paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on jrbacon's Review / Comments on jrbacon's Review / Comments on jrbacon's Review / Comments on jrbacon's Review / Comments on jrbacon's Review

Comments on jrbacon's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

jrbacon Monday, April 25th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
2004 e-orracle (the now turtled marker)- able to tuck tighter now
Marker Setup: Ego,d.a.r.t. bolt, Freak kit, Crossfire 68/4500
Turtled e-orracle, freeflow internals, palmers micro rock, palmers stabilizer
Strengths: Lower cocking mass = faster cycling
no back block, no cocking rod
Weaknesses: Customer service needs massive improvement
Review: I sent my e-orry in to be turtled, after being assured that it would take a maximum of 4 weeks. This time frame is important due to me moving to South Korea soon. I ordered the standard turtle with mini-cut, mini front block, and annodized matte silver (so that it and my barrel match my Ego). 6 weeks later I was informed that the marker was back from anno and it would be shipped in 3 days. 7 days later I called and was told that there was some blowback and it would be shipped out in the morning. 7 days later I called and was told that the marker was being sent back to them due to a Postal mistake (I know not their fault, but it is kind of irking after overnighting it to them by U.P.S.). I called the following week and was told that the marker was lost in the mail and they were trying to locate it. Finally later that night I was told that the marker was found and being shipped back overnight. I finally received the marker the next day, the marker and barrel shoved into the padded case, rubbing against each other, which resulted in scratches in the new anno job. The regulator was not annoed. The mini conversion was not done (money was refunded), I was told that WGP no longer makes the mini front block (in direct contrast to what WGP rep at Orlando Open told me last Thursday). Functionally the marker works great, the lack of a back block means you can tuck in tighter than with a normal cocker.
Conclusion: Functionally the turtle conversion is great. Customer service is seriously lacking (The owner and his wife are nice people). Fifty cent of buble wrap would have saved the anno job (not having time to send it to be reannoed means I will have to live with it for awhile). Honestly if I had it to do over again I would not go thought the pain and frustration.
Rating:
4 out of 10
 

Review Comments
crazedmonkey Monday, April 25th, 2005 | 5:35 pm PST
"Customer service needs massive improvement"
rate the gun, now the company.
   

jrbacon Monday, April 25th, 2005 | 5:42 pm PST
Customer service is a major part of the product. I work for a major company that provides products for customer use. In every contract we have customer service is one of the most important issues that sells our products. If our customer service is not on par we don't sell products and loose millions.
   

autto-mattick Tuesday, August 9th, 2005 | 9:55 pm PST
still nesxt time do a review more on the gun than the company
   

WGPshooter420 Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 | 9:39 am PST
Dispute:
hes rating the customer service not the product!
   

jrbacon Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 | 10:51 pm PST
Since this was a conversion of a existing marker, the customer service is part of the end product.
When the product comes to me with the brand new anno job scratched that 50 cent worth of bubble wrap could have saved, then customer service affects the product.
If you took you car to the shop to get a body work and a new paint job, and it came out scratched you would not be satisfied with the end product. Since the whole process failed to meet my expectations I gave it a below average score.

I have noticed that on this website that the rating system is a bit out of wack. I too have been guilty of the offense of which I speak. On a 1-10 system a 1 would be absolutely bottom of the barrel and a 10 being Godlike (with little birds and angels flying around it and singing). A 5 would be run of the mill average, I gave a 4 which is slightly below average.
   

Night Freaks Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006 | 1:44 pm PST
I think your wrong in judging this gun. The Turtle cockers are great markers. And Turtle long is a great guy. Just because you had a bad experience doesn’t make it a bad gun. I hate this rating system. its a 9.1 out of 10 because some jerk had a problem with his gun. These markers should be a solid 10. I think your wrong in giving it a 4.
Its sign of incompetence on this your part, you should of never changed locations while having a gun modified. Almost all forms of communication are cut off. No wonder it took so long...
   

jrbacon Thursday, March 23rd, 2006 | 2:23 pm PST
Actually Night Freaks, I never said that the marker or that the folks at Turtle were not great. If you read the review you would see that this is before I moved (7 months before to be precise). As I stated above this was a conversion to an existing marker, so my experience is part of the process and the customer service I received at the time is as well. If any you disagree with my rating, go through the same experience and write your own review. At the moment I am catching flak from people who have not written a review of the marker, and in some cases have never written a review.

I also hate the rating system. a 1-10 scale has more numbers than 1 and 10. Any fanboy can write a review and say "OMG this marker rulez all, it mows NOOBz like nothing else. It deserves a 100 not just a 10. Anyone who disagrees is a NOOB.". Actually play with a marker, experience the customer service then come talk to me.
Last edited on Thursday, March 23rd, 2006 at 2:27 pm PST
   

BambooStar Tuesday, April 4th, 2006 | 5:33 pm PST
not that you need it, but I back what you're saying, jr.bacon. although these reviews seem to be 'expected' to speak solely about the marker's performance, there are plenty of people that mention the customer support/service of the (fill in the blank) marker that they are reviewing....

i agree with this - especially when you are talking about this marker since it seems (and please correct me if i'm wrong) that you cannot out right purchase a turtle cocker, it must be custom made for you. in which case, the customer service is a large part of the product.

before i make this into an essay that isn't even about the marker any more, jr.bacon did mention that the performance of the marker is great and so are the people at turtle. people who use these reviews solely based on the number out of 10 (which i also agree is somewhat weak) are, quite frankly, stupid. you should really read on into what the reviews actually say otherwise you might end up picking up a marker that some snot nosed newbie gave a rate of 10 out of 10 rating for simply because he's only ever shot a tippmann before.

now having said all of this... does anyone know where i can get a turtle cocker? :)

   

walkthetrigger4 Monday, August 21st, 2006 | 11:52 am PST
where do you get them
   

MecTurtleCocker Wednesday, November 1st, 2006 | 8:56 pm PST
you have to buy parts and build em. or spend 1000 on a built one.
   

MailmanMike Tuesday, January 16th, 2007 | 7:45 am PST
Dispute:
he's not even rating the customer service. Most of the problems he had were in the shipping, and if the problems happen when its out of the hands of the shop then you can't really blame them for it.
   

Georgeoffrey Monday, March 12th, 2007 | 11:56 pm PST
I support this review as well. As somebody interested in going with a Turtle conversion, specifically through this company, knowing any possible standstills in the process is important.

Thanks Bacon.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media