paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on xenochimera's Review / Comments on xenochimera's Review / Comments on xenochimera's Review / Comments on xenochimera's Review / Comments on xenochimera's Review

Comments on xenochimera's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

xenochimera Monday, February 21st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month28 of 106 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
shockers-very similar to ion but better in everything except price.
vikings-way better than most guns i've used but heavy and expensive as hell.
ecockers-similar to ion in terms of speed, but not reliability, or price, equally annoying to clean.
Marker Setup: blue ion
45/45 x-fire tank
halo v-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, feedneck, trigger, board.
Strengths: Cheap. Looks cool. Loads of upgrades on the way.
Weaknesses: You basically have to upgrade everything. Seriously.
Review: alrite i at first thought this gun was crap, but after seeing such good reviews i decided to order one, now that gun is on its way back for a full refund.
Strenghts:
-sure this gun is cheap, but really, you do get what you paid for.
-17bps is pretty good for a gun of this price.
-i can already see the new wave of upgrades avaliable for this, especially the removely polymer.
-the polymer is quite strong, protects the body well.
- decent reg
Weaknesses:
- the board cycles at 17bps, most ppl are not cool with that, and wants a better a board.
- its a pain in the butt to clean, you gota take it apart.
- powder coating is kinda coming off on my gun already.
- the board is apparently ramping, and can not be used in tournies, guess you gota spend $100 on a new board.
- barrel sux, feedneck sux as well, there goes at least $60.
- wow wuts up with the threads??? i cant screw in my reg after i took it off, x-ing threads are not cool.
Conclusion: I really expected a better product based on all the reviews here and on pbnation.com. But after i got mines, i was disappointed. The basic system of this gun works very much like a shocker, but if you want a $300 to perform like a $650, you are in for some serious upgrades, the shocker is better than this. For this gun to be tourny ready, another $200 is going to be spent, which bascially kills the point of this gun. There is a reason it only costs $300, and the reason is that it works like a $300 guns, even the diablo wrath works better than this.
Rating:
5 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
james52 Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 1:49 pm PST
OMG, ya rebound is illegal, umm its called semi mode dumb a$$. The gun is 300 dollars. obviously its not ganna have a good barrel all though i think its pretty accurate, and the feedneck isn't even that bad, one of the best stock feed necks i've seen. 17 bps is fast enough. I do agree with that it is a pain to clean when you break a ball. But the eyes are break beam i have put 3000 rounds through my gun and it hasn't chopped. I think this gun deserves at least a 9, deffianly not a 5. I mean c mon its 300 bucks.
   

lobsterboy360 Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 2:38 pm PST
a 17 bps board is not bad at all for a $300 gun. Most $300 guns aren't that fast and the ones that are aren't fully electro so they're still don't shoot as well.
   

BigTarget04 Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 2:40 pm PST
Also 17 bps cap is probably good because most tournies are now instituting a 15 bps cap. And really have you ever seen a gun shooting 17 bps, its not exactly slow. Also many people cannot physically move their fingers faster than 17 times a second. But if you can I applaud you and wish I had your fast trigger fingers. And it must have been a lemon if the powder coating was coming off, because generally powder coat is pretty tough stuff and will not come off easily since it is basically baked onto the metal and the particles or powder are magnetically charged to stick to the metal. So unless you have a razor blade and alot of time on your hands getting the powder coat to come off should not be easy at all.
   

Rammstein187 Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 3:23 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by james52
OMG, ya rebound is illegal, umm its called semi mode dumb a$$. The gun is 300 dollars. obviously its not ganna have a good barrel all though i think its pretty accurate, and the feedneck isn't even that bad, one of the best stock feed necks i've seen. 17 bps is fast enough. I do agree with that it is a pain to clean when you break a ball. But the eyes are break beam i have put 3000 rounds through my gun and it hasn't chopped. I think this gun deserves at least a 9, deffianly not a 5. I mean c mon its 300 bucks.

