paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on paladin's Review / Comments on paladin's Review / Comments on paladin's Review / Comments on paladin's Review / Comments on paladin's Review

Comments on paladin's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

paladin Saturday, November 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month27 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego's, Cocker's, DM5's
Marker Setup: Angel G7 Fly
Halo B
CP Barrel Kit
CP Drop Forward
CP ASA on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: -Fast (understatement)
-Efficient
-Accurate
-Looks (personal pref)
-Comfort
-Trigger
Weaknesses: -Feedneck
-Barrel
Review: I have used this for about a month now and it has been through 2 tournaments. Upon first impressions, (a month isn't long enough to test reliability ect.) I have to say I am very impressed with this marker. It is light, but Ego's are lighter, because of WDP's 3 tube design. WDP did a great job of making this gun out of the box ready to rip. Slap a tank and hopper on and it set, it comes well oiled so no worries there, and it is very easy to maintain.

Pros:
-Efficient: I get about* 1500 shots off of a 68ci 4500 fill which is quite reasonable to me. The efficiency comes from the amazingly low LPR the gun has which is 55 on mine.

-Eyes: I know that it is common to have some sort of paint detection system on all high end markers now, but I can say that the G7 series eyes work flawlessly, and they look really cool in the dark :) I have had 3 chops and 2 of them were because the Halo cracked a ball in my feedneck because it was rather cold out.

-Trigger: The biggest difference between the G7 and the G7 Fly is the trigger frame. I have shot both and I really appreciate the new system they have for the Fly/speed 06. It is magnetic of course, but you can adjust the strength of the return which is nice because I felt the G7 trigger pull was a bit stiff.

-Frame: I have the 90* frame and I love it, this is absolutely personal preference but I think it is an amazingly comfortable gun to hold.

-Anodizing: The anodizing process WDP uses is flawless, rugged, and sexy. I wanted the fade, but settled with the Gloss Red, you can actually see yourself in it, its amazing.

-Speed: This gun shoots ropes, and very easily. In both the tournaments I went to I was called out to check for bounce and ramping and passed multiple times, the refs thought I had some kind of secret ramping mode, but the gun is perfectly legal. You have not to worry about bounce on the mag trigger because the board comes with TR adjustment along with mechanical debounce filtering.

-Accuracy: So far the consistency on my gun has been lower than what I would expect, I vary up to +- 8fps, which isn't bad, but I have seen better. Even with this the gun has absolutely no shoot down out of the box no matter how fast you shoot. Just make sure your air tank has a fast recharge rate, I am running a crossfire *note* It is RECOMMENDED that you use a low pressure tank of no higher than 450psi, but you can run a high pressure.

Cons:
-Barrel: For the price that you pay for this marker I would expect a better barrel to come stock. That being said, the barrel is very accurate, the only issue is that it has a relatively small bore size, so if you plan on shooting crap for paint the bore is most likely going to be too large for the barrel and you will break every ball that you shoot.

-Feedneck: The feedneck is sub par, it is rather high and I still had to sand down my Halo to get it to fit.

Conclusion: Here is the deal. I love this gun, and I have no regrets purchasing it in any way, the looks I get and the people who walk buy and you hear them talk behind your back "dude thats a sweet angel" make you feel good. The thing is, there is no real performance difference between say an Ego, Karnivor, DM5. These are all equally amazing guns in their own right and they all function on entirely different principles. I say go out, test fire them if you can, (I bought my angel blind, but I still believe I made the right decision) and whatever your decision is, go out and shoot kids who think their ION is better than your gun.

I give it a 9 out of 10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 at 7:51 pm PST
 

Review Comments
LI_AngelG7 Tuesday, November 22nd, 2005 | 11:52 am PST
I like the review, just don't agree about the barrel, infinity barrels are one of the best one piece barrels out....Shoot the kids with ions...excellent..

Oh I have a G7, I was going to get the fly..but I have an A4 Fly, Blue to black fade, it's in the photo gallery for A4 Flys..check it out, and I just added my G7...
Last edited on Tuesday, November 22nd, 2005 at 11:57 am PST
   

The Gladiator Wednesday, December 7th, 2005 | 6:49 pm PST
What did you mean when you said "they checked me for bounce"? i dont know all those fancy tournament words yet. i just changed from woodsball becuse it was too slow.
the most expensive gun i shot is a spyder fenix. im saving for an
angel g7 fly though.
   

LI_AngelG7 Friday, December 9th, 2005 | 11:33 am PST
you can't compare a spyder fenix to an angel g7, that would be like comparing a ford focus to a ferrari..lol
   

sktbrdngpetey Sunday, December 11th, 2005 | 6:28 pm PST
It is alright to use high pressure on an angel. and plus minus of 8 is really bad. You might want to try adjusting the dwell or lpr.
   

