paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on pb4fun's Review / Comments on pb4fun's Review / Comments on pb4fun's Review / Comments on pb4fun's Review / Comments on pb4fun's Review

Comments on pb4fun's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

pb4fun Monday, August 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months61 of 67 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BKO, DM4, Shocker, Various Cockers ( no e-blades), Angel Speed, Ego, Older Bushies.... you name it I have probably shot it
Marker Setup: - Black Promaster
- Murder Inc grip
-CP reg ( A new reg is a must)
- Shocktech drop w/ on/off
- PMI 68 4500 tank w/ Red's blue tank cover
- Halo B
- everything else stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
This marker requires a VLocity, Empire Reloader B, or Halo B. Also, the stock reg is horrible. I recommend replacing it immediately. Buy a barrel or barrel kit.
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Efficiency
Umm... speed
great stock setup
Trigger
looks
Easy to clean/fix
Price
Weaknesses: FSD ( could just be the tank)
Horrible Stock reg
Review: I pre-ordered this marker from Murderinc. When it came I opened the box and saw this sweet looking marker. I was amazed at how light it was. It came with some spare parts and a few hex keys. no macroline or bottom line so you need to pick them up at a store. I went to strap on my halo to see how high it sat and how the weight was, but the feed neck was too small. After three hours of sanding it with sandpaper and then the more desperate metal sanding blade, it finally sat on there well enough to play. Allright now for the performance. I took it to hte field ,bought a case of paint, in addition to the paint I already had, aired up my tank, and screwed my tank onto the gun. Everything worked flawlessly. The gun was set perfectly out of the case. Allright I went to the range with 4 pods and my halo full. I just started unloding paint. The gun absolutely rips. People there were using shockers, matrixes, and even an e-bladed cocker. They were all amazed at how fast and accurately it was shooting. They all wanted to give it a try. One of them asked me how much work I had put into the trigger to get it set that short and easy. He couldnt believe that it had come that way stock. All of them were amazed at the 389 price tag. people were comparing it to high end timmy's.

Game performance
Allright The first game went without a hitch. The marker performed flawlessly. It shot straight and fast and its size and lightness made snapshooting a breeze. I shot someone out who was making a break for the fifty, and I am giving credit to the marker because it kept up with my fingers and didnt chop or shoot inaccurately. I was actually able to hold down the entire right side of the field with this beast.

This is where the trouble began. I noticed it was leaking out of the soleinoid. To make a long story short, after adjusting the Reg and the low pressure adjustment screw for about three hours, my friend noticed that the cylinder end cap was not on all the way causing the bolt to go to far back, which led to the leaking. After tightening the cap the leaking stopped. An easy fix but not something you would expect.

After fixing the leak it performed perfectly.

Weakness

the only real weakness with the gun is that it has FSD (first shot dropoff). It could just be the tank that I was using. The first game I played I did not have FSD. after tinkering with the marker I did/. Probably just need to mess with the air.

UPDATE: After playing with this marker for about six monthes, I have decided that it was and still is by far the best investment for what you pay. My only regret is not removing the stock reg sooner. To everyone who owns a promaster, please save your marker by replacing the stock reg. I am now getting about +/- 3, and about 1500 per 68 / 4500 fill.
Conclusion: This is a must have it costs only 389 and can compete with the best markers in the world. I was expecting ICD to make a good product but not a great one. The only reason it is getting a 10 is because I did not think that the marker deserved a 9.3 for its average rating. I would give it a 9.75 if that was an option.
Here is a simple rating scale ( 1 is the lowest 5 is the highest)

looks: 5
Accuracy:4.5
Speed: 5
efficiency: 5
price: 5+

This marker is a must have..... since there are no stores to date I would recommend going to Murder inc. The people are friendly and they have alot of them.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 at 4:02 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Airforce1791 Monday, August 8th, 2005 | 4:22 pm PST
so this or ion??
   

autto-mattick Monday, August 8th, 2005 | 6:02 pm PST
This.
   

pb4fun Monday, August 8th, 2005 | 6:48 pm PST
this by far. All of the ions I have seen are either malfunctioning or being fixed in a shop. I do not hate SP either its just a fact. I love shockers... for the money the Promaster rips right out of a box, and it can match a shocker in every category, except price ( shocker is alot higher...lol) let alone an ion. It beats an Impulse because its lighter, cheaper, faster and its great out of a box. Also if you are an SP lover please do not post about how much better your marker is. I know SP makes great guns and its just personal preference I like the promaster better and you like your ( insert SP marker here) better.
Last edited on Tuesday, August 9th, 2005 at 8:59 am PST
   

Atomic_gerbil Monday, August 8th, 2005 | 8:18 pm PST
pics! now.
   

piranhaprokid Monday, August 8th, 2005 | 9:26 pm PST
pb4 fun i notice that you have posted on every review of the promaster, I think you truly love your promaster, Might i inquire as to what marker you used previous to the promaster. Out of the box the shocker will be far more accurate than the promaster, it comes stock with the best barrel to date, teh all american. Also a max flo regulator and 200 psi operting pressure. sorry promaster lovers but it takes more then this to "beat a shocker in every category, except price ( shocker is alot higher...lol) ".
   

