paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Beowolfff's Review / Comments on Beowolfff's Review / Comments on Beowolfff's Review / Comments on Beowolfff's Review / Comments on Beowolfff's Review

Comments on Beowolfff's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Beowolfff Friday, June 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock brick
Marker Setup: 98 Custom on Nitrogen / Flatline / Remote Line / ShockTech Bolt /Dark Horizon Hammer / Smarty Ion
Strengths: Titanium
Weaknesses: Pricey
Review: The Dark Horizon works. End of story. Simple physics should prove to anyone that doubts this that : mass + velocity = impact.
Don't believe it? Shoot yourself with your marker....now throw a brick at your foot. Which hurt worse?

The bolt on a 98 is a chunk of aluminum that will - in a lot of instances....crack the rear housing on the markers after long usage.
The titanium hammer is about 60% lighter in mass than the stock one. Less mass traveling = less internal weight being thrown back and forth in the housing.
This equals far less recoil, as well as overall weight on the marker itself. The marker will also shoot faster....especailly if you have an RT installed.
Simple stuff.
Conclusion: Want your marker to act like a new one? get the DH Titanium.
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
AirSin2000 Friday, June 3rd, 2005 | 10:09 pm PST
help marker yes, but also hurt marker. Lighter valves can also offset the dwell time of a valve. Thus a spring kit is needed along with some tinkering to get that dwell just right.
   

Beowolfff Sunday, June 5th, 2005 | 12:55 pm PST
Agreed - I even went so far as to ask the "tech" at DH why this occured ....even when they TELL YOU that spring changes are not required. - Never answered my question.
I guess I was lucky - no spring change needed. What's your set up?
Good point.
   

AirSin2000 Monday, June 6th, 2005 | 7:41 pm PST
Well right now, I am running a Piranha. I ported the valve and milled the hammer. I don't have it runnig b/c I need to get a spring kit.
   

Beowolfff Tuesday, June 7th, 2005 | 4:17 pm PST
There's the problem - Piranhas require a spring change. I shoot a 98.
   

AirSin2000 Wednesday, June 8th, 2005 | 8:07 am PST
Yeah I know. That is the one thing I like about tippies, inline set-up.
   

Beowolfff Thursday, June 9th, 2005 | 7:38 pm PST
Lots of neat stuff about the 98s. It's the small block of markers. You can do so many things to it that it's unreal...including run over it.
Simple design - very tough - cheap - easy to work on - reliable - upgradable - EVERYBODY makes parts for it.
Headed to D-Day tomorrow with the new RT & Titanium hammer. I'll let ya know how it went!
   

AirSin2000 Friday, June 10th, 2005 | 11:21 am PST
Sweetness.
   

Beowolfff Tuesday, June 14th, 2005 | 4:35 pm PST
Having issues with the hammer. I too, believe that it needs a stronger spring.....

*Yep - needed the Maddman kit. Stock spring is too light to make the Titanium function properly.
* Also - customer support from Dark Horizon ..... sucks. Well, it can't really suck if it doesn't exist, can it.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 21st, 2005 at 7:28 pm PST
   

Pattons3rd Wednesday, August 17th, 2005 | 8:41 am PST
lol
   

FGC Sunday, December 4th, 2005 | 9:17 pm PST
I had no probs with customer support, all the way round the other side of the world.

So you guys would recommend a spring kit as well?
   

Unti Friday, December 22nd, 2006 | 8:44 am PST
Sorry to correct you on this but it's:
mass * velocity = force (impact)
so it depends on how high you drop the brick =D
but on a side note spring kit really did help my gun out and with a RT you can keep up with very expensive guns...
   

shadow69691 Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007 | 12:37 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Unti
Sorry to correct you on this but it's:
mass * velocity = force (impact)
so it depends on how high you drop the brick =D
but on a side note spring kit really did help my gun out and with a RT you can keep up with very expensive guns...

actually, mass*velocity = momentum, not force
   

bunkerem Friday, November 2nd, 2007 | 7:49 pm PST
....actually,

Kinetic Energy= 1/2Mass x Velocity^2

   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media