paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on miotch's Review / Comments on miotch's Review / Comments on miotch's Review / Comments on miotch's Review / Comments on miotch's Review

Comments on miotch's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

miotch Saturday, October 29th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 59 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k2 GZ intimidator
2k2 Angel LCD
custom e1'd cocker
custom e2'd cocker
Marker Setup: 2k2 GZ timmy
clamshell frame
empire barrel kit
frenzy 113

Recommended
Upgrades:
well if i could get one that works.. i would give you an idea of upgrades..
Strengths: It shoots fast.. err.. Without paint..With eyes turned off.
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: ok so after reading ALL the "omg this marker is great" reviews here on PB review i decided to get a promaster from my local store.
After taking it off the shelf and letting me hold it i was indeed surprised at how light and comfortable the promaster was. Felt alot like a timmy in my hands, the trigger felt really good too. The counter guy aired it up, and shopped me how to turn the gun on and keep the eyes off.. It HISSSSS'D out the gripframe and he immediately cocked it.. It stopped hissing.
I shot it in ramp/unlimited mode and i was impressed.. Wow this thing is fast.
OK. Next day i head out to the local field. Buy a case of paint and head over to the crono station. Turn on the eggII and shoot a few over the crony.. Anywhere from 260-285.. ok so the springs are worn in yet. i shot a string.. or attempted to. i fired about 20 balls. the max bps i could get out of the gun was around 7bps.. hmmm.
The bolt kept sticking in the forward position and again the HISSSSS noise from the grip frame.
I put fresh batteries in the eggy. and tried again... same results, but this time when i let off the trigger the gun shot 3 or 4 more times..WTF..
ok so i attempt to play a couple of games..
Frustraited i take the marker back to the paintball store.

After screwing with the marker for about 90 minutes the owner pulls another promaster off the shelf and hands it to me. "i guess the other one needs to go back" he told me.
After firing 2 68/3k fills thru this marker and no hisses.( just air, no paint)..i figured i'd be ok.

So today (1 week later) i take my new promaster out to my local field. i buy a case of marblizers and walk over to the chrony.
i shoot 3 balls and i get a break. hmm about 50 degrees outside.. not too cold.
i clean the gun and reload. about 5 balls this time and another break.
hmmmm
i give it a quick squeege and try to thro a string. bang bang blop blop blop
lots of choppage. WTF did i get this time.. a salad shooter???
Ok so i whip out the back up gun i had packed (my old erex wheee!) and atleast got in a few games.
Then i took my 2nd promaster back to the paintball store..
after 2 hours of screwing with it the gun tech concluded the ball detents were "ripping" the balls and not giving way to them. About 1 in 3 balls would have to be pushed (i mean about 5 lbs of pressure PUSHED) thru the detents.
He pulled another promaster off the shelf and it had exactly the same problem.
I currently have a BKO on loan from the store so i can get play time in until the promaster situation is rectified.
I'll update as the situation develops.
Conclusion: i would not reccomend this marker to anyone at this time.
seeing 3 of them with defects straight out of the box and being nothing but a 400 dollar waste of money makes it hard to give it a good rating either. It does feel good in the hand, the trigger feels really good and the wheight is awesome. These redeeming qualities pull it out of the 1 product rating, but the loss of quality control and plagues of problems i had with the 2 i have tried out pull its rating in my book very far down.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 29th, 2005 at 5:11 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
nonameputs Sunday, October 30th, 2005 | 10:50 am PST
So what did you do to these markers after you left the store to make them do this?
   

pb4fun Sunday, October 30th, 2005 | 12:09 pm PST
I really dont know what to say. All of the promaster's that I have seen that were bought at a store worked fine. The one I didnt see working was bought on ebay, and well thats a long story involving CO2. I would reccomend buying one from an online store, or atleast buying one from a different store. What was the name of the store so we know not to go there......... I am not sure that the gun tech was that competent if it took him 2 hours to figure out that the detents were not working.... Also, check you review for contradicting points that make the readers question the validity. You make alot of statements about the THREE promasters, then the number changes to TWO.

the problem where the bolt kept popping forward and you could only get around 7BPS was due to the LPR not being set correctly. If the pressure goes below 70 PSI or above 120PSI it will leak to warn the user of this issue. It will cause the marker to not be able to cycle fast and the bolt will go nowhere. Also, make syre you didnt pinch the battery wire because this could cause serious issues with energy. I pinched my halo wire, and lets just say it wasnt a good round. Good thing I have the rip drive.
   

Nex2005 Sunday, October 30th, 2005 | 12:59 pm PST
From what i've seen, promasters seem to have a rather high defective rate. My own had a dead reg out of the box.

That being said, it is the best marker you can buy for the money, and defects are what warrantee's are good for.

