paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on fishhead's Review / Comments on fishhead's Review / Comments on fishhead's Review / Comments on fishhead's Review / Comments on fishhead's Review

Comments on fishhead's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

fishhead Friday, October 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year114 of 118 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5, DM5, DM4, Shocker, (also Timmies, Egos )
Marker Setup: Dust Blue 06 Proto Matrix, Orange CF bolt, 14" Ultralite barrel (blue back and black front), Hybrid grind push-button on/off, UL frame (also, Reloader B, 70/4500 HP Crossfire stubby w/ 04 Dye Rhino tank cover or Crossfire Stinger 51/3000 w/ custom Gucci tank cover)
Recommended
Upgrades:
The new Dye Ultralite grip frame (WOW!) and/or Virtue board, barrel kit (sizing paint)
Strengths: Smaller, lighter, better looking, complete marker out of box.
Weaknesses: Only dust anodizing available
Review: How we got it:
Stood outside, peeking through the curtains at the Dye booth at World Cup before anyone's booths are open, after Wilma had hit. Gary Shows asks if I wanna see the DM6, well I say 'YES!' of course!. Anywho, he tells me to pull the curtain aside to look in so I do. He then walks up and says, "no, you gotta touch it" so he lets us in and he hands a DM6 to my son and the grip is AMAZING. He then asks if we want to see the new PM6. Well, you know the answer, we walk over to the Proto booth, pull aside the curtains, and there they are on the wall next to the 05's. Let me tell you, no picture I have seen yet shows how much smaller the PM6 really is. 1/3 to 1/2 inch, no big deal right? Wrong, after you add on/off and feedneck, its more like 1 inch. Its is better balanced, and the new Olive just rocks. My son lays out $$$ and buys the first one sold @ World Cup, maybe first sold retail! Gary then signs the box.

How it shoots:
Incredibly easy to roll on the new trigger. Just picked it u and could EASILY hit 15-17 CPS. After adding a Reloader B and 45/4500 tank, perfectly balanced at the grip. Smaller, lighter, tighter, what else could you want? The Dye techs told me that it is internally IDENTICAL to the DM6, though the DM runs at a slightly lower internal operating ressure. All i can say, the PM6 has less kick than any DM or 05 Proto I have ever shot, including mine. SD Legacy was running it @ Cup and it looked & sounded like it was running perfectly.

Addition onto original review:
Here is my son's marker setup:
Olive 06 Proto Matrix
Virtue Board
14" 2-piece Proto barrel
Olive Hybrid Grenade grips
Diamond Black Reloader-B
68/3000 Crossfire or 51/3000 Crossfire

We ran a case of paint through it last night (10/30). Got about 1000 shots off a 68/2800 fill. We ran the gun in all modes. We were hitting the hopper limit in mode 2 with 6 AA energizer cells on fully auto. Accuracy is equal to that of my 05 proto. My son's accuracy test: at 30' start a string on a soccer ball and roll it into a trash can 20' away without moving. He did it with 70 or so balls left in the hopper. The nightkast4life review has to be bogus. He's 12 for crying out loud!

New stuff on marker (02/01/06): He just got an Ultralite frame, and as I stated above WOW! I didn't think I was going to like it as much as my son since I have big hands, but, before we bought it, Roger Farmer (LTZ) told me its perfect, even for big hands, if you are wear gloves. He is right, the frame just rocks. There is even a little LED HUD that tells you what mode you are in without moving your hands from the marker. Great trigger, and you can adjust it without removing parts. Also, it has an integral dovetail mount that is loosened through a hole in the grip. One last thing, it makes the marker 3 oz lighter, that's almost 1/4 of a pound.

I just bought 2 PM6s, one black, the other blue. Mixed parts and posted pix of all three. It shoots amazing, nearly perfect out of box. Only problem, some metal shavings (spiral) in dump chamber. If you get one, remove the bolt, clean it thoroughly, and re-lube. I use Shocktech Bun Butta, it seems slicker cold and hot.

Added 10/28/06:
Just got through playing today. I keep trying new parts on my Shocker, my son just built a Shocker, we test, we run 'em they work great, yada yada. Some problems; we go back to our Protos: PERFECT. I haven't played with my Proto for weeks, it chronos perfect (285 fps) and ball-on-ball. SAme for my son. And he is like, WOW, my Proto is perfect. Truly, this marker deserves a 10. I hadn't lubed or done anything to it since sometime in early September. It just RUNS well.

Added 06/04/2007:
WOW, PM6 are sooo cheap. They are really under-valued. I need to add/clarify two items:
- Even though there are a few o-rings, maintaining a PM6 (any PM or DM) is very easy due to the fuse bolt design. Easier than any Shocker, though the design is more complicated due to the LPR.
- I have never had any marker have as little kick as a PM6 (w/o tophat mod). This probably applies to Matrices as well. My PM5 had an STD reg on it and it shot AMAZING, just too big.

