paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on fishhead's Review / Comments on fishhead's Review / Comments on fishhead's Review / Comments on fishhead's Review / Comments on fishhead's Review

Comments on fishhead's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

fishhead Friday, October 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year114 of 118 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5, DM5, DM4, Shocker, (also Timmies, Egos )
Marker Setup: Dust Blue 06 Proto Matrix, Orange CF bolt, 14" Ultralite barrel (blue back and black front), Hybrid grind push-button on/off, UL frame (also, Reloader B, 70/4500 HP Crossfire stubby w/ 04 Dye Rhino tank cover or Crossfire Stinger 51/3000 w/ custom Gucci tank cover)
Recommended
Upgrades:
The new Dye Ultralite grip frame (WOW!) and/or Virtue board, barrel kit (sizing paint)
Strengths: Smaller, lighter, better looking, complete marker out of box.
Weaknesses: Only dust anodizing available
Review: How we got it:
Stood outside, peeking through the curtains at the Dye booth at World Cup before anyone's booths are open, after Wilma had hit. Gary Shows asks if I wanna see the DM6, well I say 'YES!' of course!. Anywho, he tells me to pull the curtain aside to look in so I do. He then walks up and says, "no, you gotta touch it" so he lets us in and he hands a DM6 to my son and the grip is AMAZING. He then asks if we want to see the new PM6. Well, you know the answer, we walk over to the Proto booth, pull aside the curtains, and there they are on the wall next to the 05's. Let me tell you, no picture I have seen yet shows how much smaller the PM6 really is. 1/3 to 1/2 inch, no big deal right? Wrong, after you add on/off and feedneck, its more like 1 inch. Its is better balanced, and the new Olive just rocks. My son lays out $$$ and buys the first one sold @ World Cup, maybe first sold retail! Gary then signs the box.

How it shoots:
Incredibly easy to roll on the new trigger. Just picked it u and could EASILY hit 15-17 CPS. After adding a Reloader B and 45/4500 tank, perfectly balanced at the grip. Smaller, lighter, tighter, what else could you want? The Dye techs told me that it is internally IDENTICAL to the DM6, though the DM runs at a slightly lower internal operating ressure. All i can say, the PM6 has less kick than any DM or 05 Proto I have ever shot, including mine. SD Legacy was running it @ Cup and it looked & sounded like it was running perfectly.

Addition onto original review:
Here is my son's marker setup:
Olive 06 Proto Matrix
Virtue Board
14" 2-piece Proto barrel
Olive Hybrid Grenade grips
Diamond Black Reloader-B
68/3000 Crossfire or 51/3000 Crossfire

We ran a case of paint through it last night (10/30). Got about 1000 shots off a 68/2800 fill. We ran the gun in all modes. We were hitting the hopper limit in mode 2 with 6 AA energizer cells on fully auto. Accuracy is equal to that of my 05 proto. My son's accuracy test: at 30' start a string on a soccer ball and roll it into a trash can 20' away without moving. He did it with 70 or so balls left in the hopper. The nightkast4life review has to be bogus. He's 12 for crying out loud!

New stuff on marker (02/01/06): He just got an Ultralite frame, and as I stated above WOW! I didn't think I was going to like it as much as my son since I have big hands, but, before we bought it, Roger Farmer (LTZ) told me its perfect, even for big hands, if you are wear gloves. He is right, the frame just rocks. There is even a little LED HUD that tells you what mode you are in without moving your hands from the marker. Great trigger, and you can adjust it without removing parts. Also, it has an integral dovetail mount that is loosened through a hole in the grip. One last thing, it makes the marker 3 oz lighter, that's almost 1/4 of a pound.

I just bought 2 PM6s, one black, the other blue. Mixed parts and posted pix of all three. It shoots amazing, nearly perfect out of box. Only problem, some metal shavings (spiral) in dump chamber. If you get one, remove the bolt, clean it thoroughly, and re-lube. I use Shocktech Bun Butta, it seems slicker cold and hot.

