paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on lax.hardcore's Review / Comments on lax.hardcore's Review / Comments on lax.hardcore's Review / Comments on lax.hardcore's Review / Comments on lax.hardcore's Review

Comments on lax.hardcore's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

lax.hardcore Sunday, March 27th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months25 of 71 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Pimp, Omen, Low-end Timmies... ect.
Marker Setup: Black Vision Shocker w/ stainless freak kit.
Halo B loader
68/4500 Fiber wrapped
Dye Invisions
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator, Board, QEVs and any other barrel.
Strengths: Cheap
Light
Weaknesses: Looks
Efficiency (sort of)
Consistency
Accuracy
Quality of Stock Parts
Review: Ok so I was really excited about getting an Ion, A great gun for the price right? I heard they were really good. Just as good as Shockers if not better. But from my experiences they're definitely not. I ordered mine for 285, a great price. I opened the box and it looked pretty good, everything was there. I put a battery in and started walking it. Hard to walk at first but nothing a little adjusting couldn’t change right? One thing I noticed is the magnetic pull, I was never a fan of magnetic pulls, I prefer spring tension. This gun is a lot like my shocker in a lot of ways, just not as good in any of the ways. I gassed it up and walked it in Semi. I was surprised how difficult it was to walk fast, it was like shooting a spyder, really frustrating and not consistent speed at all - a lot of skipping. I mean its a plastic trigger, it's bound to get shot of or something.

The stock barrel is definitely trash; it's not accurate at all. I wish smart parts had thrown a progressive on it or maybe a freak stock (if they have so many impulse threads laying around).
Barrel threads make it harder to find an upgrade barrel online for a good price (exactly the one you want)

Another thing, the pics online made this marker look decent, but when I took it out of the box the regulator looked fat, kind of odd. And on the back end the tray ends; its really flat and square, doesn’t look too good.

First day at the field I chronoed in. Simple, just adjust from HPR right? The field limit is 265 and once I got it below 270 I paid attention to the consistency: it read like this- 256, 259, 263, 250,247, 240 - as I started to shoot faster the consistency dropped like a rock and I was hitting 225 FPS. The stock barrel caused my paint to curve side to side, I wasn't pleased because the field paint fits the stock barrel pretty good.

The duckbill wasn’t too great either, maybe if you had a 45/45 tank it would feel right but with a 68/45 it makes your setup too long, you need to upgrade to a on/off rail or drop.

The feed neck was a little loose on my hopper but I fixed that with some tape.

Later that day after some games my balls were having some serious arc, I checked my tank gauge and I was nearly empty and all I had shotten was a hopper and 4 pods. On my shocker with the bolt kit I at least get a hopper and 9 pods. Owell maybe it has a longer break in period.

When I got home to clean it I aired it up and discovered a small leak down the barrel and a lot of burping/farting whenever I shot over 12 BPS. I'm going to try to find out what the problem is and call smart parts, they've helped me with my shocker before.
Conclusion: Overall, I wasn't very satisfied - I thought it was going to be something else; but it wasn’t. There was a lot of hype to it and a lot of people were telling me it was as good as DM4's and any gun past 1000 dollars but it definitely isn’t. The gun is acting funny right now so I give it a 3. Maybe smart parts can help me work out some of my problems until then its a 3. I may raise it If the performance increases.
Rating:
3 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
james52 Sunday, March 27th, 2005 | 2:45 pm PST
Why would smart parts put a Progressive or Freak on it stock when the gun is 285 bucks. Try it in rebound it is a lot better and maybe if you don't like the magnet take it out. I havn't had any leaks or probs with my ion.
   

lax.hardcore Sunday, March 27th, 2005 | 3:02 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by james52
Why would smart parts put a Progressive or Freak on it stock when the gun is 285 bucks. Try it in rebound it is a lot better and maybe if you don't like the magnet take it out. I havn't had any leaks or probs with my ion.

Because smart parts makes progressive and they say they have lots of leftover impulse threaded freaks. They could also raise the price a little, but not the entire cost of a freak or progressive while still making money. I read somewhere that you have to heat the magnet at 850* F + to negate its polarity and I dont want to do that. I dont want to break the trigger either because it's plastic.
   

lobsterboy360 Sunday, March 27th, 2005 | 3:09 pm PST
I think he meant to just remove the magnet from the gun. Smart parts could have put the progressive on and raised the price maybe $10 or $15 and they would sell just as many guns.
   

lax.hardcore Sunday, March 27th, 2005 | 3:13 pm PST
Yeah I dont want the trigger breaking off with the magnet.
   

blank98 Sunday, March 27th, 2005 | 8:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by lax.hardcore
Yeah I dont want the trigger breaking off with the magnet.
A lot of people have done it and have had no problems, i doubt the trigger will brake.
   

