paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on joonsoon's Review / Comments on joonsoon's Review / Comments on joonsoon's Review / Comments on joonsoon's Review / Comments on joonsoon's Review

Comments on joonsoon's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

joonsoon Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing similar
Marker Setup: Phantom stock class. Running 12 grams and 10 round tubes. Anno'd red and black
Recommended
Upgrades:
anti double pump feature (not available as i can see)
vert air
3.5 oz tank
Strengths: -Really light
-small
-compact
-forces you to play better
Weaknesses: -Pumping problems*
-accuracy
-no ball detent
-stripping
Review: Strengths-
Its really small and really light. You can really get around without lugging your gun or worrying about your hopper falling off. It also forces you to play better. you cant just unload on the bunker. you have to sneak around back and hit him in the chest.

Weaknesses-
The accuracy isnt as nice as people say. I know people says this thing shoots straight, which is true but as with all paintball guns, its not like a bullet. Also get good paint or you will get lit up because you shot at that guy and your crappy brass eagle (which i dont get) paint missed.
The pumping of the phantom sucks. There is no anti double pump feature to help you if you already cocked on ball and forgot if you did. Also when your running around balls will roll right out the barrel (seriously this is unbelieveable). I went to bunker some guy (yes i said bunker.) and i brought up my marker to shoot and i shot a blank. The ball rolled out while i was running.
The other thing that sucks is you have to pump it ALL the way in. if you stop short by a millimeter or so you wont shoot anything, but you will have loaded a ball.
stripping is also a pain because when you take it apart, it takes 5 minutes or so to get the pump back on the bolt. you have to hold it all funky and its quite a challenge.
Conclusion: I personally wish i wouldnt have gotten this product. Im a front man and need quicker ROF but for all you accuracy junkies this gun is alright. Its kind of a pain though when that guy with the cocker in front of you is unloading and bunkering you while your changing your 12 gram or reloading.

im using this gun only to improve my game. I dont reccomend it. get a cocker, there just as accurate and about the same price.
2 because its light 1 because it has to many crappy things.
Rating:
2 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Scott83 Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005 | 7:39 pm PST
Hey man, find it kinda odd you give the most popular pump ever a 2 of 10, but anyways, FYI you can get detent rings from CCI for $6. They will stop rollout and to some small extent help your accuracy. The phantom is just as accurate as any other marker out there. More accurate than most given its very good consistency. If you think it has poor accuracy just remember it's only as accurate as it's user.
   

BOBO Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 7:25 am PST
I can tell by this persons review that they are not a pump player. All the things that you complain about in your review for the most part are user problems not the marker. Sorry the marker is not ďidiot proofĒ... Take that as intended. This person evidently has made no effort to address his issues. Detent rings are helpful even though I personally have never used them I check my paint to barrel match. Basic concept for ANY paintball player. To this person please, please sell your phantom & go buy a 98 custom you personally will be much happier. Preaching the buy an autococker thing is just plain ignorant. With what you are showing with your review I believe that a cocker is probably beyond your comprehension to maintain. Thatís like telling someone to buy a Honda civic when they are looking at a Harley.
   

punkpaintballer Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 1:59 pm PST
this thing is so blooady accurate and well its not hard to not double pump it and gimme a pump gun wit ball stops
   

Crazylegs Thursday, March 10th, 2005 | 6:41 am PST
in addition to all the other stuid stuff you said an autocoker dosent cost any thing near what a phantom does if you spend anything less than 400 on an autococker you might as well through paint at them, and i have to agree with bobo an autococker is far to complicated for someone who cant understand the concept of holding your phantom UP when you run so the ball dosent roll out
   

runthruking Wednesday, March 23rd, 2005 | 6:53 pm PST
wouldnt it be easier if CCI sold their phantoms with detents since they are only six bucks?
   

joonsoon Wednesday, March 23rd, 2005 | 8:36 pm PST
BOBO i think you are judging me without even asking me these things. I don't even want an autococker. you don't have to get it. it was just somethings beside this gun. I am stating what i believe are the strengths and weaknesses. My rating might have been a little harsh, now that i have adapted to all the weaknesses i can overcome some of them. But it is not as accurate as people say. and what i meant was its not dead on, Paintballs are never perfectly round and therefore do not fly straight. And i am not a moron. the gun is hard to put back together after cleaning. I time autocockers in my spare time for my friends. I cant stress it enough, im not a moron. Just making that clear. Also you can find some autocockers used for less than a phantom (03 models)
And CCI should include detents on the guns. It shouldn't have to be another upgrade.
   

BOBO Monday, March 28th, 2005 | 10:23 am PST
I cant see it taking 5 min to put any phantom back together. It takes me less than 2. The better quality paint the better your chances of being dead on. I personally use all star. Because in comparison to most paint it is round & has a decent seam. I just cant agree with your review . They are a much better marker than a 2. The abysmal rating I find insulting as a long time phantom user.
Itís a myth about the accuracy with the phantom. Itís just a paintball gun. Itís true that the barrels are some of the best out there. Seldom will an after market barrel make much of a difference on a phantom. Try some all-star or slam ball thru it. Usually a very good fit. Usual barrel diameter is between .687 to .690.

   

Bonez87x Tuesday, May 17th, 2005 | 1:13 pm PST
" The other thing that sucks is you have to pump it ALL the way in. if you stop short by a millimeter..."
So why dont you pump it all the way? So you cant push the pump down that extra millimeter?

