paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on lostazncause's Review / Comments on lostazncause's Review / Comments on lostazncause's Review / Comments on lostazncause's Review / Comments on lostazncause's Review

Comments on lostazncause's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

lostazncause Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested11 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion, trilogy
other guns used that may or may not be similar:Timmys, shocker, defiant, tippmanns, spyders, dm4/5, ego, e2 cocker
Marker Setup: black ion
cp razor drop/asa
AA barrel
cp reg
egg2 zboard (revvy backup)
nitro duck 68/300 carbon fiber
dye sticky3
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much really, a drop and a barrel kit if you want it.
Strengths: Crazy smooth trigger, lighter/smaller than previous ICD designs, Decently fast. cocker threads. cheap.
Weaknesses: No macroline/asa (dont quote me on this one) Speed?
Review: Keep in mind this is a very basic review as I have not gotten to put it throught all the tests I do with most of my markers.

On first appearance and holding the gun, the first impression is that the marker is lighter and smaller than the bko's and b2k's before it. Better looking in my opinion as well. The ano looks well done and there are no visible defects or scratches on the marker itself. Grips are comfy. Took it out to test fire. The trigger I must say is buttery smooth. from the stock setting, the pull is a bit long, but nothing the 4 point adjustment won't fix. Speed: apparently the marker only goes just under 20 bps at the max. Not really a drawback but for speed freaks it may well be. Barrel seems decent enough. Clamping feedneck standard although I havent seen how well it fits on various hoppers. All in all, a great tournament level marker without the price the higher end guns usually incur. This thing goes for around 400 to slightly less that 400.

This vs. Ion
I really see them as two very different markers. The ion is the cream of the low end markers. It's good enough to be upgraded to shoot with the best, yet cheap enough to buy for recball and shooting around in the back yard. The promaster is more around the lower end of the tourney level guns. Few upgrades are needed for this marker to compete at the cutting edge. the price difference is about $120 but the ion will need a few more upgrades out of the box. The truth: preference
Conclusion: Go with what you feel is best. ICD has come out with quality products over the years and I'm sure this will be one of them.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 at 12:35 am PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
ImpyKillah Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 | 8:05 am PST
This marker is not restricted to under 20 bps. Go to the ICD website (icdpaintball.com), go to the ProMaster page and download the manual at the bottom of the page with Adobe. Go to pages 10-11 and you will find that with a flick of a switch in the grip, this marker has unlimited bps and some nice firing modes. It has been tested to surpass 40 bps and theres no reason to make a marker go any faster than that because there is nothing that can feed balls that fast. I've shot this gun on ramp and there was no way I was under 20 bps, because it was WAY faster than an Ion. The ProMaster is much higher quality, and I can't understand why you are trying to put it in the same league as an Ion. I personally don't believe that you have shot a ProMaster, because an Ion feels like a Super Soaker and shoots like one compared to this gun. Check lostazncause's profile and you will see that he also has a review for his ION!!! He is an Ion/Smart Parts lover and is just making a marker he knows is better, sound worse. He just hates seeing that all of the Ion ripoffs are better than the Ion itself (yes, Wraths are better too). If he really shot this marker he would know that he should have never bought an Ion and have saved the extra $100 (which is more than worth it) to get the ProMaster. You would have to put $200 worth of upgrades into an Ion before it would compete with this gun, and remember that you would still have to wait for a new board to come out (if they make one) and the Ion is still not field-stripable and one of the fussiest markers I've ever seen around the field. Oh yeah, you also have to pay $100+ more to just make the Ion look respectable by buying a new body kit and actually put an alluminum body on the thing. If he really wasn't biased, he wouldn't have given the ProMaster a 9 compared to the 10 he gave to the Ion (better rating, worse gun?) when they are both being compared in the High-End marker catagory. Don't listen to him, a STOCK ProMaster would destroy an UPPED Ion everyday of the week, and twice on sundays.
Last edited on Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 at 9:40 am PST
   

I'm_Addicted Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 | 8:19 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by ImpyKillah
. Don't listen to him, a STOCK ProMaster would destroy an UPPED Ion everyday of the week, and twice on sundays.


The Promaster is rated at 40 bps, not slow at all. The trigger is 5 point adjustable, not 4
Last edited on Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 at 8:20 am PST
   

autto-mattick Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 | 9:10 am PST
yeah plz Ion. and Promaster shouldn't even be in the same sentence.ImpyKillah tell him how it is.
   