This was an honest review from someone that has gotten 3 defective promasters (very bad luck, but it gives him every right to write a bad-rated review - so don't flame)

The two different problems you seem to have had look pretty simple to fix. The ball detents are held in place by small springs. Maybe they were too strong?
   

miotch Sunday, October 30th, 2005 | 2:44 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by De4d On Targ3T
This review is so full of BS. Either you are retarded or don't even own this marker and are bias against it because you hate to such a good gun for a low price.Judging from your spelling you are mentally retarded. Ever thought about filling the tank with air before you shoot?Screw in the air tank a little bit more?Are you using co2 or an outdated tank?...Oh wait you don't even own this...So why am I talking to you...Do think before you review. Also in your review, you say 5lbs of pressure was "pushed" through the detents. That is not the markers faults and if the tech said that, he is retarded because everyone knows that its the hopper that pushes through the detents. Highly suspect the review and the reviewer. Nice try trying to take a stab at the promaster though, and I have about 30+ people backing me up and you are the only one who has had a problem with your marker(WHOOPS NOT YOUR MARKER).

Anyway this review is total bs. Nobody Listen to him!!!!


i'll scan the reciept and post it when i get the marker back from the store.
thanks for attacking me. Yes i did purchase a promaster from gotcha paintball in raleigh NC.
I did nothing to this marker. I put air in it from a recently re-hydroed nitroduck 68/3k
i DID NOT TAKE A STAB AT ICD .. if i did that i would have been making as much as an ass of myself as you in your comment post.. grow up.
   

miotch Sunday, October 30th, 2005 | 2:49 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pb4fun
I really dont know what to say. All of the promaster's that I have seen that were bought at a store worked fine. The one I didnt see working was bought on ebay, and well thats a long story involving CO2. I would reccomend buying one from an online store, or atleast buying one from a different store. What was the name of the store so we know not to go there......... I am not sure that the gun tech was that competent if it took him 2 hours to figure out that the detents were not working.... Also, check you review for contradicting points that make the readers question the validity. You make alot of statements about the THREE promasters, then the number changes to TWO.

the problem where the bolt kept popping forward and you could only get around 7BPS was due to the LPR not being set correctly. If the pressure goes below 70 PSI or above 120PSI it will leak to warn the user of this issue. It will cause the marker to not be able to cycle fast and the bolt will go nowhere. Also, make syre you didnt pinch the battery wire because this could cause serious issues with energy. I pinched my halo wire, and lets just say it wasnt a good round. Good thing I have the rip drive.


The 3 include the last one the gun tech (also the store owner who IS ICD CERTIFIED)
pulled off the shelf and tested against mine (for the detent pressure) THE ONE OFF THE WALL HAD THE SAME PROBLEM.
That meaning there were 3 promasters i saw problems with, 2 that i actually posessed.
please. If you want to make a comment against my review, go for it. You are more than entitled to. But i am not taking shots at ICD, i am not some asshat that just wants to make trouble.
I am giving an honest review of the problems i have suffered with this gun and i am trying to let other peoples know of them.
Go over to the pbnation ICD/promasters forum and look. You will see there are posts such as "damn promaster" and "need promaster help" that all state the same problems i have experienced.
   

miotch Sunday, October 30th, 2005 | 2:54 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by De4d On Targ3T
. Also in your review, you say 5lbs of pressure was "pushed" through the detents. That is not the markers faults and if the tech said that, he is retarded because everyone knows that its the hopper that pushes through the detents.

Ok i'll address this one specifically.
take a paintball, put it in front of the bolt. Push the bolt forward. there are 2 little white ball looking thingies in there.. those are the detents. These would not recess and let the paintball thru . You had to PUSH the bolt forward, ripping the side of the paintball to make it travel from the breach and into the barrel.
please stop referring to folks as retarded. Unless you wish to continue making an ass of yourself.
Last edited on Sunday, October 30th, 2005 at 3:36 pm PST
   

miotch Sunday, October 30th, 2005 | 2:59 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Nex2005
From what i've seen, promasters seem to have a rather high defective rate. My own had a dead reg out of the box.

That being said, it is the best marker you can buy for the money, and defects are what warranty's are good for.

This was an honest review from someone that has gotten 3 defective promasters (very bad luck, but it gives him every right to write a bad-rated review - so don't flame)

The two different problems you seem to have had look pretty simple to fix. The ball detents are held in place by small springs. Maybe they were too strong?


