paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Zach B.'s Review / Comments on Zach B.'s Review / Comments on Zach B.'s Review / Comments on Zach B.'s Review

Comments on Zach B.'s Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Zach B. Saturday, November 5th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Imagine LED 2k4
Smart Parts Progressive 14" Barrel
Empire Reloader 2
Kingman ESP Classic E-Frame C.A.M.D.
Pure Energy 20 oz. CO2 Tank
Strengths: Magnetic Lid
Weaknesses: Cheap Plastic
Horribly Weak Screws
Review: I bought this hopper for my first gun and had VERY high hopes for it, considering I spent $59 on it and I had read nothing but good reviews. Well, I feel it would be necessary to warn people about my nightmare with this hopper.

When I first saw this, I noticed the paddle inside had come loose. I had to remove every screw so I could tighten it. that was no biggy, anbd getting the batteries in wasn't hard either.

Then the nightmare began

As I was screwing in the first screw, it the head broke clean off, and it wasn't even fully inside tightly so it could keep the two sides firmly tightened, which is what made me upset. With the other 6 screws, two more broke heads. Now I Have 3 headless screws sticking out, and I'm contemplating taking the hopper to Home Deopt to see if they can remove the bodies because I can't take them out with a wrench or pliers because it seems like the cheap plastic shell could break any second. And then, to make things even worse, I had to remove the screws AGAIN because teh way the wires were shaped had gotten them nearly cut in half when I was re-screwing the two parts of the hopper. I may now have to replace THAT as well, if it's even replaceable.

Conclusion: I'm not even sure why I'm keeping this hopper. I should have just tossed it, but if I can fix these problems and actually get to playing (I was supposed to go tomorrow before this crap started happening) I may update my ranking based on performance, though I will never give it anything above a 5 or 6. But for now, I have to give it a 1.
Rating:
1 out of 10
 

Review Comments
drunkenMonkey Sunday, November 6th, 2005 | 12:14 am PST
Do what i am doing. Keep the internals to the reloader, and buy a revvy shell. I have given up on the reloader's p.o.s. shell.
   

copelandanyone? Tuesday, December 13th, 2005 | 6:48 pm PST
alright it is said the shell is bad, but are you the type of people who thinks the gravity feed normal cheap plastic hoppers are terrible and weak and stuff?
   

poi866 Saturday, December 17th, 2005 | 5:54 am PST
Dispute:
You are trying to destroy the reputation of this hopper. First, you cannot write a review without first calling Empire or your local paintball shop. Second, you didnt bring the hopper to a QUALIFIED professional techie to try and fix it. You shouldn't even try to force screws into the hopper. You also might of been twisting the screws TOO HARD???? Also, you should have used it once or twice before writing the review. You forgot to mention the BPS speed and you really should of posted this in the forums, not the reviews because the reviews are for performance, not problems. Sheesh, this is a review trying to DESTROY!!!!
   

AKrenegade Thursday, December 29th, 2005 | 10:30 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by poi866
You are trying to destroy the reputation of this hopper. First, you cannot write a review without first calling Empire or your local paintball shop. Second, you didnt bring the hopper to a QUALIFIED professional techie to try and fix it. You shouldn't even try to force screws into the hopper. You also might of been twisting the screws TOO HARD???? Also, you should have used it once or twice before writing the review. You forgot to mention the BPS speed and you really should of posted this in the forums, not the reviews because the reviews are for performance, not problems. Sheesh, this is a review trying to DESTROY!!!!

very well said i agree
   

Zach B. Saturday, January 21st, 2006 | 12:20 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by poi866
You are trying to destroy the reputation of this hopper. First, you cannot write a review without first calling Empire or your local paintball shop. Second, you didnt bring the hopper to a QUALIFIED professional techie to try and fix it. You shouldn't even try to force screws into the hopper. You also might of been twisting the screws TOO HARD???? Also, you should have used it once or twice before writing the review. You forgot to mention the BPS speed and you really should of posted this in the forums, not the reviews because the reviews are for performance, not problems. Sheesh, this is a review trying to DESTROY!!!!
Ok, I'm not trying to destroy this hopper's rep. I'm giving it my honest opinion, but I really cannot when it breaks before even being used. I think this is something that people should be aware of BEFORE they buy this hopper. Other people may like it, fine, they can ignore my review. I really do not care.

