paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Dlitz's Review / Comments on Dlitz's Review / Comments on Dlitz's Review / Comments on Dlitz's Review / Comments on Dlitz's Review / Comments on Dlitz's Review

Comments on Dlitz's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Dlitz Tuesday, March 8th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months34 of 61 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Stock Bolt
-Some After-Market Venturi Bolts
No real comparison. They all do different things.
Marker Setup: -Spyder Fenix, mostly stock
-ACS Delrin Bolt
Strengths: -Doesn't chop in conventional manner
-Light?
Weaknesses: -Chops in a special way
-Parts break
-Delrin swells
-Hates cold
Review: Alright, I bought this bolt after reading the reviews here, and while it impressed me at first, I am completely dissatisfied with this product. I know I'm going to get, "Not very helpful," pushes on the buttons below because my review deviates from the standard 9.5 reviews, but I don't care. Mine has been completely useless.

I guess the good things about it should be posted first.

Firstly, the spring is nice and it works very well to prevent chops in conventional manners: That is by the paintballs falling on a firing bolt. It does what it advertises, it doesn't chop like that. But that doesn't matter, because it will bust paintballs anyway. That will be posted below.

It's a light bolt, so it reduces the recoil on your gun seriously. This would be considered a quality advantage of delrin bolts, they lighten the gun. But if you really want that benefit, buy a decent after-market delrin bolt yourself. Just know what Delrin can do to a gun.

Now, the fun part. The part where I rail on this thing.

It's an ACS bolt, but using a name the forum people have indicated to me, something known as the 'mystery chop,' the bolt will chop a paintball about every thirty rounds or so. No matter how quickly you fire the gun, your paintball will be broken. I stood outside and fired as slow as I possibly could for about thirty rounds before a paintball exploded inside the gun. This happened with quality paint and bad paint alike, it has absolutely nothing to do with the paintballs.

As far as I can tell, this is because the delrin does not confine completely to the paintball marker chamber. If you hold your mouth up to the firing end of the gun, with it unloaded and uncocked of course, you can blow air clean through this bolt and up into the feed neck of your gun. Using my stock aluminum bolt, I was unable to do this, thanks to the o-rings that aluminum bolts require. The extra space in the delrin acs bolt allows the air to go in crazy directions inside your gun, thus bursting a paintball regularly. This is probably the answer to the mystery chop people who use this gun get. I'm not the only one who gets this.

I broke off two of the cocking rods on this bolt, where the bb inside of it was of poor quality and held too tightly to the cocking rod. The cocking rod being the part on the outside of the gun you cock to put air in it. Had to get it fixed each time.

Delrin, when wet, will swell. Do not oil your gun. I did not, but after all the paint that got on it all day from the spontaineous busting, it swelled up really big. I had to rip the bolt out of the gun to clean it, leaving a nice gash in it. Most people say it won't affect performance, but I still don't like having to do that.

Cold weather will cause chops as well. I don't need to go into details about this, but below 40 degrees is not your friend with this bolt.
Conclusion: Junk. If your gun can get an aluminum version of this bolt, I recommend it. Mine does not, so I'm going to spend my money on a decent hopper and just use the stock bolt. Not recommended for anyone.

[Edit: Check comments. Kingman re-released the bolt to fix abovementioned problem.]
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 4th, 2005 at 11:04 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Uziel Gal Tuesday, March 8th, 2005 | 12:09 pm PST
Poor fit is a potential weakness of all delrin bolts, and will lead to blowback and inefficiency. A bolt with no o-rings cannot take into account the differing bore sizes of markers caused either by poor manufacturing tolerances or the wear caused by prolonged use. While it would appear to contradict the use of delrin, I believe that all bolts should come with low profile o-rings to avoid these problems. There are o-rings available made from very low drag materials that would not noticeably reduce the low friction properties of the delrin.

The o-rings would need minimal lubrication, but quality delrin is not actually that sensitive to paintball specific oils - it is generally firearm specific or penetrating oils (or any other type of oil that contains solvents and/or other corrosive additives intended to promote a cleaning effect) that cause problems with synthetic materials. PMI, ACI and Gold Cup etc. should all be safe with quality delrin.
   

Uziel Gal Tuesday, March 8th, 2005 | 12:31 pm PST
A thought occurs to me. Kingman have turned down the bolt between the front face and the air input port, no doubt to reduce weight and minimise contact between the marker and the bolt. Fair enough. However, it leaves two fairly sharp, virtually right angled shoulders. When the marker fires and the bolt moves forward, the next ball in the feed neck will fall in to the trough between the bolt face and the air inlet. When the bolt retracts at the end of the shot sequence, the shoulder at the back of the front face of the bolt is going to hit the ball, possibly cracking it in the process. This may be the cause of your intermittent breakages. I can only assume that, for those who use them, the downward pressure on the ball from a force feed hopper would accentuate this.

It may be worth while rounding off or tapering these shoulders (or at least the front one) and seeing if this reduces the incidence of ball breakage.
   

