paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on fox4's Review / Comments on fox4's Review / Comments on fox4's Review / Comments on fox4's Review / Comments on fox4's Review

Comments on fox4's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

fox4 Sunday, March 27th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98C, A5, Spyders
Marker Setup: Rap4 LE, 12 magazines
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, Do not purchase this marker, use your money on something slightly less cool looking but actually will shoot well and provide you with a fun paintball experience.
Strengths: Looks great- that's it.
Weaknesses: Poor quality, expensive paintball/shell combo, expensive magazines
Review: This gun is absolutely the most realistic thing you can purchase and is undoubtedly the reason some people are duped into purchasing it. The marker itself is about $450, but by the time you buy enough gas canisters and magazines to bring 200 rounds into a battle you will easily have $1000 into it. Save your money and purchase something a bit less real looking but actually practical.

The smaller caliber paintballs are only available from one source, are useless in woods ball, and are far too cumbersome to use. The ball must first be loaded into a shell, then placed into a magazine one by one. You can only fit 20 in a magazine and if you remove the magazine before it is empty 4 rounds fall out of it wasted.

The effective range of this caliber paintball is not even close to a .68 caliber. It's muzzle energy is almost half that of a .68, so there is no way you can penetrate any kind of brush. This is not a function of the gun, but the shear physics of a smaller paintball. Don't believe the hype on the manufacturer's website. The paint also seems quite brittle as barrel breaks were common.

I was under the impression that the quality and durability would be similar to an actual AR15. Not even close.... this is a cheap made in China knock off. It feeds the rounds into the gun very fast and the shells getting ejected are very realistic, but the whole thing is so complicated that we had a malfunction the first time out. The second time out, some of the thin aluminum frame broke.

The manufacturer only gives you 7 days to return the gun for a refund... I know why now- they would get almost every one back if they really stood behind this product.



Conclusion: Do not believe the great videos and text on the website. This might be OK for a military or police dept. that wants to look real cool, but for anyone that wants to enjoy the sport of paintball this will be a complete waste of their money.
Rating:
1 out of 10
 

Review Comments
GUNFIGHTER9 Wednesday, April 13th, 2005 | 1:25 am PST
Fox4,

Sorry you had to find out about these crappy ass markers the hard way. Mine was so shotty that when I sold it, the pawn shop almost didn't take it because it wouldn't fire reliably with even just C02.

If your interested in milsim guns I'd suggest an AT4. Thats what I'm saving for now. I'd be alot closer though if I hadn't bought that damn rap4.
   

rrdude Friday, June 24th, 2005 | 2:04 pm PST
lol gunfighter i bet u typed this under a new name just like the rap4 fourms right.
   

duckman_162 Monday, January 23rd, 2006 | 9:39 pm PST
Dispute:
sounds like somebody just had a bad time with it or maybe he just didnt take careof it and something happened but the fact is that it can shoot just as far as a gun wich fires a .68 cal paintball.
its not a big deal but i just dont think it deserves 1 out of 10.
   

hollywood53 Sunday, February 5th, 2006 | 1:37 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by duckman_162
sounds like somebody just had a bad time with it or maybe he just didnt take careof it and something happened but the fact is that it can shoot just as far as a gun wich fires a .68 cal paintball.
its not a big deal but i just dont think it deserves 1 out of 10.


Ive been researching all I can bout these markers because I thought about buying one after the makers web sight video's. it seems to be consistently reported about magazine troubles and distance issues so I can't agree with your thoughts on user error. seems like a very cool marker but not for field use side by side to compete with other markers as paintball is played today. These are so dam cool I would still consider buying one but not to play with against spiders,A-5's,Timmy's,DM-5's,Autocockers and 180 rnd hoppers ...ect...ect . you get my point I think. well if the cost was less it could get a better mark but if I spent the cash on it and experienced the problems listed and also could not compete on the field I can understand the score.
   

