paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on kleners' Review / Comments on kleners' Review / Comments on kleners' Review / Comments on kleners' Review / Comments on kleners' Review

Comments on kleners' Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

kleners Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month214 of 235 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freeflow E-2 cocker, Dye DM5, Smartparts shocker, many versions of timmys, A-5, Spyders, Dragunfly, Lighting, Angel LCD, evil pimp. SP nerve
I have, used, borrowed, and used to own almost every "THE BEST" marker out there. and this is somthing you have to use to believe
Marker Setup: for review Yellow Ion, with SP clampfeedneck, hybrid 05lady grips, 68/4500 CF HPA tank, egg y-z
Recommended
Upgrades:
out of box almost nothing needed. for perfect play get a barrel kit (freak kit). and for prefrence I wouldget a clampfeed neck
and dont like the ASA get a unimount
Strengths: Cheap Price.
Reliable.
Fast.
Light.
Quiet
replacable bodies
easy setup

Weaknesses: not enough body designs out(YET).
marker not set from factory.
no trigger magnet adjuster
Review: got the ION week 2 of release. been using it for past month no probs
first opinion (bad opinion but first) body not my style. but looks nice. trigger very sloppy. felt very cheap.

body - other style are being made as we speak
trigger- just needed adjustment, but aftermaket ones are already out but doesnt need it
feeling cheap- the grip is junk get a nicer one. the cheap feeling is the fact its SO light. man it weighs like its a plastic marker, but man its nice

After working with other testers knew to reset marker first.
tore the marker down, checked for tight fittings. checked hoses. takes about 20 minutes to tear it down and reassemble.
lowered reg all the way once back together. set trigger pull. had it sit right on switch(1-2mm pull now. put battery in, turned it on. clicking nicely changed my thought on the trigger. haha . changed settings. upped BPS can easily walk it to MY max. hooked air up and turned reg to 120PSI. put paint in. and chronoed. at 140PSI its sitting at 300FPS. nice. using PMI premium barrel match wasnt a problem right now. ok time to test. replaced neck with a clampfeed so i didnt have ot worry about hopper falls.(all my markers have one). the ion uses impulse necks and barrels. and put my new hybrid grips on. using egg with y and the z board both were able to keep up with max ROF. tried all the settings. semi hitting MY cap of 15BPS which is constant to my walk on a nonbouncing marker. rebound hit cap of 17BPS. 3round burst is like 8BPS but its 3 shots per pull. and full auto is 10BPS solid. after half a case. we noticed the tank efficiency wasnt right. so we lowered the dwell setting by two clicks. at 140PSI it hit a constant 280FPS. with -/+2 fps variance while walking. and tank was getting like 1000+ per tank. after our first case just breaking it in. time to play.
NOTE----------------------- at this point a full case, no breaks, burps, stalling, nothing
and it is quieter than my ecocker (sounds like a cocker in training mode, and teammates DM4. now that is a feat... whisper quiet with the crappy port stock barrel. cant wait for a better barrel will sound like.

on the field, man being so light the tank was the biggest thing. very easy to sling and snapshoot. first game playing a castle game. went thru 5 pods. man it sucks paint.
now. back in PITS, refs and people are playing around with it,dont mind because they all want one now. one team mate just got his DM5 3 days before and it broke. he has to send it back to dye hahaha. ok Supair time. off the line BALLBREAK. come to find out the eyes were turned off when we were dryfiring it and now the marker was overshooting the hopper using the Y-board egg.turned eye one. tookof barrel cleaned it. chamber didnt have any real bad paint in it. next game back to goodness. not one problem. played thru the whole other case and a half through the next few hours.
time to leave. wiped down the splatter of the side....... ?? that was it. got home tore it down. no signs of wear. everything is tip. man this is the easiest marker ive EVER used.
even the shocker. has to be reoiled. and polish all the aluminum. man its like hosing down a truckbed. haha
Conclusion: for $300.... for $600.... man for $1500 nothing is better. and ive used them. our team shoots some of the highest priced stuff around. and we are going to buy ions to play tourny,for reliablity, small profile, and the fact we cant be called for cheating since they are bounce free.
Now if we are sitting our cocker,angels,dm4-5, and timmys down and using THEM for backups. this should tell you somthing. dont listen to the nah sayers. these have to be SHot to believe. and this is with NO MODS. and believe me they are coming. this is the numberone selling marker right now for a reason. my local park is ordering in 15 to sell after seeing mine and the reaction of others for one day.
Id hate to go straight for the 10 but as my wife would say this is the cheapest paintball gun that i didnt HAVE to fix straight from the store. nothing beats it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 15th, 2005 at 10:59 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
BladeBuster Wednesday, March 16th, 2005 | 3:30 am PST
very very nice review. hope ur teammate's DM5 gets fixed. there is no worse feeling of buying a 1200 dollar gun right before a new gun comes out, that you couldve bought. and then the gun u bought breaks while ur friend gets that gun and it is the best... i would really feel down.
   