Not trying to be an a$$ or anything but, if youve never chopped a ball, then how would you kno its hard to clean when you chop?
   

james52 Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 4:10 pm PST
because when you do chopp you have to take the hole body off and pretty much take the gun apart, it's a pain in the a$$
   

xenochimera Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 6:11 pm PST
i also said the 17bps is not bad for $300, the main problem i have with this gun is the threads, sum1 gave this gun a 2 and said something about the threads messing up after he made a dive, that is true, my reg hit a table and OMFG i cant take that POS off, seriously, SP have to fix that issue, the shocker i used to have did not have that problem at all. and the cleanning issue is really annoying as well.
   

james52 Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 6:58 pm PST
ya i cross threaded my max flo on my impy, and its always been screwed, sucks cross threading. But the gun doesn't deserve a 5 at all, maybe at least an 8 or 9 every gun you get needs upgrades, i think the ION is not bad stock, its 300 bucks best deal in paintball.
Last edited on Monday, February 21st, 2005 at 7:01 pm PST
   

mandown25 Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 9:13 pm PST
I think it deserves at least an 8 IMO. Is it more or did there use to be 21 reviews for this gun and now there is 19??? It went from a 8.3 to a 8.5. I must be trippen....again.
   

james52 Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 8:39 am PST
No some review got deleated, becasue they were bias and really stupid.
   

mandown25 Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 8:13 pm PST
Why do you need a new board? This gun IS tourney legal!!!!!! And of course the barrel sucks, it is stock. What do you expect? I hope this gets deleted as well as a couple more off of here.
   

noremac Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 8:36 pm PST
Haha.. if u think 17bps is slow, then what is your idea of fast? Iheard on rebound mode, you can cap the bps at 15, which, i believe, is required for some tourneys now, which some ppl *above me have already stated
Last edited on Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005 at 4:13 pm PST
   

paintwiz Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005 | 4:35 am PST
the board is capped at 17bps because the gun is mechanically capped at that speed. don't believe me go here: http://www.zdspb.com/tech/index.html
   

puckface Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 3:01 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by james52
OMG, ya rebound is illegal, umm its called semi mode dumb a$$. The gun is 300 dollars. obviously its not ganna have a good barrel all though i think its pretty accurate, and the feedneck isn't even that bad, one of the best stock feed necks i've seen. 17 bps is fast enough. I do agree with that it is a pain to clean when you break a ball. But the eyes are break beam i have put 3000 rounds through my gun and it hasn't chopped. I think this gun deserves at least a 9, deffianly not a 5. I mean c mon its 300 bucks.

wow, i'd call you a newb, but that would be mean...first of all, he said nothing of rebound mode, he was talking about how the board has ramping issues (it gets faster and faster when you shoot, kinda like a burst mode or full auto) and they are not legal in tournaments, 2nd off, a REAL tourny gun wouldnt have auto or burst, look at the $1000 guns, do they advertise about burst? no cuz its not legal in tourneys. 3rd off, you said you've never broken a ball, but yet you say its a pain to clean when you do break...how would you know? you havent broken a ball yet. 4th off, "one of the best stock feednecks you've ever seen for a marker thats $300" is pure BS, take a look at the Diablo Wrath. and as far as accuaracy, sp should have at least put on the proggressive barrel. im not being bias or anything but everything the ion has, the wrath has better like; vise-grip feedneck,better barrel,good threads,better reg (i think its a bob long torpedo),dual breakbeam eyes, quick-strip bolt pin (so much easier to field strip and not a pain to clean like the ion that you guys say),faster--20bps, better trigger, and looks

o and for all the ppl out there who are gonna rip this comment up and call me an sp hater and im only doing this cuz i own a wrath, well i dont hate sp--they've got some sweet products, and i dont own a wrath

ps- the wrath is only 280$ and its not made by Diablo, Diablo only bought the rights for it, Dragun made it.
Last edited on Thursday, February 24th, 2005 at 3:02 pm PST
   

james52 Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 7:50 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by puckface


