paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on ImpyKillah's Review / Comments on ImpyKillah's Review / Comments on ImpyKillah's Review / Comments on ImpyKillah's Review / Comments on ImpyKillah's Review

Comments on ImpyKillah's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

ImpyKillah Thursday, July 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month87 of 99 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse Vision-- The ProMaster destroys it stock
Marker Setup: Impulse Vision w/ Maxflo
3000/48 nitro tank
Blade trigger
Dye grips
Tapeworm
Recommended
Upgrades:
You have to buy a duckbill or drop for it and a macroline (doesn't come with them)

Otherwise, I love this gun stock
Strengths: FAST!!! (tested to 40 bps)
High Quality
Delrin bolt
...alot of other things
Weaknesses: Only tested and couldn't find one, I'll update once I get mine
Review: I tested this baby at a scenario game and I knew it was a must-have. The guy said it's the B2K5, but I don't know if it's replacing the B2K, BKO or both. I own an Impulse but I'm not biased against ICD at all because this baby is going to replace my Imp (which I do love). OK, time to review. The ProMaster is nice and light and with the small drop the guy had, it was very well balanced. I've read up about this gun, and you can have it governed at 15 bps, but it's easily set to unlimited bps by the flick of switch in the grip. It also has stock ramping which is great for those with slow fingers. The ProMaster I shot was set on semi with unlimited bps, and all i can say is that it is exactly like an Impulse with WAS, but the gun is smaller and lighter! The stock barrel is not shabby at all, but you may want to get a barrel kit somewhere down the line. The feel of the gun is great, and the blade trigger, which can be adjusted at 4 points is more than acceptable. The delrin bolt that comes with it is pretty good, but not great, and it is nice not to have to lube it and it allows great gas efficiancy. I like the milling on this gun, and it is even sexier than the milling on the B2K4 (which I liked a lot). It is a bit smaller than the old BKO and B2K4 too, and it is extremely comfy to hold. The grips are very nice, and the trigger frame is very comfortable. The trigger frame is comparable to that on the Ton-Ton Shocker. To me, in that price to performance ratio that we have had in paintball over the last year or so with the Ion, Wrath, Defiant, BKO and some other guns coming out, this gun takes the cake by far. This gun shoots better than some Timmys I've shot, but don't expect it to be a DM5 or Ego because it's not, but now you can easily take on the guys with those guns. This is the best buy in paintball today.
Conclusion: You Ion owners should have definately waited for this baby to come out before you bought your gun, which is completely outclassed by this. Not only does it perform better, easier to clean and maintain, and look better than an Ion, Wrath etc., it's only about $100 more which shouldn't be that hard to get. I'm not totally bashing those guns, I'm just saying that they should be worth about $150 compared to this marker. So you should probably sell your Ion now before its resale is about to go way down. At $390, and you're thinking about buying a new gun, look no further, because now even newbs can own a completely tournament grade marker. I tip my hat to ICD which has done a great thing for our sport.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 at 9:30 am PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
buckeyefan012 Saturday, July 30th, 2005 | 7:27 am PST
If you were looking for one they have them on ebay buy it now for 389 i believe or 3 something. And did you really shoot it 40 bps? Also if you got a chance to shoot it with paint how accurate was it. Thanks
   

ImpyKillah Saturday, July 30th, 2005 | 8:27 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by buckeyefan012
If you were looking for one they have them on ebay buy it now for 389 i believe or 3 something. And did you really shoot it 40 bps? Also if you got a chance to shoot it with paint how accurate was it. Thanks

They were free shipping on ebay as well. I myself didn't shoot 40 bps but I looked up on it and the gun was tested to 40 bps compared to the 36 bps of the B2K4. I did shoot it at the field with paint and the stock barrel is very accurate, but a you would probably want to get a barrel kit somewhere down the line.
   

Redroar Saturday, July 30th, 2005 | 8:40 am PST
Considering the fastest recorded shooting is around 20-25bps it doesn't really matter. Unless you use ramping. But think about it, the only hopper that can go that fast is a q-loader and they only hold 100 shots. You would empty in 2.5 seconds.
   

nvpman Saturday, July 30th, 2005 | 11:30 am PST
that gun looks just like a wrath but its better.
   

autto-mattick Saturday, July 30th, 2005 | 7:25 pm PST
yeah these are top notch guns and I'm about to get one at the 1 of 4 places that is selling them. Oh and if you wanna get one now i suggest you order because they only made a few for the first couple weeks
Last edited on Sunday, July 31st, 2005 at 8:41 pm PST
   

hobo_capper Monday, August 1st, 2005 | 8:05 am PST
is this a good entry-tournament gun.. ya know Im starting to get into tourneys and all I have is a TIppmann but I have shot an impulse... could you win tourney with this gun?
will it run on CO2?
   

