paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on fishhead's Review / Comments on fishhead's Review / Comments on fishhead's Review / Comments on fishhead's Review / Comments on fishhead's Review

Comments on fishhead's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

fishhead Friday, October 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year114 of 118 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5, DM5, DM4, Shocker, (also Timmies, Egos )
Marker Setup: Dust Blue 06 Proto Matrix, Orange CF bolt, 14" Ultralite barrel (blue back and black front), Hybrid grind push-button on/off, UL frame (also, Reloader B, 70/4500 HP Crossfire stubby w/ 04 Dye Rhino tank cover or Crossfire Stinger 51/3000 w/ custom Gucci tank cover)
Recommended
Upgrades:
The new Dye Ultralite grip frame (WOW!) and/or Virtue board, barrel kit (sizing paint)
Strengths: Smaller, lighter, better looking, complete marker out of box.
Weaknesses: Only dust anodizing available
Review: How we got it:
Stood outside, peeking through the curtains at the Dye booth at World Cup before anyone's booths are open, after Wilma had hit. Gary Shows asks if I wanna see the DM6, well I say 'YES!' of course!. Anywho, he tells me to pull the curtain aside to look in so I do. He then walks up and says, "no, you gotta touch it" so he lets us in and he hands a DM6 to my son and the grip is AMAZING. He then asks if we want to see the new PM6. Well, you know the answer, we walk over to the Proto booth, pull aside the curtains, and there they are on the wall next to the 05's. Let me tell you, no picture I have seen yet shows how much smaller the PM6 really is. 1/3 to 1/2 inch, no big deal right? Wrong, after you add on/off and feedneck, its more like 1 inch. Its is better balanced, and the new Olive just rocks. My son lays out $$$ and buys the first one sold @ World Cup, maybe first sold retail! Gary then signs the box.

How it shoots:
Incredibly easy to roll on the new trigger. Just picked it u and could EASILY hit 15-17 CPS. After adding a Reloader B and 45/4500 tank, perfectly balanced at the grip. Smaller, lighter, tighter, what else could you want? The Dye techs told me that it is internally IDENTICAL to the DM6, though the DM runs at a slightly lower internal operating ressure. All i can say, the PM6 has less kick than any DM or 05 Proto I have ever shot, including mine. SD Legacy was running it @ Cup and it looked & sounded like it was running perfectly.

Addition onto original review:
Here is my son's marker setup:
Olive 06 Proto Matrix
Virtue Board
14" 2-piece Proto barrel
Olive Hybrid Grenade grips
Diamond Black Reloader-B
68/3000 Crossfire or 51/3000 Crossfire

We ran a case of paint through it last night (10/30). Got about 1000 shots off a 68/2800 fill. We ran the gun in all modes. We were hitting the hopper limit in mode 2 with 6 AA energizer cells on fully auto. Accuracy is equal to that of my 05 proto. My son's accuracy test: at 30' start a string on a soccer ball and roll it into a trash can 20' away without moving. He did it with 70 or so balls left in the hopper. The nightkast4life review has to be bogus. He's 12 for crying out loud!

New stuff on marker (02/01/06): He just got an Ultralite frame, and as I stated above WOW! I didn't think I was going to like it as much as my son since I have big hands, but, before we bought it, Roger Farmer (LTZ) told me its perfect, even for big hands, if you are wear gloves. He is right, the frame just rocks. There is even a little LED HUD that tells you what mode you are in without moving your hands from the marker. Great trigger, and you can adjust it without removing parts. Also, it has an integral dovetail mount that is loosened through a hole in the grip. One last thing, it makes the marker 3 oz lighter, that's almost 1/4 of a pound.

I just bought 2 PM6s, one black, the other blue. Mixed parts and posted pix of all three. It shoots amazing, nearly perfect out of box. Only problem, some metal shavings (spiral) in dump chamber. If you get one, remove the bolt, clean it thoroughly, and re-lube. I use Shocktech Bun Butta, it seems slicker cold and hot.

Added 10/28/06:
Just got through playing today. I keep trying new parts on my Shocker, my son just built a Shocker, we test, we run 'em they work great, yada yada. Some problems; we go back to our Protos: PERFECT. I haven't played with my Proto for weeks, it chronos perfect (285 fps) and ball-on-ball. SAme for my son. And he is like, WOW, my Proto is perfect. Truly, this marker deserves a 10. I hadn't lubed or done anything to it since sometime in early September. It just RUNS well.

