paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on ikey's Review / Comments on ikey's Review / Comments on ikey's Review / Comments on ikey's Review

Comments on ikey's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

ikey Sunday, November 13th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested28 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
other high end masks
Marker Setup: stock karnivor
Strengths: Light, flexi (more than profiler or proto), looks better in person, amazing vision, quality
Weaknesses: Echo
Review: hands down probably one of the best gogles in paintball. i am a hardcore JT so i want proflexes but these are amazing.

vision- IMO better than profiler. the lenses are crystal clear, and very thick. i heard that tehy are the strongest lenses around. i can understand it cause they are like 2x as thick as others. very easy to change lenses.

comfort- i think the foam is great. its not soft poofy foam like JTs, but it is wide and sides well on your face. teh mask seemed to fit well and didnt leave any areas exposed, and teh strap worked well

bounces- the rubber parts are pretty flexy. not like a proflex...but far better than profilers. these will definitely get bounces.

build- IMO i dont think i have seen a better built mask. some mask dont have everything (example, i really like JTS, but lense changing sux). these seem to have every aspect of a great mask.

the guy said they some with a barrel bag, and 2 lenses. 2 LENSES!!!!!!! lets see for a profiler 2 lenses would be what about 50 bucks? so for around 85 bucks your are getting a lot. profilers are around 80.......not worth it if you can get these things.

update

i recently had a chance to use these again. the one bad thing is that they have a TERRIBLE echo. im used to my proflexs, which make no change in sound almost...its like talking normally. with these things, its a huge difference. it kinda annoyed me. im knocking rating down to 9.

Conclusion: Masks keep getting better and better. in decnmber these will sell like hot cakes. im not surpisesd if half of the pro teams start using them. tehy are sweet. oh by the way at first glance they look like a profiler in person so they dont look that bad, pictures do not do them justice.

tehy are perfect besides the echo.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 7th, 2007 at 5:02 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Darthevix Sunday, November 27th, 2005 | 5:56 pm PST
How long till they fog?
   

sktbrdngpetey Monday, December 12th, 2005 | 4:34 pm PST
This mask has to holes for breathing. even if they are thermal they will definatly fog up before a profiler. and the profiler has the easy out lenses, which i dont think this mask does. Its sounds to me like your just bashing the profiler because you could afford one.
   

Soul06 Wednesday, December 14th, 2005 | 4:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sktbrdngpetey
This mask has to holes for breathing. even if they are thermal they will definatly fog up before a profiler. and the profiler has the easy out lenses, which i dont think this mask does. Its sounds to me like your just bashing the profiler because you could afford one.

Come on...why you flaming? He didn't bash the profilers, aside form the "flexi my butt" comment. He was just stating the galring differences as he saw. Beside these and the profilers cost around the same anyway. So if you could afford one you can afford the other.
   

Abz Saturday, December 17th, 2005 | 10:47 am PST
So what if hes dissing the profiler... i hate it. The only good thing about the profiler is the easy release lens. It does not deflect paint at all, it also fogs up after a few games, and hearing/ breathing isnt as good as the proflex. The i3 is the greatest mask ever, it deflects, best breathing/ hearing, never will fog, but the lens is a pain. If u want a good mask get this 1 but if u want the best go 4 the i3 or proto axis, but the proflex is the best 4 deflection.
   

Coco Savage Saturday, December 24th, 2005 | 11:46 pm PST
Dispute:
Outside of saying these will sell like "hotcakes", how fast some have sold, and its better then a profiler(doesnt matter if he bashes it, just back up with why he/she thinks so)? where is the accurate , mature content to this review?

How about explaining its field of vision(maybe comparing to other masks)? How easy it is to take on/off the lens, how big/small does the mask sit on the face? Some real content to a review.

Saying its amazing, or that you love it is all fine and dandy, but some credible , accurate information from someone who bought the mask that sells like hotcakes.

Isnt that what reviews are for?
   

UnluckyDiablo Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006 | 5:56 pm PST
Coco, you've got no grounds for a dispute, just a request for more information. I agree, I'd like to see some more information, but lets face it, nothing worth disputeing.

His review, his OPINIONS, he gets to state them (this is to everyone caught up in the "profiler" dispute). You don't like it? Don't dispute him when nothing he said was fact. Many reviews have lots of fact, I have no problem with this one.
   

subsistance Tuesday, January 10th, 2006 | 4:59 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sktbrdngpetey
This mask has to holes for breathing. even if they are thermal they will definatly fog up before a profiler. and the profiler has the easy out lenses, which i dont think this mask does. Its sounds to me like your just bashing the profiler because you could afford one.
actualy these do have the easy out lenses check em out at vents2005.com
   

nathano23 Saturday, January 14th, 2006 | 7:21 am PST
i dont know why everyone is hatin on the profiler i have one it never fogs and i play in all conditions. and it forms to your face really goo now i aint puttin down the vents but give the profiler some credit.
   

