i took the magnet out which is a lot better trust me) i put it on rebound and started shooting ropes, 17 balls is not the fastest out there, but fast enough, a lot of people won't agree. Now the reg. I took it out to the chroney and the results were 282, 274, 284, 285, 291, Not bad. That's not even broken in yet. Now after i was playing with it i experienced very little drop off, when shooting 15-17 bps, but it was there, a new reg will fix that. Another thing that really buggs me is that it's not field strip-able. I mean if you chop (which i didn't chop one ball with the break beam eyes) you have to take the gun apart, this starts to be a pain in the but, but after you do it a while it gets easy. (read the manual before striping) Now the shells. Now the people that are saying that it is plastic are wrong and there a bunch of you know what. The shell is very durable and its almost as durable as aluminum. If you threw the body to the ground it probably wont even crack, and its looks good, defiantly better than in pics looks a lot better in person. Another great idea that smart parts brang up was that you can switch the shells to yellow, blue, red, black, and soon to come other colors and designs. The trigger isn't all that bad. I defiantly recommend that you take the magnet out, it will increase ROF a lot, it is a little sloppy but when an aftermarket trigger comes out, that problem will be fixed. The sound of it was a little wield, at least mine was, almost sounded like an auto cannon, a new barrel can fix that, I put a 12" freak (takes Impulse threading) on mine and it sounded a lot better. As far as efficiency goes with my 45/4500 tank i got 1100 shots, not too bad. Im no gun tech but the people who say the ION uses cheap parts, that's wrong, its a very simple design that will be very reliable. I havn't used it much but im pretty sure that it won't cause a lot of problems
Conclusion: I defiantly would recommend this marker to anyone, not just noobs, this gun will not beat a Bob long or Angel, but it is better than a lot of 600 dollar guns out there. Great back up if you have a 1000 dollar marker. And the price is incredible going for 300 bucks. I wasn't a real smart parts fan, but this gun was great. 9/10 performance but for the price i gatta give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Mike_Roweaa3 Thursday, June 15th, 2006 | 6:33 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by wombizle


get an ion. the electras are cool, but have a lot of kick, because they are blowbacks. the ion isn't one, so it has little to no kick. also i have heard that the rocking trigger isn't tourny legal, i have no idea my self, but i didn't want to buy a gun, and find out that i cant use it in a tournament


i have a friend that is on a team that had an electra, and he couldn't use it because it was not tourny legal because of the trigger. So get the ion, it is better than the electra, mine has never broke and ive had it for a year
   

AZpaintballer13 Thursday, June 15th, 2006 | 9:27 pm PST
Hey guy's is the IOn pro worth the extra 150? Or should i just get the ion with a new reg?
   

IonNinja Tuesday, June 20th, 2006 | 12:40 pm PST
good review, i read many ion reviews before i bought one and this one was very helpful.
just dont call people noobs.
   

stupid noob Wednesday, June 21st, 2006 | 9:21 am PST
nice review but wen you say it wont beat an angel or a Timmie you must remember that its not the gun that shoots you its the person who pulls the trigger. you shouldn't base someones skill on there gun. they could be some stupid rich kid with an angel but they could suck and you don't shoot the gun but the person holding it!!!!!!!!!!1111111111
   

Ion Crazy Monday, June 26th, 2006 | 11:05 am PST
What is the stock dwell set on I just got a qev and getting a Firebolt help me with these settings? Thank you ION
   

SPYDER TLX USER Tuesday, June 27th, 2006 | 2:31 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Abam
does an evil driver barrel fit this gun and does it work well with it.


yes it fits it uses Impulse threads and i havent tried it so i don't know ive heard it does really good tho
   

pimpsickle Monday, July 10th, 2006 | 2:58 pm PST
hmm i think it was a good review but i realize that this comment is written almost a year after all the last one so i dont think its even worthwhile to say anything else.
   

ion2dm Thursday, July 27th, 2006 | 9:49 am PST
The stock reg will hold its own through the low 20bps range if it's lubed properly...
   

