paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Kurama's Review / Comments on Kurama's Review / Comments on Kurama's Review / Comments on Kurama's Review

Comments on Kurama's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Kurama Monday, March 28th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested22 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
CCM Carbon fiber Barrel
Freak Stainless Kit
All American old-styled glued tip
Warped Sportz Lucky 15 kit
Dye Ultralite
Dye Boomstick
Dye Titanium Boomstick
Evil Pipe
CP 1 and 2 piece
Empire Barrel kit
Etc. I've owned, tested, and used many barrels.
Marker Setup: Pewter Freak Factory Impulse #206 (Silver Highlights)
Maxflo Manifold w/ 68/4500 tank
EggII
Pewter Freak/Stainless barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Depends on bore.
Strengths: Read Review
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: Before I begin, I would like to say that I will try to keep this review as unbiased as possible, and that everything in this review is the truth as I have experienced or seen it.

To begin, this barrel shoots great. Its nothing more than the other high end barrels I've used, but it was definately even with them. The carbon fiber also looks great, and its surprisingly quiet for how little porting it has. The efficiency because of this porting leaves a little bit to be desired, but its nothing insane like the All-American tip for the freak which is nothing but porting. It was also amazingly light weight. I'm a firm believer in balance over weight, so a light barrel is the exact opposite of what I look for when purchasing a barrel, but most people like light weight over balance. Or they use very light tanks or drops in which case this would augment that and balance the marker out better. At first, I thought it was quite amazing. It wasn't my barrel; I shot it on an Alias Intimidator which was a treat of its own.

Now, I was skeptical about the use of carbon fiber in barrels. My judgements beforehand were correct about several things. They are fragile barrels. While they're great barrels, there is much left to be desired in my opinion. For instance, you can not use fluffy squeegees with the stiffi barrels, because if the fluff gets into the porting it can unravel the carbon fiber and ruin your barrel. This means that every ball break that isn't conveniently shot out will make you have to either sacrifice accuracy or unscrew the barrel and run a rubber pull-through squeegee through the barrel. Still, with this turnoff, I still liked the barrel. Now, with that said, it could be assumed that if a piece of shell from a broken paintball got into the porting and then you shot, that it would likely tear the inside of the barrel apart aswell. The good news is that CCM and SITE are working together to fix this problem with the porting. The bad news is that the current stiffi barrels still have this problem. Also, about two weeks after shooting the stiffi barrel, I saw another one on the field. This kid just got his new stiffi, and I was on his team playing game of hyperball. Being a backman, I saw him dive into his bunker while being the target of their backman as I tried my best to keep him behind his bunker. The front of the stiffi barrel hit the hyperball bunker first, and the barrel pretty much shattered like a shard of glass falling onto a cement floor. While this is probably a one-time thing, I'll also consider it a problem since I've never heard of a conventional aluminum, steel, or brass barrel doing this.
Conclusion: So, overall its a good barrel with some kinks to be worked out of it. The good news is that SITE and CCM are working hard on it. Still, until the new versions of the Stiffi and CCM barrels are developed and released, I wouldn't purchase one. Once these problems are fixed, I will edit my rating and review to properly reflect the barrel in its improved state.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 5th, 2005 at 2:34 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
yakitori Friday, April 1st, 2005 | 9:57 am PST
youve owned that many barrels over your whole year of pball experience, hell, thats more than me and Ive been around for 3 years. Im not saying that you havent used a stiffi barrel, but I know for a fact that they are stronger barrels than your review says. Ive banged mine around just as much as my aluminum barrels, w/o any chipping, etc.

the barrels will not shatter like glass anyway. When carbon fiber breaks its more like wood splinters/broken fishing pole w/ fibers protruding everywhere.

I feel that your review is biased, and not the least bit accurate.
   

Kurama Tuesday, April 5th, 2005 | 12:17 am PST
I meant that I've owned, tested, and/or used. I've only owned a few kits but I've had the chance to use many different barrels.

