paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on a031363's Review / Comments on a031363's Review / Comments on a031363's Review / Comments on a031363's Review / Comments on a031363's Review / Comments on a031363's Review

Comments on a031363's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

a031363 Tuesday, November 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month27 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock board
Marker Setup: Custom Shelled Ion w/ Detonator Reg, QEV, VP Scythe Trigger, Q-Lock, SystemX Slider On/Off, Kila Detents, Scepter Barrel Kit, Z- Boarded Eggy, and Crossfire 70ci Peanut LP Tank w/ Dye 05 Cover.
Strengths: Faster than stock, multi-adjustable, includes new hoses and eye assembly, speaker
Weaknesses: Not as many preset modes as other soon-to-be-released boards
Review: The smallest positive is the 20bps ROF cap. What I mean by that is most people think the most important reason to buy an aftermarket board is to increase the ROF. Capable of ramping and firing 17bps, faster than any major tourney allows, faster than anyone can pull in semi, and faster than most loaders can consistently feed without modification, an Ion has a great stock board. What the Blackheart improves is the adjustability of the marker's settings, the audible notification of these adjustments (the speaker), new upgraded hoses, and inclusion of an extra eye harness and upper board. These are the benefits of this board.

You can get higher ROF and more preset firing modes with a different aftermarket board, once they are released. But these are not important to me and I'm not willing to pay the $30 premium for features I would not use. And, the coolest feature of the Blackheart is the speaker. Hearing a chirp when it is turned on or off and to indicate the current settings is a great benefit that has to be experienced to understand.
Conclusion: Only improvements that would have made it a 10 are:
more preset modes
uncapped ROF
I know that I do not need these, but if they were included, this would be the board to beat.
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
shagster Wednesday, November 16th, 2005 | 2:23 pm PST
Ive heard that this board also makes it easier to change modes and settings. Is this true?
   

a031363 Thursday, November 17th, 2005 | 4:40 am PST
Yes, changing modes and settings is easier, thanks to the more easily seen blue light (instead of red) and the speaker chirps. For example, if you want to change your dwell and you think it is at 50, once you get into the dwell mode the speaker will chirp the number of times that equals the current setting. No need to reset the dwell all the way to the top or bottom and start anew to make sure! So, it will chirp 50 times and you can then change it up or down by pushing the power button (up) or mode button (down). Pulling the trigger still accepts and saves the setting.
Last edited on Thursday, November 17th, 2005 at 4:41 am PST
   

d-man Sunday, November 20th, 2005 | 7:04 pm PST
i heard some triggers wont fit because of the speaker. did you have any problems with yours?
   

a031363 Monday, November 21st, 2005 | 4:00 am PST
Yes, the back part that holds the magnets on the VP Scythe Trigger is too large to have the needed clearance from the speaker. I relocated the speaker to solve this. Others have used a dremel to shave away some of the trigger. Others have not had a clearance issue. In all, the mod to fix this is very easy.
   

De4d On Targ3T Friday, December 9th, 2005 | 9:48 pm PST
ha i just found out its capped at 20 because the ions solenoid cant handle more than that. pretty cheap, IMO
   

a031363 Saturday, December 10th, 2005 | 4:50 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by De4d On Targ3T
ha i just found out its capped at 20 because the ions solenoid cant handle more than that. pretty cheap, IMO
Not correct. The BH board is capped at 20bps - I said this in my review. It is not the solenoid that caps it though. In fact the same solenoid is being used in the other aftermarket boards being produced since it is the only noid that will work in the Ion! As I said above, tourneys don't allow faster than 15bps, you can't pull faster than the stock board's 17 bps, and only a highly modified hopper will actually feed consistently faster than 20bps (except possibly a Q-loader, but a 100-round pod will empty in 5 seconds at only "20bps" and then you have to change pods again). So, why do you want a board that will cycle faster than 20bps!?
   

g murder Thursday, December 15th, 2005 | 8:47 pm PST
The Q-Loader will dump 90 to 95 of the balls so it's less than 5 seconds of shooting.

This little board seems sweet especially for the $100 current price
...can't wait to try it out when I get mine....and only the slect very few can really shoot better than 20bps so this board is more than enough.
   

