paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on nayrLS6's Review / Comments on nayrLS6's Review / Comments on nayrLS6's Review / Comments on nayrLS6's Review / Comments on nayrLS6's Review

Comments on nayrLS6's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

nayrLS6 Friday, February 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested119 of 124 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ION,TES, Nerve
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath-stock for now- blue/Silver
47/3000
Halo TSA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt (when they come out
Barrel
Grips
Strengths: FAST!
eyes work great
reg
looks really cool
light
Weaknesses: Stock bolt not delrin.
Grip was bulgy over the solenoid.
Review: I just got my Wrath tonight about 3 hours ago. I paid 265 for it at a local shop which is pretty cheap. At first glance this thing looks really nice. It resembles a Timmy a lot which I like. This marker is also really light, just a tad heavier than the ION. I couldn't wait to get out of the shop and rip on this thing to finally see what it is made of. Well let me tell you, the name really fits this marker. With a little adjustment of the trigger set screw, (took 30sec) this thing was beasting it. I easily got used to the trigger and had it at shoot 16-17. The break beam eyes really work great too. At one point I outran my TSA but it hardly skipped a beat. It's not too loud either. I mean its not like a cocker or anything but its definitely not a loud marker by any means. Also those "big holes" in the side of the reciever will not let stuff it. There is a shield around the internal and the hole can take a direct hit and nothing will happen.( Hey look at the Timmys, they have em!)

-weaknesses
Yes there are a couple but nothing major at all. One is that the bolt is aluminum. It would be a nice touch to have a delrin bolt but hey, it was 260! The aluminum one really isn't horrible and it slides surprisingly well, but i would recommend a delrin one as soon as they come out. Also right at the solenoid the grip kind of bulges out. It's no big deal and i'm sure i can fix but hey, there has to be a couple weaknesses right?

Now comes the question......ION OR WRATH???!!!!
This is kind of a personal preference and I am going to do this totalyy un-biased because i do like both and have shot both

ION
Speed is a little lower. Also quieter and less kick though. Really hard to get to bolt (just dont chop!! lol)
Wrath
Faster than ION. Stock barrel is better. User friendly, LCD, Quick strip bolt. little bit more kick and a bit louder. Quality of marker is a little bit better. I'm not saying that because of the plastic (I kind of like that idea). I have heard of problems with really weak threads on the IONs. This will eventually get fixed just be careful and use some grease or paintball lube.
Both
Break beam eyes-Pretty nice triggers-Great Values
Conclusion: This is a great product for an Amazing price. It is great to see paintball going in this direction and the prices lowering. This thing is really fast, easy to shoot and user friendly. I would have to go with the wrath over the ion(obviously I already did and don't regret it) Just because of how user friendly it is. If you do ever shop with the Ion you have to completely disassemble it unlike the wrath. Just pull the pin it takesd about a second. Also the LCD board makes it a lot easier to use. They are both good gun though. Tis is a great gun. I give it a ten because for the price, it is about the best you can buy!
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
SonicNox Saturday, February 26th, 2005 | 6:00 am PST
Dose anyone out there know a Canadian online store that carries this marker?
   

Worrship-ZP16 Saturday, February 26th, 2005 | 9:07 pm PST
Hey i was just wondering if it can run on co2?
   

thehalo Sunday, February 27th, 2005 | 12:03 pm PST
yes but not good.
   

nayrLS6 Monday, February 28th, 2005 | 5:53 am PST
If you HAVE to run it on CO2 use an anti siphon tank and you should be ok. I would suggest just buying a 45/3000 tank, they are cheap now, 50-60. Its worth it in the long run.
   

the_hippie Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 5:10 am PST
Nice review, i was hoping somebody made a review that would outline the major differences between the wrath and the ion. Im getting a wrath. Nice review
   

SpyderPB4LIFE Tuesday, March 15th, 2005 | 1:44 pm PST
IMHO, ION is better, im not bashing anything here, I personally love both. But to address "The Hoppie", I have shot both, not for very long, but I have shot both. I like the ION more becuase of the ramping affect, it is quieter (spelling?) and it has pretty much no kick. The only downfall of the ION is that it is very hard to clean and not very user friendly, just read the manuel and youll be fine. You will be happy either way but im gettin myself an ION.
Hope you have fun=-)
   

SpyderPB4LIFE Tuesday, March 15th, 2005 | 1:45 pm PST
"The Hippie" sorry about the mistype.
   