slaminator3323 Monday, August 8th, 2005 | 9:47 pm PST
Also pb4fun the reason you see most Ions malfunctioning is because of all the hype so many inexperiecned people bought them they didn't take the time to learn how to work on them.
   

pb4fun Tuesday, August 9th, 2005 | 6:09 am PST
allright thanks for the insight. I was just refering to how it actually was able to compete with a shocker in speed. Accuracy was about the same. I know its odd but it (sorry for the edit here but the grammar was horrible) all depends on the paint. Also It beat the shocker in efficiency. I would also say that the ion has glitches like most guns. People with ions need to stop saying how great there markers are and how its the people who own thems fault. I spent almost a year researching paintball guns before I bought. Again this is my first marker. I havent broken it. I watched as people at the field I was playing at tried to strip their markers. See I think the one problem is that SP tried to cram a cheap but very complex system into one tube. That is how the price is so low. Also I dont think that it is fair that the ion is being compared to the promaster. I would say it competes more with the new BKO. Ive heard rumores it comes with PDS. Thanks although for your insight again. I do not want to turn this comment section into a marker bashing contest.

I will be posting pictures soon
Last edited on Tuesday, August 9th, 2005 at 6:29 pm PST
   

pb4fun Tuesday, August 9th, 2005 | 6:37 am PST
just posted the pic should be up soon
   

piranhaprokid Tuesday, August 9th, 2005 | 12:34 pm PST
anyone on here from the dayton ohio area ? if so PM me
   

pb4fun Tuesday, August 9th, 2005 | 6:33 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by piranhaprokid
anyone on here from the dayton ohio area ? if so PM me

just wait some time I have a feeling that this marker will be as commonly used as the ion after its been on the market for a month or so.
   

mondo77 Wednesday, August 10th, 2005 | 1:08 pm PST
how good is the efeciency with a 68/3000 fill?
   

pb4fun Wednesday, August 10th, 2005 | 1:26 pm PST
not sure exactly. hmmm. I have a 4500 68ci. And the place that I played could only fill to 3000. Allright here is what I did. I had one fill to 2000, two fills to 3000. My marker was leaking moderately the entire time. I fixed the leak. ( not a marker problem, the ram cap was not all the way on. look in body of review for more info) I shot 2000 rounds and had about 1300 dry fires. thats really all I have. Remember there was moderate leaking the entire time.
   

pb4fun Thursday, August 11th, 2005 | 4:43 pm PST
its been so quiet here. No sp people. NO one asking questions............ is anyone here?
   

autto-mattick Friday, August 12th, 2005 | 8:19 am PST
here
   

pb4fun Friday, August 12th, 2005 | 9:29 am PST
How long does it take to get a picture posted under the review section. I posted one three days ago. Its still not here.
   

piranhaprokid Friday, August 12th, 2005 | 9:54 pm PST
im still here and i still check this review comment area for some SP bashing so i can sweep in with logic haha
isnt paintball great
I shot a promaster today a teammate bought one i was impressed it shot great, my only gripe is still with the fact that this is basically a streamlined impulse, old stuff u know

good marker
   

pb4fun Saturday, August 13th, 2005 | 7:45 am PST
piranhaprokid. Thank you for trying out the promaster ( I almost called it an impulse.......) Also thank you for reviewing it fairly. It is so true tho about it being a streamlined impulse. I will have to do a little more work with an ion before I can truly review it. I shot it once or twice, but the problem was the board was messed up. It would only fire on about 1/3 trigger pulls. I think something might have been wrong with the microswitch or the board.
   

pb4fun Sunday, August 14th, 2005 | 3:01 pm PST
wow no posts in a long time ok... yesterday but I have been stuck on 17 for a day and a half its time to change
   

rakim Monday, August 15th, 2005 | 6:10 am PST
I own a SP Shocker, and I don't think the Promaster can really compete. But thats not why I'm researching this marker, more if this would make a good backup marker? Is it ready to rip out the box? Does it need alot of maintenance? Fragile? Reliable?
Thanks.
   

pb4fun Monday, August 15th, 2005 | 9:03 am PST
You would be amazed at this marker. It can actually compete with a shocker vision. My friend owns one. This marker is ready to rip right out of the box. It has the speed of the shocker, so you wont be loosing anything. Put an upped barrel on it and some nice paint. I also need to mention that you will need a fast hopper as this has been tested at 40 bps. Umm this baby is as low maintence as..... well I cant think of anything else. Its pull pin strippable. The trigger is easy to adjust, altho its the best stock. I made the mistake of adjusting it and I cant get it back the way I like it. Its very low maintence, much lower then you shocker. Not fragile at all. its built like a rock and looks like a supermodel. THis marker is more reliable than most girlfriends. This marker is more than ready to rip out of the box. I have had people with matrix's shockers, and even angels curious about how fast this marker is and they couldnt believe the pricetag. Its really easy to get extreme rates of fire. If you get this marker you wont be dissapointed at all.
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media