ImpyKillah Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 | 9:34 am PST
I'm_Addicted, I'm not bashing you because your on my side, but check the ProMaster page on ICD because the trigger is adjustable at only 4 points. That is still great customability though.
   

mazzlex Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 | 9:44 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by ImpyKillah
You would have to put $200 worth of upgrades into an Ion before it would compete with this gun, and remember that you would still have to wait for a new board to come out (if they make one) and the Ion is still not field-stripable and one of the fussiest markers I've ever seen around the field. Oh yeah, you also have to pay $100+ more to just make the Ion look respectable by buying a new body kit and actually put an alluminum body on the thing. If he really wasn't biased, he wouldn't have given the ProMaster a 9 compared to the 10 he gave to the Ion (better rating, worse gun?) when they are both being compared in the High-End marker catagory. Don't listen to him, a STOCK ProMaster would destroy an UPPED Ion everyday of the week, and twice on sundays.

ImpyKillah! you are my hero. finally somebody who knows what he's talkin about
   

papaintballer15 Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 | 12:30 pm PST
just give it a 10 which it deserves, dont catagorize it with a ion that is worse in all ways, except for being cheaper stock and possibly little lighter.

also most high end guns dont come with bottomlines. SP always includes a duckbill with their gun. But the reason why most companies dont produce bottomlines with most guns is because its a preference thing, why add more to it and raise cost a little and have people who want to take it off and replace with with rail and on/off or drop.

and speed.... this gun definatly rips.
   

AvantKid4Life Wednesday, August 3rd, 2005 | 12:17 am PST
Oh, poor, poor Impy(I shiver whenever that word is typed by my fingers)Killah:

HAHAHA i read ur comment and it mad me almost shat myself.... what, is ICD paying you??? dude back the frigg off, u wrote your review and said what u thought, so let this guy write his.... LOL what really made me laugh was the fact that he gave it a 9, and some of you kids were still crying about it.... christ, its HIS review and he can write whatever he wants so i think some of you whiny kids need to STFU

and for your huge ion conspiracy theories, that's bullshyte.... he said that the ion is the best low end gun out there, he never ever said its decent in tourney's.... " it can shoot with the best" means the best of the guns in its class.... and he's right when he said that this gun is in the low end tournament class.... what you think it can compete with a G7 or ripper??? no, because those are HIGH end see the difference...

ok, and to clarify the gun can CYCLE 40 cps, friggin good luck trying to make it shoot balls that fast.... cyborgs can cycle more then 70 cps but does that mean it will shoot balls nearly that fast? hell no

alright kids, physics time.... gravity and balls being forced can only get into the chamber so fast before they will get chopped or the gun will misfire.... once the gun reaches a certain point it cant cycle any faster.... ive seen a karni ripping 52 cps but put a victory boared halo on at and it'll actually only shoot like 25-28 BPS, TOPS and thats with a unblievable amount of bounce....

if you think that your promaster will be able to shoot 40 balls per second, then you should quit paintball right now

my advice to you is know what ur saying then post buddy

PS to impy*shiver*killah I'm not posting this just cuz you use an Impulse *shiver*, its just cuz I hate Impulses *shiver*
Last edited on Wednesday, August 3rd, 2005 at 12:30 am PST
   

Grantilla98 Wednesday, August 3rd, 2005 | 8:05 am PST
AvantKid4Life!!!! WHAT IS UR F***i*n PROBLEM! Pro-Masters are Awesome, IMpulses are also Awesome...I have an IMpulse that is worth over $1,300 cause i have lots of stuff on it like Blade trigger, eyes, tapeworm, maxflo, etc... and even though stock ones also rip... IMPULSES ARE GOOD. and my Friend went to the field and measured his Pro-Master and it shot over 41 BPS.! All of you out there thinking aout getting IOns... I did and i regret it because Mine is Unreliable.. same with my other friends that have them... I would much rather spend another like what?? $140 more ...thats like nothing, and get a Pro-Master...
   