phecri902 Sunday, February 12th, 2006 | 2:51 pm PST
I've been using a RAP4 for over a year, and it has served me very well. The range can be a problem, but some people like the challenge of having to get in close to hit the target. There's just something exhilerating about crawling across a ravine, with balls flying over your head. Then you line up a tight shot through some trees and... well, you get the idea.
It's all about how you look at it. The problems in the past have been fixed because newer versoins of the marker are better than the older ones. The one complaint is about the muzzle energy: Since the .43 has less mass, it has much less energy then a .68. But the upside is that RAMs can shoot at higher velocity and still be completely safe. So if you can play somewhere that allows you to shoot at 350 or so with a RAM, then it's a valid purchase. But if you can only do 300, then you have to think real hard about your play style before you commit.
The RAms have their share of problems, but these days those problems are because of the .43 paintball, not the quality of the marker. If you don't like RAMs, then thats totally cool. I have an A-5 that I also use. But the RAMs are NOT crappy products. Not anymore.
   

hollywood53 Monday, February 13th, 2006 | 6:07 pm PST
See now thats a great well written honest and respectful point of view! no smack talk no insults! Thank you phecri902 thats what this websight was intended for.


Thanks ,Hollywood
   

Xathane Saturday, February 25th, 2006 | 5:35 pm PST
Everyone is bashing on the RAM...But no one is really that specific...

The new RAP4 LE or METS Are a lot better.

So please...if there is an issue, be specific...im interested in getting a RAM...But dont know who to believe...
   

Xathane Saturday, February 25th, 2006 | 5:39 pm PST
The People say its bad..the advertisments Specifies its excelence...

What if i invest all my money into trash????

someone please help lol!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
   

§plit§econd Thursday, March 2nd, 2006 | 1:40 am PST
I do not own a RAP 4 though I have owned an AT-4 for over 5 years (its great btw) with all the work that goes in to any of these guns a rating of 1 is bull$hit. From my own research wish is pretty much as much as I can get I wouldnt go below an 8 for a Rap 4 ever!! provided you arent trying to use it for speedball.

Its the .43 paint (field restrictions, physics etc) that might bother me, I know for a fact there is no field around at all that will let me use .43 or I would buy a RAP 4 just to try something different from my AT-4, but I say as long as you take proper care to make it work, its more of the attitude that comes with it, uber fun.

Its a shame people have to vent by posting things like this at the tip of a hat, same goes for rating crappy things high cause you actually own it doesnt make it a 10 outta 10 people.

my 2 cents

edited right after post:
Im actually suprised RAP markers are in the low end mechanical section, wether I feel bad for RAP or greatful for my AT-4....are both correct after thinking about it finishing this sentance. :)

ATOG#17
Last edited on Thursday, March 2nd, 2006 at 1:43 am PST
   

hollywood53 Sunday, March 5th, 2006 | 3:09 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by §plit§econd
I do not own a RAP 4 though I have owned an AT-4 for over 5 years (its great btw) with all the work that goes in to any of these guns a rating of 1 is bull$hit. From my own research wish is pretty much as much as I can get I wouldnt go below an 8 for a Rap 4 ever!! provided you arent trying to use it for speedball.

Its the .43 paint (field restrictions, physics etc) that might bother me, I know for a fact there is no field around at all that will let me use .43

Its a shame people have to vent by posting things like this at the tip of a hat, same goes for rating crappy things high cause you actually own it doesnt make it a 10 outta 10 people.

my 2 cents



ATOG#17

ok you do know the term "my 2 cents" it's an opinion good or bad!.

