paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on FALAT_WHMC's Review / Comments on FALAT_WHMC's Review / Comments on FALAT_WHMC's Review / Comments on FALAT_WHMC's Review / Comments on FALAT_WHMC's Review

Comments on FALAT_WHMC's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

FALAT_WHMC Sunday, July 17th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months68 of 180 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse and Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: Stock with HPA and Halo B hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Differnt Gun
Strengths: It was cheap
Weaknesses: Hose connections, frame, body, Setup,
Review: When I first bought my gun I though I had really made out due to the price. I figured that Smart parts had been a reasonably reliable brand name. I got home opened the box and found what I thought was every thing in the box. There was the wrench, gun, barrel, battery, barrel condom, manual and registration card. What did not realize was missing until I consulted a friend was the repair kit.

Looking through the manual I saw how to set the gun up and adjust the electronics. I found having to remove the grip to do so quite a pain and poor design. I understand since it is hoped to be used by tournament players and the restrictions put on those guns. Yet since this gun is only suited for random target practice in the backyard.

When first gassing up the gun leaked like a sieve. All throughout the body there were leaks. I called Smart Parts the next day and the rude tech-support was completely ineffective. I ended up taking it back to the store that I bought it. He looked at it and fixed in a couple of days in time to play on Satuday.

Took it home and ran though a ˝ case in the back yard getting used to how the adjustments affect the performance of the gun.

On Saturday the gun did alright it never achieved the 17 BPM. Even with a Halo B hopper. But as the day continued the gun developed a leak from the grip. Latter diagnosed as the solenoid. This is killed the day. I ended up with a rental for the rest of the due to the cheap piece of cr** .

Brought it back to the shop to get it looked at a gain it took almost a week to be told it had to go back to Smart Parts to be fixed.

When I finally got my gun back 1 ˝ weeks later it seemed to be fine for a while. Again the ritual of Saturday paint ball came around. The gun did well but I though I heard a light leak and then the world blew up a large leak explode with in the gun during a game. It ended up being one of the banjo joints. Back to Smart Parts it went. The break occurred so that the treads were stuck in the Ion Chamber.

At this point a have washed my hands of this gun.


As I read the reviews on this marker I shake my head and wonder how many of these posters believe what they are saying, or are they just trying to justify spending money on something that does not work as well or they are in collusion with Smart Parts in some way trying to make sure they continue to sell.

I can honestly say that the Ion is Smart Parts answer to the cheap Chinese made guns flooding the market, was is really said to say is that it was really made in the USA.

Smart Parts rushed to compete, but it really shows how little they put in to it. The gun feels cheap.

Described as a tournament grade marker, the Ion falls short on consistancy and sustainability. A long string of balls produces shootdown in such drastic proportions that I thought originally I had run out of air.

In my opinion, anyone insisting on buying a marker that was not properly tested, deserves what they get, it is people too lazy to research that allows Smart Parts and Brass Eagle to keep putting out lame markers and weak products. From what we can tell the Smart Parts plan was to sell to the 13-17 age group, relying on their lack of consumer savvy to boost sales on the ION.

I spend the extra money for a real dependable gun I bough a Smart Part Impulse with Vision. I am not agaist Smart Parts products. Just the Ion was a horrible gun.
Conclusion: With the total lack of quality and horrible performance I give it a 1. Some might say I had a lemon but after I sent it back to Smart Parts and gave them a chance to fix the gun. There fix just proves that they don’t care enough to put quality into this product.

To add to the whole thing the price of these guns a haas take a huge dive. When they came out they were fetching about 250 -270 used on e-bay; now they go for about 202-210 used. Word is out that there have been way to many problems with this gun. I t might work for some but it could not have gone worse unless it exploded in my face.
Rating:
1 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
pepsi4all Tuesday, December 12th, 2006 | 6:06 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by runningw235



it is impossible to get any marker in the world to 21 bps on semi, much less an ion.



Well I got my dark g7 fly to 24 bps... wanna see??? come over.. and bring your own paint.
   

pepsi4all Tuesday, December 12th, 2006 | 6:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by afroninja


i'd say the ion...and i'm not some big ion fanboy i don't even own one...i was reading these to think about buying one.

anyway....dude you probably just got a lemon or something....
anyway, why bother writing the review? you know what it did? nothing. i still want to buy an ion after reading this.



isn't electra how a great KICK??? how is ion? does it have a kick??? how bad???
   

nos888 Sunday, December 31st, 2006 | 5:28 pm PST
okay first off I own an ion and the thing is super easy to fix. Also you have to take the magnet out of the trigger for the ion to really rip. I ripped 17bps out of my ion easily. I can see where you could have problems with the ion I myself have stripped one of the banjo fittings that goes to my trigger frame, but you know with alittle thinking I fixed the problem with our buying a new frame. So I believe that it isn't smart parts quality just your ignorance about how the gun works. All the problems you discribed could have been fixed in just a couple of hours. Maybe you should read the manual so that you understand how it works instead of throwing it under your bed and complaining when your gun doesn't function correctly. Also you probably had poor drop off because your dwell was to low. Dont mess with the settings unless you actually know what they do.
   