wow, i'd call you a newb, but that would be mean...first of all, he said nothing of rebound mode, he was talking about how the board has ramping issues (it gets faster and faster when you shoot, kinda like a burst mode or full auto) and they are not legal in tournaments, 2nd off, a REAL tourny gun wouldnt have auto or burst, look at the $1000 guns, do they advertise about burst? no cuz its not legal in tourneys. 3rd off, you said you've never broken a ball, but yet you say its a pain to clean when you do break...how would you know? you havent broken a ball yet. 4th off, "one of the best stock feednecks you've ever seen for a marker thats $300" is pure BS, take a look at the Diablo Wrath. and as far as accuaracy, sp should have at least put on the proggressive barrel. im not being bias or anything but everything the ion has, the wrath has better like; vise-grip feedneck,better barrel,good threads,better reg (i think its a bob long torpedo),dual breakbeam eyes, quick-strip bolt pin (so much easier to field strip and not a pain to clean like the ion that you guys say),faster--20bps, better trigger, and looks

o and for all the ppl out there who are gonna rip this comment up and call me an sp hater and im only doing this cuz i own a wrath, well i dont hate sp--they've got some sweet products, and i dont own a wrath

ps- the wrath is only 280$ and its not made by Diablo, Diablo only bought the rights for it, Dragun made it.

I think your the noob, he says that the gun is ramping, i think what he means is that the only setting is rebound, and he doesn't know about semi. Ya a real tourney wouldn't have 3 shot or auto, but this gun does.. and....
No i havn't broken a ball yet, but if i do which eventually i will, you have to take the gun apart, i know that because that's how you clean chops. It would be a pain. This is a 300 dollar gun smart parts aint ganna put a progressive or any good barrel on it nor a clamping feed neck, you have to upgrade that yourself. I think this blow away the wrath.
   

xenochimera Friday, February 25th, 2005 | 7:18 am PST
lets just settle this:
it costs $300, it works like a $300 gun. the gun was way over hyped on pbnation.com, ppl were saying how this is basically a $1000+ gun for only about 1/3rd of the price. No way its a $1000+ gun for only $300, its a $300 gun for $300. I have already noticed of problems on pbnation.com's ion forums. some people are already complaining of powder coating wearing off, therefore I did not BS the powdercoating wearing off. Numerous people complained that the cross-threads are causing them grief. Someone mentioned that sensitive parts within the gun were not as well protected as they should be, and someone said the trigger broke off already (I do believe the trigger is made of metal so....?!?!). Also I saw a post stating that the gun can not phycially cycle faster than 17.8bps, which is a possible downside.
   

mountainexplor Sunday, February 27th, 2005 | 1:21 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by puckface


wow, i'd call you a newb, but that would be mean...first of all, he said nothing of rebound mode, he was talking about how the board has ramping issues (it gets faster and faster when you shoot, kinda like a burst mode or full auto) and they are not legal in tournaments, 2nd off, a REAL tourny gun wouldnt have auto or burst, look at the $1000 guns, do they advertise about burst? no cuz its not legal in tourneys. 3rd off, you said you've never broken a ball, but yet you say its a pain to clean when you do break...how would you know? you havent broken a ball yet. 4th off, "one of the best stock feednecks you've ever seen for a marker thats $300" is pure BS, take a look at the Diablo Wrath. and as far as accuaracy, sp should have at least put on the proggressive barrel. im not being bias or anything but everything the ion has, the wrath has better like; vise-grip feedneck,better barrel,good threads,better reg (i think its a bob long torpedo),dual breakbeam eyes, quick-strip bolt pin (so much easier to field strip and not a pain to clean like the ion that you guys say),faster--20bps, better trigger, and looks

o and for all the ppl out there who are gonna rip this comment up and call me an sp hater and im only doing this cuz i own a wrath, well i dont hate sp--they've got some sweet products, and i dont own a wrath

ps- the wrath is only 280$ and its not made by Diablo, Diablo only bought the rights for it, Dragun made it.


Even though I dont care for the ION and feel the wrath is a better buy,, not everything you mentioned is correct... Dragun is basically out of business!! Diablo, Odyssey, and Dragun all have their guns coming from a taiwan based company. I owned an Odyssey O2 and loved it!! I therefore support the wrath because it is from the same company. But dragun does not make any markers.
   