Now about your rating system -your statement above says "Never below an 8" well ya I give it a freaking 10 for wicked cool and monumental leap forward in engineering. BUT they market it to play "Paintball" not just a special field or special game but to compete with paintball and since you can't find a field to play on and so many people have issues with performance at the ASTM Rule of 300 fps this is a non-negotiable rule! you must remember the ASTM does not govern an individual product they set rules and national standards for the INDUSTRY! . I Have thoroughly researched the issues and also I have thoroughly researched these markers -hell I wanted one and still do ,I just cant play paintball at a field with it! and for that I can't justify paying the price they ask for it.
when you watch all the videos at the web sight for rap4 you are led to believe you can "play paintball with it". as for the guy's rating it a 1out of 10 ~If you spent that kinda cash on it and couldn'nt use it would'nt you be pissed . I would And I would give my honest opinion like they have . you think these guys just have nothing better to do than type this crap, I would rate it for it's usefulness as a paintball marker! to compete on a field -any field! I don't know about you but I've been playing for 14 years now and you say you would'nt use it in speedball-well I also go to scenario games and see a hella lot of speedball quality markers out there on the field.and if you can't compete you can't win.
Remember you can't pick and choose to forget ~No mask maker out there as of yet will suggest or give their blessing and tell you to go play ball with their mask above 300fps, lets also not forget that the industry engineers masks to be played with a .68 calibur Ball nor will any existing fields anywhere near my state(and I'm in central Ca.) allow it for insurance reasons due to the muzzle velocity it requires to operate properly. So in the end-Make no mistake I think these markers are some of the coolest and best engineered to date and I am not condemming them I'm saying~

#1 make it legal to play at"all fields.
#2 get the mask makers to say publicly they are safe to use with Higher velocity and -smaller calibur.
Then and only then will I think that this marker has a chance to get a fair shake!!!

If people want to argue these facts(and some opinions) you must do it with truth based in fact not because of emotional opinion. Go ahead ,the facts I have stated are REAL. try to dispute them but remember if you want to be credible do it with FACT not as you say -"BULL$HIT"

Hollywood
Last edited on Sunday, March 5th, 2006 at 3:11 pm PST
   

Xathane Saturday, March 11th, 2006 | 4:33 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by hollywood53
ok you do know the term "my 2 cents" it's an opinion good or bad!.

Now about your rating system -your statement above says "Never below an 8" well ya I give it a freaking 10 for wicked cool and monumental leap forward in engineering. BUT they market it to play "Paintball" not just a special field or special game but to compete with paintball and since you can't find a field to play on and so many people have issues with performance at the ASTM Rule of 300 fps this is a non-negotiable rule! you must remember the ASTM does not govern an individual product they set rules and national standards for the INDUSTRY! . I Have thoroughly researched the issues and also I have thoroughly researched these markers -hell I wanted one and still do ,I just cant play paintball at a field with it! and for that I can't justify paying the price they ask for it.
when you watch all the videos at the web sight for rap4 you are led to believe you can "play paintball with it". as for the guy's rating it a 1out of 10 ~If you spent that kinda cash on it and couldn'nt use it would'nt you be pissed . I would And I would give my honest opinion like they have . you think these guys just have nothing better to do than type this crap, I would rate it for it's usefulness as a paintball marker! to compete on a field -any field! I don't know about you but I've been playing for 14 years now and you say you would'nt use it in speedball-well I also go to scenario games and see a hella lot of speedball quality markers out there on the field.and if you can't compete you can't win.
Remember you can't pick and choose to forget ~No mask maker out there as of yet will suggest or give their blessing and tell you to go play ball with their mask above 300fps, lets also not forget that the industry engineers masks to be played with a .68 calibur Ball nor will any existing fields anywhere near my state(and I'm in central Ca.) allow it for insurance reasons due to the muzzle velocity it requires to operate properly. So in the end-Make no mistake I think these markers are some of the coolest and best engineered to date and I am not condemming them I'm saying~

#1 make it legal to play at"all fields.
#2 get the mask makers to say publicly they are safe to use with Higher velocity and -smaller calibur.
Then and only then will I think that this marker has a chance to get a fair shake!!!

