paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on pb_man252's Review / Comments on pb_man252's Review / Comments on pb_man252's Review / Comments on pb_man252's Review / Comments on pb_man252's Review

Comments on pb_man252's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

pb_man252 Saturday, April 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month55 of 62 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 RT, x chamber, 14in progressive barrel, dead on drop forward, 32 degrees sight rail and micro line. Trilogy pro with empire loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Nitro
-electro hopper
Strengths: -Barrel
Weaknesses: - Its kindof a gas hog but not really a weakness.
Review: Ok, when I first got this gun I loved it. Then i went to get my co2 filled and i put it in and it leaked. BUT not to worry the guy who filled my c02 damaged my damn o-ring and didnt tell me!! After I replaced it i was so amazed as how fast and how accurate and consistent it was. GET THIS GUN!! So far i have shot about 800 paintballs and i have not choped one yet. (well my friend shot it and and he short stroked) NEVER SHORT STROKE YOU WILL CHOP!!
Conclusion: Great gun, one of my friends say it sucked just because he believes what this guy tells him but when he shot it, he was amazed! I have some advice for you people, never take advice from somebody who says a gun sucks and they have never even shot it! take the advice from someone who has shot it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 9th, 2005 at 5:09 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Uziel Gal Saturday, April 9th, 2005 | 5:25 pm PST
Autocockers are actually one of the more efficient markers available. The fixed 3-way and timing rod mean that the Trilogy range aren't as finely tunable as the Pro-Stock and other Autocockers, but you should still be able to get better efficiency than many other markers. Your best bet to improve efficiency is to find the pressure that the marker is most efficient.

You need to back out the velocity adjuster, and then adjust your grip regulator to produce the highest velocity possible WITHOUT touching your velocity adjuster at all. You need to screw off the end of the regulator that the hose is attached to, as the regulator pressure adjuster is inside. Turn the slotted plug clockwise to reduce pressure and anticlockwise to increase pressure. You will need access to a chronograph in order to measure the velocity. Your local site may let you use theirs.

If you start at a low pressure, velocity will increase as you increase pressure. However, at some point the velocity will actually start to drop again, as too high a pressure will actually force the valve to close before enough air has been released to achieve high velocity. So increase the pressure until you see velocity start to drop, and then back up a little to get the highest velocity.

The pressure that produces the highest velocity, is also the pressure at which your marker is the most efficient. Once you have found this pressure, you can use the velocity adjuster to set the correct speed - 300 fps maximum, or your sites limit. If your marker is faster than this, fit a lighter main spring or heavier valve spring. That will reduce the velocity, and increase efficiency further. As a bonus, if you use a lighter hammer spring, you can reduce your cocking pressure and avoid chops.
   

lostazncause Monday, April 11th, 2005 | 9:27 pm PST
only problem here is, the stock reg isnt adjustable ^_^
   

Uziel Gal Tuesday, April 12th, 2005 | 11:19 am PST
Actually, WGP stock regulators are adjustable, but the adjustment is internal, so you have to do a small amount of dis-assembly in order to make pressure adjustments.

As I stated, you need to unscrew the bottom of the regulator (the part that the hose screws into). Underneath this, is a small brass or aluminium plug (I have seen the same component made from both materials), with a screwdriver slot on the face. Turn the slotted plug clockwise to reduce pressure and anticlockwise to increase pressure.

It is certainly true that an externally adjustable regulator would make this task a lot quicker and easier, as you wouldn't have to take apart the regulator every few shots to adjust it, but with patience, this can be done with the stock regulators internal adjuster.
   

pb_man252 Wednesday, April 13th, 2005 | 1:39 pm PST
uziel Gal, do u even own an autococker???
   

Uziel Gal Thursday, April 14th, 2005 | 11:30 am PST
I own (in chronological order) a heavily modified 1996 factory Autococker (the only original part left is the body), and a number (seven) of self assembled Autocockers made with the following bodies - 1999 AKALMP VLM, 1999 Jackal Phase 2, 1999 Minicocker body (something I picked up for $30 a couple of years back), AKALMP spiral milled Merlin body kit, prototype 2K KAPP body kit, 2K3 Evolution-X body kit (one of the few Evo-Xs that has been sold as a body kit) with an E-Blade E2, and a 2K4 Free-Flow Lotus body kit with an E-Blade E1 and ZeroB board. I've tried out a fair number of markers, but since switching to semi-autos (I have had a Mk1 Razorback pump since 1989) I have only EVER owned Autocockers! Having fully customised and internally modified one Autococker, and assembled seven, I would say that Autocockers are my specialty (though I'm pretty knowledgeable on regulators - have a search under my name on the air system forum).

I will agree that I do not own a Trilogy, and haven't had a chance to strip one down myself (shops get a bit funny about that kind of thing when you have no intention to buy one!), but the regulator looks to be identical to the one used on the 2K4 Prostock, and as such, should be fully serviceable and adjustable internally. However, they are generally very hard to get apart the first time - this may be why most people don't realise they are adjustable. Most people end up resorting to a vice to hold the reg, and mole grips (I think you call them vice grips in the US) to remove the end cap. If you take this route, use thick leather or rubber to pad the jaws to avoid damage to the finish of the regulator - I've seen and heard of too many stock WGP regulators damaged by heavy handed dis-assembly. A safer tool to use is a strap wrench, or if you don't have a bench vice, two strap wrenches, one to hold the body of the regulator, one to grip and twist to undo the end cap.
   

pb_man252 Tuesday, April 19th, 2005 | 5:58 pm PST
uziel gal, do u know if dye sticky 3 grips would fit on this autococker?
   

punkpaintballer Wednesday, April 27th, 2005 | 12:27 pm PST
it should fit it. Since this is a full hinge fram if im not nistaken
   

Uncle_Slappy Thursday, May 12th, 2005 | 11:33 am PST
Uziel Gal is correct, the stock regulator is adjustable internally, so you need to be a little careful when fiddling with it or you will completely hose your settings and may spend days making them usable again. One nice thing though is that the Trilogy regulator is notched for a small wrench (7/16 or 1/2") for removal from the bottom so a strap wrench is not necessary.

Another way to adjust pressure is on the input side of the reg. I have my Tril setup with a Max-Flo 4500. After playing with it for about 3 hours I found that the best input pressure is right around 500-575psi. The regulator will then take that down to around 345 (assuming factory setting) and poof!!! Velocity that hovers around your field setting +-5 fps.

The field that I play at has a speed limit of 280 and I have shot 150+ balls across the chrono with a spread of 275-283. Just another option if you are not in the mood to fuss with the regulator on the marker.
   

pb_man252 Thursday, May 12th, 2005 | 5:16 pm PST
thanks punkpaintballer
   

Lilac Wednesday, October 19th, 2005 | 8:00 am PST
Question, the hpr(gripreg) is changeable, right? Can you make recommendations regarding externally adjustable regs that will directly fit this marker?
   

teem Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 | 11:18 pm PST
black magic reg
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media