paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Invictus' Review / Comments on Invictus' Review / Comments on Invictus' Review / Comments on Invictus' Review

Comments on Invictus' Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Invictus Sunday, August 14th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month285 of 298 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Tapco Saw Stock
APP 330 rd Hopper
E-grip
HPA remote coil
BT Apex Barrel
Crossfire 92/4500
Palmers Inline Reg
Recommended
Paintballs:
Just about any paint will work, but the Higher the grade....the better consistancy you will have in the shots.
Strengths: Has several "levels" to choose from
Shoots Farther and more accurate than Flatline
Weaknesses: Shroud must be turned in counter clockwise motion to prevent barrel from unscrewing
Review: The Apex has several "levels" (8 clicks/positions to be exact)from which to select/adjust from. Position 2-3 is equal in distance to the Flatline but is more accurate. Position 4-5 gives about 30-50 more distance and also retains incredible accuracy. Posistion 6-7 gives EVEN more DISTANCE, but accuracy starts to drift off. Position 8 aka "Super Flatline" gives the greatest Distance (about 80ft more than the flatline for me), and has accuracy comparible to the Flatline itself.

Position 8 Divebomb, and Hook Left/Right are simply amazing. The individual user will need to experiment with these options in order to properly use them. They will need to be familiar with the angle, distance, and flight path which the ball takes.

The overall barrel length unmounted is exactly 10 3/4 inches. Inside the shroud, on the bottom there are several slots/grooves in it. When the ball is shot, the combination of it hitting the rubber piece and air flowing underneath the ball (via the slots) sets the backspin in motion.

When set on "Super Flatline" is has anywhere between a 2-4ft drop that initially occurrs before the ball levels back out. When it levels back out, the ball literally seems to float... and float....

I give this product a 9, simply because no product is perfect and can always be added upon to improve its abilities

edit: So far I have noticed no problems with the Apex barrel. The only real thing I have noticed though, is that when a ball breaks in the shroud... its a pain to clean out. The paint being in there didn't seem to effect performance, just looked ugly I suppose.

UPDATE!!! Tuesday, August 16th, 2005 at 4:09 pm PST I tested out the Apex to see exactly how far it would shoot with me being able to hit the target. I went threw exactly 2 1/2 cases of paint, and found that on lvl 8 setting I was able to hit the target at 303 feet. I did so at 2.4 out of 10 shots. On lvl 5 setting I was able to hit the target at 167 feet and did so 8.9 out of 10 shots.

UPDATE!!!! Wednesday, August 24th, 2005 at 3:35 pm PST I went to a 8 hour scenario August 20th and was able to properly field test the Apex. I was outshooting and hitting people easily. I was able to easily provide long range suppressive fire and to bunker several people. I tested out the "Dive Bomb" and after a few shots I was able to dive a few shots over a tree stump to hit a guy that was bunkered by another player. It was a Field Paint only event, and the paint was quite cheap... some no name white box junk. Out of 2 cases, I broke only one ball.

UPDATE!!! Monday, October 3rd, 2005 at 2:19 pm PST I recently attended the Tippmann World Challenge (TWC) in Michigan, Sept 17-18. I played on the Tippmann Team. Dispite the poor paint, the Apex was performing amazingly. I demonstrated on field for a few people its capabilities. At one point I became a camera man, and followed the World team for pics. Several of them with high end markers were sporting Apex's. One guy who had just bought one was getting upset because he couldn't hit anything. I explained that he simply needed to back the ramping off. 2 clicks back.... and he cleared the road.... took out 6 guys. He was outshooting those with Flatlines. I have been able to battle (field) test this barrel thoroughly, and I am still very impressed with its performance.
Conclusion: This barrel is without a doubt the evolutionary upgrade of the Flatline, and unfortunately (sad to say this since I own a flatty as well) now puts the Flatline in the stone age.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 3rd, 2005 at 2:26 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Airforce1791 Sunday, August 14th, 2005 | 7:24 pm PST
that was a good review, now I know how that thing works
   

RastaMon Tuesday, August 16th, 2005 | 9:22 pm PST
Ya mon, excellent review.
   

Airforce1791 Wednesday, August 17th, 2005 | 10:27 am PST
danggggg 303 feet!!!!!
   

lawace Thursday, August 18th, 2005 | 1:40 pm PST
Great review!
   

ghilliesnipe Saturday, August 20th, 2005 | 1:30 pm PST
Good review. Looking forward to getting one.
   

AhhHellNo Monday, August 22nd, 2005 | 8:48 pm PST
Does it have the flat trajectory like the Flatline?
   

cagg Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005 | 3:06 pm PST
nice review im gunna have to pick up one of those for myself
Last edited on Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005 at 3:07 pm PST
   

Invictus Wednesday, August 24th, 2005 | 3:28 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by AhhHellNo
Does it have the flat trajectory like the Flatline?

Regular Flatline setting does, but Super Flatline drops when it exits the barrel and then slowly levels back out.
   

AhhHellNo Thursday, August 25th, 2005 | 9:12 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Invictus


Regular Flatline setting does, but Super Flatline drops when it exits the barrel and then slowly levels back out.

Cool. Thanks.
   

DeStRuCtEd Friday, August 26th, 2005 | 2:44 pm PST
How long is it?
   

Invictus Saturday, August 27th, 2005 | 2:38 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by DeStRuCtEd
How long is it?

Total Barrel length is 10 3/4 inches long unmounted
   

Monkey123456 Monday, August 29th, 2005 | 7:03 am PST
Hi,

Your review is super, I missed only one kind of information.. Do balls break on distant targets??? What is the optimum velocity??
   

jd2631 Wednesday, August 31st, 2005 | 8:15 pm PST
is it heavier than the flatline, or lighter?
   

Nightkast4Life Saturday, October 1st, 2005 | 5:29 am PST
My guess would be heavier because the flatline has more actual stuff on.
   

Invictus Monday, October 3rd, 2005 | 2:05 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Monkey123456
Do balls break on distant targets??? What is the optimum velocity??


Most of them did break. Remember though: The longer the shot, the slower the ball will be..... which means more bounces.

As for optimum velocity, thats something I haven't checked into to see if there is a pattern or not. Personally I have mine set right around 272 FPS

quote:
Originally posted by jd2631
is it heavier than the flatline, or lighter?

The Apex is lighter than the Flatline, how much I'm not certain.
   

alijan Tuesday, October 11th, 2005 | 6:25 pm PST
does it slow down more than the flatline over a distance?
   

dedzone2k Thursday, October 13th, 2005 | 12:23 am PST
How big was the target? Could you give an approximation of how tight was the grouping was?
   

Invictus Saturday, October 15th, 2005 | 4:36 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by alijan
does it slow down more than the flatline over a distance?

My Flatline FPS was 266, while my Apex FPS is around 272-275. So actually the Apex is shooting 6-9 FPS faster. But from appearance slow down is about the same.

quote:
Originally posted by dedzone2k
How big was the target? Could you give an approximation of how tight was the grouping was?

Target was an Adult Upper Torso. At around 200 ft (estimate only), the grouping was around 2-3 feet diameter. The accuracy of the Apex is quite good. I prefer the Apex over the Flatline anyday.
   

012345 Saturday, November 12th, 2005 | 7:57 am PST
Can you get this barrel for a spyder?
   

cradle_of_filth Friday, November 18th, 2005 | 1:56 pm PST
this barrel seems awesome. im just mad there is gonna be people shooting as far as my tippmann now :(
   
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media