paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on xenracer's Review / Comments on xenracer's Review / Comments on xenracer's Review / Comments on xenracer's Review

Comments on xenracer's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

xenracer Thursday, October 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scotts Badass
JT Alpha
Marker Setup: Icon E w/ 14" Barrel and System X expansion chamber
VL Revy 12v
ACI coiled remote
20oz Co2
Strengths: Comfortable fit
Complete head protection
Weaknesses: Goggle foam could be a little thicker.
Review: This isn't the headshield mask they sell at walmart for $30. It is a lot more comfortable and stylish.

I was in the market for a new mask. I've used a Scott Badass for eons and it was time to retire it. Trip to LPS. Tried on the various $70 masks, proto, dye, etc. for me personally the Spectra Flex 8 Full headshield was the best fit. I also liked it was hard plastic around the entire mask. The dye and proto masks used a softer material around the jawbone/mouth areas, which for me doesn't feel as safe.

on a side note: I tried to attach my goggleflauge to this mask and it doesn't fit.
Also I have not quite yet figured out how to disassemble the mask or remove the strap/goggle from the mask for cleaning and the instuctions are very vague, they only tell you how to remove the lense.

Update
The mask saw it's first game last weekend at SCVillage. It worked very well and didn't fog up on me. The morning temperature was in the 60's and didn't reach above 75. I received several strikes to the mask durning the day and never really felt them.

Since really only play as a walkon/recball player, I really would like to figure out a way to attach the goggleflauge to disguise myself a bit better.
Conclusion: A very good choice for someone who is in the market for a new mask and wants something that offers solid protection.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 26th, 2005 at 2:49 pm PST
 

Review Comments
coffin_stuffer Thursday, October 27th, 2005 | 5:58 am PST
Is the goggleflauge the sticker that goes over the lens? it it is, it might be the wrong fit, they come in lots of fits.
   

#2tango Sunday, October 30th, 2005 | 9:35 am PST
ha ha ha wow nice commet dan lol
   

dandamanyo22 Tuesday, November 1st, 2005 | 2:54 pm PST
dam right
   

Onslaught_2k4 Sunday, November 20th, 2005 | 5:02 pm PST
Goggleflauge is a rubber-like fitting that goes over the entire mask. It is supposed to disguise your head so it looks like a bit of a bush, instead of a black round thing sticking out of nowhere. They come in different colors for different environments (desert, woodland etc). Unless you play long woodsball games in a dense forest, don't bother getting one.
   

K2z Wednesday, December 7th, 2005 | 2:30 pm PST
How hard is it to take out the lens?
   

Asmodeus112 Monday, January 2nd, 2006 | 6:42 pm PST
Jt masks are notorious for being some of the hardest lenses to remove, believe me, unless you have lots of practice (and patience for that matter) it is really hard to remove them.
   

poi866 Monday, January 9th, 2006 | 5:56 pm PST
i thought dye masks were hard.
   

Asmodeus112 Tuesday, January 10th, 2006 | 8:52 pm PST
the dye masks now have the switch system which is really easy to remove supposedly. I have never tried one but in all of the reviews they say its real easy. I dont know about the other dye masks tho
   

*victory* Friday, February 10th, 2006 | 12:31 pm PST
Wow. You say you've been playing for more than 5 years yet you call getting hit by a paintball a ``strike`` and you wear ``goggleflauge`` to disguise yourself.

I`d go back and edit that claim.
   

autto-mattick Thursday, March 23rd, 2006 | 6:27 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by *victory*
Wow. You say you've been playing for more than 5 years yet you call getting hit by a paintball a ``strike`` and you wear ``goggleflauge`` to disguise yourself.

I`d go back and edit that claim.

I'd stop being such a douche.....in one of your threads you called a paintball gun a paintrifle......so a strike really sounds that bad now doesn't it
   

K2z Sunday, March 26th, 2006 | 9:16 am PST
Ha Ha Ha
   

burnballl Thursday, April 6th, 2006 | 8:03 pm PST
what a jackhole!
   

typelaez Tuesday, June 13th, 2006 | 11:57 am PST
n00b mask neways.
   

Lastman Friday, October 27th, 2006 | 8:48 am PST
This masks visor is really hard to remove, I haven't done it since I got it, I am afraid I will break it. Other wise the mask is good
   

wildchild7912 Saturday, November 25th, 2006 | 5:07 am PST
Why didn't you just get the camo version of the headshield?
   

Da Moose Man[] Friday, December 1st, 2006 | 4:20 pm PST
Wow Scotts badass..........hmmm lol
   

FuryFrag Sunday, August 12th, 2007 | 10:43 am PST
you know you can buy the same mask on action village with camo already on the mask.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media