I would rate it higher than a 10 if I could due to its inexpensiveness (is that a word?).

Added 04/03/2008:
I haven't played in a while & I haven't used the PM6 in a while. So I air it up, chrono, and... PERFECT! It was shooting laserbeams. Even with 5-6 month old Stingers. Crazy fast and fairly efficient . I got a HOT 3000 psi fill on my 70/4500 stubby. I got 1 hopper (Vlocity Jr.) and 3 pods (locklids) for about 600 paintballs and was at 1400-1500 when I walked off the field.

My current setup:
Blue PM6 with black parts
- Black Ultralite frame
- CF Orange bolt with small tophat mod
- Blue 05 Hybrid Grind push-button on/off
- 14" Dye Ultralte barrel
Conclusion: REVISED: Cheaper than the DM6, as light as the DM6, and, if you want, you can upgrade to the Ultralite trigger frame (shaves another 1/4 pound of marker weight!) that is the main difference between the DM and PM. If you try it, you will like it. Also, its real inexpensive. You can pick up a used one cheaper than a new PMR.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 3rd, 2008 at 10:53 am PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (81):  First  |  78  |  79  |  80  |  81
                            
fishhead Saturday, April 5th, 2008 | 8:14 am PST
good, i have heard. the last time i dealt with a dye throttle, the kid could not unscrew it from his ego (stock asa, called OOPS, for on/off purge system). Well, he really needed it off so started unscrewing it with some help. it started neting, then he noticed it was the throttle reg unscrewing from the tank. i was convinced, no throttle for me and i love dye products!

As far as funky sizes, i think you are thinking CP & DXS. They have 48/4500 that are shorter than the standard 45/4500.

Dye: http://www.pbreview.com/products/reviews/2736/
ANS: http://www.pbreview.com/products/reviews/4634/
MacDev: http://www.pbreview.com/products/reviews/3310/
   

dstone454 Saturday, April 5th, 2008 | 2:17 pm PST
yeah i decided that i'm going to spend my money on a smartphone since my computer is getting old so i'm getting a motorola Q and using money to pay for internet and stuff

but, i got my tank filled and bough some evil paint(they didn't have marbs or allstars) and with a large overbore its shooting accurate through my ego, my ego has almost no kick now its awesome, and it was very accurate considering heavy wind
   

fishhead Saturday, April 5th, 2008 | 8:13 pm PST
some guy borrowed my pm6 and was like,"SH!t, that is the most amazing DM i have ever shot!" Then I told him it was a PM6 and he freaked. His Ego6 was not working right.

68/3000 fill - 1 hopper and 6 pods with about 800-900 psi left. That works out to 1100 paintballs with air leftover. i truly am not sure what 'magic tune' i have going, but 285-288 fps, NO kick, superfast trigger and no bounce. i am NEVER giving up this marker.
   

dstone454 Sunday, April 6th, 2008 | 5:56 pm PST
lol nice i may be playing in a rookie five man tourney the 27th but we will almost certainly not play well since my first time going out will be the week before and some of the team members are just buddies from school with like tippmans who hardly ever play but as long as i get a little experience i'm fine
   

Dyegunsrock Monday, April 7th, 2008 | 8:32 am PST
Hey boys, its been a LONG time.

Hows everyone doin'?

So I've given up semi. I play strictly stock class now, this is my micro phantom:

http://img522.imageshack.us/img522/6104/sa401007jt6.jpg

   

fishhead Monday, April 7th, 2008 | 1:07 pm PST
home made stock?
   

fishhead Tuesday, April 15th, 2008 | 8:59 pm PST
dstone, good luck in the tournament. remember, talk it up:
- repeat calls so everyone knows who is in what bunker
- G & D counts: you need to know what you have left & what they have left

make sure that whoever is playing the back for snake stays on that wire so your snake doesn't get bunkered out.
   

Dyegunsrock Wednesday, April 16th, 2008 | 12:33 pm PST
Yup, the stock is homemade.

What I did was a took my broken Carbon Fibre hockey stick, cut it down and painted it. Its now black, but I haven't gotten a picture of it yet.

The stock is great, its super light cuz its carbon fibre, its super strong cuz its from a hockey stick and its just so nice. That orange thing is covering a tennis ball, the ball lets you roll it on your shoulder easier and it doesn't dig into your arm.