ImpyKillah Monday, August 1st, 2005 | 9:11 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by hobo_capper
is this a good entry-tournament gun.. ya know Im starting to get into tourneys and all I have is a TIppmann but I have shot an impulse... could you win tourney with this gun?
will it run on CO2?


This gun can run on anti-siphoned CO2 but it is not reccomended. This gun definately qualifies as a tournament marker, it greatly outperforms Ions and Wraths it shoots better than some Timmys and Angels I have shot. It depends on you if you can win a tourny with this gun, becuase it comes down to skill in tournaments, not how fast your gun can shoot.
   

mazzlex Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 | 9:47 am PST
this gun is fantastic and definately is the best deal around right now. finally there is a legit gun thats worth the price. i have a wrath with t-board and that definately outdoes the ion, but now there is even a better deal!
   

ImpyKillah Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 | 5:31 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Redroar
That is a big-ass tank. 3000ci 4700psi....that's a tank the size of a car! Or you put it backwards. That's a possibility.

Whoa buddy! Hell no, my tank is 3000 psi, 48 ci if that clears things up.
   

Response22 Wednesday, August 3rd, 2005 | 10:25 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by hobo_capper
is this a good entry-tournament gun.. ya know Im starting to get into tourneys and all I have is a TIppmann but I have shot an impulse... could you win tourney with this gun?

its not the gun its the player. dont think that just becasuse u bought a "good" gun that it will improve your skill to any significance.

i personally do not like icd. that is my opinion. i have a b2k4 pds that is just sitting in my closet. i had reg and lpr problems from the box and icd customer service is a few fries short of a happy meal.

the gun sounds good, but i wont buy from icd anymore.

the acclaimed 40bps was probably dryfireing, with pds or whatever vision disengaged, and measured in cycles per minute. but when balls are actually shot, the gun then slows.
most new players want only the fastest guns. but have you ever tryied to run through a string of paint at 15 bps? your gonna get hit.
   

piranhaprokid Friday, August 5th, 2005 | 9:40 pm PST
well i am glad this review became another ion bash. LOL the ion has become the butt of so many jokes. I think that it is not fair to this gun to compare it to the io n. i mean come on the technology applied here is as old as the sport. The ion is a cutting edge new design ( no its not an electro mag) I'll b honest i shoot an ion and i know there are tons of beter guns out there. but this cant be on eof them. Indian creek has been in the game for awhile i admit, however other then the freestyle few of their markers have made it big. The freestyle and the ion actually share teh same operating system, Anyway my point is an ion out of the box has some low points true. But for another 80 bux ur ready to rock. 40 dollar trig and 40 dollar qlock. We all know all stock barrels are just so u can try ur new marker out when u get it home, not for real use. whatever though
   

slaminator3323 Saturday, August 6th, 2005 | 5:41 pm PST
I'm gonna have to go with prokid. The Ion is another $135 cheaper than this gun and with that money you could buy all the upgrades necesaary to make it be able to compete with the promaster. Also I hear of past incidents with ICD wiring being faulty. You could probably call me a little bit biased though since I have my heart set on an Ion.
   

pb4fun Monday, August 8th, 2005 | 7:37 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by slaminator3323
I'm gonna have to go with prokid. The Ion is another $135 cheaper than this gun and with that money you could buy all the upgrades necesaary to make it be able to compete with the promaster. Also I hear of past incidents with ICD wiring being faulty. You could probably call me a little bit biased though since I have my heart set on an Ion.