Ellio P Baller Monday, January 1st, 2007 | 3:10 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Chazzmasta
You are sadly correct. The quality is terrible, you are the only person I have seen so far who gave a 1 that is acually correct! And I agree with you the impulse is the best gun Smart Parts has made! I had a shocker it sucked!

i have used an impulse but never a shocker, and ppl say that it shoots just as good as my proto 06 and minion,
y might the impulse be better?
   

madcow1 Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007 | 1:40 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Chazzmasta
You are sadly correct. The quality is terrible, you are the only person I have seen so far who gave a 1 that is acually correct! And I agree with you the impulse is the best gun Smart Parts has made! I had a shocker it sucked!
UR FULL OF CRAP!!! U GAVE THE ION A 7 ON UR REVIEW AND THE SHOCKER A 9!!!!!! WHAT THE CRAP??????????
   

haggggard Friday, January 12th, 2007 | 3:41 pm PST
this guy is right the ion sucks butt and the proto matrix rail rulessssssss
   

stinkabutt Sunday, January 21st, 2007 | 1:48 pm PST
great review
   

coadymac Wednesday, February 7th, 2007 | 5:53 pm PST
man spyders suck compared to ions, spyder just jacked up the bps so people would get it theres no way a VS3 can get 30 bps
   

coadymac Wednesday, February 7th, 2007 | 5:53 pm PST
shockers own spyders lmao you dont see the pros using a dynasty spyder hahahaha
   

dyebpoy Tuesday, February 20th, 2007 | 9:36 am PST
Dispute:
wow there is something wrong with you i have had many guns and the ion is still one of the best guns i have ever shot and it is also reliable, and no i am not employed by smart parts or anything like that. ion is just a great gun
   

dyebpoy Tuesday, February 20th, 2007 | 9:37 am PST
NO ONE LISTEN TO THIS GUY HE IS WRONG THE ION IS A GREAT GUN
   

Mukgtine Friday, February 23rd, 2007 | 1:01 pm PST
Dispute:
too much bias and personal experience... not really reviewing the gun
   

JREPB Sunday, March 11th, 2007 | 10:54 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by BoonieGuy04
I saw greg hasting in G4tv and he shot the electra and it sounded like the electra shot fast. Hey doesnt the electra(20 bps) shoot faster than the ION (17bps). I have an ION and it works really well for me.
Ok, the ion can be upped so its not really an ion anymore. The ion is the best!
   

chubalishous Wednesday, March 21st, 2007 | 6:15 pm PST
Dispute:
ur wrong
   

RandomSoda69 Sunday, April 8th, 2007 | 9:23 pm PST
i think that you just got a bad gun.I got my ion about 6-7 months ago and when i got it i had no problems and still don't till this day.
   

epygit Friday, April 20th, 2007 | 8:24 pm PST
Dispute:
not true
   

ion_boy Friday, April 27th, 2007 | 7:29 pm PST
why does everybody hate ions there great guns there is pretty nuch nothing stock on mine but i loved stock. The guy under me that says his spyder is way better than an ion is IDIOT!!!!!!!!! I played with a Spyder Electra and it sucks the blow back is crazy it throws me off so bad and it half cocks no eyes it sucks. and everybody saying that it doesnt hit 17 stock your wright mine only did 16!!!! if it has a leak then its the hose how does that have anything to do with the ion the same hose's are in most other guns. what annoys me the most is that you guys act like you 1200 for it YOU DIDNT!!!!!!!! please if anybody disagrees i would love to argue contact me
   

cmabry Saturday, May 5th, 2007 | 10:33 am PST
This seems like a pretty bogus review. I have been playin with crappy guns for 3 years and this is not one. I bought it for cheap and have never had any problems. I have a achieved the 19 balls per second with the halo B without problem. This guy obviously doesn't know what hes talkin about. haha noob
   

vs3 guy Monday, May 28th, 2007 | 6:28 am PST
mentally retarded people should not own ions
   

sharpobjects Monday, May 28th, 2007 | 7:58 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by ronbunkerz#2
No Way the ion doesnt deserve a 1 out of 10 its way better than that

Wow, theres a lot of logic there. /sarcasm

If you people would stop worrying about how much you think you're marker is better on a website, and started playing more, you'd be a better player.

A buddy of mine had an Ion, but it broke down over a few games. His experience was like that of the reviewer's here.

Good, informative review, not like a lot of the 10 giving 13 year olds that barely realize how their marker even works.
   
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media