autto-mattick Wednesday, August 3rd, 2005 | 6:00 pm PST
Hey AvantKid4Life guess what i think you need to stfu and watch as a 13 year old owns you

http://www.i-hacked.com/content/view/164/62/
Last edited on Wednesday, August 3rd, 2005 at 6:06 pm PST
   

baish Thursday, August 4th, 2005 | 9:56 am PST
you guys are all crazy. who cares if it can shoot over 40bps, none of you can even get over 20bps unless your ramping, and why would you need to shoot that fast, when 15bps is the most you can shoot at tournaments and fields? and impulses are great, and so are upped ions they are ALL reliable if you take care of them.you all freakin out because he gave it a 9/10? thats a great rating and you all acting like ion are trash,there is now way a stock promaster beats an all upped ion. shows how smart you guys are. and i believe that at some point with a few ups they all can compete with g7s and timmys avantkid, but i do agree with you on the bps thing. besides its not the gun that counts, its the skills of the player. your all acting childish. why are u]you guys crying because he gave it a f**king 9 out of 10!
Last edited on Thursday, August 4th, 2005 at 10:02 am PST
   

autto-mattick Thursday, August 4th, 2005 | 12:47 pm PST
its not that its that AvantKid tried to prove us wrong so I proved him wrong and yes i do agree that you don't need a gun over 15 bps........9 out of 10 is great
   

piranhaprokid Thursday, August 4th, 2005 | 4:05 pm PST
well. i definately shoot a modified, ion and this thing looks like a winner. Looks like a sleeker lighter faster version of the BKO, stock with eyes, cool.
   

buckeyefan012 Friday, August 5th, 2005 | 9:37 am PST
I have shot an ion and they suck. it shot farther sideways then frontways. And i have not shot a promaster but i have seen them shoot and they are way better than an ion will ever be. IONS SUCK!!!!
   

nayrLS6 Friday, August 5th, 2005 | 1:42 pm PST
Ok first of all, I don't really like IONs either (I own a Diablo Wrath) but that statement was retarted. IONs don't shoot that bad at all, my friend. I have shot them on numerous occasions on semi and ramping. Its complete personal preference, please don;t trash talk like that it doesn't accomplish anything. Back on topic, The promaster does look really nice! If there aren't too many problams with it down the road, I may pick one up.
   

piranhaprokid Friday, August 5th, 2005 | 9:53 pm PST
its all good becuase i only read this review to see what folks had to say abou tthe new "ion killer" and as i said above "sounds like a winner"
Whoever said that the ion shot farther sideways then forwards, you are an idiot. If you melted a freak onto the front of a talon it would be as accurate as anything else. If you rigged a way to make a freak fit tight on the front of a stingray youd have a 145 dollar semi auto that was just as accurate as anything else. How can people be so blatantly retarded as to make stupid statements like "And i have not shot a promaster but i have seen them shoot and they are way better than an ion will ever be. IONS SUCK!!!!"
Whats what you watched the video and from that you could tell how well the eyes worked, how the recoil felt as the gun rocked, oh yea and you could also tell how well the marker held up to actually being used i mean every weekend.
I used an autococker for 3 years before finally getting the ion. I researched the heck out of it before i laid down the money. College kid workin two jobs tryin to get by. I play every weeekend and put just under a case of paint through my ion every weekend. No problems with it at all. Maybe its just cuzz i know how to take care of it i dont know
The pro master definately looks like a sweet new marker. It may or may not turn out to be "better" then the ion. but one thing is for sure, almost all highend markers of today used an open bolt system, very comparable to that of the promaster. Proven technology, cool.
I like the marker and if i hadnt already purchased the ion i would probably look into this one. Having already bought and modified my ion i am comfortable in saying that my marker has been very pleasing and i am confident that it was money well spent. Happy playing
   

slaminator3323 Saturday, August 6th, 2005 | 5:48 pm PST
Can we say we have some anti-ion people. I'm not saying the promaster is better until at least 5 or 6 months has past. Until then by me its on a trial period.
   

pb4fun Monday, August 8th, 2005 | 11:33 am PST
This is just a comment in regards to the long trigger pull. It may seem long but actually the gun fires when you hear the little click, not when it reaches the back. Turn on the marker to see this even more. It doesnt take much to pull it and get it to fire. It rewards light butterflying more.
   

pb4fun Monday, August 15th, 2005 | 1:21 pm PST
there is alot of wrong information in that review
   

pb4fun Tuesday, August 16th, 2005 | 8:44 am PST
finally my picture got posted... its under the review section
   

buckeyefan012 Wednesday, August 17th, 2005 | 2:01 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by mazzlex


ImpyKillah! you are my hero. finally somebody who knows what he's talkin about


Ya impyKillah knows his shat.
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media