paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on FALAT_WHMC's Review / Comments on FALAT_WHMC's Review / Comments on FALAT_WHMC's Review / Comments on FALAT_WHMC's Review / Comments on FALAT_WHMC's Review

Comments on FALAT_WHMC's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

FALAT_WHMC Sunday, July 17th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months68 of 180 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse and Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: Stock with HPA and Halo B hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Differnt Gun
Strengths: It was cheap
Weaknesses: Hose connections, frame, body, Setup,
Review: When I first bought my gun I though I had really made out due to the price. I figured that Smart parts had been a reasonably reliable brand name. I got home opened the box and found what I thought was every thing in the box. There was the wrench, gun, barrel, battery, barrel condom, manual and registration card. What did not realize was missing until I consulted a friend was the repair kit.

Looking through the manual I saw how to set the gun up and adjust the electronics. I found having to remove the grip to do so quite a pain and poor design. I understand since it is hoped to be used by tournament players and the restrictions put on those guns. Yet since this gun is only suited for random target practice in the backyard.

When first gassing up the gun leaked like a sieve. All throughout the body there were leaks. I called Smart Parts the next day and the rude tech-support was completely ineffective. I ended up taking it back to the store that I bought it. He looked at it and fixed in a couple of days in time to play on Satuday.

Took it home and ran though a Ĺ case in the back yard getting used to how the adjustments affect the performance of the gun.

On Saturday the gun did alright it never achieved the 17 BPM. Even with a Halo B hopper. But as the day continued the gun developed a leak from the grip. Latter diagnosed as the solenoid. This is killed the day. I ended up with a rental for the rest of the due to the cheap piece of cr** .

Brought it back to the shop to get it looked at a gain it took almost a week to be told it had to go back to Smart Parts to be fixed.

When I finally got my gun back 1 Ĺ weeks later it seemed to be fine for a while. Again the ritual of Saturday paint ball came around. The gun did well but I though I heard a light leak and then the world blew up a large leak explode with in the gun during a game. It ended up being one of the banjo joints. Back to Smart Parts it went. The break occurred so that the treads were stuck in the Ion Chamber.

At this point a have washed my hands of this gun.


As I read the reviews on this marker I shake my head and wonder how many of these posters believe what they are saying, or are they just trying to justify spending money on something that does not work as well or they are in collusion with Smart Parts in some way trying to make sure they continue to sell.

I can honestly say that the Ion is Smart Parts answer to the cheap Chinese made guns flooding the market, was is really said to say is that it was really made in the USA.

Smart Parts rushed to compete, but it really shows how little they put in to it. The gun feels cheap.

Described as a tournament grade marker, the Ion falls short on consistancy and sustainability. A long string of balls produces shootdown in such drastic proportions that I thought originally I had run out of air.

In my opinion, anyone insisting on buying a marker that was not properly tested, deserves what they get, it is people too lazy to research that allows Smart Parts and Brass Eagle to keep putting out lame markers and weak products. From what we can tell the Smart Parts plan was to sell to the 13-17 age group, relying on their lack of consumer savvy to boost sales on the ION.

I spend the extra money for a real dependable gun I bough a Smart Part Impulse with Vision. I am not agaist Smart Parts products. Just the Ion was a horrible gun.
Conclusion: With the total lack of quality and horrible performance I give it a 1. Some might say I had a lemon but after I sent it back to Smart Parts and gave them a chance to fix the gun. There fix just proves that they donít care enough to put quality into this product.

To add to the whole thing the price of these guns a haas take a huge dive. When they came out they were fetching about 250 -270 used on e-bay; now they go for about 202-210 used. Word is out that there have been way to many problems with this gun. I t might work for some but it could not have gone worse unless it exploded in my face.
Rating:
1 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Slasher_99 Sunday, January 15th, 2006 | 10:46 am PST
there is about 120 pages of reviews for this gun 10 of those pages are below 8/10 so why would anybody not listen to what the majority of the people have to say about this gun. I think i will ignore the 1 out of every 100 people who say this gun sucks. Maybe all those people had defective guns or there just stupid. Thats what i thought u stupid noob.
   

Menace14 Saturday, January 21st, 2006 | 3:10 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by iliveforthis99
Well i can understand why you gave it a 1. But i must say i've had no problems w/ my ion besides a leak and a blown gauge. That was caused by the person who was putting a qev in it. And you are correct about how you can't do 17bps on it. You have to put some ups on it to make it rip. And as for the imp being better then the ion. I don't know, both guns have there pro and cons.

What are you talking about that no one can max out this marker ive seen lots of people do it and they have stock ones
   

ronbunkerz#2 Thursday, January 26th, 2006 | 2:04 pm PST
Dispute:
No Way the ion doesnt deserve a 1 out of 10 its way better than that
   

SPBaller4Life Saturday, February 11th, 2006 | 11:13 pm PST
Nothing he said in his review is true about the ion. dont give the gun a 1 because you hate the gun.
   

