paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on the_timbo's Review / Comments on the_timbo's Review / Comments on the_timbo's Review / Comments on the_timbo's Review / Comments on the_timbo's Review

Comments on the_timbo's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

the_timbo Sunday, February 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month45 of 56 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All high ends- shockers, ecockers, timmys, angel, trixs, this gun keeps up wit all.
Marker Setup: Blk Ion, 70/45 crossfire stubby, reloader ( getting halob), freak kit, function unimount on/off.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, some say reg but i havent had problems wit it so up to you
Strengths: Fast, light, affordable.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have had this for a few days now, have put 1000 rounds through it with no problem and only used bout 2k psi to do so.. When i pulled it out of box an aired it up it was shooting 270 fps at 110 psi...awesome no setup needed. One thing i did do to it was take the trigger magnet out, with it in its a somewhat stiff and snappy trigger, once removed the trigger was much lighter and easier to walk i went from around 12-13 bps to maxing it out at 17 bps.
Conclusion: Some people said this gun sucks and isnt better than their high end guns like timmys and angels, well it wasnt mean to be better just compete at a lower price and it does just that. It blows anything in the price range away and is comparable to high end ones. Very similar to a shocker only not as fast being capped at 17 but thats fast enough for me so i love it. If you are like me and dont need the fastest gun out there consider this gun its very good at a great price. I give it a 10 not because its better than anything out there but because it did exactly what it was intended to do.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
a-5 gunner Sunday, February 27th, 2005 | 2:41 pm PST
Amen, i hate when tose guys say "ah, just buy a Dm5."
   

Ballinvincent Wednesday, April 20th, 2005 | 9:49 pm PST
i know the shocker weighs lighter and shoots faster than the ion and thats it? or is the shocker way better?
   

bluesgoalie44 Wednesday, May 25th, 2005 | 7:01 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Ballinvincent
i know the shocker weighs lighter and shoots faster than the ion and thats it? or is the shocker way better?

shocker is the older bro of the ion so yea the shocker is better but if u want a good cheap gun get the ion
   

PBFool Sunday, August 21st, 2005 | 6:41 pm PST
listen buddy you cant say you were walkn 17 bps. the only way you can hit a rate that high is w/ ramping. I personnaly like the snappyness of the trigger w/ the mg othere then that good review
   

vanja Monday, February 20th, 2006 | 4:27 pm PST
pretty good reviw except its imposible to walk it 17bps they only way u can do it is by rampind and for that u need a magnet
   

Ion Crazy Monday, June 26th, 2006 | 11:07 am PST
What is the stock dwell set on I just got a qev and getting a Firebolt help me with these settings? Thank you ION
   

inoebenzino Monday, July 31st, 2006 | 10:25 am PST
Period of
Product Use: 3 Months




Paintball
Experience: 3 years

Similar
Products Used: Nothing within its calibre.

Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion (Black)
Empire reloader (black) w/ critical rip drive wheel (red) and SP speedwheel
Crossfire 45/3000 w/ redz tank cover (blue)
Smart parts S rail
Hybrid On/Off
Freak Jr w/ smart parts back
Custom Products Sling trigger
Hybrid (Contract killer) grips
Custom Products long reg
Virtue board
Virtue vision eyes
Q lock low rise feed neck
Smart parts ION snatch grip
Smart parts firebolt (red)
Smart parts QEV

Recommended
Upgrades: Feedneck
Trigger
Barrel



Strengths: Price
Accuracy
Consistency
Speed

Weaknesses: Feedneck
sloppy trigger (moves side to side)

Review: I spent more time upgrading it than actually shooting it. When I first used it for the first time, it dominated. Balls flew str8 without ne problems. Fast and efficient! Range on the gun was amazing. Although I need a bigger tank (getting a stubby soon) my shots were all accounted for. I have spent alot of money w/ the upgrades on this gun! Stock is pretty good but nothing is comparable than having a $200 gun keep up w/ $1000 or more dollar ones. Its a great back up gun or even a primary gun to use. Feedneck and trigger is a must! Barrel is ok for stock but there is so much u can do w/ a aftermarket one. Definetly needs a fast hopper! Changing out the bolt and adding a QEV just makes this thing roar.

So w/ everthing said and done. Great gun for the price and pretty good w/ accuracy out of the box. But you know and I know that when u customize your gun it makes u happy w/ what u have put together (a masterpiece). 10 out of 10 for me.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media