paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Stormin-Norman's Review / Comments on Stormin-Norman's Review / Comments on Stormin-Norman's Review / Comments on Stormin-Norman's Review / Comments on Stormin-Norman's Review

Comments on Stormin-Norman's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Stormin-Norman Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 years76 of 87 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
GZ Timmy
Marker Setup: 3 Custom Cockers 99, 02 and Custom Body non WGP
Automag Classic
Tippmann 98
Spyder Electro
Diablo Wrath
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just a delrin bolt and drop forward.
Strengths: Best bang for your buck.
Eyes, LCD, runs on CO2 and HPA
Weaknesses: Non Delrin Stock Bolt
External Supply Lines
Review: ###UPDATE###5-22-06
Gave my old wrath to my Dad and still shooting the LTD. The gun has been performing flawlessly so far this season, other than the LCD going on the blink when it's cold.

###UPDATE###12-22-06

Paid shipping to NPS, and they fixed everything for free. Replaced my RAM, hoses and cleaned my Reg. Now I am not so pissed off, now it just needs to get warmer so I can re-open my field and play with it. On a side note, I sold out and bought a Shocker and Impulse, the Schocker is primary used gun but the Wrath will still be my backup.

###UPDATE###11-1-06

I got a compressor and now see no reason to go on using the Wrath. Bought a Wrath LTD and it leaked out of the box. This pissed me off and I stopped using it.

###UPDATE###3-1-06

Ok. So I have owned my Wrath for about a year now. I still think it is the greatest thing on the face of planet. My wrath has been shooting anti-siphon and non-siphon CO2 for the past year. It still runs beautifully, I honestly could not ask for anything more.

I recently upgraded the board to the R-15 (Stock LTD), Wave Trigger and LTD Bolt. The gun absolutely rips, I will probably never pick up my e-blade again. I really cannot say enough good about this gun, the customer service behind the gun. It is strictly phenominal.

Chris Valente who is the primary technician for this gun, is amazing, any questions/problems I have had in the past he has worked out instantaneously. He truly is a credit to NPS and Diablo!

Bottom Line is still, the Wrath is unbeatable for a gun that will run consistently on CO2. If you find a gun that will run on CO2 with no adverse affects, you think is better than the Wrath please contact me, because I think it is the best on the market.

Users reading this review feel free to contact me for a referal!
###UPDATE###11-4-05

So I have owned the gun for half a year now and I still love it. Now, about 6 guys at the field own them and love them. Still the only problem is blowing the front line to the LPR when using CO2 and one of the guys pinched the eye wires putting it back together but that was his own fault. 2 of my regulars at the field have done every possible mod on theirs, so far my favorite is the delrin trigger that one of the players has, I really like the feel of it.

Chris Valenete at NPS has still been great at getting me parts when I need them. The customr service at NPS is impecable. So, even after 6 months my rating is still 10 out of 10. We will see how it does during the winter months though.

###UPDATE### 07-13-05

So, I have owned the gun 3 months. Biggest problem with it thus far is, I have blown the pneumatic hosing twice. This is only likely to happen when your crank up the pressure over 300 psi. I got a whole bunch of extra hose from NPS for free and so its no big deal. The gun is easy peazy to dismantle and put back together. Overall, I am still extremely happy with the way this gun functions, especially on CO2!!!!

###UPDATE### 05-19-05

Just got back from an MSPA tourney in Clarksville TN and the wrath performed very well as usual. I experienced a little bit of shoot down for the first time, though. Other than that it is still working flawlessly and so far 5 other people at my field have bought them due to seeing mine perform.

###UPDATE###

The Diablo Wrath Rocks! I shot with this weekend and I may never touch a cocker again. I was shooting medium bore mixed quality paint and it shop flawlessly. The following is what I experienced today shooting the gun.
[list]
!!WORKS FLAWLESSLY ON CO2!!
Good Distance
Tight Shot Patterns = Good Accuracy
Phenominal ROF
Super easy to use with the LCD.
Great on battery life.
Revy was sufficient.
Great working eyes- no chops all day.
Light and well balanced. (even in the heat I didn't mind toting it.)
Easily Adjustable reg, no problems at the chrono.
Close shot per shot fps all within 5 fps.
No Maintenance required over a 6 hour span.
[/list]

Needless to say, I am awestruck at what I got for 260 dollars.
I would reccomend this gun to any paintball player, new or experienced.

I'll post another update after 6 months when I have beat it up a little bit.

-Stormin
04/10/05

Took out all the Ion stuff as I no longer care. However it does piss me off that Smart Parts only warranties there guns for 90 days.

I know I forgot some things but here is my semi-biased research findings.

Josh "Stormin" Norman
Field Owner
www.normanpaintball.com
217-549-4577
Conclusion: The Wrath is a must have for new to intermediate players who want an advantage over their opponents.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007 at 2:30 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
K2z Wednesday, March 30th, 2005 | 5:16 pm PST
Where did you find the marker for $260.00?
   

tr4mm Saturday, April 2nd, 2005 | 7:45 pm PST
Do your research before you trash ions, IONS ARE NOT MADE OF PLASTIC!!
   

kingman player Tuesday, April 5th, 2005 | 7:15 pm PST
y do u ahte smart parts so? they have nice barrels. and the guns are pretty good
   

malitov Wednesday, April 6th, 2005 | 1:34 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by kingman player
y do u ahte smart parts so? they have nice barrels. and the guns are pretty good


I would think it's because of their money grubbing ways.
   

thehalo Friday, April 8th, 2005 | 2:37 pm PST
yes the outer shell i plastic. i don't care what kind of "special" name u give to it because in the end it's plastic. if u own a cell phone it's made out of the same kind of plastic and people are always breaking cell phones.
   