Freak Stainless Kit
All American old-styled glued tip
Warped Sportz Lucky 15 kit
Dye Ultralite
CP 1 Piece

Are the ones listed that I or a teammate actually own. There's more, but I don't care to list them all =P. I've used so many barrels because I own many paintball markers, and so do my current friends and teammates. They all seem to use different barrel threads, so naturally I've had the chance to use many barrels. Anyways, thats not the point.

I used the term shattered because I really didn't know how to better describe it. I mean, this is a review of a product, not a science project. While I'm not trying to say that it isn't durable, I'm telling what I saw. Heck, I bet the stiffi is more durable than an aluminum barrel.

What I mostly base my review on is the problem with squeegees. I believe that it is fair and accurate in my opinion. You've used a stiffi more than I have, so you probably know better so please enlughten me on my bias and inaccuracies. As I said before, I will edit my review to better reflect the product when CCM and SITE finish improving the porting design. Until then, I believe somebody considering owning one should know of the problems instead of buying it based on 100 10/10 reviews, and then realizing this. I'm not telling anyone not to buy one, I'm just saying it's wise to wait until they fix it.

If it makes you happier, I'm bringing the rating up to 7/10. After further thought, 4/10 is a rating something like a stock kingman barrel desirves.
   

speedy2k4 Sunday, April 24th, 2005 | 9:13 am PST
great review kurama. i don't usually read review, but saw your name so i did. seemed pretty honest to me.

why doesn't site fix the porting with injected aluminum and maybe fix the shattering problem by wrapping the fiber on a thin aluminum sleeve like fiber tanks?
   

Slowfingers Friday, May 27th, 2005 | 11:13 pm PST
Kurama your right about stifis being fragile. Mine chipped about a week ago and i have no clue how. The accuracy isn't as good now and it chops a little more.
   

PBshot31 Saturday, August 6th, 2005 | 4:00 pm PST
If A stiffi breaks i heard theyll send u a free KIT
   

el venezolano Sunday, December 4th, 2005 | 12:48 pm PST
Dispute:
Carbon fiber is known to be stronger than steel because of its crystal lattice (shape and composition) so calling it fragile is erroneous (wrong). Sorry bout the big words
   

SoulJahofPress Sunday, December 4th, 2005 | 5:27 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Slowfingers
Kurama your right about stifis being fragile. Mine chipped about a week ago and i have no clue how. The accuracy isn't as good now and it chops a little more.
is that genuine, or merely hearsay?


heck, ive played for 5 years and have only owned 3 barrels... stock spyder tl plus barrel, freak, stock black magic barrel.
   

mattmaster34 Saturday, December 10th, 2005 | 10:54 am PST
el venezolano, I think he knows that Carbon Fiber is super strong, after all, it can take up to 4500 psi, but what he is saying is that the barrel will unwrap itself if you squeegee it in the wrong way. But about the barrel shattering, it depends what kind of bunker the guy slid into. I dont know the difference between speedball, x-ball, and hyperball, so enlighten me to what the differences are
   

QuickDrawMcGraw Saturday, December 17th, 2005 | 9:09 am PST
Can anyone tell me how the Stiffi stacks up against the Ultralite as far as accuracy and self-cleaning go?
   

el venezolano Sunday, December 18th, 2005 | 4:32 pm PST
no no no.

see they say it is stronger than steel which is true. but what's different is its not one solid piece of material crafted by a lathe. it's fibers.

it's wrapped yea but not like, wrapped like a present. it's tight machine-made wraps. and the squeegee thing is totally avoidable cuz its so known about now.

and yea if you take the barrel and do a flying head of death and destruction into a concrete thing then it'll break. but who does that besides crazy speedball mofos?
   

Worrgames_Slaya Monday, December 26th, 2005 | 4:52 pm PST
At world cup this year they were passing around stiffi barrels and asking people to break them. There was alot of stiffis being bashed against tables and against each other.

The result:
Tables with chips and dents, and perfectly fine stiffi barrels.

They tried it with an ultralight barrel as well :( it got completly wreaked... bent, broken at the seam, dented.

