paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on notloc08's Review / Comments on notloc08's Review / Comments on notloc08's Review / Comments on notloc08's Review / Comments on notloc08's Review

Comments on notloc08's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

notloc08 Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k5 timmys, dm6/5/4/proto, egos, all angels, shockers, ions, everything, like seriously everything...
Marker Setup: well i tested it with a 72/4500, halo, and stock everything else
Recommended
Upgrades:
i dont know exactly whats out for the 06 timmys
Strengths: Smaller than 2k5s
Lighter than 2k5s
Weaknesses: In review...
Review: Well I tested out the 2k6 timmys at world cup. I shot Bob Long's personal 2k6 as well. I shot them with reballs or lazerballs, I dont know exactly which one. Anyway, I was very dissapointed. They do feel lighter and smaller than the previous timmys. The three 2k6 timmys i shot, had very bad dropoff. We tried multiple tanks on them, but they still had REALLY bad dropoff (im talking like, start shooting, and have 2 out of 6 drop off three feet in front of you, or sometimes even not come out of the barrel) This could have been a quick fix with the LPR I think, with my knowledge of timmys, but what suprised me, was that all three of these 2k6 timmys did the exact same thing. Also, there was actually more kick than a properly tuned 2k5 timmy on every singe 2k6 timmy. This suprised me as I had been tricked into thinking they had less kick, but no, I assure you, the 2k6's that I shot had more kick than many of the 2k5's ive shot. The accuracy was very good, except for the 2 out of 6 that would drop off like mad. The gun is fast, but just as fast as your fingers, except with the 2k6s, they started running away nomatter how we adjusted the triggers (as in I would start shooting it, let go, and it would still be shooting) but im sure this could be fixed. They were all very bouncy though, but all timmys are unless properly adjusted. The boards seemed good but I only shot the timmys in semi. They looked very nice, but the back is pretty sharp and I almost cut myself. The milling was all flawless as was the anno. As for the trigger, I didnt like it at all, but thats just my personal preference. It was hard to walk on I felt, but still, it was very fast due to the insane amount of bounce on the guns. The 2k6's that I shot really, really did not impress me, but I may have gotten 3 duds? Seems unusual but hey, you never know. I along with lots of other people who shot the new line, seemed to have felt there was much more kick than was expected (not like spyder kick or anything but not even close to as smooth as a dm) They need to work the bugs out of the 2k6s before I would ever buy one. My advice is to try and shoot one if you can to see for yourself.
Conclusion: This products performance really did not impress me and was nowhere near up to par with the new DM6 that came out at cup. For the money, you should be getting alot more than what I shot. Look around at other choices before you buy one of these.... Then again I may have gotten 3 bad ones, but I am not too sure on that. That was my experience with the 2k6s

Id give it a 9 for milling/ compact size/ anno job
Id give it a 1 for dropoff
Id give it a 8 for accuracy
Id give it a 3 for the bounciness
Id give it a 7 for the feel (because of the trigger)
Id give the price (1300) to performance a 5 because for 1300, there are much nicer guns (both shooting wise and cost wise) on the market in my opinion
and overall that averages out to be a 5.5 and since it dissapointed me greaty due to all the hype that it was given, ill give it a 5 (since I cant give it a 5.5)
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 15th, 2005 at 10:55 am PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
cardude1 Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005 | 4:30 pm PST
The Dropoff was from the lazerballs.
   

fishhead Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005 | 11:16 pm PST
i will admit, the tech had a problem with the marker at first. major drop, every ball, even having to manually push the bolt forward. he took it to the trailer and it was working fine when he came back. we had to use our own air (java 45/4500) while their tank was getting re-filled. there wasn't much bounce with the one i shot, kick was minimal to none. again, i only tested. I still want it!
   

jbarbour Tuesday, November 8th, 2005 | 9:07 pm PST
Bob dident hype these at all, the consumers did

it was accidently shown to the public and forced him to release early.
   

lazyaznboi81 Wednesday, November 9th, 2005 | 3:20 pm PST
i find this review hard to believe. I'm not saying that you're not credible, i'm just saying i doubt bob long would release that gun the way you make it out to sound. especially since you said you shot his personal one. o well though.
   

frontmanmike Wednesday, November 9th, 2005 | 5:48 pm PST
This runs on low pressure right?
   

