paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on veedoubleugee's Review / Comments on veedoubleugee's Review / Comments on veedoubleugee's Review / Comments on veedoubleugee's Review / Comments on veedoubleugee's Review

Comments on veedoubleugee's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

veedoubleugee Friday, November 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: FS7: BLUEFORK INTERNALS, ACID SPONGE, CF GRIPS/EYE COVERS (2much2list)
Other Toys: FS7(backup),(2)Zenitram Venom Bushmasters & Lasoya Promaster
Strengths: Will make your halo load faster. lifetime warranty
Weaknesses: Very expensive for a piece of delrin the size of your pinky nail. ($15)
Review: Its basically a delrin wheel that goes over your motor wheel. as simple as that.

Well is it fast....i guess. my reloader b was never slow in the first place. i cant honestly tell. but if you think of the concept of gearing, this wheel is a great idea. this little delrin shim goes over your motor wheel. the shim increases the wheels circumference. its like giving the wheel a larger gear. kind of like your 21 speed mountain bike. the higher/larger gears allow you to maintain higher speeds. the lower/smaller gear allow you to move from a standstill quicker. the only drawback of a larger gear is starting speed, which is something that doesn't concern the halo b/c its burst speed is due to its spring and not its motor or wheel size. when that spring is fully uncompressed, the motor is already at its maximum speed. which is higher b/c of its larger wheel/gear.

i hope i explained it well. if you have any question, please post and i will answer the best i can.
Conclusion: Good concept. im sure it does what it supposed to, although i have no real way of telling.

now the bad. this product is way overpriced. $15 for a tiny round piece of delrin shaped like a wheel.

i would buy this product again just b/c i believe in its concept. but this price kills me. i give the product an 8 but drop it down to a 7 b/c of its insanely high price.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 18th, 2007 at 4:30 pm PST
 

Review Comments
cmcan22 Friday, November 11th, 2005 | 11:33 am PST
Unless you wanna make this out of delrin for less than 15 bucks ur stuck. All paintball guns are are pieces of metal and plastic but they go for hundreds of dollars.
   

veedoubleugee Saturday, November 12th, 2005 | 6:43 am PST
yeah thats the truth. its a good product but its over priced. i have delrin and titanium bolt pins that take more work to make and cost half as much.
   

nonameputs Saturday, November 12th, 2005 | 9:31 pm PST
Um, the higher gears are the smaller ones... but you have the right idea. You should be talking about bigger wheels making you go faster (hence the larger wheels on the back of drag cars).
   

veedoubleugee Sunday, November 13th, 2005 | 7:29 am PST
the bigger wheels on the back of drag cars arent for making you go faster. they are for traction. the cars the break the sound barrier in fact have smaller wheels then a drag car but reach speed 2 times as fast. so that aspect does not apply. and i do believe the higher gears are the bigger ones. just think of when your pedaling with the gears 1 and 1. when you change one of the gears to 2. you now have 1 and 2. the gear you changed will go to a larger sproket.
   

Rainman22 Sunday, December 11th, 2005 | 2:36 pm PST
If something spins at 100rpms, and its circumference is 10cm. something that has a circumference of 20cm and spins at 100rpms will be faster. But it will take the motor longer to reach its top speed if both setups are using the same motor. The numbers are just for reference.

The wheels on drag cars are big for a lot of reasons. One is they keep the back end on the ground so it has good traction. The second is because of what I explained above. If it was just traction, they would just use a smaller (In diameter not width) more dense tire...

So where/when can I pick one of these babies up?
   

veedoubleugee Tuesday, December 13th, 2005 | 4:58 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Rainman22
If something spins at 100rpms, and its circumference is 10cm. something that has a circumference of 20cm and spins at 100rpms will be faster. But it will take the motor longer to reach its top speed if both setups are using the same motor. The numbers are just for reference.

i mentioned this above. it will take longer to reach a higher top speed but the top speed would be higher.
quote:
Originally posted by Rainman22
The wheels on drag cars are big for a lot of reasons. One is they keep the back end on the ground so it has good traction. The second is because of what I explained above. If it was just traction, they would just use a smaller (In diameter not width) more dense tire...

a smaller diameter tire that is more dense would have a way smaller contact patch then a larger tire. drag tires ripple as they are launched. this creates a larger contact patch so you dont just spin your tires. the main purpose of larger rear tires is to handle the torque produced by the motor.
quote:
Originally posted by Rainman22
So where/when can I pick one of these babies up?

the shocktech website has these.

   

Angelballer4lif Monday, December 19th, 2005 | 7:49 pm PST
nother question, so if the gear is larger, wouldn't it push harder when winding the spring

because the motor still spins the same amount but the drive cone is now moving more, wouldn't that create even more tension?
   

stlstorm Friday, March 10th, 2006 | 10:37 am PST
"Strengths: Will make your halo shoot faster"

well i dont know about you or anyone else, but my halo doesnt shoot my marker is the one that shoots... but i've heard these things are great and they rele work
   

veedoubleugee Thursday, April 13th, 2006 | 12:28 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by stlstorm
"Strengths: Will make your halo shoot faster"

well i dont know about you or anyone else, but my halo doesnt shoot my marker is the one that shoots... but i've heard these things are great and they rele work


Stlstorm critique me when you have written a halfway decent review. Also, i dont know about you or anybody else, but this is the way you spell "rele"....REALLY. You got it?
   

paintballdye Thursday, May 11th, 2006 | 1:29 pm PST
If yall remember the simple machines a bigger wheel gives is slow but is strong and can pull more, the smaller wheels spin faster but is weak. In drag races they use them for traction and so the wheel dosen't get destroyed at the start...
Last edited on Thursday, May 11th, 2006 at 1:31 pm PST
   

Swamp_Crawler Thursday, February 8th, 2007 | 3:00 pm PST
I don't know about YALL but this is a review about pulleys (Shocktech Halo Speed Wheel) not drag car tires
   

veedoubleugee Friday, February 9th, 2007 | 11:02 am PST
I gave up on all the people that think they know something about drag racing. I didnt even bother responding to paintballdye's nonsense.

As long as you understand what im talking about Swamp, thats all that matters to me. Thanks for the comment.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media