paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on igetshotalot's Review / Comments on igetshotalot's Review / Comments on igetshotalot's Review / Comments on igetshotalot's Review / Comments on igetshotalot's Review

Comments on igetshotalot's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

igetshotalot Sunday, May 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month193 of 223 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, Rental Tipmans
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra ACS 05' stock everything. Halo B, Pure Energy 20oz C02 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
You really want a fast hopper, the halo did great on mine. Going to air would be a great thing because I was out shooting my c02 tank regularly. (see below)
Strengths: Good Looking
No Chops
Pretty Accurate
Runs c02
Weaknesses: Hard to see light modes on grip in daylight
Review: Well I have been playing paintball for a few months now, and wanted something a little
More then just the Spyder Xtra. I was looking at an AutoCocker and a Smart Parts Ion. The major turn offs with the ion is that a lot of people said it was like holding a toy, and on top of that requires compressed air. (I donít have the money to get a compressed air tank). I also do some playing at non-paintball parks where refilling it would be impossible. The Autococker was really cool, but was a lot of money and also didnít (technically) require Air according to the Worr website but everyone I spoke to who had Autocockers only would run air through them.

So six days before today (May 22, 2005) I found out that Kingman was going to release the Electra ACS 05 with all the trimmings for a spyder. And since I loved my Xtra, I figured it would be an Xtra on steroids! (Same internal mechanisms just with nicer guts, ex: the delrin bolt) And it was, and I love it. One of the main sellers of the gun was that it runs on c02, because I donít have the funds to go to air. I figured I wouldnít get the Ď30 balls per secondí as advertised but hey, itís going to be faster then what I have now.

It really feels solid, the rocking trigger takes some getting used to but once you do, you either hate it or love it, myself I adapted to it just fine, however my wife hates it. I out shot my c02 supply a few times by going really fast. But hey I figured my c02 was going to cause a bottle neck anyway (Get it?? c02 bottle, bottle neck! I am a riot!!!) Anyhow the thing is a tank, I tripped out on the field and hit the concrete and the gun smacked an iron support pole and then landed on the concrete. Oh NO!!!! Not a scratch! And just for grins I took it to the chrono at the park and shot as fast as I could, hey, it worked great!!!

The rechargeable battery is kind of a strength and a weakness, its cool that I can recharge it, but at the same time I wish I could just have 3 9-volt batteries on hand in case of one dries up. But, shooting a case and a half of paint and playing for 4 hours, it didnít indicate the battery was low, so I am optimistic. It charges with the normal charger in 5 hours, and with a rapid charger around 1 hour.

Anyway, the halo hopper fit great on it, and functioned perfectly. I couldnít be happier with the combo of the two. The barrel is was pretty good, I am used to a tear drop, the barrel that came with it did fine. I canít complain, I donít really want to spend more money on it then I have to.
Conclusion: Would I recommend it? Hell Yeah!

Its sleek, its Sexy! It shoots fast! Its strong as hell! Itís a fast shooting marker that runs fine on c02! The grip lights are a little dim in the sun light, but you soon learn that you turn the grip on, and click the button and you are in semi-automatic mode with the safety off. It isnít hard.

I turned some heads on the paintball field with it, and I am proud to use it. I think Kingman did a great job on it.

No, its not an Angel, its not a $1000 marker. Itís an ďIon CompetitorĒ as a friend of mine put it, and as one it does a great job!

You wanna shoot fast & have a metal gun? Want to run c02 because pumping out the cash for air and not having the availability to get compressed air all the time? Then this is a marker you will be happy with, I adore mine.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
King21 Sunday, May 22nd, 2005 | 8:53 pm PST
Great review; now I wanna get the gun. :D
   

AsphaltDragon Monday, May 23rd, 2005 | 8:51 am PST
Not a bad gun, but I wouldn't match it against my Ion. The main difference is the eyes on the Ion, which bump up the cost a little bit, but completely eliminates chops. Chops may happen with the ACS, because it cannot reset fast enough, however, with a fast hopper the Electra will be very suitable. Good review. By the way, you can use Co2 on an Ion, as long as it's antisiphoned.
   

iamsasquatch Monday, May 23rd, 2005 | 2:52 pm PST
awsome review. i was debating on wethere to get the gun or not... but now i have to!!!!
   

Kamikaze33 Monday, May 23rd, 2005 | 5:10 pm PST
hey i have the newer Xtra, tricked out of course. My buddy just got an ion like last month, and now hes saying i should get one. But im not entirely sold on it and im trying to keep me options open. This review did just that. good job!
   

Kamakaze29 Tuesday, May 24th, 2005 | 5:22 am PST
An "Ion Competitor", it's not even a competition, the Ion will take this gun any day. And it aint capable of 30bps you'd be lucky to get 20bps. If anyone is gonna get this gun think twice bout the Ion, hope you choose wisely, I suggest you with the ION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
   

punkpaintballer Tuesday, May 24th, 2005 | 1:08 pm PST
i bet this gun could beat the ion STOCK both guns stock!!!
   

TANK PAINT Wednesday, May 25th, 2005 | 2:47 pm PST
i have an ACS bolt in my xtra. It eliminates about 80% of the chopping (I got C.A.M.D. frame too and HAD a ricochet apache. Now i got a Halo B and i doubt i'll chop). My point is eyes are better than ACS. If u got like a revy on this gun, ur screwed. Ion > wrath & electra. FACT not opinion. Go with the Ion in this price range.
   

AsphaltDragon Wednesday, May 25th, 2005 | 4:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by TANK PAINT
i have an ACS bolt in my xtra. It eliminates about 80% of the chopping (I got C.A.M.D. frame too and HAD a ricochet apache. Now i got a Halo B and i doubt i'll chop). My point is eyes are better than ACS. If u got like a revy on this gun, ur screwed. Ion > wrath & electra. FACT not opinion. Go with the Ion in this price range.