I really dont mean to start a marker bashing contest but howcome all of the ions I have seen are in the shop for board or wiring issues or are malfunctioning on the field. I have a promaster and I love it. I have been getting looks from players with angels and timmy's. Not the kind of look that means what the heck is that thing. I get the looks after firing as fast as they are and then firing faster. I havent personally shot an ion so I cant review that aspect but I know its capped at 17 whereas the Promaster is capped at 40. Its just facts. Also this is just a question how can you quickly clean an ion? And you can call me biased because I own a promaster but I bought it because its the best marker for the money. Anyways the Ion is in a different league than the promaster. Its like comparing Gary Gait to Michael Jordan( for all of you non lacrosse folowers gary gait is the best player that ever lived)
Last edited on Monday, August 8th, 2005 at 7:40 pm PST
   

piranhaprokid Monday, August 8th, 2005 | 9:18 pm PST
you see i have to disagree with u pb4fun. The ion and the promaster were both designed and manufactored with the same intention, to provide an economical marker capable of keeping up with the super guns that dominate our sport. the ion and promaster implement two very differnt operating systems. Your question regarding field stripping the ion should be negated on account of two factos. Eyes and Low pressure. My ion operates on 140 PSI. at that pressure even with the eyes off it is incapable of chopping a paintball. However, in the event that the pressure spikes due to swamp gas in illinious the eyes work flawlessly and prevent the bolt from ever making contact with teh ball. As for the down for repaair question. My only explenation can be that the ion has taken the scene by storm and as a result so many inexperienced players have acquired them without fully versing themselves in the proper maintanence and repair techniques. I am a 6 year veteran of teh sport that previosly shot a heavily modified mech cocker. That said, my properly maintained ion hasnt so much as hissed a leak, nor have i had to clean the breech, as i have not broken a ball in teh breech yet after 6 cases. In the even that a ball does break in teh breech the operator would be forced to either hope he can shoot through it or wait till after the game to clean their marker. Your promaster is "field strippable" which is great. but what abou that whole hammer and ram issue, how long does that take you to remove. I dont have one. I am yet to shoot a promaster., however having been around nearly every other high end marker i feel safe in saying that it shoots no "better" then an ion or any other low pressure electro. With the right barrel. and operator both guns are capable of whatever their user may ask of them.
As biased as i am i will say with all sincerety that the stock trigger on the ion is a joke. That is how SP is able to market such a cheep gun. Cut corners on things like trigs and anos and you get a marker with the same operaitn system as indian creeks flagship marker for a third of the price. Change out the trig, keep the Orings in your stock feedneck, shave your halo to fit it, buy a freak and some HP and the ion will run with anything out there, as i am sure the promaster will too,
happy playing
   

slaminator3323 Monday, August 8th, 2005 | 9:43 pm PST
Most people here know how to fix most problems on their Ions by themselves so IDK.
   

pb4fun Tuesday, August 9th, 2005 | 6:36 am PST
true true. But shoot a promaster before you judge also what purpose would there be to mess with the ram assembly when it works. And when I said that it beats the shocker. I should change that to contends with the shocker. The reason I use a shocker is becuase I have shot alot of SP markers and this is the one I feel it compares most accurately to. Havent shot a nerve yet but I have heard its an overpirced shocker. I will admit the blue stipes with silver back anno for an ion is HAWT.
Last edited on Tuesday, August 9th, 2005 at 8:57 am PST
   

Simpliciticity Saturday, August 13th, 2005 | 2:10 pm PST
Hey i'm 15 and have been doin this for 3 years but never owned an electro gun before. Is there anything i gotta worry about when i get this thing? I plan on playing this thing totally stock with the exception of the barrel and a nice big drop foward w/on/off. I'll learn to adjust the reg and stuff but are there any flux capacitators to adjust when i first gas it up? Can anybody help out an electro noob?
   

pb4fun Saturday, August 13th, 2005 | 2:45 pm PST
This was my first electro as well. If anything its easier than most mechs I have used. Its really easy to adjust. Great choice. Mine is totally stock. Oh yea buy a fast hopper, youll need it with the buttery smooth trigger. Battery is a bit hard to get in tho....... maybe I = special
   

Simpliciticity Sunday, August 14th, 2005 | 10:06 am PST
Ya, im thinkin of gettin a revolution, should be fast enough considering how slow my fingers are. Not like many people can outshoot a viewloader's 17 (i think) bps unless they really start to get it ramping. What kind of barrel threading does it have?
   

pb4fun Sunday, August 14th, 2005 | 10:46 am PST
Timmy or Cocker threading same thing. I would atleast get an egg. You will be suprised how fast it can fire, even if you fingers are slow.
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media