Added 06/04/2007:
WOW, PM6 are sooo cheap. They are really under-valued. I need to add/clarify two items:
- Even though there are a few o-rings, maintaining a PM6 (any PM or DM) is very easy due to the fuse bolt design. Easier than any Shocker, though the design is more complicated due to the LPR.
- I have never had any marker have as little kick as a PM6 (w/o tophat mod). This probably applies to Matrices as well. My PM5 had an STD reg on it and it shot AMAZING, just too big.

I would rate it higher than a 10 if I could due to its inexpensiveness (is that a word?).

Added 04/03/2008:
I haven't played in a while & I haven't used the PM6 in a while. So I air it up, chrono, and... PERFECT! It was shooting laserbeams. Even with 5-6 month old Stingers. Crazy fast and fairly efficient . I got a HOT 3000 psi fill on my 70/4500 stubby. I got 1 hopper (Vlocity Jr.) and 3 pods (locklids) for about 600 paintballs and was at 1400-1500 when I walked off the field.

My current setup:
Blue PM6 with black parts
- Black Ultralite frame
- CF Orange bolt with small tophat mod
- Blue 05 Hybrid Grind push-button on/off
- 14" Dye Ultralte barrel
Conclusion: REVISED: Cheaper than the DM6, as light as the DM6, and, if you want, you can upgrade to the Ultralite trigger frame (shaves another 1/4 pound of marker weight!) that is the main difference between the DM and PM. If you try it, you will like it. Also, its real inexpensive. You can pick up a used one cheaper than a new PMR.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 3rd, 2008 at 10:53 am PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (81):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
topnotchcapt Friday, October 28th, 2005 | 5:11 pm PST
That's awesome. How much do they go for?
   

leons Friday, October 28th, 2005 | 7:44 pm PST
i heardthat the dm6 is 3 or so pounds lighetr... :s
   

Moose0nTheLoose Saturday, October 29th, 2005 | 9:35 am PST
finally seomone wrote a review. sounds awsome, i might get one.
   

Kill_StompyDBI Monday, October 31st, 2005 | 3:34 pm PST
That sounds so awesome. How much did your son buy his PM6 for?
   

e2eclipse again Tuesday, November 1st, 2005 | 7:35 am PST
the trigger on the pm6 kinda looks the same as the pm5, is it any different at all or is it the same trigger?
   

fishhead Tuesday, November 1st, 2005 | 10:45 pm PST
The DM6 is 3 ounces lighter (the Ultralite trigger frame). The shape of the trigger on the PM6 is the same as the 05, however, the trigger frame is significantly shaped different that I can't shoot my 05 the same as my son's 06. That said, it still, just, RRRIIIPPPSSS! Very very easy to rip with the PM6. He bought for $950 and the Virtue was $90 at Cup. The Hybrid grips are a PERFECT match.
Last edited on Tuesday, November 1st, 2005 at 10:46 pm PST
   

wgp04cocker Thursday, November 10th, 2005 | 12:20 pm PST
the Proto M6 has more kick then the DM6 becuase of the higher operating pressure, so I don't think your statement of it having less kick then any other DM is true
   

fishhead Friday, November 11th, 2005 | 11:57 pm PST
wgp04cocker: I didn't shoot the DM6, just dry fired. However, the COCKING pressure is the same and I have tuned my son's PM6 to about 60 psi cocking vs. 75 psi stock(according to the manual for number of turns on reg". It dry fires the same or less than the DM6, but the DM6 was stock. You can deny what I say, however, you can only convince yourself, not me. BTW, check out the pics!
   

!KYLE! Sunday, November 13th, 2005 | 9:48 pm PST
i got a question though im thinking abou buying the pm6 but im stuck a long with the vision shocker...so wich one should i get please tell me like wich one is lighter,faster,accaurcy..thnx ;)
   

Tbone0423 Monday, November 14th, 2005 | 3:00 pm PST
everyone tells me to get a proto. they're fast, light, and dont cost as much as the DM's. This is what i see is so stupid:
Proto 6 is $125 CHEAPER than the DM5 and i have been told it is BETTER
Proto doesn't make u pay for the name as much as DYE does. I've always been a DYE fan but ever since this new proto came out, everyone is telling me to get it. I am still going to upgrade it a little (orange bolt, and CP trigger) but then it is fine. I currently have a Black Magic Autococker (old one) and i love it but i cant help but love the proto more.
Anyway, to answere ur question, i have been told that the Proto 6 is lighter and more efficient than the Dm5. Accuracy is the same but ehy're both dead on so what would there be to improve on.
Last edited on Tuesday, January 17th, 2006 at 6:30 pm PST
   

yakitori Monday, November 14th, 2005 | 6:01 pm PST
I have to point out an error too. There is no way you got 1000 shots on a 2800 fill. No way. My 06 proto Im guessing gets around 1200 or so on a 68/4500 fill. Its got the LPR at 2.75 turns out and the dwell is 18ms (although dwell has no effect on efficiency on trixes).

