paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on notloc08's Review / Comments on notloc08's Review / Comments on notloc08's Review / Comments on notloc08's Review / Comments on notloc08's Review

Comments on notloc08's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

notloc08 Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k5 timmys, dm6/5/4/proto, egos, all angels, shockers, ions, everything, like seriously everything...
Marker Setup: well i tested it with a 72/4500, halo, and stock everything else
Recommended
Upgrades:
i dont know exactly whats out for the 06 timmys
Strengths: Smaller than 2k5s
Lighter than 2k5s
Weaknesses: In review...
Review: Well I tested out the 2k6 timmys at world cup. I shot Bob Long's personal 2k6 as well. I shot them with reballs or lazerballs, I dont know exactly which one. Anyway, I was very dissapointed. They do feel lighter and smaller than the previous timmys. The three 2k6 timmys i shot, had very bad dropoff. We tried multiple tanks on them, but they still had REALLY bad dropoff (im talking like, start shooting, and have 2 out of 6 drop off three feet in front of you, or sometimes even not come out of the barrel) This could have been a quick fix with the LPR I think, with my knowledge of timmys, but what suprised me, was that all three of these 2k6 timmys did the exact same thing. Also, there was actually more kick than a properly tuned 2k5 timmy on every singe 2k6 timmy. This suprised me as I had been tricked into thinking they had less kick, but no, I assure you, the 2k6's that I shot had more kick than many of the 2k5's ive shot. The accuracy was very good, except for the 2 out of 6 that would drop off like mad. The gun is fast, but just as fast as your fingers, except with the 2k6s, they started running away nomatter how we adjusted the triggers (as in I would start shooting it, let go, and it would still be shooting) but im sure this could be fixed. They were all very bouncy though, but all timmys are unless properly adjusted. The boards seemed good but I only shot the timmys in semi. They looked very nice, but the back is pretty sharp and I almost cut myself. The milling was all flawless as was the anno. As for the trigger, I didnt like it at all, but thats just my personal preference. It was hard to walk on I felt, but still, it was very fast due to the insane amount of bounce on the guns. The 2k6's that I shot really, really did not impress me, but I may have gotten 3 duds? Seems unusual but hey, you never know. I along with lots of other people who shot the new line, seemed to have felt there was much more kick than was expected (not like spyder kick or anything but not even close to as smooth as a dm) They need to work the bugs out of the 2k6s before I would ever buy one. My advice is to try and shoot one if you can to see for yourself.
Conclusion: This products performance really did not impress me and was nowhere near up to par with the new DM6 that came out at cup. For the money, you should be getting alot more than what I shot. Look around at other choices before you buy one of these.... Then again I may have gotten 3 bad ones, but I am not too sure on that. That was my experience with the 2k6s

Id give it a 9 for milling/ compact size/ anno job
Id give it a 1 for dropoff
Id give it a 8 for accuracy
Id give it a 3 for the bounciness
Id give it a 7 for the feel (because of the trigger)
Id give the price (1300) to performance a 5 because for 1300, there are much nicer guns (both shooting wise and cost wise) on the market in my opinion
and overall that averages out to be a 5.5 and since it dissapointed me greaty due to all the hype that it was given, ill give it a 5 (since I cant give it a 5.5)
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 15th, 2005 at 10:55 am PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
fishhead Sunday, February 5th, 2006 | 1:08 am PST
paintballer9907, even though most of the changes have been 'refinements':
1) the PM6 is WAY better than the PM5 (please read my review)
2) the G7 fly is a better marker for its weight reduction, if nothing else
3) the DM6 w/ Ultrlite frame and lower pressure & nearly 1/2 pound weight difference
4) the 06 Intimidators are smaller, lighter, integral dovetail rail. I think it has been a great year of new introductions. Also, the new MacDev Cyborg looks like it could be really a great change.
Last edited on Tuesday, March 21st, 2006 at 11:35 pm PST
   

shot-on-sight Monday, February 20th, 2006 | 7:08 pm PST
The 06 borg is probably the best all around gun right now, insane efficency actually atainable super high rates of fire (tested at 30bps with paint) and it's only 975. Plus the new Alien super gun "the remains" is the lightest gun out there at the moment weighing less than 2 lbs WITH barrel reg and battery. Hopefully pbx's cocker frame will get finished eventually, its suposed to use timmi triggers hehehe. Some of the best improvements for 06 though have been the milling, some new guns including the 06 timmi's are drop dead sexy.
   

sssaammm123 Saturday, May 6th, 2006 | 5:15 pm PST
Dispute:
I sincerly disagree. I have an 06 infamous and i can literaly shoot it holding 2 fingers because of the fact that it has NO kick. Bounciness depends upon the board mainly, and settings. Drop was because of a mistake happening.
   

a hobo Sunday, July 30th, 2006 | 4:27 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sssaammm123
I sincerly disagree. I have an 06 infamous and i can literaly shoot it holding 2 fingers because of the fact that it has NO kick. Bounciness depends upon the board mainly, and settings. Drop was because of a mistake happening.

Stupid, he didn't like the gun, GET OVER IT. For its price, it really isn't that great of a gun, I know because my friend has one and the balls won't stop breaking in the breach(Its probably just the setting its on). He also said he got 3 of themso it probably isn't a lemon. You really didn't need to fanboy bash him because the DM6 was better for the price instead of the timmy. And a 5 is average for reviews A$$Hole
   

chikin pickle Thursday, September 7th, 2006 | 9:28 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by mattmaster34
Low pressure markers are generally quieter and have less kick. (The exception to this are 'cockers. They run on high pressure)
Cockers run LP fool. Stock WGPs are 350 out of the inline which qualifies LP. They just can't run LP tanks.
   

Dom'pops'Wolf Tuesday, November 21st, 2006 | 9:27 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by a hobo


Stupid, he didn't like the gun, GET OVER IT. For its price, it really isn't that great of a gun, I know because my friend has one and the balls won't stop breaking in the breach(Its probably just the setting its on). He also said he got 3 of themso it probably isn't a lemon. You really didn't need to fanboy bash him because the DM6 was better for the price instead of the timmy. And a 5 is average for reviews A$$Hole


Dude, don't bash him because he's already played one and he owns it and likes it. Everyone has their own opinion, you have yours and he has his. That comment didn't seem fanboy to me, although some on here did. I personally have used the timmy and enjoyed it immensley, it's a great gun. I've played with the DM6 and with a few other high end markers and I have to say that the one I liked the most was the 06 timmy. I'm planning on getting one because I was so impressed by it.
   

The_Hitman337 Wednesday, December 27th, 2006 | 6:52 pm PST
Dispute:
its a shame you only got to test this product, ive had my infamous timmy for about 2 months now and i have had none of these problems you speak of... in truth it has been exactly opposite....
   

protoman912 Thursday, July 5th, 2007 | 12:22 am PST
why cant we all be nice?
   

kingman_boy Tuesday, September 11th, 2007 | 7:04 am PST
i have one and even when i first got it to air it up the regs were set for the right vlocity no screwin around and have never had a single bit of drop off. something was wrong with the regs im guessing but mine absolutly rips with no problems at all
   

jamesb Sunday, April 6th, 2008 | 9:26 pm PST
Dispute:
there is only dropoff if there is an eye problem
   
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media