Guitarguy Wednesday, November 9th, 2005 | 8:41 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by frontmanmike
This runs on low pressure right?


What high end gun doesn't? Low pressure doesn't necessarily make the gun better.
   

mattmaster34 Thursday, November 10th, 2005 | 9:01 am PST
Low pressure markers are generally quieter and have less kick. (The exception to this are 'cockers. They run on high pressure)
   

frontmanmike Thursday, November 10th, 2005 | 1:30 pm PST
I didn't say low pressure makes the gun better, I'm looking into buying one of these and i'd like to know some facts before i buy it.
   

guru_i_aint Thursday, November 17th, 2005 | 6:54 am PST
I do have one thing to say that sorta might defend the dropoff thing. My local PB store manager is a certified Bob Long tech and he was talking with the legend himself (Bob Long...) and he actually told the manager that the torpedo regs he puts on Timmys now, suck compared to what they used to be. I guess he might have been cuting cost or something but If you wanna fix it, buy a CP reg. I can''t really justify having to upgrade a marker that costs over $1000. To each his own.
   

PB2k5ripp Thursday, November 24th, 2005 | 2:46 pm PST
i own a 2k5ripper, dragon and a infamous (ripperm in my mind is the best) and when i got my infamous all of the balls dropped!! not the case on all of the others. to fix this i just put a sidewinder reg on it, then it worked most of the time
   

Havocide3 Friday, November 25th, 2005 | 6:35 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by PB2k5ripp
i own a 2k5ripper, dragon and a infamous (ripperm in my mind is the best) and when i got my infamous all of the balls dropped!! not the case on all of the others. to fix this i just put a sidewinder reg on it, then it worked most of the time
You did not lube it before you aired it up. Lube your regs and Ram, and it will shoot fine.
   

Marc2002 Friday, November 25th, 2005 | 9:29 pm PST
I dont know how similar or different the Empire II and the infamous are but my friend/teammate has the Empire II and he didnt get any drop what so ever. The gun has to be "broken in" so I hear at least from him the eyes and regs. Which i think i agree with him becasue usually with some new guns they do need to be broken in to shoot perfectly consistant and chop free. This review is invalid IMO because the guy only tested it and doesnt own it. You have to fool around and take the time to set a new gun to get it running right you dont just open a box with a new pbgun and have it shoot perfect. Sometimes you get lucky but the majority of the time it doesnt happen.
   

I_Am_The_Walrus Friday, December 9th, 2005 | 5:03 pm PST
you cant honestly review anything if you own it because 1st off were not rich enough to own every gun, and the kids who played paintball once and own a tippmann will give it a 10/10 cause they own it. if you try things out you get to see every thing and dont reviw biestly.
   

notloc08 Thursday, December 15th, 2005 | 10:42 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by fishhead
i will admit, the tech had a problem with the marker at first. major drop, every ball, even having to manually push the bolt forward. he took it to the trailer and it was working fine when he came back. we had to use our own air (java 45/4500) while their tank was getting re-filled. there wasn't much bounce with the one i shot, kick was minimal to none. again, i only tested. I still want it!

See so I am not the only one who shot two and had problems with them.

someone said....
i find this review hard to believe. I'm not saying that you're not credible, i'm just saying i doubt bob long would release that gun the way you make it out to sound. especially since you said you shot his personal one. o well though.

I was blown away when I shot this gun. I expected it to perform at least similar to an alias. They had bugs with these two is my assumption but I even talked to the tech and he said it was Bob Longs personal one. The tech said that the mad dropoff and other problems had to do with the lpr and the new popit design.

someone also said....
Dispute:
This clearly shows that he rated this gun a 5, clearly bringing it's rating down, and a 5 is too low for an infamous. He is just a retard because he didn't lube it