Why should I have to deal with the hopper if it requires a preofessional to do everything for me? Also, if you had read my review thoroughly, I clearly stated that the screws weren't even in when the head snaped. I never said I forcer the screws in, they were obviously of the lowest quality you can get.

Also, I never updated my review, but I'll add it here anyways. I had recurring ball breaks inside the hopper. I checked for lips between the plastic, but there weren't any.

I mention again, I'm not trying to destroy the reputation of htisw hopper, I like some of Empire's products and will continue some of them, just not this hopper.

EDIT: No reply huh? What have you got to say now that I presented my reasonings? Or were you trying to be all big, but then I answered and you had no evidence to prove me wrong?
Last edited on Sunday, February 12th, 2006 at 10:28 pm PST
   

Brikloss Monday, June 19th, 2006 | 4:40 pm PST
You may of just had i deffective hopper.

I use one of these and have never had a problem with it.

Poi is right, you should of contacted Empire and told them about the hopper issues, so they could send you a new correct hopper.
   

Fets Saturday, June 24th, 2006 | 9:47 pm PST
This hopper sucks. I had problems with the plastic stripping where I inserted the screws & then breaking. Trust me, I know how a screwdriver works. Hopper is not worth the price at all. POS
   

Funzo Thursday, August 3rd, 2006 | 12:49 pm PST
Dont blame the hopper for your mistakes, fair enough with it coming loose when you got it, but the rest is your falt. When putting in screws, you should begin screwing it in, then screw it half out then back all the way in, this way it will create threads for the screw to go into. And also, i havent seen a hopper that isent plastic.
Last edited on Thursday, August 3rd, 2006 at 12:52 pm PST
   

runningw235 Friday, August 11th, 2006 | 2:19 pm PST
they work well with reballs, unlike most hoppers
   

sean123456789 Thursday, November 30th, 2006 | 5:54 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Brikloss
You may of just had a deffective hopper.

ever thought you just had a bad hopper?
nothing is perfect you know


   

tweenkie Saturday, December 16th, 2006 | 7:34 pm PST
Dispute:
urs was probably a defect. mine worked great.
   

GhilleMan Monday, January 1st, 2007 | 6:04 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by poi866
You are trying to destroy the reputation of this hopper. First, you cannot write a review without first calling Empire or your local paintball shop. Second, you didnt bring the hopper to a QUALIFIED professional techie to try and fix it. You shouldn't even try to force screws into the hopper. You also might of been twisting the screws TOO HARD???? Also, you should have used it once or twice before writing the review. You forgot to mention the BPS speed and you really should of posted this in the forums, not the reviews because the reviews are for performance, not problems. Sheesh, this is a review trying to DESTROY!!!!

How is he trying to destroy the reputation of this hopper? He had a problem with it and he wrote a review telling people what to watch out if buying this hopper. Isn't that what this website is for?
   

NB_Paintballer Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007 | 7:41 am PST
I agree with Ghille Man. My Reloader ll works fine.
   

CAMDENELECTRIC Wednesday, February 21st, 2007 | 10:39 am PST
I had problems with my hoppers screws after about 6 months use most of the screws are cheap but thats no biggy you can easily buy better ones from any DIY store! This hopper is the easiest electro i have stripped! The Admin should delete this review!!!
   

CAMDENELECTRIC Wednesday, February 21st, 2007 | 10:40 am PST
I had problems with my hoppers screws after about 6 months use most of the screws are cheap but thats no biggy you can easily buy better ones from any DIY store! This hopper is the easiest electro i have stripped! The Admin should delete this review!!!
   

autococker16 Wednesday, March 7th, 2007 | 4:13 pm PST
Dispute:
i think this hopper works fine... just that he's trying to give this hopper a bad review because maybe something bad happened to his.. this would happen once in like 50..
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media