Crappyone Monday, February 28th, 2005 | 5:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by xenochimera
lets just settle this:
quote:
the gun was way over hyped on pbnation.com .
<qoute> I have already noticed of problems on pbnation.com's ion forums. some people are already complaining of powder coating wearing off, therefore I did not BS the powdercoating wearing off. Numerous people complained that the cross-threads are causing them grief. Someone mentioned that sensitive parts within the gun were not as well protected as they should be, and someone said the trigger broke off already (I do believe the trigger is made of metal so....?!?!). Also I saw a post stating that the gun can not phycially cycle faster than 17.8bps, which is a possible downside.

LMAO You are absolutely CRAZY if you think there aren't more bias people here at pbreview than pbnation? pbnation is where it's basically ALL at. You won't find ANY other board with more League players than pbnation. As for Problems with the gun. Name some guns that have HAD NO problems what so ever when first made AND any GUN that hasn't needed ANY aftermarket parts? As for sensitive parts inside gun not "as well protected as they should be"? Who are you to say they aren't? Who are the people that say they aren't? Show me some Credintials? Cheap Trigger yeah I've heard that. OMG it cost $20-25 to replace for an even better trigger. Also I've heard trigger was a plastic. But not for sure. And the 17.8 bps is slow?...LMAO. Dude if you can't Hit someone with the First 17 BALLS, Then I DOUBT the last six or so in that Split sec with do Crap. Not to mention Many many fields are adopting the 15 bps rule. Also While I'm mentioning all this don't forget guncan be found for $285. You are OBVIOUSLY Being Biased wether you notice it or not. I'd believe the 90% of Good reviews here and probably 97% of Reviews off pbnation (especially considering pbnation provide pics that they actually OWN the gun and Video's of them shooting it) More than I'd believe the few Negative Biased Reviews given here.
Last edited on Tuesday, March 1st, 2005 at 7:26 am PST
   

TitanSpeed Tuesday, March 1st, 2005 | 7:27 am PST
quote:
wow, i'd call you a newb, but that would be mean...first of all, he said nothing of rebound mode, he was talking about how the board has ramping issues (it gets faster and faster when you shoot, kinda like a burst mode or full auto) and they are not legal in tournaments, 2nd off, a REAL tourny gun wouldnt have auto or burst, look at the $1000 guns, do they advertise about burst? no cuz its not legal in tourneys. 3rd off, you said you've never broken a ball, but yet you say its a pain to clean when you do break...how would you know? you havent broken a ball yet. 4th off, "one of the best stock feednecks you've ever seen for a marker thats $300" is pure BS, take a look at the Diablo Wrath. and as far as accuaracy, sp should have at least put on the proggressive barrel. im not being bias or anything but everything the ion has, the wrath has better like; vise-grip feedneck,better barrel,good threads,better reg (i think its a bob long torpedo),dual breakbeam eyes, quick-strip bolt pin (so much easier to field strip and not a pain to clean like the ion that you guys say),faster--20bps, better trigger, and looks



ok you ARE a noob. First off you say that tourneys dont allow ramping (ie. Rebound mode IS Ramping) and PSP Events allow Ramping as of right now (NPPL does not)(if you set the board to 14bps it wont go over 15. it spikes sometimes bye 1bps so there is your simple fix). 2nd off You say that no REAL touney gun will go full auto, and umm hate to break your heart but NXL, you know the National Xball League is a full auto competition. The Proto/DM4/DM5 will all go full auto when you get the NXL Settings put on the board. So go do some research on what your talking about before you start posting assanine remarks in here about stuff you dont know about.

PS: dont be mad causeyou cant afford anything over a spyder TLX
Last edited on Monday, March 7th, 2005 at 5:18 pm PST
   

Quagmire_FamGUY Sunday, March 6th, 2005 | 6:54 pm PST
you guys are lazy who hate tanking the gun apart. Maybe its cus you really dont enjoy the sport and cant take 2 mins to clean a freggin gun! wow LAZY A$$ MOFOS
   

xenochimera Thursday, March 10th, 2005 | 10:00 am PST
bottom line-this gun works better than BKOs i guess, i wont give it more than that. and what happend to the supposed extreme price drop on all the other guns!?!?!?! GEEE, timmies are still way over prices as are trixes, HUMMM......i guess the ion didnt serve its purpose yet (lowering price of other guns) due its unsuperb quality, hell at least i got my $300 back.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media