KraxyDrummer Monday, April 11th, 2005 | 7:32 pm PST
thehalo is wrong (maby thats why he got baned from this site for giving falst info?) cell phones and Ions are made out of the same kind of plastic. I don't know the specific name of the plastic but I believe(correct me if i'm wrong) that Glocks are made out of the same kind of plastic. And plastic is not such a bad thing, after all it's lighter( and some are more durable) than metal.
   

Stormin-Norman Wednesday, April 13th, 2005 | 4:34 pm PST
It doesn't really matter, the point is it cannot be anodized.
   

tcams42 Wednesday, April 13th, 2005 | 11:14 pm PST
whoever wrote this review has no idea what they are talking about because i have sent a marker into smart parts and they paid and fixed everything for free and i wasnt even the original owner and i guarantee that if you started a company and developed something then you would patent it and make more money, plus the ion gets 1400 per 68/4500 fill. so do your research fully next time your bash a gun. especially like smart parts
Last edited on Wednesday, April 13th, 2005 at 11:17 pm PST
   

cclasspb Saturday, May 7th, 2005 | 7:20 am PST
it is polymer plastic which is used in glocks not cell phones and u dont see glocks breaking all the time do you?
   

HAWAIIANballer Thursday, May 12th, 2005 | 9:52 pm PST
the ion is not heavier than the wrath they our the same if anything the wrath might be alittle lighter
   

punk_rocker543 Friday, May 13th, 2005 | 7:55 am PST
ions are deffinetly slower and break easier, ive seen so many ions go down its not funny, the eyes are so low quality and the body is pretty ugly
   

04 prostock Sunday, May 22nd, 2005 | 1:48 pm PST
the ion is also horrible on batteries. my friend has an ion and those eyes just suck the crap out of batteries. he has to replace them after 1-2 days of play!
   

Jimbosbarbq Thursday, June 2nd, 2005 | 1:48 pm PST
ok the whole glock thing...my grandfather owns Gun store. the Gunshead in Lakeland florida stop by sometime. Glocks are made of waay different plastic than cell phones. Ions ARE NOT made out plastic, the shell is but the body is aluminum. Why does every hate smart parts. They make good stuff, so what if they are rich...so is walmart...i love walmart. I don't like the wrath bc its bolt is cheap aluminum instead of lightweight derlin. Its grips are fat n chunky n not comfrtable. It has a trigger similar an e-pirranha sloppy. And has an exposed low pressure hose at the front that a decent marker would have well hiddden.
   

travisthegreat Wednesday, August 17th, 2005 | 8:38 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by punk_rocker543
ions are deffinetly slower and break easier, ive seen so many ions go down its not funny, the eyes are so low quality and the body is pretty ugly

QFT
we are all aware that u havent seen "so many ions go down" i hate it when people make stuff up. Im not a fan of ions but i hate to tell u the ions kinda got a little more support than the wrath, y do u think that is? its gonna get/ already has way more support than wrath from aftermarket companies, and i have a feeling the ion will be around alot longer than the wrath will. sorry to make u guys realize that wraths and ions arent the best guns in the world
   

IronCorps Saturday, August 27th, 2005 | 8:17 pm PST
The only smart parts product ive used is a 14" Progressive barrel.

From talking to ION and Wrath owners, there is a big civil contest. IONS are pneunamic so its less reliable than a good ol' fashion open bolt blowback. I always hear about the pickyness and fussyness of IONS which i hear the opposite of from wrath owners.

I hear the wrath is just strait up easier to play with and mantain.
   

SOLID SNACK Sunday, September 18th, 2005 | 3:46 pm PST
wrath good..getting one next week.
   

paintballJustin Friday, October 28th, 2005 | 3:13 pm PST
Point 3 you said that the ION is field stripable unlike the ION. Just a little help in the grammer part . The wrath is still a better marker, but in the defense of the ION it still has some pretty sweet features for $300. PEACE
   

rrdude Tuesday, November 22nd, 2005 | 5:04 pm PST
i own a ION and personally i like wraths alot alot better...but imo its jsut a feel thing...

but yeah ions are very poorly manufactured....i went through 3 before i found one that worked...

and if you ION newbs come here just to flame just dont you look stupid

and this guy doesnt know what hes talking about? HES A STORE OWNER FOOLS!

oh and Glocks bodys are known for cracking in cold weather...so why dont all of you people who compare IONs to glocks do your reserch...im a gun nut dont argue with me..i also own a glock
Last edited on Tuesday, November 22nd, 2005 at 5:06 pm PST
   

Baker2g180 Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 | 3:33 pm PST
Its a very good extensive review. But a little too much flaming of the ION, there is no need for it, state why you don't like the gun, but don't go and just bash it for no reason. Good review though, and I think it comes to to prefrence on this one. I like the Wrath better, and they will both be along for a long time
   

mrgrindstaff Saturday, March 4th, 2006 | 10:38 am PST
how do you get the part off where you screw the co2 in? i dont see no bolts or nuttin
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media