Its not identical to the DM6 internall either. Thats a myth or a farse. Its not true. Other than that, everything else was fine. It is A LOT smaller than previous proto. Dont think it kicks any less than my DM4 w/ orange bolt, but its also running stock bolt right now. After I get a new bolt for it, Im sure it will be smoother than the DM4.

Great review otherwise. Id say retest your effiency and report what you get totally. I dont think its 1000 on a 2800 fill. That would be about 1600 or more on a 68/4500 and that aint happenin w/o the evolve bolt.
   

bunkerboy2411 Monday, November 14th, 2005 | 8:41 pm PST
topnotchcap the pm6 goes for 950 and the dm6 goes for 1399
   

wgp04cocker Tuesday, November 15th, 2005 | 4:46 pm PST
another thing, the DM6 is lighter then the Proto M6, so I would change your conclusion.

DM6- 1.02kg / 2.24lbs winner at 6.7 ounces lighter than DM5
M6 - 1.07kg / 2.36lbs
   

fishhead Tuesday, November 15th, 2005 | 8:48 pm PST
yakitori: The only things possible: guage reads low on the 68/300, velocity might be a little low. Dwell was at 15ms. We were shooting Marballizers and they were breaking well. It was cool and humid also. We shot about 5 full hoppers w/ air left. Also, lube was Shocktech Gun Buttah. We played a week after and had to up the LPR pressure 1 turn and increase the dwell to 18 (from 15ms). Don't know what else to tell you on that. It was a Dye tech, from behind the counter at the Dye trailer who said they are the same internally (DM6 and PM6). Maybe he is not counting the bolt? Are they different?

wgp04cocker: i changed my conclusion previous to your last post, however, can you FEEL the difference of 0.12 lbs in your hands; that's a 4% difference on the DM6. My 03 vision shosker w/ Freak barrel & insert, LPR, CP reg, ASA w/ guage, and stock SP drop on/off weighs 2.51 lbs. Remove my LPR and its under the weight for the DM6. Shockers are still the lightest.
Last edited on Friday, November 18th, 2005 at 10:27 pm PST
   

bunkerboy2411 Thursday, November 17th, 2005 | 10:33 am PST
The trigger on the pm6 is identicle to the one on the pm5
   

Tbone0423 Friday, December 9th, 2005 | 1:56 pm PST
except for the inside, yeah. the grip is the same
   

wgp04cocker Saturday, December 10th, 2005 | 10:17 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by fishhead
wgp04cocker: i changed my conclusion previous to your last post, however, can you FEEL the difference of 0.12 lbs in your hands; that's a 4% difference on the DM6. My 03 vision shosker w/ Freak barrel & insert, LPR, CP reg, ASA w/ guage, and stock SP drop on/off weighs 2.51 lbs. Remove my LPR and its under the weight for the DM6. Shockers are still the lightest.

It doesn't matter whether you can feel the difference or not, a fact is a fact. Do you plan on playing with your shocker without the LPR?

quote:
Originally posted by Tbone0423
except for the inside, yeah. the grip is the same

The 05/06 grips, and board are the same thing, no different in any aspect.
Last edited on Wednesday, December 14th, 2005 at 3:34 pm PST
   

Tbone0423 Sunday, December 11th, 2005 | 10:33 am PST
i bet if u put a PM5 chip/board in there, it wouldn't work right
   

wgp04cocker Sunday, December 11th, 2005 | 11:03 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Tbone0423
i bet if u put a PM5 chip/board in there, it wouldn't work right

Says who? My friend owned a PM5 w/ Predator board and when he bought the PM6 he took the Predator and put it in the M6 and he has yet to have a problem. Not sure what makes you think they are different electronics.
   

fishhead Tuesday, December 13th, 2005 | 7:40 pm PST
PM5 & PM6 use same boards (according to Virtue). I even tried my PM5 board in my son's PM6 (and vice versa), they worked fine. The trigger frames ARE different, you can see it in pics as well as side-by-side comparisons. I, for sure, can't interchange the grip frames on my PM5 with a PM6. The Ultralite Frame for the PM5 is also a different part # than for a PM6. As far as weight is concerned, most people run their shocker without an LPR OR guage, I have both. I actually WEIGHED my marker and compared it to your DM6 figures. And yes, for tourneys, I run without my LPR (it allows me to change velocity on the fly). BTW, are those weights with or without the reg? Most published marker weights are without regulator, barrel, and in the case of timmys drops or on/off.
   
                            
Pages (81):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media