paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on fishhead's Review / Comments on fishhead's Review / Comments on fishhead's Review / Comments on fishhead's Review / Comments on fishhead's Review

Comments on fishhead's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

fishhead Friday, October 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year114 of 118 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5, DM5, DM4, Shocker, (also Timmies, Egos )
Marker Setup: Dust Blue 06 Proto Matrix, Orange CF bolt, 14" Ultralite barrel (blue back and black front), Hybrid grind push-button on/off, UL frame (also, Reloader B, 70/4500 HP Crossfire stubby w/ 04 Dye Rhino tank cover or Crossfire Stinger 51/3000 w/ custom Gucci tank cover)
Recommended
Upgrades:
The new Dye Ultralite grip frame (WOW!) and/or Virtue board, barrel kit (sizing paint)
Strengths: Smaller, lighter, better looking, complete marker out of box.
Weaknesses: Only dust anodizing available
Review: How we got it:
Stood outside, peeking through the curtains at the Dye booth at World Cup before anyone's booths are open, after Wilma had hit. Gary Shows asks if I wanna see the DM6, well I say 'YES!' of course!. Anywho, he tells me to pull the curtain aside to look in so I do. He then walks up and says, "no, you gotta touch it" so he lets us in and he hands a DM6 to my son and the grip is AMAZING. He then asks if we want to see the new PM6. Well, you know the answer, we walk over to the Proto booth, pull aside the curtains, and there they are on the wall next to the 05's. Let me tell you, no picture I have seen yet shows how much smaller the PM6 really is. 1/3 to 1/2 inch, no big deal right? Wrong, after you add on/off and feedneck, its more like 1 inch. Its is better balanced, and the new Olive just rocks. My son lays out $$$ and buys the first one sold @ World Cup, maybe first sold retail! Gary then signs the box.

How it shoots:
Incredibly easy to roll on the new trigger. Just picked it u and could EASILY hit 15-17 CPS. After adding a Reloader B and 45/4500 tank, perfectly balanced at the grip. Smaller, lighter, tighter, what else could you want? The Dye techs told me that it is internally IDENTICAL to the DM6, though the DM runs at a slightly lower internal operating ressure. All i can say, the PM6 has less kick than any DM or 05 Proto I have ever shot, including mine. SD Legacy was running it @ Cup and it looked & sounded like it was running perfectly.

Addition onto original review:
Here is my son's marker setup:
Olive 06 Proto Matrix
Virtue Board
14" 2-piece Proto barrel
Olive Hybrid Grenade grips
Diamond Black Reloader-B
68/3000 Crossfire or 51/3000 Crossfire

We ran a case of paint through it last night (10/30). Got about 1000 shots off a 68/2800 fill. We ran the gun in all modes. We were hitting the hopper limit in mode 2 with 6 AA energizer cells on fully auto. Accuracy is equal to that of my 05 proto. My son's accuracy test: at 30' start a string on a soccer ball and roll it into a trash can 20' away without moving. He did it with 70 or so balls left in the hopper. The nightkast4life review has to be bogus. He's 12 for crying out loud!

New stuff on marker (02/01/06): He just got an Ultralite frame, and as I stated above WOW! I didn't think I was going to like it as much as my son since I have big hands, but, before we bought it, Roger Farmer (LTZ) told me its perfect, even for big hands, if you are wear gloves. He is right, the frame just rocks. There is even a little LED HUD that tells you what mode you are in without moving your hands from the marker. Great trigger, and you can adjust it without removing parts. Also, it has an integral dovetail mount that is loosened through a hole in the grip. One last thing, it makes the marker 3 oz lighter, that's almost 1/4 of a pound.

I just bought 2 PM6s, one black, the other blue. Mixed parts and posted pix of all three. It shoots amazing, nearly perfect out of box. Only problem, some metal shavings (spiral) in dump chamber. If you get one, remove the bolt, clean it thoroughly, and re-lube. I use Shocktech Bun Butta, it seems slicker cold and hot.

Added 10/28/06:
Just got through playing today. I keep trying new parts on my Shocker, my son just built a Shocker, we test, we run 'em they work great, yada yada. Some problems; we go back to our Protos: PERFECT. I haven't played with my Proto for weeks, it chronos perfect (285 fps) and ball-on-ball. SAme for my son. And he is like, WOW, my Proto is perfect. Truly, this marker deserves a 10. I hadn't lubed or done anything to it since sometime in early September. It just RUNS well.

Added 06/04/2007:
WOW, PM6 are sooo cheap. They are really under-valued. I need to add/clarify two items:
- Even though there are a few o-rings, maintaining a PM6 (any PM or DM) is very easy due to the fuse bolt design. Easier than any Shocker, though the design is more complicated due to the LPR.
- I have never had any marker have as little kick as a PM6 (w/o tophat mod). This probably applies to Matrices as well. My PM5 had an STD reg on it and it shot AMAZING, just too big.

I would rate it higher than a 10 if I could due to its inexpensiveness (is that a word?).

Added 04/03/2008:
I haven't played in a while & I haven't used the PM6 in a while. So I air it up, chrono, and... PERFECT! It was shooting laserbeams. Even with 5-6 month old Stingers. Crazy fast and fairly efficient . I got a HOT 3000 psi fill on my 70/4500 stubby. I got 1 hopper (Vlocity Jr.) and 3 pods (locklids) for about 600 paintballs and was at 1400-1500 when I walked off the field.

