paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on paintballa01's Review / Comments on paintballa01's Review / Comments on paintballa01's Review / Comments on paintballa01's Review

Comments on paintballa01's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

paintballa01 Monday, September 5th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 35 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
14" J&J ceramic barrel
double trigger
polished innys
pre trigger pull mod
trigger pen spring mod
Strengths: Looks cool
quiet
Weaknesses: doesnt self clean.
not accurate.
scratches "VERY" easily
Review: Ok so I just got this barrel not to long ago, and I decided to take it to the local field and play with it for a day. lets just say this. I used it for one game and switched straight back to the stock barrel (which is better than this product) the only difference with the stock barrel and this barrel is the length and the noise they make. My first game was on a barrel field. i ran straight to my bunker when the game started. pulled up my gun and banged it right on the side of the barrel. 14" is not good for speed ball let me tell you that! I now have a huge scratch all the way down the side of the barrel. when I raised the gun back up to shoot for the second time I chopped the first ball. and lets just say that was it. I had perfect shots on people but the balls were hooking left, and right and they were flying everywhere. and i know most people will say that it was the paint to barrel match. but I was using "evils" which are "supposedly" really good in this barrel. I used the stock barrel the rest of the day and did fine. I even gogged one of my friends who is a pro and has a timmy.
Conclusion: DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT. its not worth it. I've even decided to get a new gun because the tippmann 98 custom just isnt cutting it for speedball
Rating:
1 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Air Canada Saturday, October 22nd, 2005 | 3:30 pm PST
u shouldnt use a 14" barrel for speed ball unless your a backman, but as you described it, sounds like your front.
   

OlUncleGearHead Friday, October 28th, 2005 | 12:35 pm PST
Soundsmore like poor product choice rather than poor product.
   

Reid1745 Sunday, November 6th, 2005 | 7:16 pm PST
sounds like you used bad paint and CO2, or didn't put on the O ring that came with the barrel
   

pssycho sam Monday, December 12th, 2005 | 6:04 am PST
Dispute:
this barrel is very good
and if u carful i shoudent get scratched
   

Ashskates Saturday, December 31st, 2005 | 2:11 pm PST
Wow, I mean seriously, a TIPPMANN doesn't cut it for speedball? I can't imagine why.
Last edited on Saturday, December 31st, 2005 at 2:11 pm PST
   

elmnt4lfe Sunday, January 8th, 2006 | 10:23 am PST
just cause ur friend is a pro and has a timmy doesnt make gogging him any more of an achievement
   

backman22 Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 | 4:48 pm PST
dude, you must not have been playin very long cause tippmanns ARE NOT cut out for speedball. woodsball and scenario play is what the marker is pretty much made for. So why dont u go and buy a better gun or use a RENTAL for speedball.
   

backman22 Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 | 4:49 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by elmnt4lfe
just cause ur friend is a pro and has a timmy doesnt make gogging him any more of an achievement

HE/SHE IS VERY RIGHT!!!!
   

cfly14 Friday, May 5th, 2006 | 9:00 pm PST
wow u r not making any sense i saw the pros play and they use like 16 in besides the barrel doesent chop balls, the way you shoot does and hello? a Tippman, come on!
It looks like you just took very bad care of it. my friend has one and it is very good and accurate
   

pb_4_life Tuesday, July 4th, 2006 | 12:19 pm PST
I recently sold a tippy 98 with a 14" J&J on it and I had used that barrel on it ever since I first got it, J&Js are some of the cheapest and best barrels you can get, mine never scratched was very accurate and very quiet. Anyway 14" is fine for speedball, I have a 14" teardrop on my ION now and I play front and havent had any problems at all. I think the problem here is not poor equipment quality but poor player quality.
   

drummerguy711 Wednesday, July 5th, 2006 | 1:17 am PST
maybe you should try not slamming your J&J into a friggin' giant barrel if you want it to work correctly, have you considered that?

i mean really, that basically amounts to:

"hmm, that's strange... i threw a rock at my computer monitor and it's not working any more. it MUST be a manufacturing defect."
   

pbsniper111 Sunday, July 16th, 2006 | 2:06 pm PST
why on earth did u get a tippmann and a 14 inch barrel if u play speedball? and how did u manage to hit it on your own friggin bunker? did u not see it? pay attention to where ur swinging ur gun around! and how does a timmy protect your friends face? it doesnt matter what friggin gun he has, it doesnt protect his mask.
   

8.ball Thursday, October 12th, 2006 | 12:49 pm PST
ok well a tippmann in speedball.... hmmm mine works pretty god but then again by the time i was done i could have bought a speedball gun but i splay scenario but my tippmans pretty good just like to point out they can be used if you put a few hundred dollars in it but seriously you bust a ball and complain b/c it don't shoot good?? hmm nice...
   

8.ball Thursday, October 12th, 2006 | 12:50 pm PST
ok well a tippmann in speedball.... hmmm mine works pretty god but then again by the time i was done i could have bought a speedball gun but i splay scenario but my tippmans pretty good just like to point out they can be used if you put a few hundred dollars in it but seriously you bust a ball and complain b/c it don't shoot good?? hmm nice...
   

IllWitted Friday, October 13th, 2006 | 11:45 am PST
Well I'd agree that the barrel does scratch very easily but hell, it still shoots accurately. I've been using this barrel for almost a year now and it still works like the day I recieved it.oh and why would you want to use a Tippmann 98 for speedball? It was made for woods balling, rec balling and mil sim, but i suppose it can be configured for speedball if you upgraded to an e-trigger or a RT
Last edited on Friday, October 13th, 2006 at 11:49 am PST
   

crazyjenkins Saturday, December 2nd, 2006 | 2:10 pm PST
wow, your cool, you say gogged instead hit in the goggles. and as long as you careful enough to not scratch it, its durabilty shouldnt matter
   

seandb Saturday, December 30th, 2006 | 8:45 pm PST
i had that ball curving problem too. but all i had to do was turn my velocity down a bit and it worked perfect. actually ive never seen a better barrel. im not a poopoo head like you are, i ask people what could be wrong that would make this not work and then i fix it, i dont just make a judgement call on the first time i use something.
   

TSquared Sunday, January 14th, 2007 | 3:02 pm PST
Something tells me that your friend isn't a "pro"... but perhaps he is...what team is he on?
   

indianajones6 Monday, January 22nd, 2007 | 2:41 pm PST
right, well echoing all the rest of the not so positive comments left prior to mine, the reason your balls are hooking is because your velocity is too high, or to low, it could also be because you dont have the barrel o-ring on. play with your velocity and that should solve the hooking problem......dont be an ape and scratch your barrel.
   

Duluthpaintball Monday, June 4th, 2007 | 6:03 pm PST
the best part is he admits hes not using good paint. the barrel doesnt have much to do with breaking balls, thats more the bolt and operation of the marker.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media