LandonBlake Thursday, February 23rd, 2006 | 10:44 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by ronbunkerz#2
No Way the ion doesnt deserve a 1 out of 10 its way better than that

It doesn't deserve a 10 of 10 either, its way too sorry for that.
   

art vandelay Saturday, April 8th, 2006 | 11:59 pm PST
well he probily had his head stuchk up his butt and could not tell his nose from a printer,......so how could he tell if this gun is good or not.

stupid boy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!
   

spyderlover6mil Monday, May 15th, 2006 | 4:16 pm PST
And did he turn the reg down beforefore he aired it up. Or did he even read the manual before airng it up(like you always should)
   

Magman1687 Saturday, June 17th, 2006 | 4:20 pm PST
Sorry man, I'm def. going to have to disagree with you.....
If over 900 people rate a gun and it gets an average of 9.0, then that's a da#n good gun.
It's possible that you got a lemon, and it sounds like you did.
But is it totally necessary to label all ion's as crap?
I've used about 5 different ions in the past month that are just great markers.
Granted they aren't perfect, is any stock marker?

All i'm saying is that people reading this should def. not listen to just a handful of critics.

My 2 cents
   

MRPie Monday, June 26th, 2006 | 3:06 pm PST
Dispute:
Just take a look at all the other reviews on this site donít listen to this guy just because he has a vendetta the Ion is a great marker... oh yeah and I like pie
Last edited on Monday, June 26th, 2006 at 3:11 pm PST
   

sfig4 Friday, July 7th, 2006 | 9:20 am PST
Dispute:
Youre review is just totaly wrong. 1/4 of the review is not even yours:



can honestly say that the Ion is Smart Parts answer to the cheap Chinese made guns flooding the market, was is really said to say is that it was really made in the USA.

Smart Parts rushed to compete, but it really shows how little they put in to it. The gun feels cheap.

Described as a tournament grade marker, the Ion falls short on consistancy and sustainability. A long string of balls produces shootdown in such drastic proportions that I thought originally I had run out of air.

In my opinion, anyone insisting on buying a marker that was not properly tested, deserves what they get, it is people too lazy to research that allows Smart Parts and Brass Eagle to keep putting out lame markers and weak products. From what we can tell the Smart Parts plan was to sell to the 13-17 age group, relying on their lack of consumer savvy to boost sales on the ION.

I spend the extra money for a real dependable gun I bough a Smart Part Impulse with Vision. I am not agaist Smart Parts products. Just the Ion was a horrible gun.


   

runningw235 Thursday, August 3rd, 2006 | 12:38 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by vb_master
Yeah, so 17 BPS is impossible to hit with the stock trigger (read on a site). Get a better one. A friend of mine told me that one of his friends got it to 21 BPS on semi.

Smart Parts is a good company, and Ion is a good gun, just upgrade.


It is litterally impossible to get any marker to 21 bps on semi. Very few people can do that with ramping.
   

runningw235 Tuesday, August 15th, 2006 | 2:42 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by vb_master
Yeah, so 17 BPS is impossible to hit with the stock trigger (read on a site). Get a better one. A friend of mine told me that one of his friends got it to 21 BPS on semi.

Smart Parts is a good company, and Ion is a good gun, just upgrade.



it is impossible to get any marker in the world to 21 bps on semi, much less an ion.
   

JaredPBaller Friday, August 18th, 2006 | 8:27 am PST
Well all i have to say is that my ion is nothing but awesome i got it up to 27 bps with my virtue board an sp firebolt this gun is awesome worth every penny
   

Heretic 666 Monday, October 2nd, 2006 | 9:05 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by runningw235


It is litterally impossible to get any marker to 21 bps on semi. Very few people can do that with ramping.


Are you Fu*king Retarded, 21 BPS is easy i could do that with no problem on my friends A-bomb, Proto, dragon, DM6, and I maxed out a totally stock Ion when i was a noob. Dude learn to rip. If u just practice tappin on random stuff u get it real quick.
   

wildhorse351 Friday, October 6th, 2006 | 8:47 am PST
I think your a friggin idiot. Learn how to operate a gun Noob and you wont have problems. I work for a paintball store. People like you are why i have a job. Jacka$$.
Last edited on Friday, October 6th, 2006 at 8:52 am PST
   

nutcracker91111 Wednesday, October 18th, 2006 | 2:16 pm PST
what is better the o6 electra with eyes or the ion?
   

tennesseepaint Saturday, October 21st, 2006 | 9:18 pm PST
Who ever said that this is a one, is retarded, what the heck you can honestly say that a spyder pos imagine is better than an ion, but i guess theres always gunna be some idiot who opposes everyone elses comments, the gun is great and this guy has no idea what he's talkin about.
   

afroninja Tuesday, November 14th, 2006 | 6:28 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by nutcracker91111
what is better the o6 electra with eyes or the ion?

i'd say the ion...and i'm not some big ion fanboy i don't even own one...i was reading these to think about buying one.

anyway....dude you probably just got a lemon or something....
anyway, why bother writing the review? you know what it did? nothing. i still want to buy an ion after reading this.
   

Himself68 Sunday, December 10th, 2006 | 1:09 pm PST
excellent review bravo and btw the ion will never rip. Get a real gun
   

IonKid24 Sunday, December 10th, 2006 | 1:10 pm PST
your a retard y would you rate it a 1 its an awesome gun
   
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media