   

Green Buret Tuesday, December 27th, 2005 | 5:11 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by el venezolano
no no no.

see they say it is stronger than steel which is true. but what's different is its not one solid piece of material crafted by a lathe. it's fibers.

it's wrapped yea but not like, wrapped like a present. it's tight machine-made wraps. and the squeegee thing is totally avoidable cuz its so known about now.

and yea if you take the barrel and do a flying head of death and destruction into a concrete thing then it'll break. but who does that besides crazy speedball mofos?


I have to agree, if you run ANY barrel into concrete it will break whether it is carbon fibre or not.
Last edited on Tuesday, December 27th, 2005 at 5:12 pm PST
   

NJGoomba Thursday, January 5th, 2006 | 6:37 am PST
Dispute:
"shattered like a shard of glass falling onto a cement floor."

This statement above is impossible for carbon fiber. Its just that ........"FIBER" I have been working with Carbon fiber for years. Heck I even work with fiber glass. Its imposable to break like a shard of glass falling onto a cement floor. This review should be taken off the board.
   

l EMPIR3 l Friday, January 6th, 2006 | 9:21 pm PST
there was a contest at the last psp torniment and stiffi had a deal if u can break the barrell they will give u one u could hit it augenst anything noting happend they used the same barrell all day not one person broke it
   

gameshoes Tuesday, January 17th, 2006 | 11:39 am PST
Dispute:
First of all, if you want balance over weight, you don't get this barrel unless you got a drop forward.
And Carbon Fiber is not fragile
With a swab, you SCRATCH it, you're not shattering it or litteraly breaking it
SCRATCHING, which there fore as everybody know ruins it
and it specifically says on the Manual to use Only RUBBER SQUEEGEES
if you can't read, you shouldn't be playing
Also, if a paintball shell is still in the barrel, it will not scratch it still
I used crappy paint and the shells got stuck inside and it works fine
No scratches, NOTHING!
"The front of the stiffi barrel hit the hyperball bunker first, and the barrel pretty much shattered like a shard of glass falling onto a cement floor."
WTF!?!?!??!?!?!?
you'd have to try VERY hard to do that
and i bet you're making that story up because that is totally unbelievable
unles you got some pictures proving that it "Shattered" like glass, this is over exagerrated.
   

LAMB_OF_GOD Monday, January 23rd, 2006 | 10:28 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by el venezolano
Carbon fiber is known to be stronger than steel because of its crystal lattice (shape and composition) so calling it fragile is erroneous (wrong). Sorry bout the big words


it may be stronger than steel but it wond bend.where a steel barrel would just get scratched this thing would break .as for the people at a tournament who couldnt break this theyre just weak. i guarantee this thing would be broken if they told me to do it
   

gameshoes Tuesday, January 24th, 2006 | 11:19 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by LAMB_OF_GOD


it may be stronger than steel but it wond bend.where a steel barrel would just get scratched this thing would break .as for the people at a tournament who couldnt break this theyre just weak. i guarantee this thing would be broken if they told me to do it


I'd like to see you try
   

gameshoes Tuesday, January 24th, 2006 | 11:23 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by l EMPIR3 l
there was a contest at the last psp torniment and stiffi had a deal if u can break the barrell they will give u one u could hit it augenst anything noting happend they used the same barrell all day not one person broke it

Yeah, there was a contest for $500 nearby my place where if you could break one you win the $500
nobody won LMAO
   

Wazzy Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 | 3:16 pm PST
Other than hyperball or whatever, you forgot to mention this is the perfect scenario sniper barrel: no f-ups with temprature, whisper-quiet, stronger than steel, non reflective; so if you snipe it's so quiet you don't need to risk any damage by moving , since the enemy won't bother shooting if they can't even tell the general area the shots came from, and if you ever need to clear the barrel, you can just shoot it clean
Last edited on Sunday, February 5th, 2006 at 4:55 pm PST
   

PbMaster598 Wednesday, February 8th, 2006 | 4:02 pm PST
yeah whoever wrote this review has no idea what they are talking about...and that guy who agreed with the write should be slapped in the face...so yeah the stiffi owns all other barrels
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media