Added 10/28/06:
Just got through playing today. I keep trying new parts on my Shocker, my son just built a Shocker, we test, we run 'em they work great, yada yada. Some problems; we go back to our Protos: PERFECT. I haven't played with my Proto for weeks, it chronos perfect (285 fps) and ball-on-ball. SAme for my son. And he is like, WOW, my Proto is perfect. Truly, this marker deserves a 10. I hadn't lubed or done anything to it since sometime in early September. It just RUNS well.

Added 06/04/2007:
WOW, PM6 are sooo cheap. They are really under-valued. I need to add/clarify two items:
- Even though there are a few o-rings, maintaining a PM6 (any PM or DM) is very easy due to the fuse bolt design. Easier than any Shocker, though the design is more complicated due to the LPR.
- I have never had any marker have as little kick as a PM6 (w/o tophat mod). This probably applies to Matrices as well. My PM5 had an STD reg on it and it shot AMAZING, just too big.

I would rate it higher than a 10 if I could due to its inexpensiveness (is that a word?).

Added 04/03/2008:
I haven't played in a while & I haven't used the PM6 in a while. So I air it up, chrono, and... PERFECT! It was shooting laserbeams. Even with 5-6 month old Stingers. Crazy fast and fairly efficient . I got a HOT 3000 psi fill on my 70/4500 stubby. I got 1 hopper (Vlocity Jr.) and 3 pods (locklids) for about 600 paintballs and was at 1400-1500 when I walked off the field.

My current setup:
Blue PM6 with black parts
- Black Ultralite frame
- CF Orange bolt with small tophat mod
- Blue 05 Hybrid Grind push-button on/off
- 14" Dye Ultralte barrel
Conclusion: REVISED: Cheaper than the DM6, as light as the DM6, and, if you want, you can upgrade to the Ultralite trigger frame (shaves another 1/4 pound of marker weight!) that is the main difference between the DM and PM. If you try it, you will like it. Also, its real inexpensive. You can pick up a used one cheaper than a new PMR.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 3rd, 2008 at 10:53 am PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (81):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
mooniniteman Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 | 8:10 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Tbone0423
lol, i have to try that
i'll walk into a game and someone wil say to me "yo, theres no balls in ur feedstack"
and i'll say "Empire... FEED!!!" And it will feed and i will say that empire to that person for 200.



LMAO!!!! I would so do that!!
   

gooseguy825 Thursday, June 8th, 2006 | 2:52 pm PST
What do you guys think i should get?

A WGP Karnivor or a Pm6? I can get the pm6 for about $50 less.
   

fishhead Friday, June 9th, 2006 | 10:29 am PST
Firstly, the Evil Minion is a rebodied PM6. The two reasons I would pick the PM6:

1) The Minion is ugly (imo)

2) I wonder what Evil tech support would be. I have an Evil bolt in a 'cocker and I had some technical questions and NEVER got a respone after several e-mails. ALso, I have never seen an Evil booth at a tournament but Dye/Proto is at everything. The service from Dye/Proto has been 10+ on everything. They even sent me a replacement microswitch/battery harness for free, I just e-mailed them and I got a reply the next day, the harness 2 days later and I even told the that I broke the harness, not a defect. That's service.

Secondly, I have yelled or tapped the side of my Reloader-B to get it to feed when there were only a few balls left in the hoppper.

Thirdly, 'cockers are a little sensitive to paint quality, I sold my E-Bladed 'cocker for that very reason. Also, the Karni has a single eye, the PM6 has break-beam. The PM6 has two moving parts, the trigger and the bolt and timing issues are only Dwell and LPR pressure, what about a 'cocker? Finally, my PM6 shoots REAL well. Fast, accurate, super-low kick (i did the tophat mod for efficiency which increases kick a little) and tolerant of cheap/rec paint. Oh, yeah, did I mention that Dye/Proto tech support is awesome?
   