][D][][V][][D Thursday, December 15th, 2005 | 8:54 pm PST
Any 1 who is complaning that 20 BPS isint enough is just crazy i mean so what that and ego can hit 25 BPS on RAMPING and look how much you payed for your gun compared to theirs!!!!! and if your playing some 1 in a fair game they should be on semi and if you can pull that little trigger 20 times in a second the you should go pro otherwise 20 BPS is more than enough
   

VooDooAddict Tuesday, January 10th, 2006 | 10:24 am PST
Nice review ... I didn't know about the improved hoses.

I agree about the 20bps cap not being an issue for me. I'd be getting it for all the little features:

- Better Hoses
- Covered Noid
- Blue LED (that red LED is so hard to see at times.)
- Speaker Chirp
- Quick Rate of fire reset.
- Spare eyes
   

sktbrdngpetey Wednesday, January 18th, 2006 | 8:44 pm PST
actually with the stock board i hit 17 over a chrono with it. i had a halo b with rip drive with new batteries and it continued to feed just fine. oh and it semi too. none of that cheater modes that make you lazy. but if i were to buy a new board id go with the t board personally.
   

paintballlover1 Thursday, March 2nd, 2006 | 4:44 pm PST
Do you guys think I should get the Blackheart board of the Virtue board.
   

a031363 Friday, March 3rd, 2006 | 4:51 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by paintballlover1
Do you guys think I should get the Blackheart board of the Virtue board.
I personally would not pay the $120+ for the Virtue. The other board to look at is the Scenario Dreams T-Board. It only costs $85 and includes a connector to attach a membrane pad like a Dye. However, since the BH is the only one with the features VooDooAddict listed above, it is my favorite. I do not want to shoot more than 20bps, which is the primary difference between the BH and the other two boards, and doing so wastes too much paint!
Last edited on Friday, March 3rd, 2006 at 4:52 am PST
   

pbfreaks29 Monday, March 13th, 2006 | 4:15 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by paintballlover1
Do you guys think I should get the Blackheart board of the Virtue board.

You should definately get the BH. The only feature that would be nice on the BH that the Virtue has is the 25 bps cap ( which is impossibl to reach without an upped hopper board) which is ironic because someone said that the solenoid is too cheap to handle anything over 20.............. If your looking for a tournament gun in the ion, I'd recomend the Black heart, even though the speed cap will be lowered much farther then 20 bps, but your looking at the options that they add.... like the guys said in the review, the 3 bps increase is the least best improvement you can get with the board compared to adjustable debounce and kick in rate ( depending upon te tourney).
   

tpage10 Tuesday, March 28th, 2006 | 2:44 pm PST
Should I get the t board or the blackheart for my ion.Which one is better for a more serious tournament player?
   

a031363 Wednesday, March 29th, 2006 | 4:44 am PST
It is a personal choice. The t-board is more difficult to adjust the settings than the BH, does not have the speaker to allow you to check your current settings, and does not come with a new eye board and harness like the BH. The BH is capped at 20bps, but I don't think any regional or major tourneys allow more than 15bps, and the t-board is ready to take an on/off membrane pad. So, you have to decide what is more important - the higher cap, the easier to adjust and check settings, membrane pad...
   

lightup Saturday, May 27th, 2006 | 1:53 pm PST
actually i can shoot 17bps in true semi. probably faster.
   

<IONFREAK> Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 | 9:03 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pbfreaks29
You should definately get the BH. The only feature that would be nice on the BH that the Virtue has is the 25 bps capb>

the virtue is uncapped. if you have a victory board in a halo b going 35bps the virtue would shoot it. as long as you have all the right mods on your ion.
   

<IONFREAK> Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 | 9:05 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by a031363
It is a personal choice. The t-board is more difficult to adjust the settings than the BH, does not have the speaker to allow you to check your current settings, and does not come with a new eye board and harness like the BH. The BH is capped at 20bps, but I don't think any regional or major tourneys allow more than 15bps, and the t-board is ready to take an on/off membrane pad. So, you have to decide what is more important - the higher cap, the easier to adjust and check settings, membrane pad...

can you not install a membrane pad on the BH
   

a031363 Thursday, June 8th, 2006 | 4:30 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by &lt;IONFREAK&gt;


can you not install a membrane pad on the BH

I believe Chiumanfu on ionowners.com now has a kit for the BH board.
   

FDS Friday, June 30th, 2006 | 10:34 pm PST
get a virtue only if you play in NXL,PSP,Mileniuem for all you europeans. If you don't it is still better then this and has more modes like break auto response and uncapped just get a QEV
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media