paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on jdschreier's Review / Comments on jdschreier's Review / Comments on jdschreier's Review / Comments on jdschreier's Review / Comments on jdschreier's Review

Comments on jdschreier's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

jdschreier Monday, August 29th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
model 98 tippman,except the tippman didnt suck as hard
Marker Setup: sim 15,am not bothering with mods
Recommended
Upgrades:
none,this marker is crap

if you wish to save it you will need the following
-new barrel
-delron bolt
-black magic cupseal
-all metal feed port
-alot of money to waste on useless crap
Strengths: Looks cool,thats about it
AR-15 cocking mechanism
Weaknesses: Crappy parts
Chops every other ball
Cupseal leaks
Review: I bought this marker with the impression that it would be an awsome setup...well,it sucks.it does look cool and has an ar 15/m4 style cocking lever...but thats about it

this marker has one of the most terrible design flaws i have ever seen,which is poorly milled internals,there is a large,visible line going down the length of the cupseal seat where it was obviously machined incorrectly.this causes massive amounts of air to leak past the cupseal and out of the trigger frame.also,the rod that connects the cocking lever,bolt and striker WILL break the first time you use this marker.some other things i might mention are how terrible the bolt is,chops every other using venom,spank,x-ball bronze and other mid-high grade paint....very large bore size is nice for larger paints.the feed port that connects the hopper elbow to the marker is an aluminum tube set inside a plastic case.which,like the connecting rod,WILL break the first time you use it.

barrel is pretty decent when you can get the fps set properly (about 15-20 fps fluctuation)
and thats a good thing considering one company makes a barrel for this marker other than the manufacturer.the barrel thread is compatible with spyder/pmi/vl/any other crappy gun on the market....except for the fact that the breach length is shorter than all other companies barrels by about 1.3 inches

(update) i called ariakon and they are no longer produxing the sim 15 due to the company "retooling" its markerline...im not surprised
Conclusion: If you like milsim and want a cool looking marker for seldom scenario use,i would recommend this maker....just be ready to spend alot of money on fixing/maintaining this marker....my overall suggestion...is that this could have been 300 dollars put towards a wgp trilogy pro autococker that would still have been better despite its lack of upgradability.....

this maker gets a 3 out of 10
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 31st, 2005 at 7:55 am PST
 

Review Comments
STINGER556 Monday, October 31st, 2005 | 1:04 pm PST
Dispute:
You are wrong
   

ExtProG3Dude Thursday, November 3rd, 2005 | 2:07 pm PST
Dispute:
You have to be kidding me. The CONNECTOR PIN does not break the first time you use it. Read the Ariakon.com Forums. Wouldn't there be thousands of posts about it breaking the first time it has been used? Wouldn't ariakon be out of business if this happend to every gun? And i'm sure your Connector pin broke the first time you used it because you connected the body halves together wrong. And/Or turned up your velocity way too high. Don't say Ariakon has crappy markers and all of them will have the same problem your's did just because of your negligence. Try to be a little more open minded next time. Not every gun is perfect. Even the best have problems.
   

milsim15 Friday, December 23rd, 2005 | 6:26 pm PST
To the kid in the devil's PJ's
Please do not use profanity in your posts. Many people disagree with the concept of pointing a gun at someone and pulling the trigger, but as for now paintball has remained a safe, strong, and WHOLESOME sport. Let's keep it that way. I must say your review is all around inappropriate. The whole thing portrays inaccuracy from the get-go with the phrase

"I saw my friends shoot..."

You are misrepresenting a fantastic product and dare I even say breakthrough on an economical perspective, based soley on what you claim to have seen. Why don'y you USE the product before submitting negative reports about it?
Last edited on Friday, December 23rd, 2005 at 6:28 pm PST
   

triggerhappy21 Tuesday, January 10th, 2006 | 7:45 am PST
there is no leaks anywhere on the weapon if all the o-rings are good
   

wildchild7912 Friday, February 17th, 2006 | 6:06 am PST
I have several friends that haveAriakons and let me tell you what sucks about your gun is the operator
   

Nightshadow13 Wednesday, March 15th, 2006 | 7:21 pm PST
Dispute:
Part of his gun was made incorrectly, bad luck. In most cases, Ariakon will fix it for you for free and ship it back to you, also for free, so the only problem that this guy had was not being able to either call or e-mail Ariakon with his problem courteously and clearly.
   

wirewalker Saturday, June 10th, 2006 | 10:13 pm PST
This guy must have trouble walking and chewing bubblegum at the same time. I've been using my sim-15 for over a year now and it is flawless. I've added an electronic trigger, 19" barrel and mag kit. It is a thing of beauty to behold and use. I think in the year I've used my sim-15, I think it has only broken 2-3 balls out of the thousands I've fired. Ariakon made a great marker.
   

animal mother23 Thursday, June 29th, 2006 | 1:44 pm PST
im with you all the way jdschreier this gun really really sucks crap. The only thing its good for is scaring little kids away from their first time playing pball. I dont see how everyone loves this peice of worthless crap. I guess they'll face the hardtruth sooner or later.
   

Chunkylover21 Saturday, March 31st, 2007 | 10:46 pm PST
Dispute:
This is incorrect and I am assuming this person knows nothing about working with pball guns. I have had SIM-15 for 3 years now and the only problems I have had with it were my own fault. I cracked the ball feed port becuase i dropped it. Other than that, if you actually know how a gun works, anything is fixable. My gun is amazing, works great. I have a Q Loader, red dot site, and sling hooked up to mine. It works flawlessly. I played today in the pouring rain with my gun and had ZERO problems.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media