I named it "The Hockey Stock" and a bunch of people in the pump community up here have em.
   

dstone454 Wednesday, April 16th, 2008 | 6:25 pm PST
yeah the tournament didn't work cause none of us realized that it was 70$ per case of paint and the paint was crap so we didn't do it and we were one man short

i'm selling my defiant to a teamate for 350 and i can buy either a used angel gat for 350 in good condition with ul barrel and tadao and all set to shoot or i can save, get a dm6 with critical and custom polished black anno with red accents for 525, they both look really nice but i don't know what i want, i like the angel but i've never shot one and i've heard stripping it is hard

i'm probly gonna buy something off trademygun or go to my local shop and see if they have anything used, i'm not really into the pbn scene cause my mom doesn't have paypal and won't ship checks and dad steers clear of paintball

i dunno what i want but i know i don't want the defiant anymore even though i got it to shoot super smooth, its just given me enough bad memories that i don't think i'd even be willing to play with it

if you browse trademygun and find anything that you recommend please let me know

thanks
   

fishhead Tuesday, May 6th, 2008 | 10:23 pm PST
trademygun has gone expensive. no deals IMO.

my field is holding a 5-man tournament on the 25MAY08.

LVPP will be hosting a 5 man tournament on Sunday May 25th. The tournament is open to anyone classified D2 or under using NPPL/PSP classification system. The entry fee will be $300 per team and the event will be field paint only! Paint prices will range from $35 to $45 per case depending on what paint you want to shoot. Once I know what grades will be available I will post them. Not to worry, all the paint will be quality paint, no seconds. CASH PRIZES will be awarded to the top 3 teams. The amount of the prizes will be determined by the number of teams which sigm up for the event. If we get at least 8 teams 1st place will receive $1000 cash. We will be using the NPPL rules for the event with a slightly modified scoring system based on 5 player format. We will have more info to follow.

We will also be holding a raffle following the event for additional prizes!

LVPP
   

PM6er Saturday, May 17th, 2008 | 4:54 pm PST
hey guys, and i have a dye throttle. i've had no major problems but the threads do strip easily. alot of people say bad things about it but i guess im just lucky. my friends throttle's pin shot off. but no problems for me. i havent pbed in a while. ive been playing xbox live but my dad took it away and i have some spare money so i was thinkin about buying some gear. for now my gun is fine so i was thinking that i am going to get a new mask. i was thinking a white events or profilers. i was leaning to events cuz im really short, and im not sure about the fitting of the profilers. i was looking into mixing and matching flex parts for the pefect pinoy mask. red bottoms, blue frame, yellow softies, and a km filipino flag. but i just realized that i dont really like proflexes. so you guys tell me what mask, events or profilers. and fish, what guns are you and your son shooting? i dont check this board often anymore cuz i keep forgeting but i'll try.

-pm6er
   

fishhead Sunday, May 18th, 2008 | 2:48 pm PST
me: pm6 is my main, its shooting UNBELIEVABLE. backup an 05 timmy, then my shocker
son: ego7, b/u shocker

i love the fit of i3 pros (that's what i wear) but definitely like grillz. only problem with grillz, up and down vision is shorter than i3s. protos, or flexes.
   

Cbunker Friday, June 27th, 2008 | 7:54 pm PST
http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?p=48960369#post489603
69


Hey guys, does anyone know anyone whod be interested in my gun?
   

fishhead Saturday, June 28th, 2008 | 6:22 pm PST
me. i posted on your thread
   

Cbunker Saturday, June 28th, 2008 | 7:12 pm PST
cool cool, im not sure what i can add but maybe we can work out a deal
   

PM6er Saturday, August 2nd, 2008 | 5:18 pm PST
Yo fish I have a question, umm, im looking into a new barrel. I know you've owned both stiffi and ultralite. Which overall do you reccomend? My paint is in the shade all day so it doesnt swell, but is overboring good? I cant find a .693 just a .691 that should be plenty bore right? I was thinking a .691 red stiffi mamba if stiffi and same bore and length for ul. help me decide.
   

fishhead Sunday, August 3rd, 2008 | 8:42 am PST
.691 should be good. i have heard the Ironmen go with a .693, but that could be bogus. btw, i have an ultralite for my timmy & pm6. the shocker, i have an all american & freak. the cf barrel i used to have was the sly kit. that was a good kit, but i like my ultralite better.
   

PM6er Sunday, August 3rd, 2008 | 12:40 pm PST
Danka fishy, ordering red ul back and black front dust .691 14 in. thankyo fishay.
   

Cbunker Friday, January 23rd, 2009 | 5:55 pm PST
Damn noone has posted in a while hahaha


I just remembered about this, getting ready for my first tourney, leaving in about 10 minutes :D

   
Previous Page
Pages (81):  First  |  78  |  79  |  80  |  81
                            

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media