paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on JRT6's Review / Comments on JRT6's Review / Comments on JRT6's Review / Comments on JRT6's Review / Comments on JRT6's Review

Comments on JRT6's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

JRT6 Tuesday, November 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, various Cockers, Cyborg, Shocker
Marker Setup: FS-7
Halo TSA
CP drop foward w/on-off
Crossfire compressed air
Freak barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Asa, barrel
Strengths: Price
Ease of maintainence(changing o-rings, lubing)
Pointabilty
Ease of use
Features
Looks
Weaknesses: Incredible air-hog
Asa
maintance intensive
Review: I've only played with this marker for a few games however I love it. In over 15 years of play I have never used a high end marker that I thought was worth the money. I paid $740- but now some places have it as low as $654-. I got the marker delivered and between the very good instructional CD that comes with the marker and the "Art of balancing the regs" by the Hitch hiker's guide to the Freestyle I had no problems at all setting the regs. Period. The instructions say to use a LP tank that does 600psi and that fixed Hp will not work as well. Fixed low pressure at 450psi is too low and can starve the marker on long shot strings. Most people use HP anyway and I don't see the need right now to go out and buy an adjustable flow tank. The stock barrel works ok but the Asa is too cheap to be on a marker that costs this much. I went to a CP on/off because the stock Asa wouldn't fit the CP razor drop. The instruction CD also has video of how to take apart, clean and re-assemble the regs!

The marker I got had no cosmetic imperfections. It comes ready to gas up and play which is what i expect when I pay a lot(relatively). I broke paint while playing and all I had to do was pull the bolt, wipe it off and I was ready to go again. The marker points very well for snap shooting and shoots very quiet and really flat. I was long balling guys farther than I ever have before. The adjustable trigger is very crisp and easy to adjust. I don't use ramping and all that but the predator board is easy to adjust and the simple on/off power switch is much more convenient than the one on the Ion or other similar hold down buttons. The grips and the curved back strap are a little big even for my large hands but nothing I can't live with. I found the locking feedneck holds my Halo just fine.

After three months of play:
I got the HR1 upgrade, had to have the manifold adjusted and an overpressurizationfixed problem by ICD.
Conclusion: This is a great maker if you are knowledgable about high maintainance markers. I changed the rating to 8 stars because it was not ready to go out of the box as I had thought when I first got and as I said in my initial review. During the first three months I owned this marker it had to go back to ICD twice. The price of these is now down to $550- which is a good deal and you're getting what you paid for. A little quality control on ICD's part would have made this a 10 out of 10.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 21st, 2006 at 5:52 am PST
 

Review Comments
GoNexus1991 Monday, January 30th, 2006 | 10:46 am PST
i have a question, what board does teh fs7 come with? Does it differ from the ND fs7?
   

JRT6 Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 | 1:54 pm PST
Yes the FS7 uses a predator board and the ND uses a NOX board I believe.

Since my initial revview I got the HR1 upgrade by the ICD underground and the air efficiency has improved about 200 balls an air fill and the regs are even easier to adjust. The marker is a little louder but shoots flatter and believe it or not faster. I'm out shooting my hopper in semi-mode.
Last edited on Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 at 1:57 pm PST
   

GoNexus1991 Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 | 12:52 pm PST
Thanks
   

StrikerMuncher Monday, February 20th, 2006 | 1:00 am PST
wait, you said it was ready to gas up and play out of the box, but then you say it wasn't ready to shoot out of the box?

Not trying to be some mean idiot, just wondering :)
   

JRT6 Tuesday, February 21st, 2006 | 4:37 am PST
It seemed like it shot great out of the box but it never broke in and then it developed over pressurization troubles and I had to send it into ICD to get fixed. So technically it was ready out of the box but that was only because there were issues that weren't immediately evident. I'll never trust a review of a marker that was tested only briefly or post about one again until I've played with it for a while.
Last edited on Tuesday, February 21st, 2006 at 4:38 am PST
   

GoNexus1991 Sunday, March 12th, 2006 | 6:24 am PST
I'm wondering, isn't the freestyle a lp gun and if it is, an lp tank shouldn't starve it, right?
   

GoNexus1991 Sunday, March 12th, 2006 | 6:26 am PST
I'm wondering, isn't the freestyle a lp gun and if it is, an lp tank shouldn't starve it, right?
   

JRT6 Monday, March 13th, 2006 | 10:05 am PST
No, as long as the LP tank is a high flow output tank the maker should be fine. Put the tank in question on a marker with a pressure gauge and while shooting it check the recharge rate, if it recharges fine it will work with the Freestyle. The Freestyle owners manual says to use a variable pressure tank with the output set to 650 and to use a fixerd HP tank as a last resort but almost everyone uses a HP tank and the ICD techs have told me that HP works fine.

I have used LP tanks on my Freestyle without a problem.
   

GoneOffTheBreak Sunday, June 11th, 2006 | 4:55 pm PST
yeah just wondering where did you find the fs-7 for 550
   

JRT6 Monday, June 12th, 2006 | 5:08 am PST
Murder inc and shorepatinball. They can't advertize at that price you have to call for a quote.

After six months the marker has finally broken in. I'm getting decent air economy and the velocity is +/- 5 or less every time I gas up now. I took the clam shell apart the other day because I got paint behind the trigger and it was very easy to do. The only dificulty I've had lately was getting the HP reg apart. The top collar was so tight I had to buy a strap wrench and use a pair of pliers over the strap in order to loosen the collar without maring it.
Last edited on Monday, June 12th, 2006 at 5:17 am PST
   

GoneOffTheBreak Monday, June 12th, 2006 | 4:22 pm PST
Is it worth 650 or 700 or should i just get a pm6 or $600 shocker
   

JRT6 Tuesday, June 13th, 2006 | 2:57 am PST
IMO the FS V8 (the new one) is worth 650-700 and is better than the shocker. It has more features than the shocker and will probably be more reliable. I have no experience with the PM6.
   

GoneOffTheBreak Wednesday, June 14th, 2006 | 5:58 pm PST
would a fs-7 be better then a fs-8
   

GoneOffTheBreak Wednesday, June 14th, 2006 | 9:05 pm PST
and when u said " muder inc" what do u mean?
   

JRT6 Thursday, June 15th, 2006 | 3:34 am PST
www.murderincpaintball.com The FS-8 is a much improved marker.
Last edited on Thursday, June 15th, 2006 at 3:35 am PST
   

GoneOffTheBreak Thursday, June 15th, 2006 | 1:27 pm PST
thank u man very much im farley new to paintball been pbing for about a year and it helps when ppl like u r nice and dont mind explaining what veterans know
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media