Prea Sunday, January 15th, 2006 | 1:35 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sktbrdngpetey
This mask has to holes for breathing. even if they are thermal they will definatly fog up before a profiler. and the profiler has the easy out lenses, which i dont think this mask does. Its sounds to me like your just bashing the profiler because you could afford one.
i highly doubt these will fog up before a profiler, profilers have bad venting, and condensation builds up in the mask (although the lense is good and doesnt fog).......with the vents, it directs ur breath out of the mask, and the way the whole mask is set up, it prevents warm air (your breath) from getting to the lenses, by having rubber pieces and such so condensation doesnt build up.....for a full description on the venting, look at empirepaintball.com
   

maxsutter Tuesday, February 7th, 2006 | 8:21 pm PST
To avoid fogging on any mask use anti persperant on your face!
   

chevelle1888 Thursday, February 9th, 2006 | 12:25 am PST
profilers are awesome, there is no way i would replace mine with a vent
Last edited on Thursday, February 9th, 2006 at 12:25 am PST
   

cooody Sunday, February 12th, 2006 | 6:02 pm PST
i was looking at a profiler until i fount the vent and im defanently going to go with this mask
   

DirtyBirdy51 Tuesday, February 14th, 2006 | 3:22 pm PST
actually, vents are called vents for a reason, they dont fog like other masks, or at least not as often as a profiler. the vents masks have seperated venting for the mask and breath, the upper part would be for the mask, and the lower for breathing. my sources are Warpig.com, go and look up the article and you'll see what im talking about.
   

chevelle1888 Tuesday, February 14th, 2006 | 11:10 pm PST
the vents are pretty sweet looking though!
   

aim18 Sunday, March 5th, 2006 | 4:53 pm PST
ya except empire didnt make them and there getting all the credit
   

pete3629 Sunday, March 12th, 2006 | 7:21 pm PST
How many of you guys have actually had a vent and a profiler. If you have had both then you are an idiot for spending 180 dollars on masks.

Besides, you can't really test a mask. alls you can do is try it on or use one as a rental. Unless of course your telling me that a seller is going to let you use there 90 dollar mask and then decide whether you want to but it or not.

From what I've seen, the profiler and vent are pretty close in quality. So, it comes down to your brand preference and which you think look better.
   

adam1213 Sunday, March 19th, 2006 | 3:48 pm PST
mask=ugly
   

Coco Savage Thursday, April 13th, 2006 | 3:25 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by UnluckyDiablo
Coco, you've got no grounds for a dispute, just a request for more information. I agree, I'd like to see some more information, but lets face it, nothing worth disputeing.

His review, his OPINIONS, he gets to state them (this is to everyone caught up in the "profiler" dispute). You don't like it? Don't dispute him when nothing he said was fact. Many reviews have lots of fact, I have no problem with this one.


Thats the dispute... accuracy of his "opinions" as there isnt anything factual to back it up...this review isnt really helpful as it provides nothing beyond hype. Hype is for advertisements, reviews are for helpful insight into products people have used. Keep the hype out of the reviews i say
   

ikey Saturday, April 22nd, 2006 | 5:31 pm PST
thank you for those who defended me. hey guys if you noticed I ONLY TESTED THEM. i dont know every littel fact as to how tehy come apart and all. these reviews are my opinions. i dont get some ppl on this site. this site is reviews right? well im giving my review on what i think about it. my teammate has a profiler, so i have a basis for comparison. am i wrong? temm me 1 thing i am wrong on? arent tehy way more flexi than a profiler, how about the lenses, clear, no fog. quailty made, very light. the only thing that cant be argued is comforatablility, and maybe teh lenses since i guess people could have their opinions on sight. but out of the box with 2 lenses all for like 80.....FAR BETTER deal than a profiler. people disput the accuracy of my reviews. most of hte time its because tehy dont like somebody bashing a product they own and refuse to admit there is something better. its like my review on teh 05 black magic. i gave it like a 4 because for 850 bucks it has a SF frame and stock pnumatics. for 700 at hte time you couls have gotten a fully upped z froce half block with e2 or a eclipse cocker. or not to mention plenty of toher guns with way better parts for that money. i even said for the money the black magic is a horrible value. FOR THE MONEY. people flamed me like crazy. once again, am i wrong? 850 for stock pnumatics and a SF frame? (at the time they were 850, now u can get tehm for like 600....still HORRIBLE valuve IMO).
   

Coco Savage Sunday, April 23rd, 2006 | 5:32 pm PST
saying how many it sold in a certain amount of time ....does not help any review anywhere.

But amazingly enough you put more content in that review then the original one. You should edit the orginal with what you wrote above
Last edited on Sunday, April 23rd, 2006 at 5:33 pm PST
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media