If people want to argue these facts(and some opinions) you must do it with truth based in fact not because of emotional opinion. Go ahead ,the facts I have stated are REAL. try to dispute them but remember if you want to be credible do it with FACT not as you say -"BULL$HIT"

Hollywood


THANKYOU!!!!!!!!! FINALLY SOMEONE KNOWS WHAT THEYRE TALKING ABOUT!!!!!!!
   

hollywood53 Friday, March 24th, 2006 | 6:54 pm PST
THIS IS FOR THE FOUL COMMENT Originally posted by shaheen

well your gone! and your own words speak of your mentality, this internet thing grows BIG BRASS ONES on guys like this cause if he said it in person I'de feed him his little raisens but see there I go LOWERING MYSELF to this soon to be banned smartguys level. just makes me angry to be insulted when I can't just reach out and GRAB up the LITTLE----
sorry just venting.
and as for his other comment and I quote"ur so poor u cant buy a rap4 "

just like most of us I work hard for my toys----this is the short list !

original F2 Illistrator ,Smart parts All American Barrell(all from 1992)

Two Talon pumps,(I know don't laugh We send guys out with these as part of a game handicap in a mission game we cooked up.)

Tippmann A-5E, with smart parts 14" All American barrel ,Wicked Air Sports "Equalizer" E grip. Ops Gear G-36c fore grip ,shroud and Rail, M-4 Car 3 posistion Stock,M-4 muzzle break, M-4 metal mag well and molded removable mag. Not a order as is marker I built this from the ground up. I call this an "A-5 Car-36"
(this is my newest lil thang added to the stable.)

02 Bob Long Intimidater, (this is my sweet thang) with frenzy board, Lasoya trigger, Alias trigger guard, Shocktech superfly delrin bolt. Hybrid Headlock, Centerflag 3000 psi 88ci w/on off & reg

DM5, ultralight barrel ,CP roller bearing trigger , DYE Full Throttle 4500psi 91ci bottle.

Ariakon combat pistol (for Scenario Night Games).

Spyder Flash,with dip switch E-grip, Shocktech superfly delrin bolt,Kingman anti-chop bolt,32deg front valve,shockteck 4" low psi volumizer,bottomline/drop forward,exspansion chamber,shockteck clamping vert feed neck, DYE sticky grips,Smart parts progressive barrel.

Piranha Gts,(I think it's a GTS), Bob Long venturi Anti-chop bolt, Mako Storm electronic LCD trigger frame(had a lead video bench technician at the casino I work at re-wire and trick this grip at 9.5 volt=Smoking!) ,Smart Parts Progressive barrell.

Dragun T.E.S., E-grip LCD semi auto with anti chop eye.

DargunFly ,electro cocker, LCD,DYE BoomStick Two Piece Barrell,Jam technologies anti-chop delrin bolt,DYE Detonater Regulator,CP drop forward/on -off,Pure energy 3000psi comp air bottle

HYBRID Quest Numatix, "Sweetest Mechanical I've ever seen" Delrin bolt,Flame drop forward W/on-off, Gun metal grey mechanical cocker.(E-BLADE in this baby's future).

2000 autococker,Bud Orr mechanical,in-line regulater,after market barrel(lol-can't remember witch one Gp maybe).

NOW I WANT YOU ALL TO UNDERSTAND AND BE VERY CLEAR ABOUT THIS---"RAP4 UNQUESTIONABLY PUTS OUT SOME OF THE BEST QUALITY GEAR I'VE EVER SEEN" AND I LOVE THE VEST AND OTHER THINGS I'VE PURCHASED FROM THEM ,THEIR HONEST AND GIVE GREAT DEALS SO DON'T CHEAT YOUR SELF IF YOUR LOOKING FOR GEAR BY NOT CHECKING THEM OUT!.I RESEARCH THE GEAR JUST LIKE I DID THE MARKER AND EVEN THOUGH I DON'T LIKE THE MARKER FOR PAINTBALL PLAY( AS IT IS STRUCTURED TODAY) RAP4'S GEAR AND WEBSITE ARE AMONG THE BEST I'VE EVER USED!!! CHECK IT OUT FOR YOURSELF!

OH YA AND SHAHEEN , KARMA WILL GET YOU!, IT IS UNAVOIDIBLE FOR THE LIKES OF YOU!!!

PS update~ YOU WILL NOW NOTICE THAT "SAHEENS"REMARKS ARE NOW GONE!.
People come here to read about paintball stuff not ignorant insults. I applaud this site for it's diligence and responsibility to us it's members!.

