paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on BlackstarFM's Review / Comments on BlackstarFM's Review / Comments on BlackstarFM's Review / Comments on BlackstarFM's Review / Comments on BlackstarFM's Review / Comments on BlackstarFM's Review

Comments on BlackstarFM's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

BlackstarFM Sunday, October 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Lucky Bolt
Orange Bolt
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Eclipse QEV
CP Regulator
Redz Feed Neck
Redz Drop and ASA
Hybirid Grip
Violent Scythe Trigger
Strengths: Lowers Pressure
Lowers Dwell
Cheaper than others
All Aluminium
Very Light
Reduces Kick
Weaknesses: None
Review: The bolt is made of all aluminium, for strength and durablity (the lucky bolts and orange bolts seem to break easier). The bolt is two piece which comes in handy for cleaning. The main stregths of the bolt are that is lowers pressure and dwell, my dwell is currently set at 2 above 0 and has a constant pressure of 120 psi with a 10 psi drop in higher speeds. The bolt I have found if you do not tweak your gun for lower pressure it will begin to leak down the barrel and you will search forever looking for a bad oring (so that is the fix for the leak for all people who have that problem). Other than the air conservation of around 200-300 shots and reduced kick from bolt movement, the bolt has one other nice feature that people personally like is that it can be annoed to match your gun.
Conclusion: For the money and all the reasons mentioned I highly recommend this bolt.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
sktbrdngpetey Monday, October 3rd, 2005 | 3:19 pm PST
why the hell is an aluminum bolt a strength. it will scratch the hell out of the inside of your gun. it weights more then carbon fiber and delrin.and really dwell and op doesnt just drop. you should check out this site i found on ionowners.com that will tell you how to set your gun. i did and my gun is so consistent even when i shot 15 a second. ive done it over a chrono. and a orange bolt wont break unless you try to. and why ano it. you cant even see it until you pull it out?
   

chilegod Tuesday, October 4th, 2005 | 6:52 am PST
Petey is right thats exactly why they give you a delrin bolt stock in the first place. I have seen the consitancy with a properly set ion with the stock barell an bolt and it is amazing. Yeah and why would you anodize your bolt it takes like 15 min to get it out any way so why the hell spend 25$ doing it
   

DSF Wednesday, October 5th, 2005 | 2:21 pm PST
sktbrdngpetey:
If you got a carbon fiber or a delrin plastic bolt, it is 10x more likely you will get a scratch. A scratch can lead to leaks. So in theory this would be strong in the mind set that there would be less leaks from physical damage from wear.
Plus it is his review and this is what he has seen so don't fight it.
   

sktbrdngpetey Wednesday, October 5th, 2005 | 5:10 pm PST
delrin is self lubricating. you wont scrath it with it. and the carbon fiber is only on the back part of the orange bolt not the front. i had a aluminum bolt in my spyder for 2 months. it scrathed. i had a delrin bolt in my cocker for almost a year never scratched. do some research before you post
   

DSF Friday, October 7th, 2005 | 3:52 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by sktbrdngpetey
delrin is self lubricating. you wont scrath it with it. and the carbon fiber is only on the back part of the orange bolt not the front. i had a aluminum bolt in my spyder for 2 months. it scrathed. i had a delrin bolt in my cocker for almost a year never scratched. do some research before you post
Spyders and cockers are not like ions, not one bit. I had a delrin one in my spyder and it looks like hell. Cockers go easy on bolts, and they do not need to be sealed like the Ions bolt does to work. Delrin can scratch easy, that's why its no the best choice for an ion, since the bolt is the main workings of the marker. If the bolt fails the marker fails.
Last edited on Friday, October 7th, 2005 at 3:53 am PST
   

sktbrdngpetey Friday, October 7th, 2005 | 2:46 pm PST
delrin scrathces less then aluminum. which has more friction a self lubricating plastic on metal. or metal on metal? and just because it seals doesnt mean that the delrin will scrath it more. i have two spyders, two cockers, an ion and probably a lot more experience then you. im not trying to flame but i dont understand how it would scratch more then metal on metal
   

DSF Saturday, October 8th, 2005 | 3:43 am PST
Dropping, installing, marker wear, improper removal of stock bolt, dirt from out side sources... etc. Also aluminum will scratch less then a delrin since it is metal... and last i heard metal is harder then delrin, but i see where you are coming from. It should scratch less once it is inside the marker. But still it can happen and yes it can still happen with metal bolts. I just trust an aluminum bolt more then a delrin bolt. Let just leave it at that.
   

swcblues Sunday, October 30th, 2005 | 5:09 pm PST
Anyone notice that the stock bolt is aluminum?
   

Mcshane89 Tuesday, November 1st, 2005 | 7:02 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by swcblues
Anyone notice that the stock bolt is aluminum?
Hey, mine is too!!!!! lol
Last edited on Sunday, November 13th, 2005 at 5:16 pm PST
   

esprit182 Friday, November 4th, 2005 | 12:54 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by chilegod
Petey is right thats exactly why they give you a delrin bolt stock in the first place.

An Ion's stock bolt is aluminum...
   

footballn62 Friday, November 11th, 2005 | 9:57 pm PST
ha ha nice correction of the tards with out any information
   

madasian87 Tuesday, January 10th, 2006 | 8:49 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by esprit182


An Ion's stock bolt is aluminum...


pwned
   

AILD666 Sunday, February 19th, 2006 | 2:30 pm PST
BURN!
   

BunkerBoys Monday, February 20th, 2006 | 9:35 am PST
lol
   

snake1979 Wednesday, March 8th, 2006 | 6:05 am PST
WOW, sktbrdngpetey is so dumb. People who are reading this that dont know what to think, pay attention.

The way an Ion bolt works is that it rubs up against an oring in the breech. There is no metal on metal contact, but metal on oring. If you use the lucky bolt it plastic on oring. If for some reason a single piece of dirt ever get logged between the oring and the plastic, it will gradually press/cut a groove in the head of the bolt. When that happens air will start to leak out the groove. Yes, the same could in theory happen to a metal bolt, but it is less likely. Its because of this that all the bolts you get now are metal, even the Lucky bolt.

This is this best bolt you can buy hands down, dont let some half brain scare you from the best thing that ever happened to the Ion.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media