paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Kenny007's Review / Comments on Kenny007's Review / Comments on Kenny007's Review / Comments on Kenny007's Review

Comments on Kenny007's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Kenny007 Monday, October 24th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees 14" barrel -Does well
Marker Setup: A-5
14" 32 Degrees Carbon Fiber Barrel
Tasco Reddot sight
Collapsable M4 Stock
Remote
4+1 Harness
Response Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have no idea...I shoot mostly Marbleizers
Strengths: Unknown as of yet
Weaknesses: Lack of manual/guide for such a complex barrel
Review: After seeing the number of great reviews for this barrel...essentially the next gen of flatline...I finally caved in and bought one, as I had been eyeing flatlines for some time. I took it out and examined it, and, with a little help from BT's website, figured out its general fuctions. I took it out to play with it at my college's 2nd event at EMR and was sad to find it perform poorly. I could see its attempts to curve the ball, and divebomb it...but what i bought the barrel for was long flat shots, as I am the marksman/sniper of the team. Flatline mode, regardless of the switch setting it was on, would just plummet into the ground, rather than recover from the initial drop i had read about. I have not chalked this barrel up as a loss yet tho, I'm hoping I find some help on how to use it properly, as I am no doubt sure that those others who gave the barrel a good review werent kidding. Maybe I need to turn the air up or down? I really dont know. I will edit this post once I come to a final conclusion...but as of right now I'm yearning for help in order to get the barrel successfully up and running...
Conclusion: Hoping it just takes some time to hash out its qualities
Rating:
5 out of 10
 

Review Comments
hellfire1 Tuesday, October 25th, 2005 | 8:16 am PST
does it just roll out or shoot out to the ground
   

mxc1090 Wednesday, October 26th, 2005 | 3:27 pm PST
Dispute:
He did not test this barrel acuuratly and is destroying its review
   

younggun119 Friday, October 28th, 2005 | 9:07 am PST
MXC how do you know that he didnt test the barrel properly. I tested mine when I got it and it did the same thing. The only successful thing it did was the divebomb. I lined everything up, i shot it at every setting and it didnt look like it was a good barrel. I am not going to write a review on this since i am going to buy a larger bore paint and try it with that. What i am tired about is people putting the accuracy of the this and other reviews that dont meet the "standards" of the readers. If he is saying he has a problem with it, he probably has a problem w/ it. I went through the same thing. Just b/c every1 is saying the barrel is good doesnt mean its flawless. The reason ppl give it poor grades is to show ppl who are thinking about buying it to look at problems that may occur. People dont dispute his review because it doesnt meet your standards.
   

Indecisive Saturday, October 29th, 2005 | 10:10 pm PST
alright when you shoot this barrel on the flatline setting it does drop down, it basically ends up shooting on a diagonal angle then straightening out, not flying back up.

You do have to aim higher than you normally would, but it'll fly straight so try it out
Last edited on Saturday, October 29th, 2005 at 10:11 pm PST
   

papaintballer15 Sunday, October 30th, 2005 | 6:01 pm PST
i dont see why this is disputed. He tested it. And even mentioned in the review that he was going to continue to use it to see if he could get it to work right. Plus he plays at my local field, so he's telling the truth.
   

Rhino 7188 Tuesday, November 1st, 2005 | 7:48 pm PST
if the balls are pummuling to the ground aim higher
and the curve and dive bomb shots, well just aim it at the target and it will do the rest of the work for itself
Last edited on Tuesday, November 29th, 2005 at 1:45 pm PST
   

Kwiq Niss Friday, November 4th, 2005 | 2:28 pm PST
Dispute:
If you don't understand the barrel and how it even works, you shouldn't give it a bad review. Aside from that, I am here to offer some help.
Try setting 4 or 5, counting 8 as max backspin (furthest from you).
If you insist on using level 8 with it turned right side up try aiming higher, but this setting is less accurate than 4 or 5 if you don't want to use the curve function.
Speaking of the curve function, try spinning the barrel block,( the end piece), with the setting on 8. This will curve the ball in the direction that the slider is pointing. If you spin it to the right, it will launch left then curve back to the right. See my review for full details.
   

S.O.G Saturday, November 5th, 2005 | 5:18 am PST
My son bought this barrel and as to date we are very dissapointed with it. We have not written a review yet we are going to try different things. Such as different balls. The ones we used just rolled thru the barrel when we did a ball to barrel match test. We understood the differnt settings and how to use them but when we actually tested it the ball would go out about 30 feet and go into the ground. This was NOT on the dive bomb setting. Every now and then one would drop a foot and sail but for the most part the would just shoot into the ground. My question to all you apex users is what type of paint are you using and at what fps are you shooting at.
   

ghilliesnipe Monday, November 7th, 2005 | 8:15 am PST
There may actually be some quality control issues with some of the barrels. Also, if you havent owned or used a flatline a lot and do not thoroughly understand how it works, you will more likely have trouble with the apex since the apex is really just an advanced version of a flatline.
   

listentoclutch Monday, January 9th, 2006 | 1:48 pm PST
This review should not have been disputed. I hate my apex. I understand how it's supposed to work, I understand everything about it, but mine DOES NOT WORK. What I can't help but notice is that some of you love it, others are disappointed, and of the people who have complaints about the apex, those complaints are the exact same ones I have. This leads me to believe that there has to be an exact formula of paint, fps, and ambient conditions that dictate how well the barrel works. As of yet, mine just plain stinks. I've used it several times now without much success. I posted one of the first comments months ago and gave it rave reviews but I have definintely changed my mind after sustained use until I can find the right formula.
   

Ace-o-Spades Friday, March 17th, 2006 | 4:24 pm PST
"I'm hoping I find some help on how to use it properly..."

dont give this thing a bad review if you havent tested it properly, or know how to work it, for that matter
   

Kenny007 Thursday, March 23rd, 2006 | 5:12 pm PST
Well here's the comment to my original post after an extended leave.

First, thanks to those who don't outright bash someone who doesnt rave about the newest fad. After even more testing (this time with COMPLETE knowledge of the barrel) it still failed to meet my expectations.

Hellfire1: The ball did shoot out with force, but it (as I already knew) has an initial drop to the shot. To compensate for this drop, you have to aim at quite an angle, which will vary with the ramp setting. After shooting across open ground didnt work, I tried to give the thing the benefit of the doubt and shoot from a hill, downward. The downward path of the ball still proved detrimental, though it did admittedly get further in this series of the test. However it trailed mere feet off the ground before a final plow into the ground (maybe useful to get those crawling snipers?)

Thx younggun and papaintballer for the backing.

I wasted over half a case in this thing of various paints and bores, with simular, disappointing results. The divebomb still proved to be its best feature, and was the one I was least interested in using. Even my teammates who are avid flatline users were baffled at the pure crap this barrel proved itself to be. At the scenario game I took it too to make its debut, it was (after even MORE wasted, tho this time more expensive Marbs paint) quickly retired to the bunkhouse, replaced by my $30, tried and true, 32 degrees carbon fiber barrel.

So, in conclusion...back off killers who hate to see a bad review...I should have gave the thing a 2. The only reason I wouldnt have given it a 1 is because I managed to sell the thing on EBay for a small profit. Maybe it was a bad barrel, but I'm backing the review I originally posted. Seems to me I'm not the only one in this mindset.
   

GRAW Friday, April 14th, 2006 | 4:05 pm PST
If you get a chance, I'd reccomend testing out someone elses apex as they are usually quite effective (How can I and everyone else be dead wrong?). Other wise, I'd contact BT about the problem.
Last edited on Tuesday, April 18th, 2006 at 6:43 pm PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media