LATER ,HOLLYWOOD
Last edited on Friday, May 5th, 2006 at 10:41 am PST
   

planet Thursday, May 4th, 2006 | 4:30 pm PST
very useful info. Thanks for the heads up... I was lookin at these now I'm not. Simply put....I'm older and a move bit slower than some on the feild. But I move in quick and dump alot of paint in suppression fire .
This won't cut it...
   

demon llama Tuesday, September 19th, 2006 | 6:43 am PST
There is no single paintball marker out there for everyone. You have to get what is best suited for your style of play. This marker is very practical for those looking for realism, not some video gamers wet dream. The paint can be found at quite a lot of places, as it uses the same size paint as a blowgun. loading the mags adds realism to the marker. This marker takes more skill than a fast trigger finger and may not be suitable for all players
   

hollywood53 Wednesday, September 20th, 2006 | 7:23 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by demon llama
There is no single paintball marker out there for everyone. You have to get what is best suited for your style of play. This marker is very practical for those looking for realism, not some video gamers wet dream. The paint can be found at quite a lot of places, as it uses the same size paint as a blowgun. loading the mags adds realism to the marker. This marker takes more skill than a fast trigger finger and may not be suitable for all players

Ok hmmm were to start ok how about your "A video gamers wet dream" comment, I own an A-5 tricked out with the W.A.S. E-Grip, G-36 top rail/fore grip , M-4 shorty stock ,M-4 muzzle break, M-4 removable mag, Smart parts all American Barrel-ect ect . the milsim look is awesome..and I can compete on any field with this and give up nothing! period.Can you say the same? well of course not we all know that most likely you won't be allowed on any field with yours. Now for your second comment " This marker takes more skill than a fast trigger finger " , Which insinuates that with a faster shooting marker you are probably a less skilled player. I Have played paintball for some where around 15 years now and remember when there would be 40-50 guys show up on any given sat or sun and maybe you would have 3-or-4 semi's and it didn't take any more or less skill then compared to today. Now you must understand that some say 20 balls per second does not teach you skill or make you a better player just because it's rof is fast-But Honestly ask your self this~ when your out on a field with 100-200+ players and 99% have fast R.O.F. markers 15 to 20 bps does not teach you skill BUT playing against It does! You better learn to play at that level or it's going to be a long day for you my friend.
Sorry it just cracked me up when I saw a guy with a pump get shot out at a scenario and yell at the guy who shot him (only two breaks) out, the pump player berated the player because he was using a semi instead of a pump. Later the pumper tagged a guy and he cheered I GOT YOU! AND WITH ONE SHOT!" and went right back to jacking that pump as fast as he could-lol. I love pump games but to berate another player for his choice of marker? how stupid. anyway my point is I see between the lines in your post maybe you feel that a bit that way to as you like realism and slower rates of fire to add a level of skill as you see it but I say to you to each his/her own . just play ball and have fun, lets all just play ball and stop making excuses. play=learn,learn =wisdom,wisdom=skill no matter what you use!

Tolerance is the golden rule and I think we all forget that from time to time....
Last edited on Wednesday, September 20th, 2006 at 7:37 pm PST
   

kewlman Saturday, November 11th, 2006 | 6:21 am PST
i have been following paintball for alittle over a year, reading and seeing the different forms of game play, etc. it's all about player preference when it comes to gear and markers. If a gun shoots 15-20 bps of course you will eventually hit your target (i hope). I think it does take alittle more skill or luck to compete with a lower bps rate. But if you are comfortable with that go with it. The whole point is having fun, and using what YOU want and are comfortable with . Because what works for one may not work for others.
   

hollywood53 Sunday, November 12th, 2006 | 8:36 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by kewlman
i have been following paintball for alittle over a year, reading and seeing the different forms of game play, etc. it's all about player preference when it comes to gear and markers. If a gun shoots 15-20 bps of course you will eventually hit your target (i hope). I think it does take alittle more skill or luck to compete with a lower bps rate. But if you are comfortable with that go with it. The whole point is having fun, and using what YOU want and are comfortable with . Because what works for one may not work for others.

Amen brother! :o)
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media