My current setup:
Blue PM6 with black parts
- Black Ultralite frame
- CF Orange bolt with small tophat mod
- Blue 05 Hybrid Grind push-button on/off
- 14" Dye Ultralte barrel
Conclusion: REVISED: Cheaper than the DM6, as light as the DM6, and, if you want, you can upgrade to the Ultralite trigger frame (shaves another 1/4 pound of marker weight!) that is the main difference between the DM and PM. If you try it, you will like it. Also, its real inexpensive. You can pick up a used one cheaper than a new PMR.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 3rd, 2008 at 10:53 am PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (81):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
AsphaltDragon Saturday, December 17th, 2005 | 10:06 pm PST
Is the stock board true semi only? And would it be possible to get a picture of the back of your son's frame? His is absolutely gorgeous, by the way, my compliments.:)
   

fishhead Thursday, December 22nd, 2005 | 1:35 pm PST
The stock board is semi only (no ramping or other modes). His was upgraded to the Virtue board (so was my 05 proto) so I am not sure what you mean by true semi. The back of the frame looks just like 05. My son was commenting on differences/similarities between 05 & 06 trigger frames:
Diffs - General shape on 06, guard is round whereas the 05 is cut straight across the bottom. I am not sure, but will do a more thorough check, but it FEELS very different in my hand (i have large hands). Also, more room in trigger area for gloved or bigger fingers. Also, the 06 frame is sloped, then angled across the top vs. a straight cut, parallel with the bottom of the trigger guard on the 05.
Same - Same trigger, board, and button placement. I have been told (tho not shown) that the triggers are the same as the DM4, but not the DM5. Can someone confirm this?
Last edited on Friday, December 23rd, 2005 at 11:22 am PST
   

AsphaltDragon Wednesday, December 28th, 2005 | 11:27 am PST
Thanks for the info, sounds pretty cool. I'll check out that trigger theory too.
   

fishhead Friday, December 30th, 2005 | 1:57 pm PST
FYI: i just weighed my Shocker w/o lpr & guage but WITH everything necessary to shoot. It is 1 lb 15.2 oz w/o barrel. That is lighter than my 05 Ego by 1.3 oz.. PM6 w/o barrel: 2 lb 3.1 oz.
   

Tbone0423 Sunday, January 8th, 2006 | 9:57 am PST
so the shocker is a pound lighter than the PM6, wow!
WAt would u recomend for the loader to put on these fast guns (a shocker, pm6, etc)
A Halo B w/ Rip Drive or an Empire B w/ RIp drive?
   

AsphaltDragon Monday, January 9th, 2006 | 4:38 am PST
Halo B and Reloader B are practically the same, the only reason I go with a Reloader B is the fact that being sound activated eliminates eye trouble. But in the case of a Halo, a Cheetah board will both eliminate eye trouble and speed it up. So if you want a ready out of the box loader, go with the Reloader B ( Or Reloader B 2, a newer version of the same product ) Halo B are ready out of the box too, but with Cheetah they are GREATLY improved
   

speed_demon375 Wednesday, January 11th, 2006 | 10:49 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by leons
i heardthat the dm6 is 3 or so pounds lighetr... :s
maby 3 ounces lighter but no way 3 pounds
   

fishhead Thursday, January 12th, 2006 | 2:44 pm PST
I like using the Emprie Reloader B for 3 reasons:
1. it does not wait for a gap in the ball stack before it feeds
2. you don't have to clean the eyes
3. in my experience, you don't have to pull the batteries out (like a Halo) to prevent the batteries from draining; proly better circuit design, no leaky current or some such stuff...
BTW, it can also run on 4 AA cells if you don't need a feed rate higher than 17-19 bps.
   

AsphaltDragon Friday, January 13th, 2006 | 4:50 am PST
It's true, I never pull my batteries, and I still get great life
   

Tbone0423 Friday, January 20th, 2006 | 3:40 pm PST
but lets say in a game u run out of paint and u reach for a tube and put it in the empire loader. Will the nalls go down the feedneck or is that y the rip drive is there (which way do u rotate the rip drive to do different things and which way would u rotate it in this scenario?)
   

AsphaltDragon Saturday, January 21st, 2006 | 9:01 am PST
Reloaders are so sensitive that the act of tipping balls in will most definately cause the cone to spin, pretensioning your balls.
They mostly detect the vibration of the gun, but it is possible to get one to spin by talking to it. Yes, I have done it. Yes, it did cause awkard situations
   

Tbone0423 Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 | 1:11 pm PST
lol, i have to try that
i'll walk into a game and someone wil say to me "yo, theres no balls in ur feedstack"
and i'll say "Empire... FEED!!!" And it will feed and i will say that empire to that person for 200.
   

Daisy Saturday, February 4th, 2006 | 3:55 pm PST
Hey guys I was wondering if you could post a picture or even send me a picture of the PM6, with something like a waterbottle or a pod to show its size via relativity. Thanks.
   

AsphaltDragon Monday, February 6th, 2006 | 7:23 am PST
Or a ruler...:D
   

Alpha101 Wednesday, February 15th, 2006 | 4:27 pm PST
Only in my dreams
   

Daisy Friday, February 17th, 2006 | 3:36 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by AsphaltDragon
Or a ruler...:D

or a ruler haha!!!
   

smartguy41 Saturday, April 1st, 2006 | 9:20 pm PST
I'm getting one this summer.
   

baconbits_66 Monday, April 3rd, 2006 | 4:59 pm PST
waaaaaaaaaad up dawg yo son is gonna go to sleep tonight and wake up and his gun is gonna be gone just kiddin but sweet deal i really lieked ur review liek a lot but liek yea
   

AsphaltDragon Tuesday, April 4th, 2006 | 1:01 pm PST
Nice english
   

FDS Tuesday, May 30th, 2006 | 8:54 pm PST
Is there a difference between the PM6 and the Eviel Minion

Except the barrel
   
Previous Page
Pages (81):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media