Be0da0o Tuesday, March 29th, 2005 | 5:29 pm PST
What kind of threads are you talking about in the ion having weak threads? The barrel threads are impulse, which are very strong, and the feedneck is also impulse, which isnt the best, but if you screw it in good, they are just fine. The impulse body is just as strong as any other extremely strong plastic. The only downside is that the body can scratch, and cant be anno'd.
   

codekevin0403 Friday, April 8th, 2005 | 8:05 pm PST
how can some threads be tougher than other threads?
   

KraxyDrummer Monday, April 11th, 2005 | 7:23 pm PST
The Ion can be anno'd you just need to take off the shell. The marker it self is all aluminum and the shell is a COMPOSITE plastic.(some of the strongest things on this planet are made from composite plastics, there is even a tank that the army is considering using and it's armor is composite plastic, but it's about 4-6 inches think)
   

darkxaznx Sunday, April 17th, 2005 | 8:32 pm PST
uno questiono where can i buy one??
do i have to get it from the company?
   

snailbutter Monday, April 25th, 2005 | 12:58 pm PST
sweet review

Wrath is blow back right?
Last edited on Monday, April 25th, 2005 at 12:58 pm PST
   

punkpaintballer Wednesday, April 27th, 2005 | 6:52 pm PST
yeh
   

HAWAIIANballer Thursday, April 28th, 2005 | 6:38 pm PST
i am looking to get a wrath, but i did alot of research on it and i read that the stock triggers tend to move side to side and just aint very good. can the stock trigger be replaced to stop those movments.
   

citydweller Sunday, May 1st, 2005 | 6:42 am PST
can the wrath be run on Co2 since im kinda short on cash im trying to get the best marker for the lowest price(i got an e-99av.)
   

citydweller Sunday, May 1st, 2005 | 6:42 am PST
can the wrath be run on Co2 since im kinda short on cash im trying to get the best marker for the lowest price(i got an e-99av.)
   

hell_copter Thursday, May 19th, 2005 | 3:52 pm PST
yes the type gun it is you can use co2
   

nayrLS6 Saturday, May 21st, 2005 | 8:24 am PST
nooooooooooo its not a blowback!!!!! spriing returned air ram....same as the bkos, T1s 03s ect. You can run it on co2 but do yourself a favor and get hpa....WORLDS better for the gun.... at LEAST use anti siphin but still....get hpa. and city dweller...don'r get an e-99.......wrath will dwarf that thing! lol
   

jfudge02 Saturday, May 28th, 2005 | 1:25 am PST
in my experience the wrath is slow. 20 bps cycling speed?? yeh, except only about 14 balls actually come out of the barrel. put a qev on an ion and it will get you an actual 18.5 bps ( i have this goldwaved, with stock board). go to pbvids.com and check it out urself and u will see what im talking about.
i would show u my predator ion which has dwell 7 and shoots 26-27 bps however dont have a site to host it or a dv camera so...
also wrath= no sft, will never be as accurate as proto, dm, shocker, or ION. sft is an oring that seals the breach before each shot, resulting in a much less turbulent, more accurate flight path regardless of the barrel. a lot is to be said that the bolt style and sft o ring matter much more than a barrel. still, an aftermarket barrel will help any gun
Last edited on Saturday, May 28th, 2005 at 1:26 am PST
   

Bhudduh Saturday, May 28th, 2005 | 6:23 am PST
Well I would really like to see it hit 18.5 bps since the stock board is capped at 17bps and that it is impossible to get it over 17 because of the weak internals. And your predator ion hitting 26-27bps? Please, more like 20-21bps. Again the internals of the Ion limit just how fast it can cycle, and you couldn't hit 26bps with and Ion without replacing everything inside the gun. And don't even start to bring up the Wrath not having an sft because that is something that you can only use on CLOSED bolt guns. Put a stock Wrath against a stock Ion and the Wrath will prove to be much more accurate. Now quit trying to start trouble.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media