Dlitz Tuesday, March 8th, 2005 | 3:16 pm PST
Quality thoughts. I'll try it out and see what happens. After all, otherwise the thing's just going into a closet or the trash.
   

kingman player Tuesday, March 15th, 2005 | 2:52 pm PST
what kind of balls are u shooting? i was jsut shooting PMI big balls. didnt chop. and yes in the cold all it does is chop.
   

Dlitz Wednesday, May 4th, 2005 | 10:59 pm PST
Kingman has re-released these bolts recently due to the poor fitting problem. Seems they made a bad batch of them and forum guys are telling me to call Kingman up about it and ask for a switch-out. I won't because of the damage to my bolt, but it's something maybe worth trying.. The 2nd generation bolt they released more resembles a JAM bolt, and has o-ring detents on it. That should fix the poor-fit problem if anyone else is having this issue. (And according to what I've heard, they are.) I'm leaving this review up until a 2nd-gen bolt post is made on the site.
Last edited on Thursday, May 5th, 2005 at 11:31 am PST
   

Dmytruk Sunday, October 30th, 2005 | 1:19 pm PST
Good thinking. The exact same thing happened to me and I couldn't figure out what the problem was. I'm calling them and getting a new one...
   

Combat_Ace Monday, May 22nd, 2006 | 6:31 pm PST
Ah! You use the Spyder Fenix too! Cool... then maybe you can help me. I have a mostly stock with the acception of the 5" extender berrel I put on the stock one and Dye sticky grips (soon to upgrade with an ACS bolt and compressed air) Fenix. I am trying to figure out if I should get the Derlin or not. Aparently it swells in cold weather... I like to play woodsball so it can get wet and cold. What can I do? Aparently the aluminum version does not fit the Fenix and I am scared that if I spend $39.99 on the bolt and I put it in, that I will waste my money. Have you discovered a solution yet?
   

Jlausen Tuesday, June 20th, 2006 | 9:41 am PST
It probably doesnt swell in cold weather, it more then likely shrinks. And these reviews were written in like 2005 :D
Last edited on Tuesday, June 20th, 2006 at 9:41 am PST
   

Rand al'Thor Monday, June 26th, 2006 | 4:18 pm PST
does the bolt fit in the Icon E?
I would seriously consider buying it if it did
   

jeter Saturday, February 24th, 2007 | 5:11 pm PST
2007- i have a spyder pilot acs, i hate the acs bolt, this guys review is complettly accurate to me, after 30 shots with this bolt, no matter how slow im fireing or what ever types of paintballs im using this seems to chop after 30 shots. Dont get this bolt.... just dont it has caused soooo many problems for me.
   

cheeser1 Saturday, February 24th, 2007 | 10:07 pm PST
Dispute:
That was an old product and this user obviously doesnt know what he is talking about.
   

Uziel Gal Sunday, February 25th, 2007 | 6:17 am PST
Cheeser - this is a 2 year old review, so he *is* reviewing an old product. No doubt his experiences do not reflect improvements that have been made to the bolt since then. However, that isn't to say that they weren't relevant at the time he wrote this review.
   

cjsurratt Tuesday, April 24th, 2007 | 5:30 am PST
It's April 2007 and I get the mystery chop as well. The original bolt on my TL-R chopped once in a year of play (barrel breaks don't count) but this thing chops three times on every hopper load with new, quality paint. I don't know if the spring needs to be broken in or something but it's a bad situation when you see paint DRIPPING ouf of your detent. I scratched mine as well so I won't be returning it, maybe Kingman will do something about it if I ask nicely. Otherwise I'll sell it to some poor schmuck on EBay.
   

rlseuro Monday, June 15th, 2009 | 9:34 pm PST
I have a spyder pilot 2005 ACS, I have various upgrades, hopper feeder grips barrel kit, spring kit, etc. The only thing I will say is DO NOT oil this bolt, as far as everything goes, Its a great bolt, 2 years later Im still getting good velocity and accuracy using co2. I do live in a fairly warm climate so the cold weather isnt an issue with me. I did the "30 ball" test
ran a full 230 or so inferno balls into my spyder fasta hopper and didnt chop a ball
so I dont know, maybe its just a bad batch.
given you can now pick up this bolt on ebay for about $15 shipped.........its a steal.
   

rlseuro Monday, June 15th, 2009 | 9:36 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by cheeser1
That was an old product and this user obviously doesnt know what he is talking about.

arent we supposed to be reviewing old and new products? isnt that the whole point of reviewing to give an opinion. the reviewer gave what he believed to be an accurate review based on his experience. Dont see anything wrong with that, saying he doesnt know what hes talking about is a judgement based with no factual evidence.
So my friend, its you that is in the wrong.
   

rlseuro Monday, June 15th, 2009 | 9:37 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Uziel Gal
Cheeser - this is a 2 year old review, so he *is* reviewing an old product. No doubt his experiences do not reflect improvements that have been made to the bolt since then. However, that isn't to say that they weren't relevant at the time he wrote this review.

excellent point!!
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media