LI_AngelG7 Thursday, December 15th, 2005 | 7:58 am PST
ANGELS ARE RECOMMENDED FOR A LOW PRESSURE BOTTLE NOT HIGH PRESSURE!!
   

sAcaution Wednesday, January 18th, 2006 | 8:45 pm PST
exactly recommended but its not needed
   

glooey Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 | 6:42 pm PST
adam, that dosnet really matter dont dispute his review because of that thats a minor thing just write it down here dont dipute the entire review and you are just pissed because he made fun of your cheap lil ion.
btw, no one thinks you are cooler if you find the dispute button and use it like crazy
Last edited on Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 at 6:43 pm PST
   

paladin Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 | 7:45 pm PST
Sorry adam, I have since learned that you CAN use a high pressure tank on the G7 platform. I did once and my gun didn't blow up, but it does indeed shoot much better with a low pressure output tank. You could have just brought up the point, but dispute my article, but anyway, thank you for correcting me.
   

adam12 Wednesday, January 25th, 2006 | 12:59 pm PST
sry for disputing u and i deleted it for u
and i dont use the button like crazy and i know ions are not better than a g7
Last edited on Saturday, March 11th, 2006 at 11:28 am PST
   

Tbone0423 Sunday, March 5th, 2006 | 10:58 am PST
whats lighter, an angel g7 fly (with reg and barrel) or a PM6 (with reg and barrel)
   

alivehalob Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006 | 9:02 pm PST
are these guns really high maintence??
   

paladin Saturday, March 25th, 2006 | 1:14 pm PST
I don't know the exact specs, but my friend has a PM6 and I think it feels a little lighter.

Angels in general are low maintenance. I have 20,000 shots, and all I need to do is oil it regularly and it is about time to grease the internals.
   

fizzypaint Friday, May 26th, 2006 | 6:53 pm PST
Whic is better: the g7fly or the regular g7
   

PBguru4sho Friday, September 1st, 2006 | 7:15 pm PST
Listen i play with a pirranah, and thats fast enough for me. No one is ever gonna get past 10bps so why spend lost of money on one of these angels no one has ever heard of, its just a spyder with gloss on it and sum lights on the grips, ooohh thats worth a fortune.....not!
   

PBguru4sho Saturday, September 2nd, 2006 | 3:54 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by fizzypaint
Whic is better: the g7fly or the regular g7

'Whats better, the Mustang or the Mustang GT?' Not to flame, but -
   

darktamer Sunday, October 8th, 2006 | 7:07 pm PST
"Pros:
-Efficient: I get about* 1500 shots off of a 68ci 4500 fill which is quite reasonable to me. The efficiency comes from the amazingly low LPR the gun has which is 55 on mine."


Sorry, but that's wrong. A lower operating pressure is generally worse for efficiency, not better.

Anyways, the efficiency comes from the fact that it's a poppet valve.
   

DyeBlue Friday, March 23rd, 2007 | 7:44 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by PBguru4sho
Listen i play with a pirranah, and thats fast enough for me. No one is ever gonna get past 10bps so why spend lost of money on one of these angels no one has ever heard of, its just a spyder with gloss on it and sum lights on the grips, ooohh thats worth a fortune.....not!

Never gonna get past 10bps? Spyder with gloss and lights? never heard of? I feel dumber for reading your comment.
   

psychoballer93 Sunday, April 8th, 2007 | 7:49 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by PBguru4sho
Listen i play with a pirranah, and thats fast enough for me. No one is ever gonna get past 10bps so why spend lost of money on one of these angels no one has ever heard of, its just a spyder with gloss on it and sum lights on the grips, ooohh thats worth a fortune.....not!


u reely need to get out more...never heard of an Angel...your insane!...a spyder with lites?..no..thats like comparing a geo metro to a ferrari...people buy these not for looks, but for speed..most peole who buy these are ppl who play in tournaments...sry about that but this guys a retard
   

AlmightyRuler84 Wednesday, April 11th, 2007 | 1:57 am PST
I disagree about the barrel & feedneck.

The Infinity barrel actually shoots very well. I know this from experience as I used to have an Angel 4 Fly & now I have a G7 Fly. It's somewhat of a large bore. But it shoots great. I find it to be one of the most if not the most under-rated stock barrel available. However, I now have a CP Kit which is pure hotness & outperforms any kit available. So I naturally use that over my Infinity.

The feedneck is definatly a step up from the 4 Fly as it uses a single tough rubber piece inside as the 4 Fly uses 3 seperate o-rings (which could block the ball stack if pushed in wrong). It is also very tight. I don't consider it too high at all.

   

PBguru4sho Thursday, October 4th, 2007 | 8:18 pm PST
This was actually a joke.I had a g7 fly, but ditched it for a UL'd pm7. Way better by the way!
quote:
Originally posted by psychoballer93



u reely need to get out more...never heard of an Angel...your insane!...a spyder with lites?..no..thats like comparing a geo metro to a ferrari...people buy these not for looks, but for speed..most peole who buy these are ppl who play in tournaments...sry about that but this guys a retard

   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media