mike p1 Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006 | 3:49 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake
It's not a 10 out of 10 if you admit it has weaknesses.
Its his own personal opinion. All guns have weaknesses, but they can still get a 10.
By the way, why would you dispute someone's rating? There isn't anything wrong with a 10/10 score.
Last edited on Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006 at 3:49 pm PST
   

sureshot98 Friday, August 4th, 2006 | 5:12 pm PST
i don't care what any of you say. i just shot the ion, the timmy and the 06 ego one after the other. i figure the ions go for 225 right now and the ego and timmy are over a thou. so those two should be four times better. price wise, you can't beat the ion, its impossible, unless ego's went for about 700 bucks. the ion shot straighter than the timmy and the ego. the only bad thing is uts a gas hog. there is no way you got over a k of shots wit a 45/4500. the gun operates at 180. bottom line is that this gun is untouchable for its price.
   

saleenvp Saturday, August 5th, 2006 | 9:32 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by 187inc


to say that a timmy is over rated is to say that the ocean is dry. id take an alias over an angel any day, then shoot the hell out of your "respected" ass.


pwned
   

Fastfingers28 Wednesday, August 9th, 2006 | 7:14 pm PST
love__gun: I like how you put a lot of detail into your review. This shows you care if people go out and buy a marker that is bad, good or not. I have an ION and completely agree with your review. Keep up the good work.
   

Spyderman91 Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006 | 6:37 am PST
Thank God someone put something honest about the Ion.Every time I play paintball with my friend (he has an Ion), someone says they're crap. I ask anyone out there, where else are you going to find a marker that shoots 17 bps and has eyes for under $250?
   

inoebenzino Monday, August 28th, 2006 | 12:39 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Cohen Anderson
yeah i agree. i think this review is pursuading me into buying this gun......it was either this or thinking about getting an electra lol. my lil trilogy pro is getting on my nerves.......not worth the money. BUT I HAVE A QUESTION........WHAT WOULD BE A GOOD HOPPER TO PUT ON THIS GUN!?!? i want to stay away from feed clamps as much as possible, but i guess if i have to buy one, i will. lol

I have a Reloader B on mine w/ a rip drive and a speed wheel. It keeps up w it but Im thinking bout doin a warp feed system. Any one wants 2 comment on the warp feed system on a ion? Im doing it for low profile of the hopper but using a viewloader instead of my Reloader B. Get a DIFFERENT FEEDNECK!
Last edited on Monday, August 28th, 2006 at 1:20 pm PST
   

inoebenzino Monday, August 28th, 2006 | 1:18 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by wombizle


get an ion. the electras are cool, but have a lot of kick, because they are blowbacks. the ion isn't one, so it has little to no kick. also i have heard that the rocking trigger isn't tourny legal, i have no idea my self, but i didn't want to buy a gun, and find out that i cant use it in a tournament

Wombizle is correct the Electra is not tourney legal. Its a rocking trigger and wont do u any good in a tournament.
   

inoebenzino Monday, August 28th, 2006 | 1:24 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by CFL08
I just got a new Ion and was wondering what kind of barrel you would suggest
thanks


FREAK BARREL or ALL AMERICAN (just remember it has Impulse threads)
   

^_^ Monday, September 11th, 2006 | 6:17 pm PST
Recommended Upgrades:
None yet but when they come out
Trigger
Reg

What the heck are you talking about there aren't any upgrades out for the ion yet? What are you smoking?!
   

adloy Friday, September 15th, 2006 | 3:17 pm PST
i got an ion pro today but i dont know how to take out the magnet or change firing modes could someone please email me with some help osama_bin_ladin_182@hotmail.com
   

Go_Dynasty Wednesday, September 20th, 2006 | 5:19 pm PST
Hey im thinking about getting this but dont have the money for the tank...will it work with a 20oz CO2? e-mail me back plaz godynasty@aim.com
   

autocockerkid99 Saturday, September 30th, 2006 | 7:27 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by elmnt4lfe


why are you saying ha? the dude was off by .1 pounds, and how do u know timmys get less respect then angels if you dont own one?


angels get more respect than timmys.....riiiiiiight. you would say that becasue u own one. and no im sorry but they are not faster than timmys.
   
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media