Thats pretty funny for you to call me retarted. First off the guns werent even mine, they were Bob Longs and one off his shelf. So why dont you call Bob Long or Bob Longs techs retarted and see how that goes over. Also, why would a 5 be too low for an infamous? Just because its suppose to be great, costs alot, and looks great, it should automatically get a 10? Why dont you write a review, go down, and click on 5- which it says is average. I picked 5 because thats what my average came out to be averaging all of the good and bad things about it.

and again someone said....
Dispute:
yes, hes just trying to lower the infamous's rating

Why would I want to lower the infamous's rating? Is there any good reason for me to? Is it because I dont have one? No, I have a very nice job and I could go out and buy one right now. So thats a dead end arguement, how bout maybe I dont like Bob Long or timmies? Well I have a dark timmy so there again you would be wrong. I can think of no logical reason for me to try to sabatage the ratings and reviews of this gun. I judged the guns based on my personal experience with them. Call me whatever you like, me and the other 100s of people who shot those two guns that day know what they were like. Ask anyone who shot one and you will see why I gave them that rating. For 1300 they should have impressed me alot more, and I am sure if they were working they would have, but the flaw was that both were acting up and shooting very bad as the other guy up more said.

I am unbiased as it comes, and I know alot about paintball. I know the guns I shot were the worst shooting timmies that I have ever seen. Call me a liar, call me a fraud, I know what I shot and none of you can contest unless you were there- which someone was and they also confirmed that the guns were not working properly. If you can come up with a logical arguement against me so be it, but until then, this is my review and what I experienced, not something to bring down ratings.
Last edited on Thursday, December 15th, 2005 at 10:57 am PST
   

Chrisfire69 Friday, December 23rd, 2005 | 8:08 am PST
Dispute:
He only tested this it may not have been set up like it should have so he didnt like it cause he doesnt know anything about the new timmys
   

fishhead Friday, December 23rd, 2005 | 11:08 am PST
notloc08: u know, everyone wants their favorite marker to get good ratings. This could simply be that Bob released some markers before they were ready. The issue with the regs (being cheap) makes a lot of sense, as does lubing and reballs/lazerballs. I have never really liked Timmies (HERESY!) but I have admired the work that Bob Long has done. C'mon he is making the PERFECT Spyder! This is the first Intimidator (also the Empire II) that I really want. I think you should give it a second review from someone who is running one. Not necessarily to change your review, but to change your opinion of BL and his new stuff.

BTW, that super-sharp back-end seems a to be a nit-picky issue, but is has been mentioned several times in these reviews. Really, it is VERY sharp.
   

eran361 Saturday, December 24th, 2005 | 5:01 pm PST
You got the impression of 6 timmies that were most likly built the day before they had them out there for testing, I know bob long techs built them but still. You should really review markers based on what they can do like the 4 ones that were working fine and not the 2 that wernt working because a quick fix could have made them shoot the same. I am not defending timmies because I own them, I used to own them but now I am into dye trixes.
   

p8ntballa16 Sunday, January 1st, 2006 | 2:55 pm PST
In notloc05's defense, I was at cup, and also shot Bob Longs timmy and must say that I was also dissapointed in the performance of the 06 timmy, after all the hype about them. However after shooting the marker i also realized that the drop off/inaccuracy of the gun was due to the reball that was being used. If u looked at the box of reball that was running through the guns, it was very dirty, which would durastically effect the performance. Also in defense for the 06 timmy's, they were greatly reduced in size, and the kick has also been durastically decreased, making it superior to older timmy's. Therefore it is still a great product that does deserve a rating well over 5, however it could easily be mistaken by the dirty reball being run through the guns at cup.
   

fishhead Friday, January 13th, 2006 | 6:45 pm PST
one more thing, i tested the 06 Intimidator the 1st day that they had the reball shooting gallery up. the reballs looked pristine.
   

paintballer9907 Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 | 5:56 pm PST
i wasn't impressed with the ones i shot either. althought he drop off is no big deal. im sure it was set at that. i set all my markers that way. before i start playing i just take a few shots at the ground then i am ready to go. although all the markers (most) that i have have boards that increass the dwell on the 1st shot. but w/e. i just don't think it has any reall advantages over the older ones. i really haven't been impressed with any of the newer markers this year for all the companies. maybe the sport is just coming to the point were there will be no more technical advances.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media