Dgeorge Wednesday, March 16th, 2005 | 5:35 am PST
Great review, but dude when you say "man for $1500 nothing is better", that just isn't true.
PeeC
   

kleners Sunday, March 20th, 2005 | 10:21 pm PST
well I own a $1500 peice of crap E2 freeflow cocker. that breaks down more than my aunt betty's pinto. my wife is pissed I bought a $500 E2 frame for my brandnew Freeflow cocker. and its seen more shoptech time than field time. yet for $300 Ive been playing everyweekend and not one minute of trouble.

and yes they fixed the DM5 is just proves that no amount will give you out of the box reliablity. and many IONS have broken out of the box , but most cases have been loose hoses and toohigh pressure.. just read my warnings and follow the manual before starting.
DM5 was bad noid. lucky it was brandnew, and covered. but he is on the waiting list for the ION. gotta lovem. have a nice backup for price of a barrel kit of board
Last edited on Sunday, March 20th, 2005 at 10:25 pm PST
   

counterstrike53 Friday, March 25th, 2005 | 1:17 pm PST
good review. theres a few idiot out there that write untrue reviews. dont listen to em.

   

wrench twister Thursday, April 28th, 2005 | 1:17 am PST
I do not understand where you are saying no bounce.... the de-bounce is one of the settings, did you read the manual, or do you wark for SP? 8)

When you chronyd was it just single shots or a string, because I ordered a half dozen Ions for re-saleand only two werent returned for shootdown, and I dont expect those guys to play much anyway.

The only way we have been able to shoot half as well as we were told by SP they would, is to replace the reg to a faster recharging ergo and added the guage adapter as a volumecell, cranking the dwell dropping the ROF and playing it edgy with the input pressure, those hoses are almost as weak as the solinoid valve..

And as far as saying it is better than any 1500 marker out there, i think you need to rethink that statement..

For the guy with the broken e2 free flow, find a new cocker tech, if they cant get it running theres a real problem with their work, my 13 yearr old son installed his own e2 and it rips.
   

DarkSide315 Wednesday, December 7th, 2005 | 8:32 am PST
I baught the ION Today, Yes I know im late but I really didn't want this gun at First but now that the Virtue Board is coming out for it I decided to get it.

The gun stock is Fast and with the ramping it Definitely has Potential. Baught a New feedkneck since the stock neck is pretty much crap and I got a Hybrid asa on/off because the duckbill they give you makes the gun look like garbage and plus it just blows.

I don't have any Problems with the Gun and ive heard allot of people say that there having shoot down problems. You can fix that Problem by taking out the screen in the Regulator.

I got my Gun Brand new for 210.00 off a friend of mine and it can easily compete with my free-flow and my Dye Matrix.

All in All I give the gun a 10 nice Design and easy to shoot especially with the stock barrel as accurate as it is.
Last edited on Wednesday, December 7th, 2005 at 8:37 am PST
   

Wilytiger Sunday, December 11th, 2005 | 9:23 am PST
man that was an amazing review but it's just too hard to believe you'r team with 1000$ guns is going to get ions instead doesn't seem believable but everything else you said was really helpful
   

Hiryuushige Friday, December 30th, 2005 | 4:36 pm PST
Speaking of which, when is the virtue board supposed to be coming out? I really want one for my ion.

PS. Great review, man.
   

Ares13 Saturday, December 31st, 2005 | 3:25 am PST
I just got this gun a couple days ago adn the gun is great for the price. they could work on the double triggers though,

Barrel- The barrel is ok for a stock barrel, i suggest u get a freak to make the accuracy go up and also to make it quieter.

Regulator- the stock regulator is good, no need to buy a different one

It also has a long lasting battery so you don't need to change it all the time,

IF YOU HAVE A HALO I STRONGLE RECCOMEND YOU GET A NEW FEED NECK, I still have mine stock but its a paint in the butt putting the halo in and out of it, and thats proably the only thing i dislike about this gun

and for airtanks i strongly reccomend you get a 05 legion air made by mac dev, its the one of the lightest and smallest air tanks out there, i have a 45/45 and its my best tank iv ever had and its only about $240 tops, so pick one of those up, I give the Ion 9.5/10 only becuz of the feed neck
   

Im a Chimpanzee Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006 | 5:35 pm PST
helpful review man i just bought an ion yesterday by the way when the virtue board coming out? i havent seen anything about it
   

ShockTechC0cker Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006 | 10:37 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Im a Chimpanzee
helpful review man i just bought an ion yesterday by the way when the virtue board coming out? i havent seen anything about it

the virtue board is out & so is the new blackheart board. it's easy to find, go to ebay & put it in, or any other paintball sales web site.
   

DesertEagle16 Saturday, February 4th, 2006 | 5:50 pm PST
Okay, this question is totally unrelated to your review but I've been wondering, what's an ASA?

If this is really obvious plz don't call me a newbie okay?
   

wombizle Tuesday, February 7th, 2006 | 7:51 pm PST
the ion is capped at 17 bps. The egg (with the y board = 19 bps, with the z board =23 bps) It is imposible to out shoot the egg without a new board. Other than that, great review
   

IonPaintball82 Wednesday, February 15th, 2006 | 11:52 am PST
An asa is an air source adapter. Its where you screw the tank into.
   

DesertEagle16 Sunday, February 19th, 2006 | 10:16 am PST
Thanks for clearing that up.
   

triggerhappy63 Saturday, March 11th, 2006 | 10:10 pm PST
there is too a trigger magnet adjuster
   

speedballer550 Saturday, April 8th, 2006 | 10:20 pm PST
hey i was just wondering what kind of barrel threds the marker uses
   

FeEd MiKe JoNeS Wednesday, April 12th, 2006 | 2:49 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by speedballer550
hey i was just wondering what kind of barrel threds the marker uses

impulse
   

speedballer550 Tuesday, April 18th, 2006 | 9:30 pm PST
thanks alot
   

Novakowski Saturday, April 29th, 2006 | 6:21 pm PST
i got an ion and have been messing with it.. what should i set the dwell to???
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media