FDS Tuesday, June 20th, 2006 | 12:02 pm PST
should i get a 2K5 or PM6
   

fishhead Thursday, June 22nd, 2006 | 10:01 am PST
FDS: Are your speaking of a 2k5 Timmy? It is a good marker, but the PM6 shoots super smooth. One of my teammates shoots an Aim-bodied Timmy, with an Alias frame and it is really nice, but he has had some on-field issues where the marker just won't shoot. It is also significantly heavier than the PM6. They are both great markers, but for my dollar, I would get a PM6. I have owned a PM5 (sold) and a PM6, my son owns a PM6, and one of my teammates owns a PM6. We are all VERY happy with our Protos. PM6s are our tournament markers.
   

Tbone0423 Friday, June 23rd, 2006 | 9:19 am PST
o for the review, Fishhead, shocktech gun butta is overpriced Slick Honey. They're the exact same so to save some money buy Buzzy's slcik honey
   

fishhead Saturday, June 24th, 2006 | 6:01 pm PST
I buy the Gun Butta locally, its what the shop carries. I have heard the same, from others. Thanks for watchin out for me. There are definitely too many ways that 'name brand' means over-priced.
   

FDS Wednesday, July 5th, 2006 | 9:38 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by fishhead
FDS: Are your speaking of a 2k5 Timmy? It is a good marker, but the PM6 shoots super smooth. One of my teammates shoots an Aim-bodied Timmy, with an Alias frame and it is really nice, but he has had some on-field issues where the marker just won't shoot. It is also significantly heavier than the PM6. They are both great markers, but for my dollar, I would get a PM6. I have owned a PM5 (sold) and a PM6, my son owns a PM6, and one of my teammates owns a PM6. We are all VERY happy with our Protos. PM6s are our tournament markers.

thanks i'll get the PM
   

fishhead Friday, July 7th, 2006 | 8:48 am PST
Also, you can get PM6s really cheap now.
   

FDS Sunday, July 9th, 2006 | 9:28 pm PST
would any body no first off why my friends PM6 will only work with eyes off and not shoot far. I'm thinking somethings blocking the eyes or severed eye wire. And i'm getting a PM6 :)
   

fishhead Monday, July 10th, 2006 | 2:29 pm PST
change the battery
   

StrykerIon Thursday, July 13th, 2006 | 7:43 am PST
R u team live fire?
   

fishhead Thursday, July 13th, 2006 | 5:29 pm PST
yes
   

FDS Saturday, July 15th, 2006 | 8:52 am PST
why are pm5 only 25 $$$ cheaper then pm6s
   

fishhead Monday, July 17th, 2006 | 2:06 am PST
that's a new one to me. the pm5 and pm6 operate about the same, but the pm6 is smaller, lighter, and (imo) better looking than the pm5. i have had both, and i prefer my pm6. spend the extra $25.
   

pber13 Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 | 4:42 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by gooseguy825
What do you guys think i should get?

A WGP Karnivor or a Pm6? I can get the pm6 for about $50 less.

the karnivor is currently the fastest stock marker in the world, being able to hit 54 bps in full auto if u want to see a video of it firing that fast go to <http://www.gizmos-uk.com/WGP%20Karnivor.html>if ur worried about R.O.F. then get karnivore, if not get PM6, I'm going to as soon as i get the cash
   

Dyegunsrock Saturday, August 5th, 2006 | 12:01 pm PST
I have been thinking of gettin this marker, this definately clenches it(luckily the proshop down the road has all its stuff half price on boxing day)
   

Dyegunsrock Saturday, August 5th, 2006 | 1:12 pm PST
Ok I just want to know, what is the speed that this marker shoots?
   

FDS Sunday, August 6th, 2006 | 11:30 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Dyegunsrock
Ok I just want to know, what is the speed that this marker shoots?


capped at 23or24 by noid and adjustable
   

FDS Sunday, August 6th, 2006 | 11:32 am PST
what are good ups for PM6 but not ultralite frame i'm getting

1. 16in tip
2. lucky top hat orings
   
Previous Page
Pages (81):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media