"...you can find some autocockers used for less than a phantom (03 models)..."
I have found used phantoms for around 70$.. never seen a used autococker before for less than 200$

"...get a cocker, there just as accurate and about the same price...." ".. The accuracy isnt as nice as people say..."
You cant play Stock Class with an AutoCocker. And what the second one was you saying the 'myth' of the Autococker being the most accurate marker out there is maybe.. a lie?

"...it takes 5 minutes or so to get the pump back on the bolt. you have to hold it all funky and its quite a challenge...."
You must have bad motor skills. Don't blame the marker for that.
Last edited on Tuesday, May 17th, 2005 at 1:16 pm PST
   

joonsoon Wednesday, May 18th, 2005 | 3:30 pm PST
what im saying is if your in a tough situation and you accident dont pump all the way you wont shoot anything and it can be trouble for u

if you want to go stock class than do it. there are better options and just be prepared to go through alot of 12 grams.

and it is not my motor skills. With the spring and the pump-arm and the screws it is quite a challenge. Ive gotten a little better at it but its still a challenge.
   

JimboDrofxo Sunday, May 22nd, 2005 | 8:56 am PST
actually, even though i think your rating is WAY harsh, i do agree with somewhat. The Phantom is a little difficult to put back together (that is, comparing it to an A-5, 98c, a bunch of syders and other low-end guns) the ball DOES roll out, that is all he is saying- IT DOES. What he forgot to say is the ball detent would be a good investment. DUH! the marker isn't dead on, no gun is, if you were thinking that this gun was going to dead on with size paint and even wal-mart paint (witch i use, ive never had a problem with super swirl) you weren't using your head. What were saying about the accuracy is, that the stock barrel is REALLY nice, it is an awesome barrel. That fact that you have to change 12g and paint adds to the challenge, witch, in my case adds to the adrenaline!
   

Hobbes Black Tuesday, May 31st, 2005 | 2:31 pm PST
I think the obvious problem is paint-to bore match. Your paint is too small, causing the balls to roll out and not shoot accurately.
Double Pumping: Pump directly after you shoot, and only then. No problems.
Hard to pump all the way: Just ram the thing
   

mattmaster34 Monday, August 15th, 2005 | 4:47 pm PST
Aaaah, time to badger the only guy that gives my favourite gun a 2............
Your paintballs rolling out of the barrel is obviously due to bad paint/barrel match. Part of being a great stock player is knowing your marker inside and out,front to back, and possibly even top to bottom. All you have to do stop double pumping is to lightly "test" the trigger i.e. pull it back lightly until you run into the sear, and you can tell if there's a ball in there. Also, part of what makes a great stock player is dealing with the fact that your marker isnt' quite top of the line. Its about being the underdog against the semis and beating them, when equipment doesn't matter and its all down to the skill of the player. Thats why, even though I could afford a $650 Carter Buzzard, I went with the good ol' phantom.
Last edited on Tuesday, September 6th, 2005 at 4:56 pm PST
   

board_o_paint Wednesday, March 8th, 2006 | 8:52 pm PST
Why did you get a phantom, which you must have known was a pump, if you claim to be a frontman that needs a good ROF. you should have gotten a tippy if you need a cheap, reliable gun that can dispense paint.
you should also niice something when out of 47 reviews the lowest is a 2, yours, and the lowest after that is a 9. wow.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 8th, 2006 at 8:58 pm PST
   

za_hulk Thursday, March 16th, 2006 | 3:44 pm PST
I hate to say it but your a noob i really don't like to say that word because i have seen "noobs" make better players against more experienced players but you have only been playing for 3 months give it a chance. pumps a whole different way of playing.
   

fuzzyllama Sunday, May 7th, 2006 | 1:58 pm PST
Dispute:
you experianced rollout, not the phantom's fault, thats the closed bolt design. if u havre a phantom, it is a neccesity to have detent rings, or large enough paint (.689-.691)
   

Psycho_warden Tuesday, May 16th, 2006 | 10:12 pm PST
Dispute:
-Pumping problems: Your the guy that doesnt know to pump the marker all the way, its the same with a semi, if you dont pull the trigger all the way, it doesnt cycle properly.
-accuracy- Again, not the guns fault if your using bad paint. I can put ball on top of ball repeatedly with good paint.
-no ball detent-Detent rings are $6, pick some up.
-stripping- I have NEVER experienced any stripping problems. And if you read the instructions on the CCI website on how to reassemble your Phantom correctly, it will be alot easier for you.
   

1baller Friday, June 23rd, 2006 | 12:57 pm PST
You could also try taking off the bolt return spring.

Some say the pump stroke is smoother and you would not have do deal with it while stripping.

Just a hint.
   

drummerguy791 Thursday, August 17th, 2006 | 10:22 pm PST
umm...... dude i play at pevs in va all the time n i play w/ infamous sumtimes w/ a pump n i dont do that bad
i dont even play back man. the paint to barrel match is the key thing for accuracy. u could also try a stock, they work well 4 me.
n y not spend 6 bux on detent rings, they make life a lot easier for u.
and cockers..... when im workin the chronos at work, every single person that comes up cannot get the damn thing to work. u probably play ghtp on x box n wgp in real life is awful. n when u get ur cocker n realize u dont want it u wont get anything 4 it unless u sell it to some dur duh dur.
Last edited on Thursday, August 17th, 2006 at 10:30 pm PST
   

RollTide247 Friday, March 26th, 2010 | 6:11 am PST
Dispute:
terrible review, exagerated everything, i own 2 phantoms and have never had a single issue with them
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media