The truth, friends, TANK PAINT, kudos to you.
   

Fat Lard Wednesday, May 25th, 2005 | 6:56 pm PST
lol, this gun isn't even high end. Sure it looks great, but it's way too overpriced;$50 more expensive than the Ion(not to mention it doesn't even have eyes). There is also no way you can achieve 30 bps, even if the delrin bolt is fast enough to load that fast. That rocker trigger is bad (IN MY OPINION) considering I don't think you'll be able to replace it with another trigger (correct me if I'm wrong).

Not to mention that its still an open bolt blow back, like the BKO and Wrath. These are VERY outdated nowadays. (that means you'll be having alot more problems with the gun).

CONCLUSION: Ion>ANY Spyder, Wraths, and BKOs
(my, and most people's, opinions)
   

brickwahl62zr50 Thursday, May 26th, 2005 | 7:39 am PST
I think little kids should be banned from writing reviews??? agreed?
   

rycpaintball Thursday, May 26th, 2005 | 9:14 am PST
I have both an ion and a wrath because i had the money and wanted to compare. Well really my brothers got the ion and i'v got the wrath. Because i have both guns i have used both on the fields. In my opinion the wrath is better. The ion feels like it will break and the wrath can shot faster. Everyone says the wraths got a bad trigger but if your not a complete idiot you can do some minor adjustments on the trigger. Get the wrath.
   

AsphaltDragon Thursday, May 26th, 2005 | 3:50 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by rycpaintball
I have both an ion and a wrath because i had the money and wanted to compare. Well really my brothers got the ion and i'v got the wrath. Because i have both guns i have used both on the fields. In my opinion the wrath is better. The ion feels like it will break and the wrath can shot faster. Everyone says the wraths got a bad trigger but if your not a complete idiot you can do some minor adjustments on the trigger. Get the wrath.

The Ion is hands down, better than any gun you'll find for 450 or less $, and I can say that with confidence, as a local store has compared them to practically every gun they stock, and the Ion wins out in efficiency and reliability. Say what you want, give your own opinions, but you can't deny the facts.
   

rynabina Thursday, May 26th, 2005 | 6:57 pm PST
The ion's 17 a second doesnt come relativly close to the thirty this thing CAN DO. I saw a guy easily outrun a z board evl 2 (23 on the evil 2 i no i no) but he was out shooting it by a lot. The ion cant chop and this thing does sometimes if you dont have the right hopper. But the fact is, the electra is better. the people saying the ion are better are just ion owners mad that they bought that over this.
   

rynabina Thursday, May 26th, 2005 | 6:58 pm PST
The ion's 17 a second doesnt come relativly close to the thirty this thing CAN DO. I saw a guy easily outrun a z board evl 2 (23 on the evil 2 i no i no) but he was out shooting it by a lot. The ion cant chop and this thing does sometimes if you dont have the right hopper. But the fact is, the electra is better. the people saying the ion are better are just ion owners mad that they bought that over this.
   

SheepZ Thursday, May 26th, 2005 | 8:11 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Kamakaze29
An "Ion Competitor", it's not even a competition, the Ion will take this gun any day. And it aint capable of 30bps you'd be lucky to get 20bps. If anyone is gonna get this gun think twice bout the Ion, hope you choose wisely, I suggest you with the ION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

already faster than Ion :P
   

iamsasquatch Friday, May 27th, 2005 | 3:51 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by brickwahl62zr50
I think little kids should be banned from writing reviews??? agreed?

That's the best idea i've heard in a long time
   

AsphaltDragon Friday, May 27th, 2005 | 3:57 am PST
DO NOT ATTEMPT TO AVOID THE SWEAR FILTER!***
I may be coming off as a biased Ion owner, but rest assured, I was considering the Wrath for a long time. You, however, are being a hypocrite, because you're bashing the Ion, and whoring the Wrath. So, don't tell me your opinions, when I have the facts. If you'd like to recreate these tests performed by my store, I can tell you the circumstances used, and you can try them. I'm not pissed at anyone who wants an Electra, but I am pissed at the BS about them.
And no, I'm not a little kid, if you were intending those comments for me.
Last edited on Friday, May 27th, 2005 at 3:58 am PST
   

King21 Friday, May 27th, 2005 | 4:26 pm PST
This gun is even cheaper. The price at this one site is $335 canadain, but that sucks that the rocking trigger frame is on it, I would rather like a fenix frame, but im thinking about a second gun thats runs on Un-siphoned Co2 any ideas besides this one?
That is still good and cheap :D
Last edited on Friday, May 27th, 2005 at 4:26 pm PST
   

bakerskater124 Saturday, May 28th, 2005 | 11:00 am PST
I have shot both the Ion and the new Electra.All stock except both with Halo B, PMI Pure Energy 20 oz., and 5 people all shot them. My team was going to get the Ion deal at the NPPL when we went to the Kingman booth and saw some guy letting kids try out the new Electra. We tried it out and what a fast gun I was holding. I agree with the people saying the Ion feels like a plastic toy gun, but I think they think this for the plastic trigger and light weight. The Electra is a good gun for the price, but so is the Ion. Some people on the team has Ions now and some have Electras. You can all say your opinions, but they are just so. The person that made the review (which is good by the way) has his opinion and you have yours. So stop the dissing.
   

AsphaltDragon Sunday, May 29th, 2005 | 2:14 pm PST
Confirmed : Rocking trigger not tournament legal where I live, or in any of the Atlantics.
   
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media