Uziel Gal Monday, March 28th, 2005 | 6:55 am PST
The trigger shouldn't break if you are careful with it - for one thing, you need to remove the magnet in the frame, not the trigger.

If in removing the magnet from the frame you do somehow damage the trigger, it would be the perfect excuse to buy a roller trigger from NDZ to replace it with - I think that you would like it a lot more than the stock one anyway.

Cleaning and lubricating the regulator, and giving it some time to bed in, will probably increase the consistency. Regulators are often not at their best straight out of the factory, as they are often heavily lubricated in case the end user never lubricates them again! Sometimes they have not been lubricated and others come full of dirt from sitting around in dirty store rooms. At the lower velocity you are running it at, you may also find that you need to balance your dwell and pressure settings to get the best performance.
Last edited on Monday, March 28th, 2005 at 1:00 pm PST
   

lax.hardcore Monday, March 28th, 2005 | 1:10 pm PST
I'll try that
   

kyle5671320 Monday, March 28th, 2005 | 5:18 pm PST
wow thats kinda funny that you remember exactly the reading on the chrono. or maybe you just made that crap up?
   

a031363 Monday, March 28th, 2005 | 7:26 pm PST
what brand tank were u using and was it an LP or HP? If it was an LP from anyone other than Crossfire, maybe the tank regulator was starving the vertical reg?
   

lax.hardcore Tuesday, March 29th, 2005 | 10:00 am PST
My tank is HP crossfire.
   

darkxaznx Tuesday, April 5th, 2005 | 5:57 pm PST
..............................
wtf the looks dont matter its how the gun shoots
............................. and plus your sued to shooting 20 bps
cause the shocker so you wouldn't be use to shooting lower than that
and you cant add a Q.E.V. or T.R.V
Last edited on Tuesday, April 5th, 2005 at 5:58 pm PST
   

Empyre Monday, April 18th, 2005 | 5:01 pm PST
That made sense...
   

silverghost Wednesday, April 20th, 2005 | 11:48 am PST
You can add a Q.E.V. darkxaznx....many people have already done it...
   

Ballinvincent Wednesday, April 20th, 2005 | 9:59 pm PST
so should i get a shocker or this? ucz i could hook up a ion for anout 400 but just 200 more i could get a shocker.
   

hell_copter Monday, April 25th, 2005 | 7:39 pm PST
your dumb duh u have to upgrade a lot its only 285 dollars so stfu
   

derbypal17 Sunday, May 1st, 2005 | 8:43 pm PST
Just remeber this. Poor people like me love this gun for the price and this is the most expesive gun i probably will ever buy.
Compaired to a whole lot of guns this one takes the cake
   

csichiro51 Tuesday, May 10th, 2005 | 3:16 pm PST
bull sh*t
   

PlayHardDieHard Thursday, May 19th, 2005 | 6:29 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by lax.hardcore


I read somewhere that you have to heat the magnet at 850* F + to negate its polarity and I dont want to do that. I dont want to break the trigger either because it's plastic.

It's true, if you heat a magnetic metal to the critical point it will change crystial strucher and lose all magnetic probertys. Also you can hit it w/ a hammer a get a similar effect.

EDIT: the critical point w/ most iron based metals is 1500*f a cherry red.
Last edited on Thursday, May 19th, 2005 at 6:31 am PST
   

lunatic441 Friday, July 15th, 2005 | 8:09 pm PST
Just a thought, looking at all the marker set ups of you guys shooting shockers and the like. There is nothing stock about your markers, why do you expect the Ion to shoot as well out of the box as your shocker with a virtue board, new regulator, ndz trigger, q lock, freak kit, and new bolt. Stock for stock the Ion seems to hold it's own very well from what I have read, but please don't expect a stock ion to keep up with a tricked out shocker.
   

Ditto Monday, December 19th, 2005 | 6:14 pm PST
Dispute:
I have personally used this gun, and by my experience I know It is quite consistent, I can say it is one of the most consistent guns I have used. I think this marker is, by far the most consistent gun in its price range. In the matter of accuarcy, I can say it is pretty accurate, I can hit small targets (like 3 square inches) from more than 25 ft.
I can say, with the support of several ppl that the ION is quite efficient, one of the most efficient guns (that cost less than 1000 bucks) out there.
The quality of all the stock parts is quite good, except for the barrel, which is very good to be a custom one, but for an optimal performance changing it for a freak barrel is a good idea.
And personally I like how the gun looks.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media