Yeah the tech tried taking one of the detents out completely yesterday and there was less chopping, but still a consistent one in 12 chop or so. The main reason i don't but new guns off the net is because i know my local store will take care of the marker for the lifetime of the gun. It's ICD's problem to fix now, and like i said in the review. I will Update as the situation develops.
Thanks
   

De4d On Targ3T Sunday, October 30th, 2005 | 7:05 pm PST
Sorry I guess I kinda got carried away
   

De4d On Targ3T Sunday, October 30th, 2005 | 7:10 pm PST
I think it was pb4fun that had a similar problem. Check with him because he said something about leaking.
   

darktamer Saturday, November 12th, 2005 | 4:16 pm PST
You said the tech cocked it, hmmm? Interesting... seeing as how electro-pnues gus don't cock... there is no sear or hammer involved.
   

iceman14517 Friday, December 2nd, 2005 | 3:31 pm PST
miotch, do you still have problems with your promaster or have you got it fixed?
   

kingovdaice01 Thursday, December 8th, 2005 | 12:49 pm PST
miotch, dont dog on darktamer cause he's right and ur wrong, this gun isnt like ur low-end pieces of sh!t, when u air it up if u've set it correctly the bolt will automaticaly move back. now dont try to act like u kno what ur talkin about cause u dont.
   

miotch Tuesday, December 13th, 2005 | 2:39 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by kingovdaice01
miotch, dont dog on darktamer cause he's right and ur wrong, this gun isnt like ur low-end pieces of sh!t, when u air it up if u've set it correctly the bolt will automaticaly move back. now dont try to act like u kno what ur talkin about cause u dont.


i have no idea what you are talking about.. try spelling out words for a change.
   

miotch Tuesday, December 13th, 2005 | 2:47 pm PST
Ok... Work slacked up a bit and i got to play at the local toys-for-tots charity gameand play with my promaster back from ICD about 2 weeks ago.
LPR was defective and fixed . Detents were adjusted, no more details than that.
Still got alot of Blops using Ramp paint and apex barrel. Some in the barrel, some in the chamber.(temp in the mid 40s.. weas in the high 20s overnight). Guy at the counter said the paint had "sat in the truck all night"....=(
Checked the paint/bore match.. i think this paint may have frozen the night before ..it was kinda big. Alot bigger than the last batch of ramp i used that fell thru my apex .. this stuff wouldnt fit in it =(
Scrounge thru the bag.. Find a stock cocker barrel that works..(why did i ever sell that empire kit?) Played for a while. I am not sure at this time if the paint was crapola or if the gun is still (altho not as often) ripping the balls.
After playing with it about 6 games. It is a gas hog for sure! I'll update next time i play. I'll try to get some better paint. Seeing as i was the only person out there using ramp (i got the last case) I didnt have any one else to compare to. There was 1 other guy out there playing with his promaster, he was not having any problems at all. ( i cant for the life of me remember what paint he said he was using..)


Last edited on Tuesday, December 13th, 2005 at 2:49 pm PST
   

BOBO Thursday, December 22nd, 2005 | 4:12 pm PST
we are still waiting for an update...
   

De4d On Targ3T Monday, December 26th, 2005 | 11:47 am PST
Im still waiting for him to put the reciept in his review like he said he was going to do like a month ago....
   

UD83 Thursday, January 5th, 2006 | 12:26 pm PST
Miotch,
I don't mean any harm man, honestly I don't. But if you're having this much trouble with the promaster, put it on the consignment board and get something else.
I've only had mine a month or so... but I can put it on full auto and let her rip and I MIGHT chop one of the last couple rounds due to bounce.... every once in awhile a ball detent gets stuck from condensation in the barrel plus getting sprayed on a woodsball field helping the detent stick.
On a 4500 fill (68ci4500psi) I'm pulling almost 2,000 shots... how much are you shooting that you're running out of air man? A gas hog? my A-5 is alot harder on air.
The freestyle is a gashog. the promaster is a damn fish on air when compared to a timmy.
I have chopped a couple rounds... usually it's the last couple. I did have some shootdown before, (AKA 2Lt. + will fix that) and that's about it.

As far as the paint goes bud, try xball, it shoots ok and alot of fields have it... (the bronze, strangely enough)
My Promaster runs like a clock and works like a champ, I'm sorry you're having such a hard time.
   

Paintball manic Monday, January 30th, 2006 | 7:13 pm PST
Dispute:
It appears to me that this guy is just having problems with his local shop. He said that the tech took it off the shelf, not out of the box, but off the shelf. Whose to say that the tech hasn't been trying it out and somehow messed it up? Whose to say that someone else didnt come in, buy the marker, and return it broken? Its not like all shops are perfect.. these things have happened.
   

WEZ2.0 Saturday, February 4th, 2006 | 10:56 am PST
u idiot, u worked all the lube out of the gun, did knowone ever tell u that its bad to dry fire a gun exspecially a new one
   

butterz Sunday, February 5th, 2006 | 9:29 am PST
with the first defective gun you said it hissed and the techy quixkly cocked the gun back and it stopped. the promaster cocks itself when air is applied so what the hell is going on there?
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media