paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on midguy's Review / Comments on midguy's Review / Comments on midguy's Review / Comments on midguy's Review / Comments on midguy's Review

Comments on midguy's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

midguy Wednesday, April 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Shocker, Impulse, and Dye Matrix
Marker Setup: SP Shocker, Halo B, PMI Pure Energy 46/4500 nitro tank, Freak Barrel Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
All American Barrel
Max Flo
Blade Trigger
maybe a new reg, even thought the stock ones pretty good
Strengths: Speed
Light
Maneuverable
Reliable
Durable
accurate
Weaknesses: Kinda sucks to clean, having to take the whole gun apart.
Review: Like many of you, I was kinda skeptical about the Ion. We all know the huge mistake WGP made with the Trilogy series of cockers. But, SP managed to pull it out with this one.

Anyway, I bought the Ion at my local paintball supplier in J-Town. If any of you have played at Underground Paintball, you know who Im talkin about. When I first took it out of the box, I noticed that the grip was open, and the board was exposed and the battery was already in, well at least i dont have to worry about battery installation. I picked it up, put the grip back together and picked it up. It felt almost exactly like the Shocker. The only difference i could feel is that it was a little lighter.

The next day I went to the Bunker to play, took it to the chrono and it shot 275, 277, 279. Not bad out of the box. So, anyway I set it down and almost immediately came a crowd of 11 and 12 year old newbies. They all wanted to look at it, shoot it, touch it, ahhhhhh. I dont know about the rest of you, but i am very picky about that sorta stuff. I didnt mind them looking at it, but i was not about to let a 12 year old that was using a Brass Eagle POS pick it up.

Ok, on to the playing part. I was on a team with another kid with an awesome BKO. Shot almost as fast as my Ion;) The other team was all the noobs with Brass Eagles and rental Piranhas. On the break, I started rippin em apart. I caught about three of them on the break just shootin ropes to the other side. They were pretty shocked. Theyve never played against a high performance marker before. I got two others out before bein splattered by a lucky shot to the shoulder. Went over my bunker.

Overall, I love my new SP Ion. Anyone who says it sucks, you have no idea what youre talkin about. Later
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to more experienced players. It will definitely make you smarter at the technical side of a marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 6th, 2006 at 6:50 am PST
 

Review Comments
cmcan22 Wednesday, April 6th, 2005 | 12:16 pm PST
hey how bout u give a useful comment and stop wasting ur and everyone elses time. Give the guy a break
   

soup in barrel Wednesday, April 6th, 2005 | 2:02 pm PST
the guy can compair it to anything he wants. it is his vew on things, even if he wouldnt let the little kids hold it.

   

rrrrrrrrr Wednesday, April 6th, 2005 | 3:39 pm PST
do you know what? we dont care about you "ripping" apart newbies. It would be better if you would just write a review on the gun and not tell us about the time you got 3 newbs out. And we dont care if they were inpressed with it. The sad thing is their is newbies impressed with my pirhana, so its not saying much to say they were impressed with your ion (hint: so dont say it!) . Also my battery on my pirhana came installed out of the box. So please just write a review.
Last edited on Wednesday, April 6th, 2005 at 3:43 pm PST
   

csichiro51 Wednesday, April 6th, 2005 | 5:52 pm PST
Wow. You all are like ripping his review apart. Who cares if he mentioned something useless? He described part of his view on the gun. Who cares if he's wrong on the weight nor if he didn't want the kids touching his gun, i wouldn't let them touch my gun either. Also, if he gets a bunch of newbies out, who cares if he's proud of it or not. It could easily matter how good you are with the gun. If your gun's shootin all over the place then you can't be accurate and shoot any one. If your gun's accurate and shoots fast, it's a lot easier to get people out and therefore would make you better. I thought this review wasn't bad at all.
   

xmxcubedxmx Thursday, April 7th, 2005 | 9:32 pm PST
If the review was so worthless why dont you take the high road and read another. I'm sure we are all mature and just look the other way.
   

midguy Tuesday, April 19th, 2005 | 11:57 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by csichiro51
Wow. You all are like ripping his review apart. Who cares if he mentioned something useless? He described part of his view on the gun. Who cares if he's wrong on the weight nor if he didn't want the kids touching his gun, i wouldn't let them touch my gun either. Also, if he gets a bunch of newbies out, who cares if he's proud of it or not. It could easily matter how good you are with the gun. If your gun's shootin all over the place then you can't be accurate and shoot any one. If your gun's accurate and shoots fast, it's a lot easier to get people out and therefore would make you better. I thought this review wasn't bad at all.
I just want to say thanks, I cant believe how freakin skeptical these people can be. I was just sayin my view on the gun. And its not like I only play against noobs. Ive taken this to tourneys and ripped it up on more experienced players. Im not cocky, its just that I am very impressed with this awesome marker. Most of the Bunker team players are also impressed with it. And they shoot Pimps, Cockers, and Shockers. Again, thanks
   

csichiro51 Wednesday, April 20th, 2005 | 1:50 pm PST
sweet dude, no problem
   

midguy Wednesday, April 27th, 2005 | 12:29 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by rrrrrrrrr
do you know what? we dont care about you "ripping" apart newbies. It would be better if you would just write a review on the gun and not tell us about the time you got 3 newbs out. And we dont care if they were inpressed with it. The sad thing is their is newbies impressed with my pirhana, so its not saying much to say they were impressed with your ion (hint: so dont say it!) . Also my battery on my pirhana came installed out of the box. So please just write a review.
Okay, so you have a pirahna and all your marker reviews have been nothing but low-end. Youre just a jealous newb aren't you?
   

csichiro51 Thursday, April 28th, 2005 | 2:10 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by midguy
Okay, so you have a pirahna and all your marker reviews have been nothing but low-end. Youre just a jealous newb aren't you?

ya
   

midguy Monday, May 2nd, 2005 | 10:18 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by csichiro51


ya

do I smell sarcasm?
   

csichiro51 Tuesday, May 3rd, 2005 | 4:48 pm PST
i don't know... lol... it was kinda an agreement but i don't know
   

midguy Wednesday, May 4th, 2005 | 10:53 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by csichiro51
i don't know... lol... it was kinda an agreement but i don't know
just curious, why did you give my review a flogging? I dont just play noobs with it. I am on a team and every tourney i go to, i rip it up there. I only give bad comments if im either pissed or in a bad mood. or was it the fact that me and the other guy were tearing the noobs apart. i give them a fair game. sometimes ill just go out and get shot if it makes them feel better. im not an ass. i am fair, even against noobs. sorry i called you a jealous noob, too. i was in a bad mood that day, lol.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 4th, 2005 at 10:54 am PST
   

csichiro51 Thursday, May 5th, 2005 | 7:36 pm PST
whats floggintg?
   

midguy Friday, May 6th, 2005 | 10:45 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by csichiro51
whats floggintg?

flogging is a term used to rip something apart, preferably on Halo. Example, I just gave you the biggest flogging!
   

Drew anteater17 Wednesday, April 26th, 2006 | 6:21 pm PST
nice comennt on myslinski2006 he was just a neb pretending that he had expierience you cant melee in paintball . if a newb ran up an tried to melee me with his brass eagle i would shoot him in the face10 times and laugh. you cant brake a mask with a brass eagle if anything the brass eagle would brake.
   

jordanpb Friday, March 16th, 2007 | 9:03 pm PST
Im ten. DON'T DISS US, SOME DAY WE WILL RULE THE WORLD!
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media